Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems

2001 Acura TL (Page 1 of 5)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 1999-2003 Acura TL has a known & widespread defect with the transmission.

Honda fixed some vehicles with a recall in 2004 by changing the oil cooler return line. To settle a class action lawsuit in 2006, Honda extended the transmission warranty on some of these Acura TL's to 93 months / 109,000 miles.

Now these vehicles are past the warranty limit, so buyer beware.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,840 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Acura TL transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Acura TL:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Acura TL Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #87

Dec 012011

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Acura TL. Consumer states transmission jerks and bucks while driving the consumer stated just prior to attempting to back into his driveway, it was difficult to get the vehicle in reverse. There was some smoke in the engine compartment and fluid was leaking in the transmission area. The consumer discovered recall # 04V17600 was issued, but Honda was not forthcoming about the recall and whether it had been performed. The dealer informed the consumer, the transmission had an internal failure and it was recommended that the transmission be replaced. Updated 05/01/12

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #86

Nov 222011

TL 6-cyl

  • 135,380 miles
The D5 on the transmission started blinking, the the engine light came on along with tcs light. The shift from lower to higher speeds was bit jerky or slow. I took the car to the dealer for check-up. On diagnostics, he gave me the codes P1739 and P1750. The recommendation was to replace the transmission - cost 4200$. this problem was highlighted in a 2002 memo from Acura, however, in my case, the problem shows up at this mileage and I am not covered. I spoke with aamco which apparently Acura does not endorse and they said that torque failure is common on Honda transmissions.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #85

Jun 132011

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Acura 3.2tl. Consumer states problems with vehicle transmission the consumer stated he recently noticed a juddering and slipping on D5 while shifting from 2nd gear to 3rd, especially while going on ramps, merging on to freeways and bridges. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, but they were unable to find a problem. Two weeks later, the check engine light illuminated and the consumer took the vehicle back to the dealer. The dealer determined that there was indeed a problem with the P1750-clutch press, which was related to the automatic transmission recall. The consumer believed the replacement should be free of charge as a one time gesture.

- Foster City, CA, USA

problem #84

Jun 212011

TL

  • 125,980 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Acura 3.2tl. The contact stated that the vehicle would jerk while driving 25 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 125,980.

- Sommerville, MA, USA

problem #83

Nov 302010

TL 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
2001 Acura 3.2 TL, 47000+ miles transmission problems: Needs to be replaced bought car new: Only driver called client services and my dealer for repair compensation they claim vehicle is out of time period for recall (I was never notified of problem) Acura will pay half: Cost to me $2400+ because of low mileage and the problems Acura has had with the transmission of this model, they should be responsible and incur the entire cost.

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #82

Aug 012010

TL

  • 98,000 miles
2001 Acura 3.2 TL needed transmission replaced in October 2006 due to a safety related defect. Mileage on car at that point was about 61,000 miles. August 2010 transmission needed to be replaced again. The car has about 98,000 miles on it. So the transmission needed to be replaced when it had incurred 37,000 miles on it. The dealership will not replace it under the safety related defect. The dealership said originally that I had to pay almost $5,000 to get a new transmission. Finally, after much hassle, they made me pay $1,005 and I had to pay $330 for a rental. The transmission failed due to the safety related defect and I should not have had to pay for it. Clearly the transmission that they installed in 2006 was defective, just as the original transmission was defective. The transmission failed with little or no warning in August and I very easily could have had a crash. It locked up and I could barely move it while I was driving.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #81

Jun 192010

TL

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While entering highway ga 400, I noticed that my 2001 Acura 3.2 TL slammed in to first and second gear. Then, the D5 dash light began blinking, then the tcs light, then the check engine light. I drove to the nearest dealership (jackson Acura), who advised me that the transmission had failed and offered 10% "help" with the $5,331.65 cost for a new transmission. I was "lucky", in that we were driving in excellent conditions. We could have been hundreds of miles from home, in the rain, in the dark, with small children... there was no warning. I consider this to be a major safety hazard.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #80

Jun 232010

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 3.2tl Acura. Document sent regarding mediation on behalf of consumer regarding transmission problem the consumer stated while driving, the transmission made a loud bang noise. He pulled over to side of the road, but no noise was heard. He got back in the vehicle, put the vehicle in gear and began to proceed slowly, again no noise was heard. The next morning, he made arrangements to take the vehicle to the dealer. At the first stop sign, as he pulled into a lane and turned right, there was a grinding noise coming from the vehicle. When the consumer arrived at the dealer he found out, that a safety recall had been issued, but the work was previously done. The consumer was informed the transmission needed to be replaced at an estimated cost of $4,800

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #79

Apr 132001

TL

  • 70,000 miles
One week ago I noticed that my car's transmission (2001 Acura TL) was slipping between 2nd and 3rd gear as well as when shifting into reverse. I went to Acura honolulu yesterday and they confirmed the issue was with the transmission slipping. They estimated that the repair costs would total $6600 (nearly what the car is worth). I did some online research and found out that this year's model has a faulty transmission and they had offered an extended warranty, however, because my car is over seven years old, they will not honor this warranty even though my mileage is within the accepted coverage of 100,000 miles. I'm now stuck with a car that is unsafe for me and other drivers on the road yet Acura is unwilling to assist in the repair costs. I have contacted my dealerships service manager as well as their corporate offices, but they were unwilling to offer goodwill assistance. I take good care of my car and it is unfortunate that Acura is willing to keep a bad product on the market while leaving the owners to pay ridiculous repair costs..

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #78

Mar 152010

TL

  • 148,000 miles
I purchased a 2001 Acura TL last week 03/09/10 fell in love....on 03/16/10 driving down the highway at 60 mph the check engine light comes on RPM rise when I press the gas pedal but the car doesn't speed up. And im forced to try and drift into a breakdown lane without getting hit by other cars on the highway!.so that means I've only had the car for a week and it almost killed me!

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #77

Feb 022010

TL

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my Acura 3.2 TL transmission problem, gear slipping and could be potential high/fatal risk on a hwy.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #76

Oct 042009

TL

  • 108,000 miles
I am the original owner and only driver of my car and I have taken excellent care of the vehicle (nearly all dealer-recommended inspections and maintenance in timely manner). The original transmission failed and was replaced in 2003, as per the manufacturer's recall. Once again, my car has been rendered inoperable because the remanufactured transmission has now completely failed (after the expiration of the extended warranty) - with 108,000 miles on the odometer. With a moderate driving history, a well-cared-for car should not have two failed transmissions in nine years. As a retiree, $4000 repair costs or used car purchase prices are both prohibitive; and Acura disclaims all responsibility.

- Seabrook, MD, USA

problem #75

Sep 012009

TL

  • 91,000 miles
We own a 2001 Acura 3.2tl, which we bought in 2006 with 43K miles on it. It currently has a little more than 91,000 miles on it. About a month ago, we started experiencing transmission trouble - very sluggish shifting, and slippage between 2nd and 3rd gears, and heavy shaking/vibration of the car (until then it has been a fantastic vehicle). I googled it and found out that it was under a recall. However, when I called the local Acura dealer, we were told we were beyond the 7 yr window, even though we have less than the 100K limit on the warranty.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #74

Jun 152009

TL

  • 155,865 miles
Transmission started to slip at first, it slip after I reverse out of my drive way and then when I put it in drive that's when it slips. Thought it was nothing until the transmission started to leak. I took it to a shop to get it look at and they said that it needs to replace. Also one thing is that I'm the second owner and never received any recalls notice. So right now I don't know if I should take it to the dealership to get it replace because of the recall.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #73

Apr 212009

TL

  • 111,403 miles
Acura TL model 2001 having transmission problems. Spoke to Acura care with no response. Acura is giving worst possible customer service.

- Bentonville, AR, USA

problem #72

Feb 162009

TL

  • 95,000 miles
2001 TL needs another transmission job, and Acura is not willing to pay for this 3rd transmission as of yet. Always loved the cars and when they sent me the recall notice in 2003/04 thought it was very honorable. When I drove the car to the dealership it nearly killed me as it dropped down to 2nd gear on the highway. I was able to get to the dealership in one piece and they "fixed it". thought it was honorable that they proactively resolved situation. However, I noticed the gears slipping again just the other day and knew right away that it needed to be taken back. As I was driving it back a truck came feet away from crushing me as it dove down to 2nd gear. I was barely able to get it to the breakdown lane in time, I was scared @*(#(&$. had it towed there and they charged me $96 just to look at it. Called me and informed me that since it's out of the 7 year/100,000 ml warranty that they cannot be responsible. It's under 100,000 miles, I'm original owner, and they are telling me they don't have record of fixing it from 03/04. (I brought it to them, but there computers only go back 5yrs?) they want to charge me 3,100, and claim that since they haven't serviced it in 5 yrs they don't know if it's been serviced properly. I moved away what the hell" this will be the 3rd transmission on it and it's under 100,000 mls??" I replace the tires less often, have a perfect driving record and both my brothers bought cars from Acura of auburn "MA". I easily could have died the other day and they showed no empathy. It's like they've seen this too many times that they've become jaded. I'm awaiting a call back from a case manager. If they don't help me I'm contacting the better business bureau/writing the attorney general. There is no way they should be profiting from such an obvious design flaw. I at one time loved the car, I will never buy another and will proactively tell people looking for a car to stay far far away. I've never been this angry and disappointed. Gl to all owners!!

- Bolton, MA, USA

problem #71

Nov 162008

TL

  • 150,000 miles
My Acura 3.2 TL transmission has failed for the second time in 5 years. I replaced the transmission for the first time 2 years after I bought it. After another 70,000 miles, it has failed again and replacing the transmission costs approximately $5000. As a consumer of a supposedly high quality vehicle, this is just wrong.

- Sterrett, AL, USA

problem #70

May 282008

TL

  • 129,000 miles
In March 2007 I purchased a 2001 Acura 3.2tl, after a couple of months I noticed the transmission was slipping, I took the vehicle to a local Acura dealer to find that the transmission needed to be replaced. After doing some investigating I found Acura had recalls on the transmissions, mine was considered out of warranty because the miles exceeded the recall. (this occured in May 2007) in may of 2008 my transmission went completely, during this time frame the transmission would slip, down shift etc which could have caused an accident or even death with my family and me. I contacted Acura hq and was given a case manager, who asked me to take the car back to the dealer repair shop, they would inspect it and contact me to see if they would possibly replace it (as a goodwill gesture)I was also told that I would never had received any notice of the recall because I was not the original owner, therefore since a repair was never done I feel that they should honor the recall, do the right thing and repair it. I received a phone call from the dealer stating Acura would only cover 25%, I was told by the repair shop that the transmission was so far gone that they couldn't even tear it down to do an inspection of the gears. At this point and time I have had to pay for a car rental for one month, may have to put out at least $2500 for a repair and I am not a happy customer. To me a recall is a recall and I feel Acura hq would want to keep satisfied customers. I have owned both a Honda and Acura prior to this and had approximately 250,000 miles on my other Acura. I was told by Acura hq, that if 2nd and 3rd gear were damaged they would replace the transmission, I faxed my paperwork from May 2007 which certainly stated this and am now told that this will not occur. What are my next steps to have Acura shoulder the full responsibility

- Lutherville, MD, USA

problem #69

Jan 032008

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,230 miles
On January 24, 2008 we sent a letter to richard colliver, executive vice president, auto sales at Acura in response to a questionnaire. We bought a used Acura 2001 3.2tl in November of 2005. It had a "reconstructed title". in Oregon this means there was no frame damage. The car had about 50,000 miles. I have put over 30,000 miles on the 3.2 TL since we bought it and had no problems until the transmission started slipping. After visiting with my mechanic and the local Acura service department regarding the transmission we discovered there had been a recall on the transmission and was told this was done in January of 2005. At some point, Acura also extended the warranty on the transmission because of an internal problem with the transmission that caused it to slip after it warmed up. I feel we have been left in the lurch with a transmission Acura knows is faulty. The car was in an accident more than two years ago, before we bought it, and you are telling us the accident voids the warranty. If the accident caused the transmission problem I think it would have shown up a long time ago. I don"T think body work on a car ? no matter how extensive " would necessarily add up to transmission failure. It seems to me to be an excuse for Acura to push aside a problem they know is their responsibility. I have never received any response from Mr. Colliver. The man who did call and give us the run around again about the reconstructed title when faced with our logic then changed his tune and said the service department only said the transmission was slipping they did not say anything about it clunking. It does clunk into gear after it slips but evidently if the Acura service did not designate that on the invoice they won't consider it. However, I believe if they had designated that very thing, there would have been another excuse.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #68

Dec 282007

(reported on)

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Acura 3.2tl with transmission problems. Consumer states that they received a recall for the transmission. Dealer installed oil jet kit informed on the recall. They also say the transmission completely stopped working. The consumer stated after the service was performed, he started to experience shift changes, and gear slippage. The transmission was replaced, however 2-4 months later the consumer began to experience erratic shifting and a feeling of gear slippage, but the consumer was told the transmission was working properly. The consumer stated on July 16, 2007 the transmission malfunctioned again when all of a sudden the engine increased and when he let off the cruise control, white smoke billowed from the rear of the vehicle. The consumer was able to pull over and had the vehicle towed. The service center informed the consumer that the transmission had failed. Recall#04V176000

- Chapin, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?