Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Service Brakes Problems

2014 Acura MDX (Page 1 of 2)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,563 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Acura MDX brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Acura MDX:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Acura MDX Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jul 182016


  • 29,000 miles


When driving down a long, downhill slope the steering wheel and the rest of the car started shaking when the brake is applied. From a scale of 0 to 10 I would give it a 6 or more for the shaking. It is pretty bad. The exact same symptoms occurred to my 2009 Honda Accord. At that time I just barely owned it for less than a year for my Accord.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #20

May 282016


  • 14,200 miles
Recently faced a situation where I was traveling on a freeway @ 65-70 mph and suddenly SUV flashed a fcw( forward collision warning system). I had to apply the brakes in the middle of the freeway fearing an accident. It may have caused us to to go into a crash with a cars coming from behind. NHTSA has to look into this feature. There is some problem with the sensors of fcw

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 302015


  • 8,000 miles
Bad brake rotors at 12000 miles started facing vibration in steering wheel when MDX had 8K miles on it and at that time dealer told that its normal in my next service for oil change I told the dealer tech that I am still facing the problem and its quite significant. He stated that its rotor surface are uneven and warped and he has to resurface all 4 of these rotors. How can rotor gets warped at 12-13K miles. Its fairly new car. My concern is to replace all the bad rotors but dealer insisted that they will resurface those rotors. Resurfacing reduces the life of the rotors and then I called Acura and they assigned me district case manager and in turn they talked to dealer and final result is that they will resurface it not replace it. If the product is defective then they should replace it. I think the amount of concerns regarding 2014 Acura MDX they are receiving regarding the brakes are enormous and they should recall or replace the rotors. Engine noise/ transmission noise. While going to la from sacramento I noticed that while at 65- 70 mph there is always a whistling noise when you are stepping on gas and when you take your foot off the gas it stopped. Its annoying and defeats the purpose of buying such a high end SUV and instead of less road noise you hear whistling sound. I took it to dealer for diagnostic and they stated that its either from engine or from transmission and they have no solution to it. Update from Apr 25, 2016 this is update from last time when niello Acura could replicate the noise but there wasn't any solution to it. I called Acura hq and they set an appointment for Acura tech-dpsm on 04/21/2016 to drive and next day I get call back that they could replicate the whisling noise but the same noise also came from other 2014 model they drove. So there is no solution to it.

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #18

Mar 072016


  • 13,000 miles


Forward collision warning (fcw) system: Sometimes going on a smooth road fcw activates all of a sudden and flashed in the dashboard with an alarm. You have to press brakes in order to ensure that you are getting into an accident. Acura need to fix this warning system and ensure its more reliable. Brakes and rotors are warped at 13000 miles. Went to dealer and they told that it needs resurfacing. Continuous whistling noise from engine when your foot is on gas and when its off it stops. Acura hasn't been able to figure out where is the problem

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 132015


  • 22,000 miles
Drove the vehicle (22,000 miles) on the highway through death valley in September with temperature about 105 F. on the downward side of a pass on hwy 395 and was driving about 45 mph, came into a view area and used the brakes. The vehicle violently shook with a loud noise engaged also used the emergency brake and it continued to roll forward. I did get it stopped and it sat for about 15 minutes while I was out taking pictures. Got back in and slowly started down the road and there was a very small feel of vibration within the next 10 minutes and then it was normal again. Since it wasn┐T an immediate issue after I got back didn┐T immediately take it to the dealer as it wasn┐T been used. The dealer is 115 miles away so it takes a schedule to turn it in. On 3 December did take it in and reported the problem they came up with the problem as brake pulsation with rotors that need to be resurfaced. What occurred was more than pulsating brakes since it has not happened again and if it was just that it should still stop, as necessary.

- North Bend, OR, USA

problem #16

Aug 272015


  • 13,000 miles
Our 2014 Acura MDX's brake rotors had to be resurfaced after only 13,000 miles. The mechanic at the dealer noted that they have seen many similar cases with the new MDX because it's so heavy. This sounds like a design problem relating to a crucial part of the vehicle. We are not aggressive drivers, nor do we live in an area with lots of stops.

- Englewood, CO, USA

problem #15

May 202015


  • 2,359 miles


Unintentional acceleration and failure of collision mitigation system 2014 Acura MDX advanced. Accident occurred at a strip mall parking lot located 1 mile from my residence where I was grocery shopping. Weather 65 F sunny. Heavy pedestrian and vehicular traffic. I was parked head in diagonally. I placed my right foot on the brake pedal, placed the SUV in reverse, lifted my right foot from the brake pedal, depressed the accelerator pedal and slowly backed out of the parking space, straightening the wheels in the process.I placed my right foot on the brake, shifted to drive, and placed my right foot on the accelerator pedal and without actually depressing the pedal the engin reved uncontrollably and the SUV surged forward 100 ft at increasing speed before colliding in a domino fashion with a row of 6 vehicles pushing one of the vehicles over one of the adjacent vehicles before veering off to the side and traveling an additional 200 feet before coming to a stop.the drivers side chest and knee bags deployed when I impacted with the first vehicle.I do not remember if I attempted to brake.there were no injuries.the damages to my SUV were extensive. My insurer declared it a total loss.I have photos taken at the scene of the accident showing skid marks and the damages to the vehicles before they were moved. My insurer had my vehicle examined by an automotive technician.he concluded that I simultaneously stepped on the brake and accelerator because of the pedal ware pattern. Also the diagnostic port did not show an error code.he did not examine the event data recorder (black box). I do not agree with his conclusions. I believe I did not step on the pedals simultaneously. In retrospect I believe that I accidentally engaged one of the cruise control buttons located on the steering wheel when I was backing up and straightening the wheels.

- Marina Del Rey, CA, USA

problem #14

Feb 102015


  • 16,000 miles
Our MDX experienced a large amount of brake shimmy going down a hill that almost caused the vehicle to lose control. We were very concerned about the ability of the vehicle to stop. When we took it to the dealer, they said the brakes rotors warped from overheating. Overheating should not occur during normal use, especially when the vehicle is rated for towing up to 5,000 pounds.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #13

Apr 202015


  • miles
I got into a parking space, and pushed the brake but the car jumped onto the sidewalk. I removed my foot from the brake and then the car started speeding up. The car crashed through the window of an empty store. I tried to push the brake even harder but it did not work. The car finally stopped when it hit the wall inside the store. I was in a shock. Luckily, nobody was injured. I found several similar complaints on the internet but could not find a recall for a similar issue. One of the previous claims states: "Acura is claiming that no problem can be found with our vehicle." This is an extremely serious safety concern and could result in fatalities. Is there anything else I need to do in order this issue to be investigated seriously?

- Oakton, VA, USA

problem #12

Feb 122014

MDX 6-cyl

  • 5,286 miles
This is about brake warning system and not about actual brakes.have experienced brake warning light coming on in instrument panel at least 15 times since Feb 2014. Activates for no apparent reason. It comes on when there is no traffic in front of me in my lane and no traffic in other lane coming towards me. Has come on when at stop light and start to accelerate. Dealer cannot duplicate when car there overnight. Have talked with Acura cust svc and they say they have experienced same in the vehicles they drive from time to time, and have documented some cases from other customers.they seem to indicate sensor is over sensitive and will not replace it. There is a switch to left of steering column where you can turn brake warning system off. Although they state this is not Acura's policy and are not telling me to turn it off, it is in reality what they are telling people. If they are going to provide a safety warning system in the car, then it should work. Turning it off due to sensor issues seems like an accident waiting to happen. I have turned the system off and just hope some day I will not regret doing so. Thank you

- Sunset, SC, USA

problem #11

Nov 262014


  • 15,000 miles


The car has periodically shown an alert indicating an imminent activation of the automatic braking safety system when nothing has been in front of the car. Today, it did it this morning, and then later in the morning, while driving 30 mph, the car cut off, making it inoperable and it stopped in a travel lane of a busy road. We were able to re-start it long enough to navigate off the road to a safe location, and it promptly cut off again. After that, it wouldn't run for more than 30 seconds. Every warning imaginable (power steering problem, lane keep assist problem, emission system problem, vehicle stability assist problem, hill start assist problem) was displaying on the information panel in sequential order. We had the vehicle towed to an Acura dealership for inspection/repair.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #10

Oct 072014

MDX 6-cyl

  • 4,100 miles
Backing out from parking spot, steering locked up, brakes failed and car kept moving despite maximum application of brakes. Had to turn the power off to stop the car.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #9

Jun 272014

MDX 6-cyl

  • 1,065 miles
Almost one month ago I bought 2014 Acura MDX, my first luxury vehicle, coming out of Nissan vehicle, thought I would have a enjoy the ride, it only last for one month only with around 1065 miles on the odo-meter. All of sudden while driving, brakes stop responding, and all sort of messages (low brake fluid, engine stability, ldw) on my dashboard. It could have been a life threatening situation, where all of sudden vehicle stop responding to brake. I had to use aux brake to stop it. I would like to report this an issue.

- Lawrenceville, NJ, USA

problem #8

May 122014

MDX 6-cyl

  • 1,030 miles
Traveling 65 mph on a freeway with adaptive cruise control (acc) engaged, vehicle suddenly brakes hard on its own for no apparent reason; dropping 10 mph in a heartbeat. The vehicle did not produce a collision warning message on the dash. The cars in front on me were well beyond the longest 4 bar range of the acc so it was not detecting and locked onto a car in front of me. There were no cars on either side, no car crossing in front of me and the road was flat with no obstacles. Fortunately, the car behind me was not tailgating as the sudden deceleration could have caused a rear end collision. Sudden deceleration has happened twice during the six weeks I've owned this vehicle. I've also noticed that the acc is inconsistent, often sluggish, in responding to the speed of traffic when it is detecting a car in front of me; creating additional hazard concerns for the driver...updated 05-27-15

- San Juan Capistrano, CA, USA

problem #7

May 122014


  • 1,030 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Acura MDX. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph with the cruise control activated, the brakes independently engaged. The failure recurred on a separate occasion. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 1,030.

- San Juan Capisterano, CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 212014

MDX 6-cyl

  • 9,500 miles
Northbound I-95, vero beach, fl exit 147. Prepared to enter deceleration lane at approx. 70 mph, no pressure on gas pedal, vehicle began to slow. In deceleration lane, attempted to apply brakes to further slow vehicle, brake pedal would not depress. After stomping on brake pedal 4-5 times it finally released and allowed the brakes to function. This was the second event of this type. First occurring 24 Dec. 2013.

- Shawnee Mission, KS, USA

problem #5

Mar 162014

MDX 6-cyl

  • 1,700 miles
Our vehicle is an Acura MDX 2014 with the advance package. One feature of the package is adaptive cruise control which aims to keep the vehicle moving at a steady rate and at a set distance from any vehicle in front of it. On several occasions, when vehicles in front of ours slows down or a vehicle merges from another lane in front of us (even transiently), instead of gradually braking and speeding up, the Acura performs sudden deceleration with hard braking even if the vehicle in front is doing the same speed or going only slightly slower. After the hard braking starts, if the vehicle in front speeds up, our vehicle does not recover and start to accelerate again. I have a pregnant wife who is the main driver of the car and I am concerned that this problem will cause her to be rear-ended.

- Sammamish, WA, USA

problem #4

Feb 082014

MDX 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
Brake pedal gets really stiffen up and car won't start unless I depress the brake really really hard. Seems like faulty brake system. This happens when the vehicle has been left sitting for awhile. Happening frequently now.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #3

Dec 292013

MDX 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Acura MDX. The contact stated that while parked, another vehicle slightly bumped the contact's vehicle and caused it to roll away in reverse and down a hill. The contact's vehicle then crashed into another vehicle. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 2,000.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #2

Dec 092013

MDX 6-cyl

  • 4,050 miles
9 Dec. 2014 brake pedal would not depress to allow starting of vehicle. After jamming foot against the "frozen" brake pedal multiple times pedal depressed enough to allow vehicle start. No further issues that day. 10 Dec. 2014 second occurrence of exact issue as described above. 24 Dec. 2014 while driving approx. 20 mph on an ice covered road, attempted to apply brakes in order to retard vehicle speed while descending slight hill, brake pedal would not depress. After multiple jamming of foot against brake pedal, pedal finally depressed allowing ABS and brake system to function slowing vehicle.

- Shawnee Mission, KS, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?