Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,455 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 330 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 330 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #54

Jun 032013

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 BMW 330xi. Consumer writes in regards to passenger side air bag error consistent with front passenger seat pressure mat recall notice. BMW informed the consumer, his vehicle identification number was not included in the recall.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #53

Apr 272013

330 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Passenger sat in the front passenger seat. Warning light appeared on dashboard indicating the airbag has been turned off. This issue is similar to NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000. However, although same model and year, my vehicle is not covered under this campaign.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #52

Nov 012012

330 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
To whom it may concern, my passenger airbag sensor light and passenger seat belt light came on unexpectedly while driving. After doing a bit of research on the internet I found that there was a similar issue others were having with the same model car 2006 BMW 325I sedan E90 series and there is an ongoing recall 08V384000. So I decided to contact my local BMW dealership to see if my car was covered in the recall they said no and quoted me a price of well over 1400 dollars to fix. I have since found out that in the event of a collision that my passenger airbag will not deploy. After, further research I feel that my model is also an affected in this recall (08V384000). I hope that this submission will not fall on deaf ears. I am doing this for all the others like me affected by this issue and demand service to fix a known safety issue for us and for our passengers. Regards

- Saugus , CA, USA

problem #51

Oct 102012

330 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sitting in parking lot, engine off, key in ign (listening to radio). Air-bag warning lamp lights and has been on steady ever since. Passenger air bag disabled indicator also on. Called dealer to make appointment. I inquired about the recall and service advisor says no active recalls on my car. Seems that this is the exact fault identified in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000. This car has the "sport seats" which are specifically identified in the recall.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #50

Sep 052012

330 6-cyl

  • miles
A warning indicator light came on telling me that the passenger restraint system was malfunctioning. At first it was occasional. Now the warning is on every time I get in the car with or without a passenger. I would like to have the car included in recall 08V384000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #49

Dec 012011

330 6-cyl

  • 62,287 miles
2006 BMW 330xi. Consumer writes in regards to recall campaign 08V-384 concerning modify seat occupancy detection mat in December 2011, a warning light illuminated indicating that the front passenger air bag was not activated. The consumer's mechanic diagnosed the problem from the vehicle's error code and gave him a printout, showing there was an open campaign for his year and model due to a defective mat detection switch. The consumer then took the vehicle to the dealer where he was charged $ $139.19 for that same information, that he was given previously from his mechanic. The dealer informed the consumer, that even though the recall was for his make, model and year, his vehicle identification number was not included in the recall, because the recall pertained to a particular list of seats, which the consumer's vehicle did not have, even though the defective seat mat was common in all.

- Torrington, CT, USA

problem #48

Jun 022012

330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated when he purchased the vehicle the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer stated that they had to repair the front passenger seat sensor mat so that the external force application to the seat would not cause a crack to the mat. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and provided no assistance. The failure and current mileage was 59,000. Updated 8/8/12* cn the consumer stated he discovered recall # 08V384000. However, his VIN was not included. Updated 08/14/12

- Thomaston , GA, USA

problem #47

Jun 012010

330 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact stated that the air bag light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was located at the passenger front sensor mat. The manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000 (air bags:frontal) and denied assistance with the repair. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 100,000. Updated 06/29/12 updated 07/09/12

- Central Falls , RI, USA

problem #46

Mar 072012

330 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
My car displays exact symptoms of NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000 which is a passenger seat mat sensor failure. I called BMW na to find out more about this recall and they told me my car is not part of the recall. I researched online and it seems like BMW is denying this recall to most of the owners having this issue. This is a serious safety concern and it is obvious that many more cars are affected by this issue then originally determined by BMW and NHTSA.

- Wheeling, IL, USA

problem #45

Apr 102012

330 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
NHTSA campaign number 08V384000 does not cover this particular VIN vehicle, but I think it should. I have same symptoms and the dealer is replacing the passenger seat mat.

- Lawndale, CA, USA

problem #44

Feb 092012

330 6-cyl

  • 94,632 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I'm the owner of a 2006 series 3 BMW.. this is a safety issued concerning NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000 for the recall of the passenger seat mat defect. "in this situation the front passenger air bags will not deploy even if a sufficiently severe accident would occur and occupant protection provided by the system would not be possible". a passenger restraint malfunction is displayed on my vehicle dashboard. Today BMW and subsequently the dealer refused to replace this part at not cost. According to BMW only a selected number of vehicles were affected by this problem. After reading reviews, blogs and previous complaints it is clear that BMW is refusing to service my car or any other of a potential road hazard with fatal consequences. The cost of over $1,300 should be carried by the company and not by their customers. Especially when it is clear that the airbag malfunction problems was a problem affecting more than the selected number of vehicles. BMW should stop promoting vehicles with high safety ratings when is clear the quality of the products used for this matter do not meet the expected standards.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #43

Jan 192012

330 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
My vehicle displayed a passenger restraint system failure message. After researching the issue online, it appeared that BMW had issued a recall for this defect: NHTSA recall campaign id number: 08V384000. However, after contacting BMW, I am being told that my vehicle is not part of the recall. It seems to me that the defect extends beyond the vins that are included in the recall given that so many people are having the same issue and BMW is not honoring the warranty.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #42

Jan 032012

330 6-cyl

  • miles
The airbag warning lights and seatbelt warning lights are lit in red. After diagnosis from the dealer's service department, it was concluded that the sensor embedded in the passenger side is malfunctioning and must be replaced. There was a recall in 2008 for the same model year with a similar malfunction of the airbag sensor (NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000) also, in that recall it states: " BMW is extending the warranty to 10 years from first registration without any mileage limit to the following vehicles: My 2006 6-series, 3-series (standard seat), my 2004-2005 Z4, my 2004-2006 7-series, my 2006 X5, and my 2004-2006 5-series (comfort seat). Under the extended warranty program, the occupant detection mat in a vehicle that experiences this specific issue will be replaced at no charge to the customer" however, the local BMW dealer says they cannot honor that warranty.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #41

Apr 132011

330 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I own a 2006 BMW 3 series. While driving approximately 5 mph, I noticed that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician advised that the front passenger seat sensor mat would have to be replaced. I referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000 (air bags:frontal) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #40

Oct 252011

330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,005 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning light was illuminated with the passenger seat occupied. The dealer was contacted and advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000 (air bags:frontal). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 49,005. Updated 12/16/11 updated 12/22/11

- Winterville, NC, USA

problem #39

Oct 172011

330 6-cyl

  • 61,300 miles
I have experienced a front passenger air bag warning light on my 2006 E90 330I BMW with sports seats. The warning comes on and goes off, as it pleases. I have contacted the local dealer and was referred to BMW of North America for further instructions. I contacted BMW or North America, presented my VIN number and have told them of the problem I have experienced. I was advised that my VIN number was not included in any recalls and I should also check www.NHTSA.dot.gov. I have searched for this warning information and have come across this recall with NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000 (air bags:frontal ). my vehicle, model, year, and equipment appears to be in the recall and experiences the exact symptoms as indicated in the summary. I have also come across numerous complaints filed from other vehicle owners, with the same model and year, and I am concerned about the fact which vehicles were recalled and repaired. I am asking for NHTSA assistance and direction in resolving this manufacturers safety issue.

- Taylorsville, UT, USA

problem #38

Aug 242011

330 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
I own a 2006 BMW 3 series. While driving approximately 5 mph, I noticed that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician advised that the front passenger seat sensor mat would have to be replaced. I referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000 (air bags:frontal) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #37

Jun 012011

330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated with the passenger seat occupied. The failure would recur intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who advised that the sensor mat located in the front passenger side seat would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000. Updated 11/15/11 updated 11/18/11

- Foster City, CA, USA

problem #36

Sep 012011

330

  • 61,000 miles
Just wondering why this is not included in the NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000 "? passenger restraint system failure light is on?" looks like this would fall under this: Summary: BMW is recalling 200,000 my 2006 3 series sport seat, my 2004-2006 5 series standard and sport seat, and my 2004-2006 X3 passenger vehicles. Depending on the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit, small cracks have developed in the mat. If this occurs, the front passenger air bags, with the exception of the head protection system, will be deactivated and the air bag warning lamp as well as the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp will be illuminated.

- Fort Leavenworth, KS, USA

problem #35

Jun 262011

330 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated on the instrumental panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that the front passenger sensor mat was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V3840 (component: Air bags:frontal). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 96,000 and the current mileage was 96,010. Updated 09/15/11 updated 09/19/11

- Chambersburg , PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?