10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,859 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 16)

problem #310

Aug 012016

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. I received a letter from BMW dated August 2016 regarding the recall no. 15V-318 driver's air bag module and 13V-172/14V-42B passenger's air bag module. I have contacted dealer advantage BMW midtown - 713-289-1200 for months and they indicate they are still waiting on the part. Meanwhile, I am driving around in an unsafe car.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #309

Nov 302016

325

  • 124,900 miles
My car is optioned with power, sport seats and currently has 126,969 miles. For over the last 2K miles the airbag light has come on and stayed on while driving. This indicates to me that my airbags will no longer function in the event of a crash. There are open recalls for this make, model, and year of BMW yet interestingly enough, my car and many others that exhibit this similar issue remain excluded from the recall. I have contacted BMW and they say I would have to pay for any diagnosis and repair. My car was never in a crash and the airbags have never been deployed. There are many points of failure in any car along with bmws that I expect and have no problem paying for. Safety issues relating to faulty airbags, modules, or their wiring is one that BMW should always cover. I find BMW's response completely unacceptable and I request an investigation be started on behalf of the many BMW drivers with a similar vehicle and faulty airbags as mine who brave the roads daily confident in their vehicle's ability to protect them. Thank you.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #308

Oct 062016

325

  • miles
Despite National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (natsa) recall campaign number: 08V-384 and PE14-016 regarding a dangerous airbag frontal issue on BMW/3 series/2006, I was refused to have this dangerous safety item parts fixed/replaced by BMW of san antonio with a reason ¿issue is caused by a humid/moisture condition¿. this recall NHTSA engineering's analysis, EA08-001 concluded a defect, and yet, I was given a response that a moisturize condition had affected it and hence, BMW of san antonio would not get reimbursed by BMW so they will not service this safety issue.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #307

Aug 102016

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325ci. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags), however, the parts needed were not available. The contact believed that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the parts to become available. The dealer and manufacturer were contacted regarding the delay. The contact had not experienced the failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #306

Mar 152016

325

  • miles
Takata recall. I received the notice in March 2016 regarding safety recall. However, I still have not received notification that BMW is ready to remedy the defect. I called a BMW dealer several weeks ago to inquire about the availability of remedy. Date entered below is approximate as the letter only references the month and year.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #305

Dec 152016

325

  • 108,500 miles
I have received a sensor light stating that I have a passenger restraint malfunction. Then it goes away after a few days until someone else sits down which would lead me to believe that it has to do with the pressure sensor mat on the passenger side. I have read that this happens to be a recall for BMW but my VIN apparently is not covered in the recall. I am extending this complaint in the hopes that BMW will investigate and extend the recall to more models with this issue.

- Shirley, MA, USA

problem #304

Feb 012014

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - I have been waiting for over a year or more to have the airbag replaced. The dealer is unable to get the parts to fix the problem. The airbag has already been replaced once, but I was told it was not the correct one. The car is basically worthless because no dealer or individual will buy it with an open recall. I would like takata to buy the vehicle for market price.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #303

May 042009

325

  • 51,000 miles
Passenger air bags and seat belt wont work and BMW wont fix. Electrical:radio, climate control, headlights and windshield washer pump. Window regulators. And the worst:learning from X_employees of BMW say that BMW purposefully miss-torques oil pan, valve cover and oil filter housing so the fail right after 50,000 mile warranty. Every E90 has these problems. And window regulators all except driver side. In motion.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #302

Nov 182016

325

  • miles
Received notice 11/14/2016 regarding recall # 15V-318 driver's side airbag. Contacted the local dealer 11/18 who said parts were unavailable until year end. BMW's 800 number confirmed there was a shortage of parts in the region. This is at least a 6 week delay based on part availability. Unacceptable

- Croton, NY, USA

problem #301

Sep 012016

325

  • 83,000 miles
Takata recall- my airbag light is on- I have been waiting for almost 1 year for my airbag to be replaced. I keep getting told that there is no remedy available. The dealer name: Ralph schomp BMW 1190 plum valley ln highlands ranch, co 80129 1-888-205-2938

- Lone Tree, CO, USA

problem #300

Jan 152016

325

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I got a letter in the mail about 9 months ago regarding replace the airbags and never heard anything since. The letter mentioned that when ever they get the parts they would contact me. Not sure what the exact date is I got the letter for the recall

- Citrus Heights, CA, USA

problem #299

Mar 012016

325

  • miles
BMW North America site indicates that there is a "remedy available" after months of indicating that they were formulating one. I call the dealerships and there is no knowledge of the replacement actuator. I have one of the older vehicles in one of the hot humid zones and therefore should be a priority. I have called 2 dealerships with no success. It has been over 7 months since the recall was announced for my vehicle.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #298

Oct 132016

325

  • 171,000 miles
Was having a series of electrical problems and codes pop up and my vehicle. Including the airbag light aluminate. I popped the trunk to find the battery terminal melted. I took my car into the mechanic and they informed me that there was a recall on battery terminals. Although the recall if she from cars 2007 to 2011 my 2006 BMW exhibits the exact problems that I have read about.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #297

May 272015

325

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 12/13/16 the consumer stated the air bags were replaced. Updated 12/15/16.

- San Marino, CA, USA

problem #296

Jul 202010

325

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. While driving at any speed with a passenger in the front seat, the air bag indicator illuminated, chimed, and "the passenger air bag is off" warning message appeared. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 08V384000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #295

Dec 312015

325

  • 300,000 miles
The passenger seat occupancy mat has failed. Although there is a recall for the same model, seat type (sport) and manufacturer date (2006/02), BMW does not consider our car part of the recall. Recall campaign 13V-564: E90, E91 front passenger airbag seat occupancy sensor mat model E90 (3 series sedan) E91 (3 series sports wagon) only vehicles are equipped with sport seat produced from December 2005 to September 2006 BMW has decided to amend the 2008 voluntary recall (NHTSA id: 08V-384) involving the front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat.

- Camano Island, WA, USA

problem #294

Jul 152014

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V318000 (air bags) and 14V428000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #293

Sep 162016

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received a recall notification for the air bags. The dealer reported that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sunny Isles Beach, FL, USA

problem #292

Sep 022016

325

  • 75,000 miles
The front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat has failed and giving an air bag and seat belt warning lamp on the instrument cluster along with pass air bag off light continuously on. BMW claims that my vehicle had a limited warranty extension for 10 years from build date, but I did not receive any such notification although I am the original owner and also lived at the same address. BMW will not approve a warranty repair as they said the 10 year period expired in 2015. The failure of this sensor could cause the air bags to not deploy in the event of a front end crash.

- Winchester, CA, USA

problem #291

Mar 152016

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Santa Rosa, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?