Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,026 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments

problem #18

Aug 022013


  • 151,000 miles


The vehicle was used under normal driving conditions. The tread of the tire began de-laminating from the tire after 40K miles. Fortunately the car was in for service and the mechanic found the defective tires before they came apart while driving. All 4 tires were replaced, but the old tires remain in my possession.

- Finksburg, MD, USA

problem #17

Jul 292009

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. Whenever the contact drives the vehicle at various speeds, he hears a squeaking sound coming from the front end. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that all four tires needed to be replaced. The current and failure mileages were 16,000. Updated 08/28/09. The vehicle has run-flat tires. Updated 08/31/09.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #16

Dec 312008


  • 28,375 miles
I brought my car in for scheduled inspection appointment. While at the dealer I was told the tires on my BMW 325I needed rotating. I agreed and I was charged $165 for the service. While driving home, I noticed a loud humming coming from the tires. It was loud enough that I made a second appointment to have it checked out. I was told by the service specialist, ely, at hassel BMW of freeport N.Y., that everything was okay. I asked her what was the source of the noise and she stated the tires were "feathering." I informed her that I was concerned because the noise was so loud that I could not have a normal conversation inside the car. She told me that it was normal wear and if I wished to have the tires rotated to the original position. I have since found out that there is a problem with this particular brand and model of tire, what concerns me is the fact that hassel BMW of freeport NY did not bother to inform me of the problem. They knew, I found out, and they still put this brand of tires on their vehicles. I spoke with the manager of the service department, john, and informed him of my findings. I was told that there was an si bulletins, which I had already obtained from a tire specialist, about the irregular tire wear of this type of tire. John informed me that I had no recourse with hassel BMW because my car had more than 20000 miles on it. I told john that I purchased the car with 14775 miles and the car had four new tires installed, and since the car has 28375 miles on it, the tires have about 15000 miles. This seems to be a common problem and hassel BMW seems to think that by quoting the car mileage instead of the tire mileage they do not have to honor the si recommendations. According to the si B 36 06 06 I should be, at a minimum, able to purchase tires at 50% of the value. John told me that I should take this up with BMW of North America, since they are the ones that build the car or the tire manufacturer. His demeanor was very unprofessional.

- Fresh Meadows, NY, USA

problem #15

Feb 142008

325 6-cyl

  • 15,187 miles


My wife drives a 2006 BMW 325xi sport wagon. The car came equipped with bridgeston touranza E42 runflat tires. Due to rapid tread wearing, all four tires were replaced by the dealership at 15000 miles. The tires were replaced with the same brand and model "touranza E42". with approximately 10,000 miles on these tires, we have experienced the same wear problems. The car drives very loud, and doesn't seem stable. BMW refuses to take any further action, claiming it is the consumer's problem. The dealership has "acknowledged" other BMW driver complaints with the bridgeston touranza E42.

- Catharpin, VA, USA

problem #14

Jul 012007

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,608 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 3 series. The vehicle has Bridgestone (model unknown), size 205/55R16 tires. While driving 45 mph, the tire warning light illuminated. The contact stated that there was a loss of air pressure on the driver side front tire. Furthermore, the passenger side front tire was blistered. The dealer would not diagnose the failure and referred the contact to the tire manufacturer. As of October 22, 2007, the manufacturer had not inspected the tires. The failure mileage was 1,608 and current mileage was 16,700. Updated 12/12/2007 updated 12/12/07

- Youngstown, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Oct 152007


  • miles
I own a 2006 BMW 325I with oem Bridgestone turanza EL42 run flat tires. The tires have been making a loud noise for quite some time with 18K miles on them. I took the car in to the dealer for my first 15K mile service and was informed the tire was not wearing properly and that this has been a common problem with that model tire. The dealer was only willing to pay for 2 new tires. If the tire has a problem I feel it is fair to get 4 of them replaced. I was not able to find a recall on this tire but I felt like it deserved to be investigated based on the amount of people having problems that are posted on various websites. After 6,000 miles on the new tires I notice that the front tires are showing excessive wear and tear and I am going to take it back to the dealer. I believe these bridgestome turanza EL42 run flat tires have serious manufacturing problems and neither BMW or Bridgestone would admit it. I think this model tire needs to be investigated before we buyers have to replace these every 6,000 miles are so. BMW should own up to the problem with these tires and replace them with better tires at no cost to the consumer. Given the price of these cars dealing with tire issues every six months is unacceptable.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #12

Sep 102007


  • miles


Increased road noise and vibration effecting the steering.

- Forest Hill, MD, USA

problem #11

May 012007

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
I have 2006 BMW 325xi with only 15,000 miles. The car has bad batch of tires put on and it makes loud road noise. And dealer asks me to pay 50% of its cost to replace. I think BMW should pay for whole thing.

- Carol Stream, IL, USA

problem #10

May 022007

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
I purchased a BMW 330I in May 2006. Shortly after purchase the tires were making noise. Initially, the noise wasn't terribly objectionable, but it continued to worsen. I took the car to hendricks BMW in charlotte, nc, and was told that the tires were cupping or feathering. They offered a 50% discount on the purchase of 4 new tires at 11,500 miles. I called BMW Consumer Affairs, and was told to contact Bridgestone for a resolution of this problem. Later, on the web I found BMW technical service bulletin sib 36 06 06 which addressed this specific problem. However, the information in this bulletin was not made available to consumers that purchased a vehicle with Bridgestone turanza el 42 rft tires. BMW was still researching the problem. However, I am not optimistic they will address it.

- Denver, NC, USA

problem #9

Jan 022007

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Noise caused by tires while driving making uncomfortable in 2006 3 series BMW.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #8

Nov 152006

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Run flat tires on 2006 BMW 325I are horrendous. They wear very quickly vs conventional tires--- I think the public needs to be aware of this before they make that purchase. There are several blogs out there ( that have hundreds of complaints

- Bear, DE, USA

problem #7

Jan 242007

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
In May 2006, I leased a new 2006 BMW 325I with the sport package from don jacobs BMW in lexington, ky. This package is comprised of 17" tires that are Bridgestone potenza rft. My car currently has 11,990 miles on it, the tires are worn out, extremely loud and will not go in the snow. Also, BMW informed me that my car has a stability control sensor that is not functioning properly and will cause the car to overcorrect itself and possibly cause the car to swerve without warning. However, the BMW dealer sent me home (120 miles) in this vehicle the same day they diagnosed it. I am concerned that my car is not safe. Not only are the Bridgestone potenza tires on my car extremely worn with little mileage on them, the stability/steering sensor has gone bad. I am afraid that my car will steer itself into oncoming traffic while I am driving it. Total failures include 4 tires and one stability sensor.

- Ashland, KY, USA

problem #6

Jan 042007

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,200 miles
- the contact owns a 2006 325xi BMW. The tires on the BMW were Bridgestone, turanza EL42, size 205/55/R16 dot# is # ej8kcnk4005. While driving the contact heard a loud noise coming from all four tires. When the vehicle's odometer reached 7,000 and again at 10,000 miles the tires began to vibrate. Both BMW and Bridgestone were aware of this failure, and Bridgestone offered a 25% discount toward the purchase of a new set of tires. The vehicle's current mileage was 10,200. Tire size rft EL42 205/55/16 updated 01/19/07.

- Gainsville, VA, USA

problem #5

Dec 272006


  • miles
This complaint refers to the original equipment tires (Bridgestone el-42, 205/55-16 run flat) supplied on the 2006 BMW 325I with 6-speed manual transmission. After only 13,000 miles on a brand new car, I have found this tire to be entirely unsafe and unsuitable to this vehicle. I believe that both BMW and Bridgestone should be held responsible for replacing this tire on all existing vehicle. This tire exhibits unsafe characteristics in wet weather, with noticeable drift and hydroplaning in any amount of standing water, even as little as 1/16 inch. In heavy rains, even with no standing water present, the tire seems incapable of dispersing water as quickly as it falls, again leading to vehicle instability. From a ride quality point of view the tire is also unsatisfactory in that it flat spots every morning, especially in cool weather but even in warmer weather as well, leading to vibrations in the initial miles of any drive. It is also especially harsh over roadway expansion joints, and is so loud on concrete pavements that it poses a safety hazard due to driver fatigue induced by the continuous noise. I also understand that there may be an issue regarding the rating as an "all season tire" with many owners reporting that this tire is virtually useless in any kind of snow conditions.

- Basehor, KS, USA

problem #4

Aug 112006

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
Excessive premature tire wear on a 2006 BMW 330I. I have made numerous complaints to the dealer and they say they are working on a fix or a tire replacement but that I should continue to drive. This has been going on for 2,000 miles and it has progressively gotten worse. I drive my 3 year old son to day care and I really would like to feel safe while driving him. Having given the dealership over 2 months to correct the problem I feel it is time to look into other avenues to get a resolution.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #3

Oct 052005

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75 miles
: the contact stated the flat tire warning light frequently illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the service dealer, who was not able to fix the problem.

- Jackson Heights, NY, USA

problem #2

Apr 242006

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,500 miles
Purchased new 330I from dealer in 9-05. On 4-06 at 12,500 miles called dealer to request service since vehicle had been making a "roaring & wa-wa" sound when applying brakes. This had been going on for some time & since driver was waiting for computer to indicate service needed kept on driving. Dealer agreed to see car and upon inspection called driver & informed that tires were worn erratically & needed to be replaced (est at $1500). Since driver questioned need for new tires at such low mileage, dealer finally suggested to call corporate BMW. Corporate BMW stated there was a process driver would have to go through in order to confirm tire defect since tires were not part of warranty driver would have to process claim through tire manufacturer with assistance from corporate BMW. Driver had to then go to tire manufacturer to have the tires inspected & request a report be generated from inspection. Tire manufacturer stated tire wear was due to lack of maintenance (since tires were never rotated) & not tire defects. Dealer stated tires do not have to be rotated but tire manufacturer stated they should. Dealer finally agreed to replace all 4 tires for free. During call with dealer to schedule tire replacement, dealer informed driver that BMW would replace all 4 tires due to BMW's assumption of a bad batch of tires but that new tires would have to be run flats. All tires were replaced 4-24-06. Dealer stated that although BMW does not recommend tire rotation that driver needed to do so to extend life of new tires. At 3,500 miles driver had tires rotated & was informed that tires were already "cupping". called dealer & informed of cupping tires & requested service. Driver seems to believe issue is either with run flat tires or with vehicle suspension. Will see what dealer says. For anyone with this problem please file a complaint so corporate BMW will have to correct.

- Whitakers, NC, USA

problem #1

Jun 292005

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles
It seems that the Bridgestone tires size 225/45R-17 on my new BMW form flat spots on the tires when the vehicle is parked over night. It takes about 5 miles or more depending on how cold it is [75 degrees or less] outside to finely begin to perform properly. The car shimmies and vibrates to the point that it is hard to control until the tires warm up. I had complained about this since the 2nd day after purchase. [June '05] BMW tried to make repairs after many phone calls and certified letters but it hasn't been fixed. Now they tell me that they do not warranty tire problems take your complaint to Bridgestone. The Bridgestone tire dealers have all told me that they do not warranty the problem and that it is a BMW problem. I have been put in the position of each company blaming the other and no one wanting to address the problem. I cannot be the only person with this problem. An unsafe condition exists as you drive and the car wobbles, bumps and shimmies for the first few miles or more, because of the flat spots that form after parking for a time.

- Vernon, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?