10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,605 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 BMW 325 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Jan 152015

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/3/15 updated 03/177/15

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #21

Jul 092012

325

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325ci. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 20 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated after the seat was adjusted. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the mat was faulty. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #20

Sep 152014

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325ci. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags). The dealer was contacted and stated that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Sanibel, FL, USA

problem #19

Oct 282014

325 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice dated September 2014 from BMW regarding a defect in the front passenger airbag. I called my local dealer in ft myers fl on 10/28/14 to set up an appointment to get the repair done. I was told the part was out of stock and asked to leave my name and phone number and I would receive a call when it became available. Since I did not hear from the dealer I decided to follow up and called them on January 8, 2015. I was told the part was out of stock. The woman said they only receive small quantities at a time. Again, I was asked to leave my name and phone number and would be called when the part was restocked. How can BMW send out a recall notice asking you to call immediately to have the necessary repair performed as soon as possible when they don't supply the dealer with the part? I expected more from BMW. I certainly hope they do something to rectify the problem and expedite the repair!

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #18

Jan 082015

325

  • miles
I received a recall notice months ago and BMW has yet to be able to replace airbag!! I drive across country twice a year and have already made the trip once since the recall notice. What can be done to get BMW to take action?? I can't believe they still have "no parts and a long backlog of people waiting" after all this time.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Jan 082015

325 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/04/15 updated 6/15/2015

- Waconia, MN, USA

problem #16

Dec 292014

325 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325I. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 2/24/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on 02/03/15

- Arcadia, CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 122014

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW 3 series. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/13/15

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 042014

325

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325I. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed into another vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a back injury that did not require medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 180,000. The VIN was not available.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #13

Dec 022014

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325ci convertible. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #12

Nov 292014

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325I. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V428000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rockville, NJ, USA

problem #11

Nov 212014

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325I. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V428000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Palm City , FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 182014

325 6-cyl

  • miles
Although I have received a recall notice for passenger airbag, the has not called with parts availability. Since this fault can cause fatal injuries in case of an airbag deployment, there should be no delays, or the dealer should offer to disable the bag if parts are delayed. Since I am told that cars in the southern U.S. will be repaired first due their use in humid conditions, mine will be delayed. In fact my car was sold and used in memphis tenn. Prior to my acquisition, notoriously hot and humid state. Airbag igniter decay likely occurred. I strongly suggest that the dealers offer to disable the potentially fatal bags if they cannot promptly repair them. Thank you

- Lafayette, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 062014

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the air bag warning light flickered. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and was unable to provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would be repaired. The failure mileage was not available.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 012014

325 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V428000 (air bags) and stated that the dealer cancelled the appointment due to the part for the recall repair not being available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Roslyn, NY, USA

problem #7

Jun 112014

325

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Port Jervis, NY, USA

problem #6

Oct 112013

325 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Vehicle was impacted from rear to front and failed to protect body neck and head from impacting drivers side door. Door design and failure of airbag to deploy caused significant head and neck trauma. Seat belt function tore A/C joint in right shoulder. BMW fails to acknowledge any fault corporate offices non-responsive to inquiries and now be threatened by BMW attorney to have vehicle removed from their lot.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #5

Jun 182009

325

  • 46,198 miles
Total engine failure. Air bag lights illuminated. Air condition failure. Several electrical component failures. Incident occurred at idle speed at stoplight. Currently window system failure due to automobile accident. Window were slow to roll prior to the accident. Reported to BMW denied for warranty coverage. Rear side highway speed contact airbags failed to deploy resulting in medical injury on October 11th 2013. Window now inoperable BMW still fails to acknowledge any responsibility to design flaw.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #4

Feb 082014

325 6-cyl

  • 82,119 miles
Car has been to the BMW dealership several times regarding the air bag sensor alert. BMW dealership doesn't know what is causing the sensor to come on. I have made several complaints to BMW headquarters regarding this issue. The BMW dealership will clear the alert or attempt to repair it, then within less than 200 miles the alert comes on again. I return the car to the BMW dealership, then they want to try something else, which is costing additional money. BMW is aware of this issue and need to be held accountable.I just hope that an accident doesn't happen which will require the air bag to be deployed.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #3

Nov 072012

325 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
No in passenger seat when starting the car and the passenger air bag lamp was illuminated on dashboard. Turned car off and then back on and the light was off. Went about 15 feet and the light came back on. Turns on and off with or without anyone in the seat. BMW representative stated recall id# 81074 did not relate to my VIN.

- Apex, NC, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?