Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,709 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Audi Q7 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Audi Q7:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Audi Q7 Owner Comments

problem #7

Jun 142013

Q7 6-cyl Diesel

  • 34,505 miles


I have an Audi Q7 2010. June 2013, my husband, 4 yr old son and I were driving on the freeway going with the flow of traffic. The car started shaking violently and decelerated to 20 miles per hour. My husband pushed the gas pedal over and over and the car would not speed up. Luckily no one was hurt, however we were very scared. We were able to pull to the emergency lane and make it to the Audi dealership close by. January 2014, I was heading to pick up my son from school and the car started shaking violently again- this time worse then before and came to a complete stop in the middle of traffic. The steering wheel locked up and I was stuck. The police were called because I was not in a safe place and the car had to be towed to the dealership. Dealer stated that they found fault in the fuel system, metal shavings in the fuel filter in additional to low fuel pressure. Also confirmed metal shavings in the N290 valve. They had to get authorization from germany to replace entire fuel system. July 2014- yes it happened again. This time my husband and son were headed to go on a father-son camping trip and right before they lost all cell service the car started violently shaking again and decelerated. My husband left the car in a safe place and had friend come get them. The car is a lemon. I have asked that Audi America to replace the car and they sent a technician to the dealership who replaced the fuel filter again and has decided the car is repaired and safe to drive. This is after the manager of the service department told Audi America that the car is not safe and recommended they replace the car. He said " I wouldn't let my wife drive your car". this happened to a friend of mine with an Audi Q7 and Audi had to be forced to an arbitration. She ended up with a new diesel and it happened again! she is now on her 3rd Audi. This time no diesel.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 082014

Q7 6-cyl Diesel

  • 52,223 miles
Hpfp has atomized...again!!.... yes, again!!...steering locked up while vehicle had shut down and was still moving....aprox. 15 mph...almost hit another vehicle !!! my 3 children,9,12,14, were in the vehicle this time!! very dangerous!! please see first complaint...

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #5

May 042011

Q7 6-cyl Diesel

  • 17,597 miles
Filled Audi Q7 tdi 2010 model on 5/4/2011 with diesel fuel and made it about 3/4 of a mile and the vehicle started to rattle and shake hard, felt almost like a flat tire.....but then started to sputter and gurgle and then shut down completely, this took all but about 60 seconds once I felt the shaking, to the shutdown.......steering locked....not good....almost hit a parked car on the side of the road. Vehicle died and stalled in the slow lane (for an hour) and would not restart.... what could have happened on a freeway....I hate to think....flatbed tow truck to dealership and was advised (3) three days later that the hpfp atomized into the fuel system and the system would have to be replaced....injectors, fuel lines, fuel tank, gas filler nozzle, etc. Etc., I have an invoice 5 pages thick for this!! well, 28 days later suzie Q, as we called her, was back. again!! yes, again, this has, January 8, 2014....almost an identical situation occurred.....filled Audi Q7 tdi 2010 model with diesel fuel and made it approx. 3/4 mile....(geese what a surprise!!) and sounding so familiar...yes"? just read again the previous paragraph and place it here.... identical, identical, situation to the "T" this time around, except a different gas station. Dealer today, January 10, 2014 has informed me that, yes, indeed the hpfp has atomized again, ....again, .. really. I want to lemon this pos that I paid $78,510.38 for and was touted by the dealership as almost bullet proof!! hah lol...I was a fool. Never again buying an Audi...unless this is made right. Trade in for full value minus a little....sound ok?"

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #4

Oct 252012

Q7 6-cyl Diesel

  • 29,000 miles


Tdi high pressure fuel pump failure while accelerating from red light. This resulted in loss of power steering, power brakes and steering wheel locked while pulling car over. Had car been traveling at high speed or less experienced driver it would have resulted in an accident.

- Beverly Hills, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 022012

Q7 6-cyl Diesel

  • 30,000 miles
This is a tdi version of the Q7. The high pressure fuel pump failed during normal use and sent metal parts through the fuel lines, through the fuel filter and into the combustion chambers. As a result, the engine ceased and we were left stranded in the middle of the road on a winding canyon road. The engine block was damaged; the crank shaft bent, the pistons damaged the heads and many other parts were destroyed. The car was repaired by an Audi dealer and required all new fuel components (bumper to bumper) and a new engine. The car was in the shop for over a month.

- Tarzana, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Oct 082011

Q7 6-cyl Diesel

  • 29,500 miles
As driving onto the highway, when accelerating to get to highway speed vehicle lost power went into limp mode and was not able to accelerate. Was almost rearended by tractor trailer because of this ( had to pull onto the shoulder to get out of the way). Also the glow plug indicator light started flashing and check engine light came one. Took the car to the dealer ( Audi of fairfield ct) they found that there was a problem with the hpfp metal shavings in the fuel system and they have to replace the entire fuel system. They also said that it might be from putting gasoline instead of diesel fuel, but I am sure I have always used diesel as I kept all receipts from gasstations. They will replace the entire fuel system at no cost to me, under the warranty, but I think it is a problem that needs to be addressed! thank you

- Beaon Falls, CT, USA

problem #1

Jun 252010


  • 8,136 miles
Audi 2010 Q7 tdi fuel filler problems. On several occasions, approximately 1 in 4 fuel stops (current mileage 9,200 miles), I have been unable to insert a fuel pump nozzle into the fuel filler neck on the vehicle due to a vertical bar just inside the filler opening. If fuel is dispensed, its is rejected onto the outside of the vehicle and ground. Possible fire risk. In addition, using the vehicle in urban and rural settings all over the western us, I have been low on fuel and unable to refuel the vehicle risking running out of fuel far from another station. Personal safety risk. Audi does not have any explanation for the problem yet it should be corrected. I have called the dealer and searched the web for information and/or a solution to the problem. Most recently, at a station at West yellowstone national park, I was able to overcome the locking bar with a knife and the fuel filler nozzle combined so I could release the bar and insert the fuel filler nozzle. Audi says it is due to damaged fuel pump nozzles at fuel stations but this does not hold true since it occurs at stations where nozzles are nearly new and perfectly round.

- Fountain Hills, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?