Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,360 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Audi A4 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Audi A4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Audi A4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Aug 202010

A4 4-cyl

  • 75,636 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car loses power as it travels. Has been to dealer for analysis and fuel pump replacement recommended. Checked and found recall campaign 07V375000 is active. Dealer refuses saying our car is not eligible even though symptoms are identical and make, model and year are same. They claim VIN is not in recall base. Who determines the accuracy of the VIN numbers eligible? we have spent several hundreds of dollars to try and fix the problem over the past year and after several diagnosis we are told it is the fuel pump. We just recently found out about the recall.

- Powell, OH, USA

problem #26

Sep 272010

A4

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Audi A4. While driving approximately 65 mph the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop where she was informed the failure was due to the fuel pump. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was notified and she was informed her vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 07V375000, fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump. The failure and current mileages were 72,000.

- San Franscisco, CA, USA

problem #25

Apr 012009

A4

  • 40,000 miles
Reference: NHTSA campaign id number: 07V375000 & 06V017000 I have an Audi A4 and it experienced a "pull back/stalling" issue about a year ago when my wife and daughter were on a trip to visit a college in Arkansas. This happened on a busy road that is heavily traveled by commercial trucks. The car was towed from Oklahoma to plano Texas to an Audi dealership. They put the car through a diagnosis and nothing was found. This problem recurred this week on April 1, 2009. Instead of taking it to Audi, I took it to a local service repair shop. The mechanics/technicians there stated the issue was the fuel pump called out the recalls mentioned above. When I researched these recalls the vehicles covered were only those manufactured through April of 3003. See below: nhthqnwws111.ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/acms/docservlet/artemis/public/recalls/2007/V/rcdnn-07V375-5676.pdf my Audi was manufactured in may of 2003 so therefore not covered. If they did not "change out" or somehow correct the identified system then a safety issues still existed in the car and should have been covered under the recall. Additionally, I am concerned for other drivers that might put themselves at risk in merging onto freeways or otherwise requiring a stable acceleration when maneuvering the vehicle.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #24

Mar 212008

A4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Audi A4 cabriolet. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle made a bumping sound as if there were a flat tire. When the contact released the accelerator pedal, the vehicle drove smoothly. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer ten times for this failure. Initially, he was informed that the failure could not be duplicated. Finally, the contact was informed of NHTSA campaign id number 07V375000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 55,130 and failure mileage was 54,000.

- Warminster, PA, USA

problem #23

Dec 082005

A4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Audi A4 with defective fuel pump. Consumer states that manufacturer told her that her vehicle was not affected because her VIN was not included in the recall. She stated her vehicle was manufactured within the designated time. The consumer had other mechanical problems with the vehicle such as: Faulty ignition coils, transmission and a radiator replacement. The battery was replaced due to the vehicle not starting, the valve and cam seals were leaking oil. The vehicle also had an oil sludge problem. The consumer was unable to lock and unlock the doors at times. The dealer replaced a loose connection.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Oct 092007

A4 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 70,000 miles
I own a 2003 Audi A4 1.8T quattro. My car has suffered a fuel pump failure twice, both documented. The first time at approximately 20K miles, the second time at approx. 70K miles with which I paid to repair. I noticed that my car make and model has two current outstanding recalls related to this same problem (NHTSA campaign id number : 06V017000 and 07V375000). When I called Audi service to inquire about a reimbursement for repair costs, I was told that my VIN# was not included in the recall and therefore, a reimbursement was not possible. Fuel pump failures are not typical. Two failures in the same car within 50K miles of each other are even less likely and I feel are indicative of a manufacturing defect, especially when two recalls already exist for the same part in the same car. The repair was costly, and I would appreciate an investigation into the matter so that I may be reimbursed for repairs that I feel were caused by a manufacturing issue. Thank you.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #21

Feb 022008

A4 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Audi A4. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle shut off without warning. In addition, there was a total loss of power. The mechanic stated that the fuel pump caused the failure. There is a recall for the fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump (NHTSA campaign id number 07V375000); however, the dealer stated that his VIN was not included. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 47,000.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #20

Nov 062007

A4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Audi has intentionally put my family and me at risk of serious injury or worse by refusing to replace a possibly defective fuel pump in my 2003 A4 1.8L turbo. Even though my car was manufactured within the timeframe specified in the fuel pump recall campaigns, Audi usa told me my car shouldn't be affected by this problem since the recalls don?T include my car's VIN. (campaigns #06V017000 and #07V375000) these recalls cover A4 1.8L turbo engines manufactured from September 1, 2002 to March 31, 2003. Mine was manufactured on November 8, 2002. It is clear to me that Audi is putting us at risk for a crash and injury, since 1) they used the same excuse to deny responsibility for all 4 defective ignition coils that turned out needing replacement (see ODI #10214099); 2) my car has already had serious mechanical problems (completely new transmission and radiator by 69,000 miles); 3) Audi seems unaware of how many cars are really affected by this, given they didn't include enough vehicles in the first fuel pump recall of 74,000 cars and had to add a second one for an additional 34,000; and 4) these fuel pumps are known to fail as early as 50,000 miles, and my car has 70,000. It is for these four reasons my fuel pump needs to be replaced at Audi?S expense. Audi needs to stop making its car owners pay for their engineering mistakes. This is a dangerous practice that needs to stop before someone gets killed.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #19

Dec 012007

A4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Audi A4. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning. The contact heard a loud whining noise coming from the fuel pump. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that the fuel pump was disabled. The contact stated that the vehicle should be covered under NHTSA campaign id number 06V017000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump). The dealer and manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The current and failure mileages were 70,000.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #18

Nov 192007

(reported on)

A4 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Audi A4 requesting fuel pump replacement. Consumer stated that the vehicle is having frequent stalling when starting and when in use. The consumer stated his vehicle fell within the vehicle identification number range regarding the recall for the fuel pump. The consumer stated the vehicle was displaying frequent stalling at start up and intermittent stalling while the vehicle was in use. Recall # 07V375000.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #17

Aug 202007

A4 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Audi A4. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while idling without prior warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The service technician stated that the fuel pump failed and needed to be replaced. The dealer stated that the VIN was excluded from NHTSA recall number 06V017000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump). The current and failure mileages were 55,000 miles.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #16

Jul 262007

A4 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
I have a 2003 Audi A4 1.8T engine. I discovered a loud mechanical noise at the rear of my car when driving and now also at idle. I found out from a Audi independent shop & from online car forums that the issue on my car is the fuel pump is about to fail. I just found out that there was a recall on this car NHTSA campaign id is 06V017000, the manu campaign number is jl. I then discovered from service records on the car that the fuel pump had been replaced on 4/19/06 with 35,434 miles on the car with the jl code. I purchased the car at the end of May 2006 with 35,500 miles on the car. I had to get a repair to the fuel sender unit (shows the fuel level) under warranty on 6/16/06 with 36,706 miles, the dealership never mentioned the service history to me at this point. The car has just reached 57K miles(out of warranty 50K)and now the fuel pump is screaming with mechanical noise.so basically with only approx 22K miles on the "new" fuel pump it is failing again. Today I went to a Audi dealership in san jose, ca and told them the issue with the car, and the history of the service. The service consultant was extremely unhelpful and refused that they should fix the car under a recall notice. In his own words he said that a mechanical part could fail the very next day after installation. So much for inspiring confidence in a premium manufacturer. I told him about the safety aspect that if the fuel pump fails on my wife and I when driving on a interstate, he did not care. After this I then rang up Audi of americas consumer helpline, I talked to a friendly lady, but she said that noting could be covered under warranty by aoa and I would have to pay out of pocket myself I am extremely unhappy, and very worried about our safety to drive this car. Audi should step up and replace this critical component especially as history proves that there was a official recall on this issue. But they are unwilling to help out. Please help my wife and I out. It would be much appreciated. Thanks.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #15

Apr 162007

A4 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Audi 4. the contact stated that in March of this year, the "epc" warning light would illuminate when the vehicle was started. On April 16, 2007, the vehicle stalled and shut off while driving approximately 20 mph. The contact restarted the vehicle, only for it to shut off again. Aaa towed the vehicle to the dealer (len stoler) who diagnosed the failure as the fuel. The vehicle has experienced this failure once before. The same failure occurred at approximately 20,000 miles and the dealer replaced the fuel pump under warranty. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was excluded in recall # 06V017000. The current mileage is 69,000 and failure mileage was 20,000.

- Baltimore , MD, USA

problem #14

Mar 292007

A4 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,900 miles
Car suddenly would not start. Assumed it was a problem with the fuel filter or pump (which Audi calls a fuel delivery unit). Filter was replaced and car was good for about 3 weeks, then it did the same thing again. Have to have it towed to the shop. Now Audi has sent the wrong fuel pump twice. There is a recall on the pump, but apparently my car is not within the covered VIN numbers. Seems like a lot of people are dealing with this problem and Audi isn't standing behind the defect! this is frustrating when they don't stand behind their product.

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #13

Apr 012007

A4 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 40,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Audi A4. The contact stated that while driving the vehicle lost power without warning and was diagnosed as needing a new fuel pump. The dealer replaced the fuel pump. The identical problem occurred at 40,000 miles while driving at 30 mph. There were no warning indicators. The vehicle was towed and diagnosed as needing a new fuel pump.

- Woodbury, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 202007

A4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,125 miles
I purchased a brand new 03 Audi A4T quattro in June of 03. The dealer is great and thank god they value their customers because my car has given them alot practice on everything. I think germany sent us a dud! since buying the car I have needed various items replaced: A new computer, (replaced by the dealer), a new fuel system was needed because my car stalled in the left lane of a highway while driving in the middle of nowhere (later recalled by Audi but after I needed to be towed and have the cpmponent fixed along with other items supposedly attached to the sytem), and most recently 2 separate problems that have not yet been fixed but have occurred within 1100 miles of each other. First diagnosis of the noise and shimmy while driving was tire balance and later rack and pin steering and after all that they are trying to figure out what the shimmy at 65mph + is along with the whinning in the car the first 10 miles fo each day (after it is warmed up or even if it is a warm day). And what supposedly was first thought to be a coil is now a mystery. They have had my car for over 2 days and are still unsure as to what is going on. Thank god I bought the extended warranty!

- Garfield, NJ, USA

problem #11

Dec 202006

A4 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 80,000 miles
- the contact called regarding a 2003 Audi A4. The contact started hearing noises from the rear of the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, and the vehicle was diagnosed as needing a new fuel pump. The fuel pump and fuel filter were replaced. The contact has the repair invoice. The failure mileage was 85,000. The contact stated recall 06V017000 was for the same problem as he was having with the vehicle. The contact called the manufacturer, and was informed that this vehicle was not a part of the recall. The current mileage was 87000. Updated 03/19/07.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #10

Nov 242006

A4 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Audi A4 2003, the clutch failed at 30,000 miles, but Audi refused to fix the problem until it was completely undrivable. I had to pay out of pocket because it was categorized as wear and tear, thus not covered by Audi's least. The electrical system and the fuel pump also failed and needed to be replaced. The jack broke while changing a flat tire and I was told that this had happened to other Audi owners, but still had to pay the damage to the plastic siding out of pocket.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #9

Jun 272005

A4 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 54,250 miles
Fuel pump failure resulting in vehicle stopping in traffic, requiring tow to service center. Not currently covered in recall campaign.

- Burnt Hills, NY, USA

problem #8

Aug 092006

A4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
: the contact stated while the vehicle was idling, the engine stalled without warning and would not restart. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop for inspection who determined the fuel pump needed to be replaced. There was a NHTSA recall # 06V017000 regarding the fuel system. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. The manufacturer was contacted.

- Saint Simons Island, GA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?