Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling: Engine Problems

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,107 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Acura MDX engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Acura MDX:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Acura MDX Owner Comments

problem #4

Jul 172009

MDX

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On April 7, 2009 took my 2003 Acura MDX into local dealer for it's 60,000 mile service (odometer read 63,438). No problems brought to my attention. June 16, 2009 (odometer 67,608) A/C stops working. Pay over $1300 to have A/C compressor, clutch, stator & hi pressure hose replaced. Get car back on June 18, 2009. July 1, 2009 check engine light comes on (odometer 68,219). Am told that car needs a "valve realignment" - all gaskets and spark plug seals replaced ($600). Get car back on July 2, 2009. July 3, 2009 burning smell coming through A/C vents. Am told that it's residue from V/C gaskets from the valve realignment job- supposedly residue removed. Get car back July 6, 2009. July 17, 2009 notice oil in front passenger side wheel well. Pop hood, notice radiator overflow container is overflowing, radiator is very mobile and overflow container is black at the bottom. Have car towed to dealership. Am told that the radiator cracked internally and that the coolant and transmission fluid were mixing together - therefore have to flush the transmission and replace radiator for another $900. This just didn't feel right to me. Started researching and am being told that these are not "normal" repairs on this model for so few miles on it and that the burning smell was most likely the mixing of the coolant and transmission oil not residue from the valve realignment. Dealership isn't accepting responsibility. Acura customer services is saying there's nothing they can do either because the dealership has followed all procedures. I really feel like they are trying to covering up a defect or mechanic error.

- Santa Rosa, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 012008

MDX

  • 86,500 miles
State inspection failed due to defective motor mounts 86,000 miles on vehicle that otherwise runs like new, we're the original owners, find it unusual to need motor mounts replaced, never needed to replace in other vehicles, I think this is a manufacturers defect.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #2

Sep 232008

MDX

  • 85,000 miles
I have a very well kept 2003 Acura MDX touring luxury SUV that retails at more than $45,000 when new. The engine is mounted on 3 engine mounts and I just discovered that 2 of the 3 engine mounts are broken. If the 3rd mount had broken, the engine could shift position resulting in serious consequences. This vehicle was used for normal highway and city driving (no off highway driving). After doing some research, it appears Acura under-designed this part making these engine mounts very prone to failure. Some people reported having to replace engine mounts every 30,000 miles. To make the problem worse, the cost of repair is about $1,000 which makes it likely for people to postpone repairs until a crash happens. I firmly believe that this problem should be part of a safety recall campaign.

- Auburn, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 232003

MDX 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 928 miles
While waiting at a stop light and without warning vehicle surged forward while driver's foot was on the brake pedal. Failure also occurred by a stop sign at an elementary school. The problem was an air intake leak, which began approx. Three weeks after consumer purchased the vehicle and still exist today. The engine died and the check engine light illuminated. The consumer made several attempts to have the vehicle repaired, but to no avail. The consumer would like her monies reimbursed or a brand new MDX with the same options and color of her choice.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Not what you are looking for?