Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Structure Problems

2005 Acura TL (Page 5 of 6)


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,020 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Acura TL body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Acura TL:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Acura TL Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

May 012011

TL 6-cyl

  • 170,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Acura TL. The contact noticed that there was a crack on the passenger side dashboard near the air bag and he was concerned that it would deploy without warning. The dealer did not offer any assistance. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was 170,000. Updated 07/08/11 updated 07/20/11

- Fernadina Beach, FL, USA

problem #32

Feb 022010


  • miles
Dashboard on my 2005 Acura TL is cracked really bad. It is a garage kept car. I am afraid the airbag will deploy. Apparently after doing research on the internet a ton of people with the same make and model are having this issue. Please help!

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #31

Jun 132010


  • miles
I own a Acura TL 2005 which I bought in Nov 2009 and last summer my cars dashboard developed multiple cracks. Now I am afraid if this will have effect on my airbags, I am noticing my cars audio already making some buzzing noise after the cracks. Please take necessary action on Acura and make them replace these dashboards, this being a luxury model they should atleast not put in cheap material.

- Malvern, PA, USA

problem #30

Jan 262011

TL 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles


I own a 2005 Acura TL, which I happen to pay large amounts of money for this "luxury" car. Literally over night my cars front dash board had cracked. Its now has two large cracks on the front dash that are not surface cracks they actually are complete cracks through the dash from the very front, windshield, all the way to the other side, wood grain. One crack that happen to be very close to being on top of the front passenger side airbag. I have not been involved in any automobile accidents within a year, and the one I was involved in over a year ago was a minor fender bender. I have done research and thousands of Acura TL owners have the same complaints and occurrences that only have gotten worse resulting in several more cracks to appear within a couple days to a month which concerns me. I am in fear these cracks and possible future cracks could result in my airbag sensors abilities to function correctly, which could lead to spontaneous release of them, .

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #29

May 152009

TL 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I own an 2005 Acura TL bought 2 years ago from an Acura dealer, like a year ago the dashboard started to crack now it has cracks all over including around the passenger airbag im concerned this could make the airbag deploy incorrectly, I called Acura and told them my concerned but they don't share my opinion the only they could offer me its a 'goodwill' 40% discount on the part not the labor leaving me $1643 to pay for probably the same dashboard that its going to last me another 3 years.

- Pr, PR, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #28

Aug 152009


  • 26,000 miles
Dashboard in 2005 Acura TL cracked in several places. The right side of the dashboard houses the passenger air bag.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #27

Dec 252010

TL 6-cyl

  • 167,000 miles


I contacted Acura's corporate office regarding 3 large cracks that appeared on my Acura TL 2005 dashboard. I spoke with two representatives, who denied any knowledge of this problem occurring with other Acura owners. During our conversation, I told the representatives that I had done some research regarding this problem and discovered that several thousand complaints have been forwarded to the office of defect investigation along with a facebook page with other dissatisfied customers. The representatives seemed unaware of the 'split dash┐ product defect, which I found unbelievable. Acura dealerships in my area were aware of the problem and I┐M sure that the corporate office was notified by them when all of these complaints came in. The fact that the representatives would deny any knowledge of this issue was a blatant lie. I was told to bring my vehicle to the nearest Acura dealership, where they would take pictures of the dashboard (see enclosed pictures). While driving to the dealership, I noticed that my airbag light was now lit. The dealership took pictures of the 3 large cracks and lit airbag light and told me he would get back in touch with me once Acura responded to him. After a few days, the dealership called to say Acura was going to make a ┐good will┐ gesture and only charge me 50% of the cost to replace it, since the warranty for the dashboard had expired. My cost would be between $900 to $1000. I was appalled that Acura would even consider having a customer pay for a defective part that was manufactured by the company. It is obvious that this is a major safety concern, especially now that the airbag light is lit. It is reasonable to believe that cracks that develop where the passenger air bag is supposed to deploy have the potential to affect the deployment of this safety equipment in case of an accident and, therefore, should be considered a safety hazard.

- Wellington , FL, USA

problem #26

Dec 012009


  • 70,000 miles
Cracked dashboard in several areas, including immediately over the location of the airbag.

- Miami Lakes, FL, USA

problem #25

Sep 012010


  • 60,000 miles
My 2005 Acura TL dash has recently been cracking in numerous places. Specifically in the area just over where the passenger airbag is deployed. I am concerned about the potential safety risk this poses. This issue is apparent in a number of 2004 and 2005 Acura owners I have talked to.

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #24

Oct 222010

TL 6-cyl

  • 65,432 miles
Dashboard developed several massive cracks overnight. One crack is 12" and is over the passenger side airbag.

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #23

Aug 222010


  • 74,000 miles


I have an Acura TL 2005 and the dash is cracking right at the air bag on the passengers side.

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #22

Sep 302010


  • 65,000 miles
I own a 2005 Acura TL, and the dashboard, over the passenger airbag, is cracked. I contacted the dealership and spoke to a sales rep who advised that this is a problem in all of the "high temperature" areas of the U.S. and, Acura knows that this is an issue, and they are willing to pay a percentage of the cost of replacement, so long as the vehicle fits the criteria. My vehicle has been very well maintained, and this is not a "cosmetic" issue. My primary concern is that the passenger side airbag may deploy while I'm driving, and potentially cause a crash. Or, in the event that I am involved in the crash that the airbag may not work properly. I never imagined an issue like this would arise, and not be properly addressed by Acura. I am very disappointed.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #21

Aug 012010


  • 44,000 miles
This is reference to my 2005 Acura TL. I bought it brand new. Two months ago a foot long crack appeared in the dash on 1 side of the passenger side air bag. Three days later another foot long crack appeared on the other side of the air bag. I have tried to work with Acura in getting this replaced due to the safety issue of the air bag but have only been offered a cost to me of $600 to do this. I do not feel that the air bag is safe at this point.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #20

Sep 202010


  • 100,000 miles
My dash is cracking. I take care of my dash, keep it clean, garaged, etc. All of a sudden there are two long cracks in the middle of the dash and right above the instrument cluster on the dash. I checked around and it appears I am not the only one that has had this problem. The car is only 5 years old, and is considered a "luxury sport car." The reasons I am concerned is because airbags are located underneath the dash, could they one day deploy while driving" or not deploy at all when involved in an accident" also, this really devalues the car, and the approximate cost of repair is around $1700.

- Albertville, AL, USA

problem #19

Aug 012010


  • 60,000 miles
I have 05 Acura TL. My dashboard started to crack. It seems the airbag is going to pop out. I really worried about this. I also found out alot Acura TL third generation R having the same problem. I hope Acura can do a recall on their defective dash!

- Milford, OH, USA

problem #18

Sep 112010


  • 74,000 miles
A crack appeared on the dash of my car around the outline of the passenger airbag. The entire dashboard has to be replaced.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #17

Aug 092010


  • 31,000 miles
Recently my 2005 Acura TL has developed two cracks on the dashboard.

- Doral, FL, USA

problem #16

Aug 012010


  • 106,000 miles
2005 Acura TL dash seems to be very defective. The crack occurred over a months time. The crack is from the passenger windshield straight down over the passenger airbag. Estimated crack measures about 2cm wide. If you look at the crack and the other complaints regarding this we all have the same concern, which is the airbag. At some point the crack is going to continue to get larger, wider and will effect the passenger airbag if it is not directly affected now. I purchased this vehicle for my 16 year old daughter due to the safety it had such high ratings on. This crack would not be so much of a concern if located somewhere else on the dash, but again it is directly over the passenger airbag. If everyone else is having this crack in the exact same location, it is very concerning that something was not put together as it should be and it should be an obvious recall. We should not wait to see passengers getting killed due to malfunction airbags or due to the dash to fix this recall.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #15

Aug 222010


  • 67,100 miles
2005 Acura TL: The dashboard began cracking about a month ago over the instrument cluster and just yesterday it began cracking over the passenger side airbag. I believe this may pose a threat when the airbag is the deployed, because the crack may possibly rip the airbag. Airbag systems are designed to open a specific way, but a crack may interfere with that. There are also several 100 other people on a vehicle forum that are having same exact problem. Thank you for your time.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 082010


  • 62,000 miles
2005 Acura TL. Large crack on dashboard on passenger's side. Eventhough I noticed after 62K miles, will contact Acura because this seems to be a recurrent problem with Tls.

- Weston, FL, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?