10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,859 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #270

Apr 202016

325

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger restraint system malfunction. My VIN was not included in the recall but error is showing. According to tbe NHTSA data base under vehicle description (make model and year) theres an open recall for my model.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #269

Sep 202014

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.....updated 07/05/16 updated 07/21/16.

- Montgomery, TX, USA

problem #268

Nov 042015

325

  • 86,000 miles
Pass. Restraint system fault message. Few days went by with this fault message coming on and off. Now its currently staying on. After searching on the web, I've found many other BMW owners with the same issue, but only a few models are covered under recall (08V384000). After search my (VIN) show no current recalls. Recall (08V384000) states 2006 year 3-series. How can this only be limited to some 2006, but not others with the same problems? vehicle has around 86K miles. Thanks

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #267

Jun 012015

325

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My airbag warning light is on. The BMW dealership will not provide me any information as to the maker of the airbag other than telling me it's not one of the recalled tanaka airbags. Many other BMW models of the same year have been recalled for defective tanaka airbags, so I'm not reassured by their response. A friend with same year, make and model of BMW suffered permanent eye damage when his airbag deployed unexpectedly in slow moving collision. I am afraid of the same consequences. BMW, as well as other manufacturers, should be able to provide customers proof that a tanaka, or similar defective airbag, was not used.

- Tinton Falls, NJ, USA

problem #266

Mar 252016

325

  • miles
My complaint is regarding the "takata recall". I purchased a 2006 BMW 325ci on July 10, 2015 from BMW of freeport, unbeknownst to me, with an open airbag recall. I believe that this dealership had a moral and a legal responsibility to inform me that this car could potentially result in seriously injuring or killing me. BMW did no such thing in informing me of this risk and sold me a car that is dangerous. It took them 8 months to send me an email (March 25, 2016) informing me of this recall that they had knowledge of prior to selling me this car in July 2015 this car should have been on a do not sale list. I consider BMW of freeport to be very negligent. BMW had knowledge that this recall would not be repaired in an expedient time frame. I am horrified that this dealer did not provide safeguards for public safety but instead cared more about financial gain. I visited the dealership a number of times and it seems that they have no foreseeable timeline in repairing this vehicle. I am requesting that BMW of freeport provide me a full refund for selling me a car that NHTSA has deemed to be a severe risk to public safety.

- Hewlett, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #265

Jan 082007

325

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. While driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure occurred constantly. In addition, the contact noticed oil leaking from an unknown source under the hood. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The contact could not provide details of the oil leak failure. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and assisted in repairs due to a warranty. The failure mileage was 16,000.

- Cookeville, TN, USA

problem #264

Apr 092016

325

  • 134,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving home and the seat beat and airbag light came on out of nowhere was driving normal

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #263

Mar 162016

325

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. While driving less than 10 mph, the air bag and restraint system malfunction lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact notified a local dealer who stated that the vehicle was not included in a recall and the warranty was expired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure was not remedied. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Carmichael, CA, USA

problem #262

Jul 312011

325

  • miles
Passenger side airbag has same problem from a recall (13V56400) from BMW to fix but my VIN does'nt fall under BMW VIN list of cars to fix. BMW needs to expand there recall seeing all the problems I see people are having with this problem. Safety issue.

- Midwest City, OK, USA

problem #261

Feb 192016

325

  • 150,000 miles
Intermittent passenger side air bag warning light illuminated. Car says air bag is disabled. Seems like same issue as previous nhsta campaign 13V-564 but this particular VIN is currently covered. Please expand recall to include my VIN.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #260

Mar 012015

325

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the passenger side air bag and mat sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #259

Oct 312015

325

  • 98,000 miles
The passenger airbags and/or its components need to be replaced. There was a 10 year extended warranty but it should be recalled. I was 1 month late over the recall. After multiple calls to BMW North America, they refuse to pay for the repairs. Every time a passenger sits in the car, the air bag error code goes on in the dashboard. The passenger air bag off light stays on (stationary and moving) and possibly compromising all other airbag systems. Also, there are some situations where the air bag error code stays on even when the passenger exits the vehicle. This is a safety hazard that needs to be recalled immediately!

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #258

Aug 202015

325

  • 97,000 miles
Vehicles airbag sensor goes off and on while passenger is sitting in the seat when driving and while parked. This is not safe at all as the airbag turns off when there is a passenger in the seat. This has been an on going issue and it is not safe at all.

- Winnetka, CA, USA

problem #257

Jul 222015

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact was placed on a waiting list six months ago. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Woodland, WA, USA

problem #256

Dec 142015

325

  • 69,000 miles
The light has come on and then it will go off and come back on. It need to be fixed. I can smell like it is burnt. My car be in motion and I smell it even after I stop. The light stay on all the time now. I'm afraid every time I get in the car to drive it but I got to take my grandchildren to school. Do you fix it or do I have to fix it. Please help !!

- Manteo, NC, USA

problem #255

Jan 012006

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The passenger seat's airbag/weight sensor on our 2006 325I has gone out repeatedly (we're on the 4th or 5th replacement.) it happens when the car is in motion and then the sensor light comes on to alert us that something is wrong and stays on until it's replaced. However, it usually goes out again within 18 months or so. I am usually sitting in the seat when this happens which is very unsafe. I can't remember the exact date of the first malfunction, but we hadn't owned the car very long; it was still under warranty. We have the sports seats which from my reading seem to be part of the problem. I would like to make sure that our car was not overlooked in the recalls. It never stays fixed for long and I don't want to find out that it should have been recalled when I'm lying in a hospital bed, or worse. Seems like more than a coincidence...

- Cookeville, TN, USA

problem #254

Sep 012014

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #253

Jun 012015

325

  • 145,000 miles
Passenger side seat occupancy mat has failed and needs replacement according to the dealer. Car hardly ever has a passenger yet mat deteriorated. There is a recall for this issue for same model year but my VIN is not included and more than likely should be.

- Newton, NJ, USA

problem #252

Dec 212015

325

  • 176,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that while seated in the drivers seat with the seat belt latched, the seat belt warning indicator illuminated while there was no other occupants in the vehicle. The contact also stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags) however, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 176,000.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #251

Dec 182015

325 6-cyl

  • miles
"takata recall" BMW is refusing to pay for expenses involved with recall. Vehicle is located on island of kauai, hi 96746. The nearest BMW service center "BMW of honolulu" is located on island of oahu (honolulu). They are refusing to pay costs of shipping vehicle to and from honolulu. They are even refusing to send tech"S to kauai to facilitate repairs. Note: They previously use to send their tech's to take care of problems such as warranty issues etc. Because of some corporate protocall.they no longer do it because of issues of liability etc. However, this being a recall it seems they are avoiding their legal responsibility to repair these defective airbags. Note of age of vehicle, it makes it more imperative because of the deterioration of explosive used. Please advise. [xxx](thank you) information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kapaa, HI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?