Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,999 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 BMW 325 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #68

May 162016

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ever since the takata air bag alert was issued by NHTSA and BMW, I have been in touch with BMW North America representative, cindy suozzi for information regarding the replacement. After much delays and correspondence including telephone conversations, almost a year after first notice, she had a dealer, crevier BMW to replace the defective driver side takata airbag with another takata airbag as a temporary measure until a correct replacement was available. See below email of April 26, 2016. "good afternoon cindy, I am following up with you yet once again on the availability of the 'right' replacements (passenger and driver side) of the takata air bags for my 2003, E46. As you know it has been 19 months since the initial announcement (recall campaign N0. 14V-428, September 2014) and months since you were kind as to arrange a temporary solution for me at crevier BMW dealership. I am still very much interested in the actual real solution. I am sure the NHTSA would not be happy to hear of such long delay and lack of any information from BMW North America as to when customers can expect a solution. I look forward to your response. Ali emad" after more delays in getting a reply, she is now referring me to your website: "good morning ali, the most up to date details on takata is posted on the ntsha website. Kind regards, cindy" I am absolutely frustrated with BMW and their delaying tactics and total disregard for the customers' safety. I am requesting that you intervene on my behalf, compel BMW to provide a real and appropriate solution and stop these delays. Other manufactures such as Honda have already responded and taken corrective actions but BMW seems to discard this very serious safety concern and ignores your directives. In their letter of June 19, 2014 to you, they commit to replacing defective part but do not do so. Please advise.

- Placentia, CA, USA

problem #67

May 112016

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 3251. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Croton-On-Hudson, NY, USA

problem #66

Apr 222016

325

  • 41,690 miles
Takata recall.... I am driving in an unsafe vehicle due to drivers airbag recall and no parts are available to fix the problem. This is not a good feeling. I worry each time I get in my car and drive. The local dealership said no parts and no loaner vehicles. So I drive and worry. Someone pulled out in front of me on 4-22-16 and I barely missed their car and thought how awful this could have turned out, if I had hit them, T-boning them, my airbag would have opened and injured me and/or killed me. I get home and called the dealership because I never heard from them since last July's first recall when they told me I would get a notification when parts where available. Still no parts, I don't want to drive my car. I am a victim of "worry".the dealership service rep. Was not very concerned nor helpful. She must be not driving a car with a "driver's side airbag that is defective" and unsafe.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #65

Apr 262016

325

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) was received in 2014. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Peadody, MA, USA

problem #64

Jul 062015

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pasadena, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #63

May 272015

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Gun Capistrano, CA, USA

problem #62

Jul 102015

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags). The dealer was unable to supply the part from the manufacturer for several months. The manufacturer was unable to provide a time frame that the part would be supplied to the dealer. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 05/26/16 updated 06/01/16.

- Garnerville, NY, USA

problem #61

May 262014

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325ci. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #60

Feb 102015

325

  • 96,000 miles
"takata recall" the drivers door air bag light came on and would not go off. So we took the car to BMW dealer and was told the air bag was defective. We were given a recall # 15V318, its over a year we have been waiting for car to be repaired and when we call BMW at 1-800-831-1117 to check we were told that they will get to it in good time so we should wait, it is now April how much longer do we have to wait? no one can give us an answer

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #59

Jul 152015

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame for the recall repair. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mexico, MN, USA

problem #58

Jun 272015

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #57

Mar 252016

325 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata inflators VIN [xxx] 2003 BMW 325I kata inflators, hello, I'm [xxx] and I am very disappointed with BMW and its safety, I have been calling for my safety recall on the drivers side air bag on my BMW 325I 2003 since December of 2015, I was informed that the parts would be ready by spring, I have called several times and they change the date until the end of summer not giving a specific date, or hang up on my call. I think that if the vehicle has a recall it shouldn't be driven knowing that I'm risking my life or others lives. BMW has been rejecting the repair since early December. If then when will they repair " and when will they provide me a transportation in the meanwhile" information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #56

Nov 182015

325

  • 85,600 miles
Purchase a 2003 BMW 325I on 11-18-2016. Unable to take possession of the vehicle from the dealer due to the outstanding takata airbag recall. The dealer is not a BMW store and I don't blame them for letting a customer get into a unsafe vehicle. BMW is dragging their feet on the repair of these defective airbags.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #55

Mar 082016

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325xi. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #54

Jul 202015

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #53

Jul 012015

325

  • miles
Takata recall? we received notice of a recall for an airbag problem in July 2015. We contacted our dealer coast BMW Nissan at 12100 los osos valley rd. San luis obispo ca, 93401 (tel. 805 543-4423) several times and were told they were waiting for parts and would call us when they were available. We have never heard from them and believe they are neglecting their obligation in this matter. We fear our safety is at risk.

- Pismo Beach, CA, USA

problem #52

Jul 012015

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Parisville, RI, USA

problem #51

Sep 012014

325

  • miles
I have been on hold since the fall of 2014 on a driver side airbag. The dealer has no inventory and no eta. This is unacceptable. Dodge changed my airbag (also takata) within 10 days of my recall notice. It's been over a year and a half with BMW. Penalize them like you did fca

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #50

Jan 122016

325

  • miles
Takata recall - 15V318 it has been just over 7 months since I received the recall notice from BMW for the drivers-side airbag recall. I have been on a waiting list since it came out, but there are still no available parts. There also is no interim remedy. At this point, I feel the vehicle is undrivable due to the possibility of metal fragments coming through the driver's airbag. This has caused a lot of issues with my household, and is causing un-due wear on my other vehicle, as well as costing much more money for things like fuel and maintenance. I am having to drive hundreds of extra miles every week, along with having to jump through numerous scheduling hoops. I asked about any kind of a loaner/rental car provided via BMW, and I was told no, there is no such thing. After 7 months, there needs to be some kind of resolution, even if it is a temporary one (are there temporary airbags of some sort" something that makes the car safe again, at least until the permanent parts come in"). even with all of the issues, I still feel I am one of the "lucky few" with this recall that has a second vehicle. I can not imagine how things would work out if the only car I had could send shrapnel at me in the even of an accident. Something needs to happen. Even if it's temporary. 7 months of no progress is far too long, even in a recall of this scale.

- Duvall, WA, USA

problem #49

Jan 112015

325

  • miles
I am concerned I got a letter about the recall in July and it is now January and I am driving an unsafe car. I am afraid to drive it. Why has it taken more than 6 months to fix it. Nothing has happened but there is nothing I can do about it.

- Denver, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?