Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,649 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 BMW 330 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 BMW 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 BMW 330 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Nov 182015

330

  • 85,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchase a 2003 BMW 325I on 11-18-2016. Unable to take possession of the vehicle from the dealer due to the outstanding takata airbag recall. The dealer is not a BMW store and I don't blame them for letting a customer get into a unsafe vehicle. BMW is dragging their feet on the repair of these defective airbags.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #32

Feb 232016

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ft Myers, FL, USA

problem #31

Feb 182016

330

  • miles
Air bag light comes on intermittently. Received recall notice June 2105, dealer says they have not received parts. Car was originally a California car, in North Carolina since 2015. When will parts be available?

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #30

May 272015

330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330xi. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V3180000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts are unavailable. Updated 04/20/16

- Huntington, NY, USA

problem #29

Feb 012014

330 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the recall notices for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V428000 (air bags) and 15V318000 (air bags) were received in 2014. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/07/16 updated 04/12/16.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #28

Oct 012014

330 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall - it's been over 6 months since the takata recall was expanded to the driver's side on my car & there's still no estimate of when the replacement part will be available. I believe it's over a year & a half since the passenger airbag recall began. The company refuses to simply disconnect the potentially deadly airbag. Note, autos have not had airbags much longer than they have had them - and mine is potentially deadly. I have asked for a "loaner car" but have not yet heard their response. To me, no action without a timeline to fix this potentially deadly problem is ridiculous and completely unacceptable. I would greatly appreciate your help. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #27

Sep 012014

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been on hold since the fall of 2014 on a driver side airbag. The dealer has no inventory and no eta. This is unacceptable. Dodge changed my airbag (also takata) within 10 days of my recall notice. It's been over a year and a half with BMW. Penalize them like you did fca

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #26

Aug 152015

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #25

May 282015

330

  • 75,000 miles
BMW of North America has failed to notify about two air bag recalls, one for the passenger side and one for the driver side, affecting my car, even though they have verified that they have my correct address. I have contacted them for each incident, twice in 2014 for the first recall and once on 9/24/2015 for the current recall.they have not been able to explain why they do not contact me.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #24

Jul 272015

330

  • 113 miles
BMW of champaign, Illinois has refused to repair my airbags. I have attempted to resolve this problem through their attorney, david sholem. His response has been to hang up on me or not respond at all. This is a serious problem, as they have agnoliged ( copy available). I have asked for at least financial assistance to travel to another BMW dealer nearly 100 miles away to relieve the hardship they created. BMW champaign is located less than 2 miles from my residence.I purchased this vehicle from BMW of champaign with an open recall even though the vehicle was advertised as being "fully reconditioned.

- Savoy , IL, USA

problem #23

Dec 012014

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 BMW 330ci. Consumer writes in regards to airbag recall installation problems. The consumer stated after having the air bag part installed, the light remained on with no explanation from the dealer. The consumer went to another dealer, where they found a module needed to be replaced to correct the problem.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #22

Mar 032003

330

  • 500 miles
From the time I bought the car new in early 2003, the air bag sensor light remained on indefinitely. The BMW dealer turned the alert light off several times, and did not fix the underlying problem, indicating that it was only the sensor and that the airbag was working. The light continues to remain on. After several visits to murray BMW in denver the problem was not fixed and the dealership merely turned the alert light off indicating there was nothing wrong, and not repairing the problem. At that time the warranty expired and the repair was never made. Now the air bag light is still on and the dealership will not take care of the issue with the sensor. When the airbag recall was performed, the air bag light still remained on, and the dealership indicated that the replacement of the airbag was not related to the air bag sensor. This is not acceptable when purchasing a brand new vehicle!

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #21

Mar 102015

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330xi. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Boulder , CO, USA

problem #20

Oct 012014

330 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Almost 6 months ago, I was notified by BMW about a recall because of air bag(s) and was advised that I would be called shortly for repair/ replacement. Contacted BMW numerous times by phone and mail and every time was advised that parts should be in shortly. If they cannot find the parts for so long, there should be some alternate. Knowing a safety issue and not correcting it and letting the driver(s) on a chance for a tragedy should not be acceptable.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #19

Feb 202015

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 3 series. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #18

Jul 012013

330

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 3301. While driving various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags); however, the part to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 136,000.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #17

Feb 032015

330 6-cyl

  • 10,800 miles
Last year we were notified by BMW us that our car was being recalled for the passenger side airbag malfunction and BMW dealers were responsible to fix the problem. Since then we have contacted BMW us numerous times and our local san francisco BMW dealer to schedule an appointment. Unfortunately, we were repeatedly told the same answer that we will have to wait until the parts are available for replacing the air bag. Finally, we were able to set up an appointment with our BMW local dealership for February 4, 2015. When we took the car there, we were told once again, by their 'service consultant rubi huey, that there are still no parts available to fix it and they could not even give us an approximate date as to when they would take care of this serious problem. Needless to say that we are very frustrated with this situation not only that BMW is not making the necessary effort to resolve this dangerously essential and hazardous repair which is necessary to being able to sell the car, which is a huge priority for us. We hope that you can resolve this problem soon. Thank you.

- Burlingame, CA, USA

problem #16

Jun 152013

330

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330xi. The contact stated that when the front passenger seat was occupied, the air bag off warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V428000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #15

Sep 012014

330 6-cyl

  • miles
In September 2014 I received a notice re: Recall campaign no. 14V-428 front passenger air bag. In the event of a crash necessitating deployment of the front passenger's air bag, excessive internal pressure could cause rupture of the air bag inflator, resulting in metal fragments striking and potentially seriously injuring the front passenger or other passenger. BMW has done nothing to replace this air bag. They continue to say that they have not received the parts. This is unacceptable in that 4 months have passed with nothing resolved. I, along with other BMW drivers, are at risk and we need you to take action for all of us.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #14

Dec 012014

330 6-cyl

  • miles
Re: campaign # 14V-428 I received an 'important safety recall' regarding a defective passenger airbag. I have been in touch via email and phone calls with BMW of North America to no avail. They advise they do not have parts yet. My dealer, habberstad, huntington, NY also advises they do not have parts. I am on a list to be serviced when parts are received. This letter is dated September 2014, it is now December 23, 2014 and I am still riding in a deathtrap. I have been advised not to have any front passengers or store anything on the seat! I cannot have my 3 grandchildren in the car or any other passengers. This is absurd! I have given BMW 3 fair options: 1-secure the necessary parts to make my auto safe...2-give me a loaner until such time...or buy the car from me at a very fair price (as I couldn't sell it privately) so I can purchase another car. Why isn't the consumer's safety a top priority, and what is being done by the NHTSA to ensure this"?"

- East Northport, NY, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?