10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,408 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 330 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 330 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #154

Nov 032014

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330ci. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V42000 (air bags) was received in November of 2014. The dealer informed the contact that the part needed for the recall remedy was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #153

Dec 122014

330 6-cyl

  • 78,377 miles
Had a warning light that there was a problem with the airbag system. I took it to momentum BMW in West houston and they replaced the front passenger airbag mat for a cost of $1,199. I researched the internet and discovered a NHTSA 13V564000 campaign. I called BMW customer service (800-525-7417) and gave them my VIN #. they said due to problems that had occurred with passenger airbags on this model, the warranty had been extended to 10 years under this 13V564000 campaign which started in January 2014. Momentum BMW said they fixed the problem in October 2009 and that the warranty had expired. I think the current problem doesn't relate to what momentum fixed in October 2009, or that the parts that were used were also faulty or defective. I would like BMW to pay for my cost to fix this problem.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #152

Sep 092014

330

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning light and the seat belt warning light illuminated. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags); however, the VIN was not included. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 108,000.

- Marietta , GA, USA

problem #151

Nov 012013

330 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Error message "fault in passenger-restraint system affecting airbag, belt tensioner or belt-force limiter. There was a recall on this for models up to 2005, and selectively for 2006, per BMW.

- Round Lake, IL, USA

problem #150

Dec 032014

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330ci. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V428000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to state when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #149

Nov 052014

330 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Passenger airbag light went on and after my research found out there is a recall. BMW refuses to fix the issue as they claim that the VIN is not part of the recall. It is exactly as the recall...what do I need to do to get this vehicle under this recall? it is a major safety issue and should not be taken lightly.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #148

Nov 132014

330

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. While driving approximately 5 mph, the air bag indicator illuminated continuously. The failure occurred on a daily basis. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering wheel air bag needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000.

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #147

Oct 202014

330 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I was driving my 2006 BMW 330I with my wife in front passenger seat and the passenger air bag is off light came on. The car was on a straight road and the speed was at 45 mph. Called BMW but they told me my vehicle was not part of the recall. And was told to take my BMW to the dealership at my expense. Safety recalls should be the responsibility of the manufacturer. This worries me because my wife drives a 2006 BMW Z4. I think this recall should be expanded to more vehicles. Please investigate.

- Delano, CA, USA

problem #146

Jun 042014

330 6-cyl

  • 115,625 miles
Air bag and seat belt warning lights on dash remain lit at all times. Additionally, the "passenger airbag disabled" indicator remains lit at all times. There is a recall campaign (see below) for the passenger seat sensor mat issue which caused these problems, yet apparently not for my VIN. The disabled passenger seat airbag is a major safety issue, and clearly my VIN should be part of the recall. Statement on voluntary recall involving front passenger seat sensor mat on U.S.a. model bmws - August 13, 2008 today, BMW announced a voluntary recall regarding the front passenger air bag seat sensor mat involving approximately 200,000 model year 2004-06 vehicles. Affected are certain model year 2006 3-series, model year 2004-06 5-series, and model year 2004-06 X3 vehicles, depending upon seat type. BMW has found that the sensor mat may become damaged during vehicle usage depending upon the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit.

- Cortez, CO, USA

problem #145

Aug 012014

330 6-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
SRS airbag system I'm my BMW failed to work and had numerous repairs made. Airbags still disabled, BMW won't fix the issue.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #144

Oct 062008

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the front passenger occupant air bag light illuminated when the passenger seat was not occupied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the air bag sensor for the front passenger seat needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Pleasanton , CA, USA

problem #143

Oct 162013

330 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag on/off switch became inoperable. The failure was recurring. The vehicle was taken to both a dealer and independent mechanic. The technician was unable to locate the failure. The vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 52,000. Updated 12/9/14 update 06/1/2015

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #142

Sep 242014

330

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the air bag sensor illuminated on the front driver and passenger side. The sensor on the driver side remained illuminated for an air bag malfunction error and the front passenger side air bag sensor indicated that the air bag was off. The dealer stated that the passenger seat sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags), NHTSA campaign number: 14V348000 (air bags), and NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 109,000.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #141

Jun 102014

330

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact stated that the passenger restraint system malfunctioned and a warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 110,000.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #140

Jun 122013

330 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Every time I crank my car I get passenger side airbag failure warning.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #139

Nov 012013

330 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated the passenger air bag sensor illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact mentioned that the failure persisted even when the seat was not occupied. The dealer stated the front passenger seat occupant sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 10/29/14 updated 4/23/15

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #138

Aug 122014

330

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact stated that the front passenger side seat belt sensor and air bag warning indicator illuminated, which indicated that the front passenger side air bag system was faulty. The failure was not diagnosed nor was the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect, but no remedy was offered. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags), although the vehicle experienced the same defect listed in the recall. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #137

May 012012

330

  • 80,000 miles
Car started showing "passenger restraint system malfunction". I researched the matter, and found that there is a recall. When I called BMW and gave them my VIN, they claimed that there is no recall. Almost every other BMW from that series/model was recalled and got the issue rectified under the recall. Please advise. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #136

Nov 012013

330 6-cyl

  • miles
I am an owner of a 2006 BMW 330xi and the airbag and seatbelt lamps have been on/off on my car since last November. Since this car model has a recall relating to airbag and seatbelt, I am wondering why I have not received any "recall letter" so I can present it to the BMW dealership in order to get the problem fixed. Thank you.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #135

Jan 012014

330 6-cyl

  • 75,700 miles
Dec. 2008 I received a consumer advisory letter from BMW of North America. The letter states that depending on the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit, small cracks may develop in the passenger seat occupant detection mat. If this condition exists, the front passenger air bag and side air bag will deactivate, and both the air bag warning lamp and front passenger "on-off" lamp will illuminate. In this situation the front passenger air bag and side air bag will not deploy, even in a severe accident. They are extending the warranty coverage for 10 years. In January of this year both the air bag warning lamp and the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp are illuminated in my 2006 325I BMW. The letter states should this happen have the vehicle checked without delay at an authorized BMW center. I did that and was told the problem is different from what the advisory letter states and will cost me $1300. I contacted BMW customer relations of North America and spoke to a person by the name of "[xxx]" who told me she would check with the authorized BMW center. I told her I am the only driver of my car and very seldom do I have any passengers with me and I never had any accident with my car, so the air bags never deployed. Several weeks later her reply was because of the age of my BMW they would not honor the warranty "but" they would discount the cost of the repair and instead of charging $1300 they would charge $1002! so that's my story and my air bag warning lamp is still lighted! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pewaukee, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?