Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,636 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 10 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #122

Mar 012013

325

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the seat occupancy detection mat had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 08V384000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #121

Jan 152013

325 6-cyl

  • 115,500 miles
The passenger seat belt/air bag light went on intermittently for months, finally the dealership was able to get the error code. It was confirmed that there is an issue with this and BMW has known about it since 2008. Per their website they were going to send out recall notices to owners, we never recieved anything. BMW needs to make this right and fix the problem at no cost to owners.

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #120

Jan 012013

325

  • 42,000 miles
Passenger airbag sensor failure. Sensor light stating passenger airbag is off - sensor relay fails all the time. Similar to BMW recall 08V-384 and NHTSA campaign number: 08V-384. The build date for the car was Jan-06 and the related recall only covers to 11/05.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #119

Jun 032013

325 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag and passenger seat belt indicator on center dash cluster lit up during normal driving. Took car to dealership for repair and was told the air bag seat mat was bad and needed to be replaced. Also told that repair would cost $900. Decided to eat cost as it is a major safety issue as air bags will not deploy during a crash. Total cost for repairs: Qty 1 part# 52-10-7-244-127 basic seat U 1 cost $385.10, qty 2 part# 52-20-1-964-201 clip 13 cost $3.84, qty 35 part# 52-10-945-543 clamp 134 cost $$22.40. Total parts=$411.34 ; total labor=$554.60, total bill for repair=$965.94. I would not mind if this would be the end of the issue, but it is not. I picked up the car from daniels BMW of allentown on June 14 2013, and today (June 21, 2013) the issue came back. 7 days after I had the car repaired for the issue, the exact same issue reappeared. This is a major concern of mine as the front passenger seat of my car is almost always in use by myself or my spouse. After doing a bit of reading on BMW online forums, I see that there is a recall for the exact sensor mat as installed in my car, for almost all other seats containing the exact seat mat, but not for my car, and others like me. I have gone onto the BMW na website and did a recall search for my car and found that the recall does not apply to my car. This is a major safety issue for BMW and they should stand behind their product and repair all seats affected without question. I will be taking my car back to daniels BMW of allentown for courtesy repair and hopefully they will replace...again....the broken mat for free. Hopefully this will not be the beginning of an ongoing recurring issue.

- Kempton, PA, USA

problem #118

Jun 172013

325 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel, indicating that the air bag was deactivated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the seat mat sensor needed to be replaced. The contact spoke with the manufacturer regarding NHTSA recall campaign id number: 08V384000 (air bags), but was told that the vehicle was not included. The failure and the current mileage was 73,000.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #117

Jan 052013

325

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the seat belt and the air bag warning indicators illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. There was a recall related to the defect under NHTSA campaign id number 08V384000 (air bags), however the VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #116

May 072013

325

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that it was caused by a faulty passenger's side air bag assembly. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 97,000. The current mileage was 98,000.

- Olney , MD, USA

problem #115

May 062013

325 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
The air bag light came on. I had my vehicle at an independent mechanic who said it was a passenger side airbag defect ($59 for the diagnosis). Took vehicle to BMW of rockville who charged $400 for extended diagnostics to determine the above. BMW of North America refuses to cover the repair even though there are reports of passenger side air bag defects in prior model 3 series bmws. Also, I was advised by BMW of North America that they have received similar complaints from other 3 series BMW owners, but still refuse to cover the replacement of the faulty passenger side airbag assembly.

- Olney, MD, USA

problem #114

Apr 272013

325 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Passenger sat in the front passenger seat. Warning light appeared on dashboard indicating the airbag has been turned off. This issue is similar to NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000. However, although same model and year, my vehicle is not covered under this campaign.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #113

Feb 042013

325

  • 80,000 miles
The red passenger-side air bag and seat belt lights come on and stay on, whether or not anyone is sitting in the passenger seat. My BMW dealer has told me this means the passenger airbags are deactivated and this is a common occurrence caused by a faulty sensor.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #112

Apr 032013

325

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that whenever the vehicle was started, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure also occurred when driving at various speeds. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V384000 ( front seat occupant detection mat) but the contact's VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000.

- Luskin, TX, USA

problem #111

May 012013

325 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
The red passenger-side air bag and seat belt lights come on and stay on, whether or not anyone is sitting in the passenger seat. BMW has told me it will cost $1,300 to replace, yet it seems from other complaints here and from other online forums that the mat sensor causing this problem was defectively manufactured.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #110

Feb 272013

325 6-cyl

  • 66,100 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 328I. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact found NHTSA recall campaign id number: 08V384000 (air bags) and was told by the manufacturer that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure and current mileages were 66,100.

- Foothill, CA, USA

problem #109

Sep 132012

325 6-cyl

  • 43,560 miles
I was backing up at 4 mph and pressed the brake to stop. The airbag and seatbelt warning light went on. It continued to stay on and has not turned off since. There was no one in the car other than myself as the driver. I have had the car into the mechanic twice now to fix the issue and the lights and warnings still come on. I called the dealership and they say my VIN is not on the recall list. I have researched the issue and found that many owners of the same year, make, and model are having the same issues. Is there any way to get my car VIN added to the recall list?

- Aloha, OR, USA

problem #108

Feb 202013

325 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
1. seat occupancy sensors are broken. The indicator shows up on the dashboard even when the driver and the passenger have their seat belts fasten. 2. oil leaks from pan gasket due to the aluminum bolts and etc.

- San Gabriel, CA, USA

problem #107

Apr 012013

325 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
When an adult is seated in the front passenger seat of the vehicle, the air bag service indicator, no seatbelt indicator, and "passenger airbag is disabled" indicator are all illuminated. In my vehicle's current state, if I were to get in an accident with a passenger present, the passenger airbag would not deploy, significantly reducing the effectiveness of the vehicles airbag safety system. A faulty occupant sensor mat is suspected. This issue matches the BMW recall listed as: NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000. According to BMW North America & local BMW dealer, this specific vehicle does not fall under the VIN number or production date ranges that were initially sanctioned under the recall. In the official recall details, the make, model, year, and seat type all match the specifications of my vehicle. After discovering the recall information, I contacted BMW representative by telephone. I was told that because my vehicle VIN is not on the recall list, the repair must be done at an out of pocket expense. This vehicle's production date is listed as 03/2006. BMW states that the affected 3-series standard seat vehicles were produced between Feb 1, 2005 - Nov 30, 2005. I am filing this complaint because the defective seat sensor significantly reduces the safety of the vehicle passengers, as well as violates vehicle air bag regulations established by the NHTSA. Since this is a design defect, the cost should be covered 100% by the manufacturer, BMW. BMW needs to extend this recall to all model production dates that are exhibiting this failure.

- Merced, CA, USA

problem #106

Jan 022013

325 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
I'm getting this message "restraint system malfunction, fault in passenger restraint system affecting airbag, belt tensioner, or belt force limiter. Continue to wear the safety belt, have the system checked by the nearest BMW center." Usually I have this msg when I have a passenger, but now even with empty seat it pops up and together with the passenger airbag lights. I have contacted the bmwusa about this issue and the( NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000) but they stated that my vehicle does not fall under that category according to the VIN #. hope someone can help, because I have found a lots of complaints about similar issues online. Thank you for your consideration..

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #105

Mar 252013

325 6-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
For no reason the passenger and rear driver side seatbelt and airbag light came on while driving and stayed on forever. My 2006 BMW 325I has standard seat.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #104

Jan 152013

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously with the passenger's seat occupied. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who stated that the front seat occupancy senor was faulty. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.....updated 05/08/13 updated 05/20/2013

- Tarboro , NC, USA

problem #103

Mar 092013

325

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that while parked, the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000 (air bags) but was advised by the manufacturer was that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Washington, DC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?