Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,017 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 330 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 330 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Apr 042013

330 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Has an airbag/seat belt light eliminated on the dash. BMW has diagnosed it as a failed passenger seat sensor. 2006 330I sports seats were recalled for this item in 2008. BMW recall id # 57362 - air bags: Frontal recall date Aug 05, 2008 recall date: Aug 05, 2008 model affected: 2006 BMW 3-series summary: BMW is recalling 200,000 my 2006 3 series sport seat, my 2004-2006 5 series standard and sport seat, and my 2004-2006 X3 passenger vehicles. Depending on the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit, small cracks have developed in the mat. If this occurs, the front passenger air bags, with the exception of the head protection system, will be deactivated and the air bag warning lamp as well as the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp will be illuminated. Consequences: In this situation the front passenger air bags will not deploy even if a sufficiently severe accident would occur and occupant protection provided by the system would not be possible. Remedy: Dealers will rework the front passenger seat sensor mat so that external force application to the seat does not cause a crack to the mat. The recall began on November 6, 2008. BMW will also extend the warranty on these vehicles to 10 years from first registration without any mileage limit. Owners may contact BMW at 1-800-525-7417. Potential units affected: 200000 notes: BMW of North America, llc. Updated 07/30/13

- Oakley, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 192013

330 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Stopped in a parking lot and locked the door after getting out of the car. The door locks didn't open when trying to open with the remote. The door fuse and actuator blew up. Opened the door with the key and sat inside the car. The doors locked and then couldn't unlock the doors to get out. I was trapped in the car.

- Kings Park, NY, USA

problem #29

Aug 022013

330 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
When my car reached ~75,000 miles, the passenger restraint system malfunction notification started to appear on the center console. The message seems to convey that the airbags will not deploy in an accident. After speaking with BMW and finding out that my car falls under the recall for this exact situation. BMW refused to fix it and states that my VIN is not listed under the recall, even though the recall states that it affects 2006 3-series with sport seats (which is exactly what I have).

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #28

Jun 092013

330 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 BMW 330xi sport and when a passenger sits in the car, I receive a passenger airbag malfunction light. I was told by park ave BMW in NJ that my vehicle does not qualify under the recall. Recall id # 57362 - air bags:frontal recall date Aug 05, 2008 recall date: Aug 05, 2008 model affected: 2006 BMW 3-series summary: BMW is recalling 200,000 my 2006 3 series sport seat, my 2004-2006 5 series standard and sport seat, and my 2004-2006 X3 passenger vehicles. Depending on the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit, small cracks have developed in the mat. If this occurs, the front passenger air bags, with the exception of the head protection system, will be deactivated and the air bag warning lamp as well as the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp will be illuminated. Consequences: In this situation the front passenger air bags will not deploy even if a sufficiently severe accident would occur and occupant protection provided by the system would not be possible. Remedy: Dealers will rework the front passenger seat sensor mat so that external force application to the seat does not cause a crack to the mat. The recall began on November 6, 2008. BMW will also extend the warranty on these vehicles to 10 years from first registration without any mileage limit. Owners may contact BMW at 1-800-525-7417. Potential units affected: 200000 notes: BMW of North America, llc.

- Edgewater, NJ, USA

problem #27

Jun 032013

330 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
My vehicle has an airbag/seatbelt light eliminated on the dash. BMW has diagnosed it as a failed passenger seat mat sensor. 2006 330I sports seats were recalled for this item in 2008. My vehicle which has sports seats was never called for the recall. The manufacturer has also extended warranty for 10 years on all 3 series models with out the sports seat option for this sensor, but for some reason they will not service my vehicle as warranty or recall work. I have talked to two separate dealerships and BMW directly. They said my only option would be to file a complaint and that the government would have to warrant a recall on this vehicle and combination of options. This does not make any sense! this is a safety concern, as of right now the vehicles airbag system on the passenger side will not function if in an accident.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #26

Nov 172010

330 6-cyl

  • 111,871 miles
Ibs sensor with negative battery cable failed and car would not start. The ibs sensor needed to be replaced on the car.

- Bristow, VA, USA

problem #25

Jul 012006

330

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure was recurring and often times the contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle would require a jump start for times when it would not automatically restart. The contact replaced the battery and charged the replacement battery nightly. The vehicle would continue to stall when the battery was not charged. The manufacturer was made aware of failure and recommended the contact have a diagnostic test performed but offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 100. The current mileage was 24,000.

- Flushing , NY, USA

problem #24

Mar 222013

330

  • 100,000 miles
Yesterday, the doors on my 2006 325I wouldn't unlock with the key fob. I used the actual key to enter the car and the central locking/unlocking button does not unlock the doors. The door to the gas tank is also locked. There is no way to unlock any of the passenger doors which poses a safety hazard. In reading through online forums, this is a common problem that should be addressed by BMW. Thank you.

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #23

Dec 302011

330 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Passenger door locks will not respond to fob or central lock/unlock controller. The door will unlock and open from the inside, but will not open with key, fob, or central locking console button. This happened when I first purchased the vehicle in 2010, and again at the end of 2011. This is and continues to be a safety hazard. If the door(s) lock and are unable to be unlocked, it would cause loss of life.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #22

Dec 012012

330 6-cyl

  • 62,500 miles
I had a bad experience this morning. When I got into my car, it wouldn't start when I pushed the start button. Instead it had an icon on the dash of the steering wheel with a lock sign on it. I pulled the fob out and put it back in a few times, trying to start the car every time, but no life. This is a very weird problem. The steering wheel lock wouldn't release. I tried to get it started for over 30 minutes, still unsuccessful. I did some research on the internet, apparently it is a common problem in the 06 and early 07 models of the 3 series. In mid-07, BMW stopped putting locks in the steering columns. Apparently, this problem has to do with the electronic lock power draw when starting the car, and a software update normally fixes the problem. If the software update does not work, BMW replaces the steering column if you are under the warranty. All my updates are done because I took it to my BMW dealer on 11/14/12 and they rechecked everything. Since it is a common problem and there are many customer complaints as stated in here; www.import-car.com/issue/article.aspx?contentid=89276, BMW should issue a recall and be held responsible for this issue.

- East Longmeadow, MA, USA

problem #21

Sep 292012

330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that while traveling 2 mph, the vehicle accelerated without warning. The contact crashed into a median. There were no injuries. However, the vehicle was totaled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The failure and current mileages were 27,000...updated 11/14/12

- Cypress, CA, USA

problem #20

Sep 292012

330 6-cyl

  • 78,540 miles
I went to pick up my daughter from marching band practice on a Saturday afternoon. When I pulled into the parking lot at her high school and got out, I went to lock the doors. I heard a strange sound and noticed that the drivers doors were locked, the passengers doors were unlocked. The key fob would not work anymore on any of the doors but would work on the trunk. I got in the front passenger door and crawled over to the driver side and tried the door and it would not open from the inside. The central lock button also would not work. I crawled out and tried the drivers side door with the key. It did unlock with the key. None of the other doors would respond from the inside. After I got the drivers side door to unlock with the key, my key fob would work on the drivers side door only. Because my kids decided to "help mom" by pushing the locks down manually - now all of the doors are locked and won't budge except the drivers side. I effectively can't use the car for anyone except myself because no one can enter - and more importantly exit from the car except for crawling over seats. This is a dangerous situation. There should be someone way to open the doors manually. Judging by the number of complaints - BMW is aware of this issue but chooses not to issue a recall.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #19

Jul 232012

330

  • 58,000 miles
Requesting research for recall into known issue with BMW service bulletin on door lock actuators: I was parked, and used my key remote to open the doors as I always do, but the doors would not unlock. The only one that stays unlocked (the lock does not go down when I click the alarm) is the right rear door lock. I, therefore, have to use the hard plastic emergency key (from the glove compartment) to manually unlock my driver door each time. I find this a safety issue as I sometimes work until late at night and have to fumble to get the key to unlock the front driver side. I checked to see if there was a recall on this, and there was not, but what I did find, were quite a large number of complaints about this issue on a variety of BMW models, older and newer. Some BMW owners reported that they were stuck in their cars, because the doors would not unlock from the inside, so passengers (such as my mother had to do several times) have to climb around in the car to climb out of the only door that opens. I also discovered there was a service bulletin notice on this issue. The owners whose factory warranty has run out are still having to pay out of pocket to have this issue repaired. Many are attempting to learn from do-it-yourself websites to avoid the cost of repairing this issue. Please can you research and make this a recall, it is highly uncomfortable to have passengers climbing in by adjusting seats and climbing out because of this door lock actuator known issue, that has been occurring for years in BMW cars. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #18

Jul 222012

330 6-cyl

  • 65,100 miles
Power door locks failed. No way to open passenger door even with internal handle. Passenger trapped and had to crawl over to driver's seat. Would be a catastrophe in an accident.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #17

May 272012

330

  • 69,000 miles
Door locks malfunctioned and driver became locked in car. Door locks could not be disengaged inside the car with keys, internal buttons, or door handles.

- Pound Ridge, NY, USA

problem #16

May 022012

330 6-cyl

  • miles
On May 2nd, during a rain storm, our 2006 BMW 3 series' windshield wipers stopped. We were able to get home safely and immediately called our service center, and made an appointment for the next day. The service center's owner/mechanic informed us, that there were 3 other 06 3 series in for the exact same problem. The invoice reads; work requested- diag wipers inop, work performed- replace jbe cont module(part# 63 21 5 897 528). A call was made to BMW, usa on May 11th and BMW does not have, to date, an open recall on the problem. This is disconcerting, since a small service center in the small town of bridgewater, MA. Had 4(including ours) 06 BMW 3 series in for the same problem, and on the same date.

- Halifax, MA, USA

problem #15

May 042012

330 6-cyl

  • 50,700 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 3 series. While parked, the contact attempted to open the driver"S side door using the electronic key fob but the door would not open. The contact eventually opened the front driver"S side door with the handle and was able to enter the vehicle. The same failure occurred on all other doors. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The technicians stated that the door actuators on all doors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 50,700. Updated 05/31/12 the doors would not open from the outside or the inside due to the failure of the actuators. A mechanical override failed and the door handles would not work. The key only worked in the driver's door.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #14

Feb 062012

330

  • 62,500 miles
I have an amber colored steering wheel lock icon on the dashboard. I took it to the dealer and they said it is not safe to drive it because this will lock up the steering wheel. I told them if that's the case then there should be a recall and unfortunately there hasn't been one. Hopefully everyone who has had this issue files a complaint with the NHTSA as this is a very serious problem and one that needs to be addressed by BMW na.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #13

Apr 202012

330

  • 61,200 miles
Remote door lock nor unlock button inside vehicle would unlock passenger doors. Passenger doors would not open from inside pulling/using the door handle.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #12

Mar 262012

330 6-cyl

  • 102,345 miles
Will not start because of steering in lock position. Airbag and seat belt error (red icon) in passenger side.

- Covina, CA, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?