10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,859 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 10 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #130

Oct 212013

325

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When a person sits in the front passenger seat, the dashboard air bag light lights up. Also the ceiling mounted warning light lights up, stating, "passenger airbag off." My understanding is that, if the vehicle would be involved in a collision and had a passenger in the front seat, the airbag would not deploy.

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #129

Oct 132013

325 6-cyl

  • 60,900 miles
Battery was low and wouldn't start jump started the car and received a message that the seat belt restraint tensioner is bad. Has a seat belt with airbag symbol on the dash...plus the vehicle started showing a symbol with a steering wheel with arrows then the car won't start until I shake the steering wheel several times...was stranded for hours then finally it started. BMW has very low quality and problems. This is becoming very unsafe and not sure if I want my family in this unsafe vehicle.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #128

Oct 052013

325 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Passenger air bag and seat belt lights have come on. Known recall affecting model year and production date. Was told by BMW that my car did not apply but could not tell me why.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #127

Apr 152013

325 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light on BMW don't recognize the recall on 2006 BMW 325I I paid for diagnose and they don't want to repair the air bag.

- Tarzana, CA, USA

problem #126

Aug 292013

325

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325xi. The contact stated that the air bag and seat belt warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The mechanic stated there was a front passenger air bag malfunction and referred the contact to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000.

- Darien, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #125

Jul 252013

325 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Frontal air bag on passenger side and seat belt light on. There were a recall for #08V384000. I have spoken to the North Carolina ag office about this issue.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #124

Sep 082011

325 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since Sept 2011, while driving with or without a passenger, the airbag warning lamp and the passenger air bag on-off lamp are illuminated. It goes off on its own, but returns spontaneously. At first our dealership said they couldn't find anything wrong, then when it kept happening they said we could get it repaired. Per safer.gov website a recall was given in July 2009 with this same problem. According to my local dealership and the BMW of no America, our car was not among the cars recalled. Yet we have the exact same problem occurring as described in the recall. They want to charge us over $1100 to fix the problem, yet there was a recall out on "some series 3 models". how can I be sure some other 2006 series 3 models are not over looked? this makes me feel unsafe to drive with passengers and I don't feel if some are defective, that others with the same issue are considered the owners responsibility. I think they should also be under the same recall guidelines when the same exact issue has been sited and is happening in other cars.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #123

Jul 152013

325 6-cyl

  • 60,100 miles
My vehicle (BMW 330I ? 2006), has an airbag/seat belt light eliminated on the dash. BMW has diagnosed it as a failed passenger seat sensor. 2006 330I sports seats were recalled for this item in 2008. My vehicle which has sports seats was never called for the recall. They stated my vehicle's VIN 'does not qualify' for the recall. The manufacturer has also extended warranty for 10 years on all 3 series models with out the sports seat option for this sensor. I have talked a dealer service representative and BMW directly. They said my only option would be to file a complaint and that the government would have to warrant a recall on this vehicle and combination of options. BMW recall id # 57362 - air bags: Frontal recall date Aug 05, 2008 recall date: Aug 05, 2008 model affected: 2006 BMW 3-series summary: BMW is recalling 200,000 my 2006 3 series sport seat, my 2004-2006 5 series standard and sport seat, and my 2004-2006 X3 passenger vehicles. Depending on the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit, small cracks have developed in the mat. If this occurs, the front passenger air bags, with the exception of the head protection system, will be deactivated and the air bag warning lamp as well as the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp will be illuminated. Consequences: In this situation the front passenger air bags will not deploy even if a sufficiently severe accident would occur and occupant protection provided by the system would not be possible. Remedy: Dealers will rework the front passenger seat sensor mat so that external force application to the seat does not cause a crack to the mat. The recall began on November 6, 2008. BMW will also extend the warranty on these vehicles to 10 years from first registration without any mileage limit. Owners may contact BMW at 1-800-525-7417. Potential units affected: 200000 notes: BMW of North America, llc. Updated 07/30/13

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #122

Mar 012013

325

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the seat occupancy detection mat had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 08V384000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #121

Jan 152013

325 6-cyl

  • 115,500 miles
The passenger seat belt/air bag light went on intermittently for months, finally the dealership was able to get the error code. It was confirmed that there is an issue with this and BMW has known about it since 2008. Per their website they were going to send out recall notices to owners, we never recieved anything. BMW needs to make this right and fix the problem at no cost to owners.

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #120

Jan 012013

325

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger airbag sensor failure. Sensor light stating passenger airbag is off - sensor relay fails all the time. Similar to BMW recall 08V-384 and NHTSA campaign number: 08V-384. The build date for the car was Jan-06 and the related recall only covers to 11/05.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #119

Jun 032013

325 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Air bag and passenger seat belt indicator on center dash cluster lit up during normal driving. Took car to dealership for repair and was told the air bag seat mat was bad and needed to be replaced. Also told that repair would cost $900. Decided to eat cost as it is a major safety issue as air bags will not deploy during a crash. Total cost for repairs: Qty 1 part# 52-10-7-244-127 basic seat U 1 cost $385.10, qty 2 part# 52-20-1-964-201 clip 13 cost $3.84, qty 35 part# 52-10-945-543 clamp 134 cost $$22.40. Total parts=$411.34 ; total labor=$554.60, total bill for repair=$965.94. I would not mind if this would be the end of the issue, but it is not. I picked up the car from daniels BMW of allentown on June 14 2013, and today (June 21, 2013) the issue came back. 7 days after I had the car repaired for the issue, the exact same issue reappeared. This is a major concern of mine as the front passenger seat of my car is almost always in use by myself or my spouse. After doing a bit of reading on BMW online forums, I see that there is a recall for the exact sensor mat as installed in my car, for almost all other seats containing the exact seat mat, but not for my car, and others like me. I have gone onto the BMW na website and did a recall search for my car and found that the recall does not apply to my car. This is a major safety issue for BMW and they should stand behind their product and repair all seats affected without question. I will be taking my car back to daniels BMW of allentown for courtesy repair and hopefully they will replace...again....the broken mat for free. Hopefully this will not be the beginning of an ongoing recurring issue.

- Kempton, PA, USA

problem #118

Jun 172013

325 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel, indicating that the air bag was deactivated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the seat mat sensor needed to be replaced. The contact spoke with the manufacturer regarding NHTSA recall campaign id number: 08V384000 (air bags), but was told that the vehicle was not included. The failure and the current mileage was 73,000.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #117

Jan 052013

325

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the seat belt and the air bag warning indicators illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. There was a recall related to the defect under NHTSA campaign id number 08V384000 (air bags), however the VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #116

May 072013

325

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that it was caused by a faulty passenger's side air bag assembly. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 97,000. The current mileage was 98,000.

- Olney , MD, USA

problem #115

May 062013

325 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
The air bag light came on. I had my vehicle at an independent mechanic who said it was a passenger side airbag defect ($59 for the diagnosis). Took vehicle to BMW of rockville who charged $400 for extended diagnostics to determine the above. BMW of North America refuses to cover the repair even though there are reports of passenger side air bag defects in prior model 3 series bmws. Also, I was advised by BMW of North America that they have received similar complaints from other 3 series BMW owners, but still refuse to cover the replacement of the faulty passenger side airbag assembly.

- Olney, MD, USA

problem #114

Apr 272013

325 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Passenger sat in the front passenger seat. Warning light appeared on dashboard indicating the airbag has been turned off. This issue is similar to NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000. However, although same model and year, my vehicle is not covered under this campaign.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #113

Feb 042013

325

  • 80,000 miles
The red passenger-side air bag and seat belt lights come on and stay on, whether or not anyone is sitting in the passenger seat. My BMW dealer has told me this means the passenger airbags are deactivated and this is a common occurrence caused by a faulty sensor.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #112

Apr 032013

325

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that whenever the vehicle was started, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure also occurred when driving at various speeds. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V384000 ( front seat occupant detection mat) but the contact's VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000.

- Luskin, TX, USA

problem #111

May 012013

325 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
The red passenger-side air bag and seat belt lights come on and stay on, whether or not anyone is sitting in the passenger seat. BMW has told me it will cost $1,300 to replace, yet it seems from other complaints here and from other online forums that the mat sensor causing this problem was defectively manufactured.

- New York, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?