10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,408 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 330 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 330 Owner Comments (Page 7 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #114

Feb 222012

330 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My airbag warning light illuminated indicating that my passenger airbag system was offline. I brought it into my mechanic and they informed me that my passenger side airbag sensor mat and possibly my passenger seat belt sensor had failed. They informed me that the cost to repair would be approximately $700-$800 dollars. I recently received a notification that my vehicle may be subject to a recall for this issue NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000. When I contacted my dealership and bmwna they informed me that they would not repair my vehicle until required to do so even though my airbag system has already failed and it is showing as offline. I'm registering this complaint to document that they are not actively resolving this issue.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #113

Jun 122013

330 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
I found vehicle recall via internet and consumer reports. I took my car to BMW of fairfax and explained that my BMW 330I 2006 had a defective front seat air bag sensor with dashboard warning light. After they examined the sensor they confirmed that I needed to replace the airbag sensor but that my vehicle was not affected by the recall. I was charged $150 dollars for the diagnosis and told that to repair the defect would cost $ 1200.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #112

Jan 302014

330 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
My passenger side airbag light and seatbelt light stay on. I own a 2006 BMW 330I sport. I have found numerous notices that the front seat occupant protection mat fails for my make/model with the same symptoms that I am receiving. I have contacted BMW 3 times over the past year with each new addendum and they have told me each time my car doesn't apply. I shouldn't have to pay over $1000 for a recalled item and need this fixed in case any accident does occur needing this part to be effective.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #111

Nov 012013

330

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The airbag indicator light has been activated to what I have read to be due to a crack in the detection mat. I have taken my car to repair shops and all have confirmed the same issue. In the case that there is an accident, none of the airbags will be deployed, or airbags may be deployed without reason. I have grave concerns. I have made two phone calls to BMW with my concern for my safety and the safety of my passengers. BMW states that currently my particular VIN number is not listed on the recalls, but may be in the future. My car has the exact same issues as being reported as the previous two recalls, but since it was manufactured "just before the indicated recall dates" that I will not be reimbursed. If BMW cares about their customers' safety, I would not think waiting by the mailbox for a letter that may or may not arrive to inform me of another letter in March, is at all sufficient. Please let me know if I can do anything else to expedite a solution for my concern. Thank you for your time. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #110

Jul 312013

330 6-cyl

  • miles
The NHTSA has issued multiple recalls for the airbag sensor mat problem in BMW cars however my car continues to be excluded from the recall population despite meeting the descriptions included in the NHTSA recall notices.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #109

Oct 102013

330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the seat belt and air bag warning lamps illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where the contact was informed that the vehicle had a faulty sensor. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 12/23/13 updated 12/20/13 BMW informed the consumer they would cover the cost of the part only, and he would be responsible for the labor. Updated 12/24/13

- Bradford, IL, USA

problem #108

Feb 212009

330 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this BMW new from the dealer around June 2006 (please note the mileage is an estimate) I'm writing to request an investigation into my car relating to the a potential faulty passenger airbag sensor. The passenger indicator light for "passenger airbag off" is activated despite a passenger being in the car. Over the years, the light randomly activated when a passenger sat in the seat. However, it would turn off at times so I presumed I had hit a button on the car steering column for a children's seat which caused the light to activate or something else perhaps. Because I rarely had passengers, I didn't pay attention. The light would did not stay lit for months on end. However, now the "passenger airbag off" light remains activated all the time which caused me to investigate. This is not normal wear and tear. I see there is a recall for 2006 3 series BMW models and more for this problem. Specifically, my car is a 2006 330I BMW with sport seats. I have called the BMW dealer, and BMW North America, but they only check the VIN database and to date have not investigated further. However, I have alerted them that it appears BMW may have failed to recall a number of affected vehicles given the many complaints I reviewed posted on the web by 2006 BMW 330I owners who have the same problem with their vehicles airbag deactivating, but received no assistance from BMW. One owner stated he had (at his own expense) replaced the (defective) installation/part, (the part he removed was the same one as the one under recall by BMW), but BMW like with the other 2006 330I owners will not bear the replacement cost because his VIN was not included on the list. Please assist with identifying the additional 2006 330I bmws that were affected by what seemingly is a defective design/component. Thank you, see NHTSA action number: EA08001.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #107

Nov 102013

330

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the driver's side seat belt sensor was illuminated indicating a defect with the seat belt. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the seat belt sensor had malfunctioned. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V384000(air bags). The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #106

Nov 052012

330 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
Faulty seat mat sensor in passenger seat for the 2nd time.

- Madison, MS, USA

problem #105

Oct 292013

330 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles
My lights comes on for airbag passenger seat. I saw that NHTSA has campaign # 08V-384 for this matter. If the dealer refuse to honor it, how I proceed after that. The air bags don't works with that light on. I have my daughter with me all the time, to and from the school. Thanks.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #104

Jan 012011

330 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side air bag error consistent with front passenger seat pressure mat recall notice. BMW online recall check revealed that this vehicle identification number was not included in the recall either. BMW refused to replace and will not tell me if the air bag will or will not deploy in an accident.

- Post Falls, ID, USA

problem #103

Apr 042013

330 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Has an airbag/seat belt light eliminated on the dash. BMW has diagnosed it as a failed passenger seat sensor. 2006 330I sports seats were recalled for this item in 2008. BMW recall id # 57362 - air bags: Frontal recall date Aug 05, 2008 recall date: Aug 05, 2008 model affected: 2006 BMW 3-series summary: BMW is recalling 200,000 my 2006 3 series sport seat, my 2004-2006 5 series standard and sport seat, and my 2004-2006 X3 passenger vehicles. Depending on the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit, small cracks have developed in the mat. If this occurs, the front passenger air bags, with the exception of the head protection system, will be deactivated and the air bag warning lamp as well as the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp will be illuminated. Consequences: In this situation the front passenger air bags will not deploy even if a sufficiently severe accident would occur and occupant protection provided by the system would not be possible. Remedy: Dealers will rework the front passenger seat sensor mat so that external force application to the seat does not cause a crack to the mat. The recall began on November 6, 2008. BMW will also extend the warranty on these vehicles to 10 years from first registration without any mileage limit. Owners may contact BMW at 1-800-525-7417. Potential units affected: 200000 notes: BMW of North America, llc. Updated 07/30/13

- Oakley, CA, USA

problem #102

Oct 012012

330 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Passenger air bag warning will illuminate intermittently while driving, with or without the passenger seat being occupied. Both the seat belt and air bag warning indicator will illuminate. The air bag indicator will go away and may or may not illuminate again. When this started happening in October of 2012, the indicator would appear and go away and would not come back for maybe two or three month of driving. Now, approximate a year later the system will illuminate, when no one is occupying the passenger seat, or on start of the vehicle, or after the vehicle has been driven approximate a 1/4 mile. This appears to be a latent safety defect for the air bag safety system in this car.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #101

Aug 142013

330 6-cyl

  • 115,350 miles
Passenger side air bag error consistent with front passenger seat pressure mat recall notice. BMW online recall check revealed that this vehicle identification number was not included in the recall.

- Glenview, IL, USA

problem #100

Aug 082013

330

  • 170,000 miles
Front passenger airbag warning light illuminated indicating the airbag system is not working. Investigation revealed a failed passenger seat sensor mat as the cause. Failure is consistent with the failures highlighted in NHTSA campaign 08V384000. BMW North America position is this particular vehicle (VIN) is not included in the recall. This is very troubling. There is a known failure serious enough to warrant a safety recall, however the recall is limited to a very small percentage of the actual vehicles that will experience this failure. Research on this site (and others) confirms this is a known common problem affecting several models and model years of BMW vehicles. Left unfixed, a passenger seated in the front seat will not have the safety benefits of an operable airbag and this could result in unecessary serious injury. My request is for the NHTSA and BMW to expand the safety recall to include all vehicles exhibiting this obvious defect and rectify the possible safety implications this failure presents.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #99

Sep 082011

330 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Since Sept 2011, while driving with or without a passenger, the airbag warning lamp and the passenger air bag on-off lamp are illuminated. It goes off on its own, but returns spontaneously. At first our dealership said they couldn't find anything wrong, then when it kept happening they said we could get it repaired. Per safer.gov website a recall was given in July 2009 with this same problem. According to my local dealership and the BMW of no America, our car was not among the cars recalled. Yet we have the exact same problem occurring as described in the recall. They want to charge us over $1100 to fix the problem, yet there was a recall out on "some series 3 models". how can I be sure some other 2006 series 3 models are not over looked? this makes me feel unsafe to drive with passengers and I don't feel if some are defective, that others with the same issue are considered the owners responsibility. I think they should also be under the same recall guidelines when the same exact issue has been sited and is happening in other cars.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #98

Dec 052012

330

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the seat belt and air bag warning lamp illuminated whenever someone was occupying the passenger seat. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 08V384000 ( air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 85,000. The current mileage was 95,000.

- Sterling, OH, USA

problem #97

Aug 022013

330 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
When my car reached ~75,000 miles, the passenger restraint system malfunction notification started to appear on the center console. The message seems to convey that the airbags will not deploy in an accident. After speaking with BMW and finding out that my car falls under the recall for this exact situation. BMW refused to fix it and states that my VIN is not listed under the recall, even though the recall states that it affects 2006 3-series with sport seats (which is exactly what I have).

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #96

Jul 152013

330 6-cyl

  • 60,100 miles
My vehicle (BMW 330I ? 2006), has an airbag/seat belt light eliminated on the dash. BMW has diagnosed it as a failed passenger seat sensor. 2006 330I sports seats were recalled for this item in 2008. My vehicle which has sports seats was never called for the recall. They stated my vehicle's VIN 'does not qualify' for the recall. The manufacturer has also extended warranty for 10 years on all 3 series models with out the sports seat option for this sensor. I have talked a dealer service representative and BMW directly. They said my only option would be to file a complaint and that the government would have to warrant a recall on this vehicle and combination of options. BMW recall id # 57362 - air bags: Frontal recall date Aug 05, 2008 recall date: Aug 05, 2008 model affected: 2006 BMW 3-series summary: BMW is recalling 200,000 my 2006 3 series sport seat, my 2004-2006 5 series standard and sport seat, and my 2004-2006 X3 passenger vehicles. Depending on the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit, small cracks have developed in the mat. If this occurs, the front passenger air bags, with the exception of the head protection system, will be deactivated and the air bag warning lamp as well as the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp will be illuminated. Consequences: In this situation the front passenger air bags will not deploy even if a sufficiently severe accident would occur and occupant protection provided by the system would not be possible. Remedy: Dealers will rework the front passenger seat sensor mat so that external force application to the seat does not cause a crack to the mat. The recall began on November 6, 2008. BMW will also extend the warranty on these vehicles to 10 years from first registration without any mileage limit. Owners may contact BMW at 1-800-525-7417. Potential units affected: 200000 notes: BMW of North America, llc. Updated 07/30/13

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #95

Jan 152012

330

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the passenger's side air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?