Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,020 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 BMW 325 windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 BMW 325 Owner Comments

problem #15

Dec 122014


  • 55,000 miles


Third window regulator broke on my 2002 BMW 325 - three different windows. I finally got sick of it and called BMW North America and they refuse to do anything about it. The windows go down & you can't get them back up. I did an internet search and easily found tons more complaints. Obviously this is a defective part that BMW should be forced to make good on - it needs to be recalled and anyone who already paid to fix it should be reimbursed. Cheap rotten parts. Here's one example of what I saw when I searched on the internet -. and here is another one

- Franklin Square, NY, USA

problem #14

Oct 082014


  • miles
The rear window rolls down and won't go back up again. Ha email been informed by dealership that it's broken and window regulator needs to replaced. The windows are rarely used. Online research indicates that this is a recurring problem and the dealerships are fully aware of it. The manufacturer should recognize this, recall and fix this issue as it is expensive fix. This has happened 3 times already. My car has barely 60K miles.

- Edison , NJ, USA

problem #13

Jul 212014

325 6-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
Like many others who have reported this problem, this will be my third time replacing a window regulator in my 2002 BMW 325I. The month after I purchased this vehicle I had to replace the front driver's side window regulator, and a few months later I had to replace the front passenger side window regulator. This time I am replacing the regulator on the back driver's side window. This is not an inexpensive repair. It's about $400 plus per window. Someone needs to investigate this and provide a reimbursement to the consumer (me). Hopefully the next repair will be covered by BMW. I'm sure the back passenger side window regulator will most likely be next.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #12

Jun 212014


  • miles


This is the third window I have had that rolls down then suddenly breaks and won't roll up. When I google it I see many other BMW 325I car owners E46 between 2001 and 2006 having the same problem and it is obviously a known weak spot in these cars that should have been recalled and the manufacturer should be told they have to pay for the repairs and reimburse us. My back seat is never used so those back windows are never used and it happened with the back window - it happened with both the front windows - one at a time and every time it is very expensive to fix.

- Franklin Square, NY, USA

problem #11

Nov 162011

325 6-cyl

  • 92,715 miles
Rear right window came off the track and broke window regulator. Replaced window regulator. Technician remarked that both front windows are moving slowly so will need to be replaced soon also.

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Aug 292009

325 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the windows could not be opened or closed. In addition, the windows would exhibit an abnormal crunching sound constantly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer was not notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 51,000...updated 11/28/12 the consumer stated he had a problem with all the windows, getting jammed, or becoming stuck in the up or down position. All of the regulators were replaced. Also, there was a problem with the lock system not working. Sometimes, the button and switches would not work. Updated 11/29/30

- Mount Prospect, IL, USA

problem #9

Sep 212009

325 6-cyl

  • 38,556 miles


I've read several same complaints re: Window regulator failure, so am adding this report for record: I have replaced two rarely used rear window regulators that were diagnosed as faulty (both rear door passenger and driver side) on my low mileage 325I 2002 -- each was after warranty expired (dates: 7/07 and 9/09). The window mechanism simply stopped responding/working, produced a grinding noise when deployed, and would not raise back up from a previously working down position. Dealer gave me a 10% labor discount first time and then a 10% each parts and labor discount on second occurrence. Cost averaged at $330+ parts and labor.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #8

Feb 072010


  • 57,000 miles
On my 325I, I have had three to fix the power window regulator three times for two different windows, today I took it in to fix the problem a fourth time and for the third window. Three of the fixes have been under warranty unfortunately the latest one is not covered. Even under warranty, it is inconvenient and this time when it happened I was four hours away from home and I had to drive with the window down in the cold to get home. Thank goodness it was not raining.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 212009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 BMW 325I. He stated that the electronic windows broke inside of the door three times. On two occasions the vehicle was repaired at the owners expense. The third and most recent failure has not been repaired. The dealer advised the contact to bring the vehicle in so that they could diagnose the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was 76000.

- Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #6

Apr 152007


  • 50,000 miles
Rear window regulator failed. Vehicle warranty was expired and window was repaired at dealer. Opposite rear window regulator failed several weeks later. Front window operators move the window slowly and windows need manual assistance (push on glass) to close. Investigated whether new window regulator design has been implemented. Determined that replacement window regulators are identical to original. The design problem stems from the attachment of the window regulator cable ends into plastic retainers. Obviously, during the cycles of window operation, the plastic is over-stressed and fails. Placed written complaint with BMW usa to no avail as the vehicle is no longer under warranty. First window failure was around 50K miles. Remaining window failures were around 90K miles.

- Park Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #5

Oct 102008


  • 67,806 miles


Problem summary: Window regulator pulley failure. On or about May 2008, depressed switch to let drivers front window down. Upon depressing, a loud cracking noise occurred. Seeing that there was a problem, I depressed the switch again to get the window up. The window would not come up, only the loud noise could be heard.. the window was pulled up manually and stayed in this position until repair. This issue was taken to dealer on June 6, 2008 and according to the dealer the problem was (quote) "'left window regulator pulleys failed. Replaced lf window regulator and nuts'". on or about September 2008, while riding on a calm weather day, I chose to let all the windows down. When the right rear passenger window was depressed, I heard a loud cracking noise as if the window had cracked. When I stopped to examine, I tried to let it up and realized it would not go back up. I realized I had the same issue that occurred in late may08 with the front window. The window was manually pulled up. To date it has not been repaired. On October 10, 2008 while riding out, I chose to let the 3 working windows down to enjoy the air. Around 5:30pm, Oct. 10, 08 I pressed the rear passenger left window and all I got was a loud cracking noise as if the window had cracked. I pull to the side of the road and realize that I now have a 3rd window that has not held up in durability. My parents have had a car for 20 years with power windows and never had such an issue. I personally had another vehicle for 11 years that had power windows and never had such an issue. I believe that the window regulator pulley used for this vehicle are defective as they should be able to hold up to normal window usage. This left rear window has not been repaired as of yet.

- Lawrenceille, GA, USA

problem #4

Nov 072006

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
I am taking my 2002 BMW 325I into the shop again tomorrow to fix the 4th power window regulator to break on the car since I purchased it last year. These have been covered under the warranty but the frequency at which this failure is occurring suggests a defect. Each time, the same symptoms were present: A loud crunching noise from the window and it gets stuck half way and no longer moves. This time, I had damage to my window tint. I have had to leave it overnight with the window down which is risky. The power regulator was replaced at the dealer each time.

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 052005

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,220 miles
Right rear passenger door window failure (stuck down). At dealer now being fixed. On 11/17/2005; left front driver door window failed stuck down. Replaced door regulator. Sun roof window stuck open; replaced window regulator. Unable to secure vehicle (2002 BMW 325I - 4 door) during times of failures and in case of accident probability of egress through windows doubtful.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 302005

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have had four window regulators replaced on my 2002 BMW 325I. My car has less than 16K miles. My friend, who also has a 2002 BMW 325I, recently had three regulators replaced. Unfortunately, her car is no longer under warranty because she has already exceeded the mileage allowance for the warranty. Thus, she had to pay a ridiculous amount of money to have three window regulators replaced. This specific part is clearly a defect.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 262004


  • 235,000 miles
While driving consumer heard a loud rattling noise coming from the front passenger window. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Fort Dodge, IA, USA

Not what you are looking for?