Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,406 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 BMW 328 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 BMW 328:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 BMW 328 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Mar 182016

328

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Pinole, CA, USA

problem #28

Mar 012016

328

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328I. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 16V071000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notification in March of 2016. The dealer and the manufacturer stated that the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer stated that a second letter would be received when parts become available. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Leland, NC, USA

problem #27

Mar 042016

328

  • miles
Received letter for recall of driver's side airbag inflator could rupture sending metal fragments causing serious injury or death. Letter dated March 2016. I called twice and parts on back order. Why so long and why should I continue to make monthly payments on a potentially deadly vehicle ??

- Ware, MA, USA

problem #26

Sep 252016

328

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Safety recall notice was sent first class March 2016. My daughter has called two times and is being told the part is not in and maybe October or November. Since then, she was rear ended as she was in motion on a city street on Sunday, 9/25/16 and suffered severe neck, shoulder, arm and hip injuries. Her air bag did not deploy which may have protected her from some or all injuries. Why is she not being updated and why is it taking so long for this driver's airbag to be received and replaced? information provided below is an estimate and only contains to our car. Going approximately 18 mph and miles approximately 42000 miles, but cannot verify at this time because aaa has it. The girl who hit my daughter drove a BMW as well and her air bag deployed.

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #25

Mar 252016

328

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Clear Water, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

Feb 052016

328

  • miles
Takata recall.... I own a business, and we cannot sell this vehicle because of the airbag issue. No one wants to buy it because of the safety issue. Is there anything manufacturers will do to compensate us, as it is affecting our business. NHTSA #16V-071 recall # 16V-071:221

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #23

Sep 122016

328

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 BMW 3281. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Monroe, CT, USA

problem #22

Feb 052016

328

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #21

Apr 292016

328

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #20

Aug 312016

328 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags). However, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/13/16 updated 10/31/16.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #19

Aug 172016

328

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - I haven't received any timely correspondence since the initial one in March 2016. Local dealer has no eta for repair

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #18

Feb 052016

328

  • miles
It has been over 6 months, and I have not received any recall information or update on the remedy from BMW.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #17

May 242016

328

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Willow Wood, OH, USA

problem #16

Apr 042016

328

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328I convertible. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sebastian, FL, USA

problem #15

Apr 082016

328

  • miles
Takata recall - received recall notice; contacted car dealer immediately; part is not available as of 4/8/16; not acceptable - millions driving unsafe cars - dealerships should be responsible for giving out rentals or loaners......

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #14

Apr 072016

328

  • miles
"takata recall" BMW advised me on 4/7/2016, that it would be late summer of 2016 before my car will be repaired and they will provide me with a rental. This is to long for me be without the use of my car. Please help with me get my car repaired sooner. I am afraid to drive my car with an airbag that can cause death. Thanks percy gilbert pelegilb@bellsouth.net

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #13

Mar 232016

328

  • 115,000 miles
Driving in the town of blacksburg va. A two lane with bus access lane didn't quit move over enough and my passenger tires scrubbed the curb that set off both front air bags, broke front and moon roof glass blew drivers sun visor to the back window, broke both drink holders in the passangers front dash.

- Indian Valley, VA, USA

problem #12

Nov 212015

328

  • 57,500 miles
Front passenger restraint system malfunction upon movement on city street

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #11

Aug 112015

328

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 BMW 328I. While driving approximately 60 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure and notified the contact that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V176000 (engine). The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was not available.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #10

Apr 032015

328 6-cyl

  • 44,500 miles
Saw issue with 2006 3 series regarding passenger airbag light reading wrong. Mine seatbelt chimes go off even if I just put an electronic tablet in the seat. Other day adult son in car, passenger airbag light showing it's off yet he was sitting in seat and strapped in. 2 days later after I dropped him off, system started chiming again, had to put seatbelt in latch even though no one in seat for it to turn off the noise.

- Dover, DE, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?