Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,999 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 BMW 325 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #88

May 272016

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #87

May 152015

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #86

May 172015

325

  • miles
I received a recall notice in 2015 for replacement of driver side air bag. As of this date 10/15/16 BMW has not yet notified me of when they will notify me that I can bring my car to dealer to have drive side air bag replaced. Calls to BMW in in June 2016 said to wait until July, calls in July said to wait until August, calls in August said perhaps by October or end of 2016...calls to the BMW dealer I use vary -one time they say make an appointment to bring the car in, next call they say that they have no airbags...my question(s) to the NHTSA is "will BMW ever replace the airbag" and is dependent on whether I use a BMW dealership for maintaining my BMW."?"... I would also like to note that some colleagues with other types have cars have been not to drive their car until the air bag is replaced and some dealers have actually provided a rental car for them until air bag is replaced....also my wife has a 2013 Acura rdx, and while I believe that year was not affected by the airbag recall, her Acura dealership actually replaced her driver side air bag after just a few month wait....I have been waiting for almost 17 months for BMW ro notify me that I can bring my car in for air bags....and I do not quite understand why the BMW dealership keeps changing their story on the availabiltiy of replacement air bags your help and attention to this matter is greatly appreciated

- Greenwich, CT, USA

problem #85

Oct 102016

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. After waiting 9 months for replacement of passenger side air bag I received another recall notice for the drivers side airbag. It has now been nearly 15 months and no remedy in sight. Received a " final remedy available " letter dated Sept. 2016 asking that I call dealer for repair. Called local dealer October 10/16 and was told no parts are available.I have not had full use of my vehicle for nearly 2 years and see no remedy coming anytime soon.

- Manlius, NY, USA

problem #84

Jul 012015

325

  • 76,000 miles
Takata inflators. Manufacturer has not pursued the existing recall in even a remotely timely manner. I was notified by letter dated July 2015 of the recall. That was over 14 months ago! I called my local BMW service center who informed me the required parts were still not available. The representative here at safecar.gov notified me that parts are available. When I contacted manufacturer "national recall call center" (800-831-1117), as recommended by rep here at safecar, they said they weren't for my VIN. When I informed them I had inquired here with this Agency and was told the parts were available, the national center said they'd call me back in 48 hours. They never did. Does anyone take these safety recalls seriously? the manufacturer certainly isn't.

- San Diego, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #83

Sep 122016

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Monroe, CT, USA

problem #82

Aug 122016

325

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

BMW recall no 15V-318 drivers airbag and 13V-172/14V-428. I keep getting alarming recall messages, but no parts are available at my BMW dealership. What can I do? the last message said this could cause "serious injury or death".

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #81

Aug 292016

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 10/06/16

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #80

Jul 312015

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Winamac, IN, USA

problem #79

Aug 102016

325 6-cyl

  • miles
I sent you my first complaint on or around August 10, 2016, and only received a 'thank you' return note, and that you would get back to me. You have not! to recapitulate the earlier complaint, I received recall campaign no. 15V-318 in July 2015, and have since not received anything from BMW. I called BMW customer relations around August 4, to find out the status of the airbag replacement. After getting no information from the first customer relations person, I was connected to a supervisor who also gave me no information. I asked when I could expect a airbag replacement - they told me 'probably before the end of the year'. I told them this was an unacceptable, dangerous situation, with the supervisor's response that 'nobody had died in a BMW of an airbag incident'. while it is good nobody has died, the response was less than acceptable. It is now a week later, August 18 - and still no further response from BMW or from the NHTSA. You guys have been working this - is it safe to drive my car or not" are you asking or working with BMW to resolve this? when can I expect a replacement airbag, or at least a response from BMW or the NHTSA" please get back to me - your in-action is not acceptable either. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #78

Jul 132015

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 10/04/16

- Hatboro, PA, USA

problem #77

Jul 082015

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part needed was not available. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the recall repair. The dealer was made aware of the delay. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/20/16 updated 09/21/16.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #76

Aug 022016

325

  • miles
Dear sirs: I received a recall notice (15V-318) in July 2015, for the front, driver's side airbag recall for my 2003 BMW 330I. Since that time I have not received any additional correspondence from BMW or anyone, to provide status. I called bmwusa, customer service on August 2, 2016 - I first talked to anthony smith, who recited prescribed verbage, that I would be contacted once replacement airbags were received. I asked when - he could only say 'probably before the end of 2016'. I told him BMW's handling of this was less than acceptable, and asked to talk to a supervisor - I was connected to a person named cole, who refused the courtesy of providing a last name, only his extension of X8917. I asked cole when I could expect to receive a replacement airbag; he could not answer that. I told cole I was deeply upset for not receiving any information (at all) from BMW since July 2015, and was deeply concerned for my safety and that of my passengers. He would only say that 'no one had died' of an airbag incident in a BMW - yet, and could offer no other options or comfort for me. I wrote an email letter to bmwusa that same day, detailing what I wrote in this note, receiving a note back from bmwusa (correspondence 1-7149508707), thanking me for my writing them, and that they had forwarded my email to cole for review - and of course I have not heard from them since. Its obvious that bmwusa customer relations group is less than compassionate for their customers. My friends that work at Honda are telling me to 'get out my car', regardless of what BMW is saying - this is a dangerous, unacceptable risk. Please let me know what you think - I think at the very least that BMW should put me in a safe car until they can replace this defective airbag. Thanks for your time.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #75

Jul 152014

325

  • miles
Takata recall I asked for a service appointment on March 8th, 2016 but have not received a call back from the dealership to set a certain date for the repair. Is a 5 months wait normal? I am driving the car daily. Everything works fine.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #74

Aug 032016

325

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received a recall notification for the air bags; however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #73

Aug 022013

325

  • miles
This is a California car parked outside from 2003-2014. From 2014-2016 is has been parked outside in North Carolina. I would think a 13 year old car with this history would be in the priority a group. It is been hot and humid its entire life. It needs to be replaced now. It's just a matter of time.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #72

Jul 172015

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Oak Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #71

Jul 062015

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 08/17/16

- Spring Valley, NY, USA

problem #70

Jun 142016

325

  • 128,000 miles
Jtakata recall campaign no 15V-318 driver-side front air bag module received notice of recall July 2015. As of 6/2016 still no action taken by BMW. I have heard nothing from BMW concerning repair.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #69

Jun 022016

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Seaford, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?