Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,373 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Audi A6 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Audi A6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Audi A6 Owner Comments

problem #10

Aug 012014


  • miles


At times when driving the car the acceleration becomes slow and it stalls with a jerk like it's going to just stop also, when the car is put in reverse gear it will not move. I am stuck. The prnd flashing on the dashboard. I become afraid because this can cause serious accidents.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #9

Jun 102014

A6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,434 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Audi A6. The contact stated that the service engine warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned a loud noise coming from the front of the vehicle intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who reset the codes but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer who indicated that the engine mount needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. In addition, the contact stated while driving 60 mph, smoke started to emit from the engine complartment. The contact mentioned that the fire had consumed and burned through the hood around to the front drivers side of the vehicle. The contact exited the vehicle and the fire department was able to extinguish the fire. A police report was filed. No injuries had been sustained. The contact was not notified of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V267000 (fuel system, other), NHTSA campaign id number: 07V375000 (fuel system, gasoline) and NHTSA campaign id number: 08V157000 (fuel system, gasoline). The vehicle was destroyed. The contact was awaiting an insurance adjustor to inspect the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 87,434. Updated 08/25/14 updated 09/5/2014

- Jefferson Hills, PA, USA

problem #8

Mar 222012

A6 8-cyl

  • 112,312 miles
Filling thank more than 2 quarters will start spilling gas, the fumes are coming from the top of the gas thank, driver side, under the rear seat.

- Alabaster, AL, USA

problem #7

Dec 182011

A6 6-cyl

  • miles


On December 18, 2011 I was driving down the road and my vehicle stalled. I had my car towed to the local Audi dealer and was told that it needed a new fuel pump. I conducted an internet search and discovered that my Audi had been part of a recall and I asked the local dealer if the recall repair had ever been conducted, they told me that my vehicle was not part of a recall. They told me that only Audi A-4's were part of the recall. However, the NHTSA website shows a letter dated July 23, 2007 sent from Volkswagen of America, Inc. (parent company of Audi of America, Inc.) to [xxx] of NHTSA notifying NHTSA that VW of America is recalling and replacing fuel pumps on VW passat's, Audi A-4's and Audi A-6's, additionally, the letter listed a range of VIN's for effected Audi A6's that included my VIN. In the aforementioned letter, VW of America told NHTSA that ┐┐any subject vehicle that is presented for service to an authorized Volkswagen/Audi dealer will be repaired free of charge. Could someone please assist me in causing VW of America to do what they told NHTSA they were going to do" VW of America never notified me of the safety issue or of the recall, and when I presented this information to the dealer they still refused to pay for the repair. Audi endangered me and likely other consumers by never informing us of the recall and I have been forced to pay over $500 to repair a part that was part of a recall and would be repaired free of charge. Could you please assist me in collecting my funds from Audi" additionally, I believe they should be subject to significant penalties and fines for deceiving NHTSA. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #6

Feb 182008

A6 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,539 miles
January 15, 2011 re: Defective investigation PE08008 Audi 2003 A6 leaking fuel from gas tank assembly attached, please find evidence I reported my fuel tank leaked fuel to a los angeles Audi dealer. I bought the car in 2006 with 66,000 miles and remains with no damage history. In 2008, fuel began dripping at the lower driver side vacuum nipple flange which shifted off the rim of the fuel tank. When the tank was filled passed half full, it would drip onto the ground. There is a valid recall for most 2003 sedan models and the 4.2L off-road quattro. This model is a 2003 sedan with the 4.2L engine size and should certainly be included in these two related recalls. Due to no fault of my own, the nature and severity of the defect, I questioned the problem was a manufactures defect warranting repair and potential recall. They disagreed, said it was out of warranty and quoted me a repair. Valentine asserted the condition was noted to my VIN in their system. Later that year, la Audi made different repairs and the fuel leak condition was again put on the work order. Finally in June 2010, a neighbor wrote note the car was leaking fuel. It tank was pouring fuel after filling to the three-quarters mark and parking in our subterranean parking garage. Repair could not be avoided. Based on la Audi's position, a local mechanic replaced the entire tank with a salvage one he found. Attached are photos, work repair orders, a hazard note from neighbor of the fuel leak, and signed declaration these item as authentic and all assertions above are truthful. I appreciate assistance obtaining recovery from Audi for the repairs as they refused to when presented twice. Your assistance in this matter is appreciated. Updated portable 02/18/11

- Beverly Hills, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Oct 272010


  • miles
I own a 2003 Audi A6 quattro 4.2L which I bought used and have driven it since 2004. On October 27, 2010 I started smelling gas and after checking found a leak at the base of the gas tank. I checked the web and found out that there is a recall on other sub-models. I called Audi usa who contacted a dealer I chose to fix the problem. But the dealer is saying that although the recall problem exists it is due to an accident which happened 6 or 7 years ago. I think this is not fair. Thank you VIN [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bensalem, PA, USA

problem #4

Nov 222009


  • 84,600 miles


The contact owns 2003 Audi A6, 2.7 quattro. The contact stated that a fuel leak occurred on November 22, 1999. The contact also observed fuel leaking from the vehicle while driving 60 mph. The contact parked the vehicle and the fuel began leaking out of the vehicle excessively. The rear bumper was hanging off of the vehicle when he returned clean up the fuel that was leaking. The contact notified the bank management of the fuel leak on their property. The police and fire truck were anonymously notified of the fuel leak. The weather was not a factor. The vehicle was towed to his residence, then it was towed to the local dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer was not sympathetic to the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 84,600 and the current mileage was 84,610.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #3

Jun 252009


  • 77,000 miles
Aoa has failed to take responsibility for a safety related defect in my Audi A6 fuel system. Given a NHTSA product safety gas storage tank recall, I believe aoa are liable for this safety related defect. On June 26th, 2009 hoffman Audi, East hartford ct, service manager jim orman orally informed me that aoa will take no further action in this matter, the reasons provided were: 1) recall was on other side of the tank - this particular valve was not part of the recall and they've seen only a few others with issues. "there was no possible way this could occur during the recall repair." 2) fuel tank was out of 4 year, 50000 mile warranty. 3) aoa disregards the unsafe condition caused by fuel vapor/fluid leaks resulting from the defective/worn out valve. In discussion it was referenced that "there were only four other instances of this problem" and cited age of the vehicle. I was told that after reviewing images of my claim, the final decision was made by karl krug, new england regional service manager aoa. Background: In late 2008 I was made aware of a safety recall regarding the potential for fuel tank leakage resulting from cracked nipples on this plastic gas storage tank. A reinforcement repair was performed on my vehicle in December 2008 (NHTSA campaign id number:08V157000). Roughly one month later the check engine light illuminated and the diagnostic fault code related to the tank ventilation system was identified. Last week I isolated the P0456 16840 tank ventilation system pinhole leak code to the fuel tank. Given the complexity of the ventilation system in the fuel tank area, I decided to get the system tested by a dealer. A cracked valve nipple atop the gas storage tank was identified by a Volkswagen service center. I have filed a complaint with the ct attorney general and asked they forward to the appropriate state and federal agencies for further investigation.

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #2

Mar 062009


  • 66,193 miles
My 2003 Audi A6 quattro sputtered, choked and died as I tried to pull into traffic. The vehicle did restart and then did the same thing as I tried to pull out onto another road, and completely failed. Vehicle had to pushed out of traffic and to the side of the road with assistance, then towed to nearby garage. Diagnosed that fuel pump was cause of failure. Mechanic said they could tap on the fuel pump to get it to run, which confirmed that it was the cause of failure. I was also advised by the garage that my vehicle had been subject of fuel pump recalls, although Audi denied that my vehicle fell under that particular recall. Very dangerous situation as I failed twice as I was entering traffic. In my opinion, fuel pumps should not fail by 66,000 miles.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #1

May 012007

A6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,655 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Audi A6. Approximately one year ago, the contact smelled a strong odor of gasoline whenever he placed fuel in the vehicle. He also noticed fuel leaking on the garage floor. He assumed that he was placing too much fuel into the vehicle. In the beginning of June of 2008, the contact made sure to fill the vehicle to the correct amount to avoid any fuel leakage. Within half an hour of parking the vehicle, the contact smelled a strong gasoline odor and noticed a much larger puddle of gasoline underneath the vehicle. He called the dealer and was advised to have the vehicle towed; however, the contact refused and drove the vehicle to the dealer. A diagnosis was performed and they stated that there was a crack in the check valve of the fuel tank that could not be repaired. The entire fuel tank needed to be replaced. The contact proceeded with the repairs, which were completed within a week. The failure mileage was 38,000 and current mileage was 40,000. Updated 07/16/08. Updated 07/16/08

- Darien, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?