Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,746 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 BMW 335 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 BMW 335:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 BMW 335 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #83

Dec 132013

335 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All 6 fuel injectors were leaking and caused the car to stall on the freeway. The fuel injectors were replaced along with the spark plugs and coils. 1 year later at 100K miles, the same issue has arisen. The fuel system seems to be a constant problem with this car. It is a very dangerous problem, since the car shuts down at high speeds on the freeway. BMW should extend the warranty on the fuel injectors as they did with the high pressure fuel pump.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #82

Aug 252014

335 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Injectors 1-3 have failed. Looked up BMW customer tsb's and found (si B13 14 10) customer letter describing a known failing part with specific part numbers that correlate. I have these part numbers currently installed in my car and failing. My car was taken in previously for a related tsb due to faulty fuel pump and software update which was replaced however the dealership did not look into the rest of the fuel system. * letter was sent to me about the fuel pump and software update. I did not request service or have any issues at the time. Now that my "extended service" for these parts is up, BMW is not willing to help! I think this is bs considering 1. the dealership could have changed the known faulty part during my previous service. 2. why was this not followed up on by bmwna since its all part of the fuel system?

- Santa Clara , CA, USA

problem #81

Jul 092014

335 6-cyl Diesel

  • 64,200 miles
While I was driving in a highway traffic, without any warning the car started vibrating severely, smoke coming out of the tail pipe, engine almost dying and I was forced to take the shoulder lane away from traffic. I tried to restart the engine but only white smoke with fuel smell coming out of tail pipe, but I was still able to drive the car slowly to home. Took to mechanic and eventually was told that engine is completely shot - 3 or 4 cylinders were cracked, combustion failure, etc. Mechanic can't fix it without replacing the entire engine which he estimated at least $7,000. Geico won't cover since they considered my car issue strictly a "mechanical failure". BMW concord is unresponsive to my request. I'm on my own here and now I'm paying for the rental car for about 3 weeks now which geico doesn't fully or even partially cover due to the mechanical failure state of my car. I'm the original owner of the car and my usage is less than average. Driving it primarily to work (antioch, ca - concord, ca) and back home which is only approx 40 miles round trip. My driving habits are very good, car was never abused. I took good care of the car, had it serviced and maintained regular basis. I've been working from home permanently for over a year now so my mileage usage is very low and geico knows about it as I provided proof of low mileage usage. I just don't understand why my BMW - a performance car and the ultimate driving machine - with low mileage, never abused, well maintained - could go this worse. Now the car sits in my garage dead, not fixable, not able to trade it. I'm so frustrated and very upset that this happened at a time when I'm extremely busy at work, and just adds to my stress level that I feel like I'm going to have a heart attack from just dealing with this issue. Engine is dead in just 6-1/2 years. Unbelievable! updated 9/25/14 the consumer stated BMW fixed the main problem for $ $3,100. All six of the fuel injectors were replaced and the contaminated fuel was drained. Updated 11/04/14

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #80

May 132014

335

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 BMW 335I. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle began to hesitate and the check engine indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the fuel injector was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Seattle , WA, USA

problem #79

Mar 152014

335 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
Was traveling on I290, at about 70mph, when I needed more acceleration to pass a truck... the car started to shake, the engine service soon light came on, and it was flashing. The car was slowing down very quickly, I was unable to gain more speed, nor even maintain speed, I had to rush to the breakdown lane, all the way from the left lane. There was a barrier on the left lane, so parking on the left would have been too dangerous. I stopped by autozone, they scanned my car... the scan reported: Cylinder 4,5,6 misfire. The car drove fine after I turned it off, and back on... but, every time I accelerate fast, the engine misfires very very bad. I would loose to a Honda civic on a race.

- Hudson, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #78

Jun 202013

335 6-cyl

  • 25,400 miles
I have a 2007 BMW 335I with 25K miles. As I was driving getting on the highway my car has lost power engine was cut off. I was on a limb mode almost got rear ended by an 18 wheel tractor. This happen several times a week. Brought car to dealer. Dealer refuse to fix or replace under recall. They check the car out and said it was the fuel injector.

- Hollidaysburg , PA, USA

problem #77

May 152013

335 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle did not have a recall on the following items: Hpfp, fuel injectors, wastegate. Failure- long crank, engine malfunction light, engine service soon light, clicking(rattling) coming from bottom of car(waste gate), car lose power on freeway, when rev clicking in the fuel injectors. Please help I have read many people had the same problem and many people were issue a recall. I haven't got one and am 100% positive these three items needs repair. My car is a 2007 BMW 335I and has not been issued the recall for those 3 failures. 89450 mileage please issue one. Thank you I just bought the car as of 5/15/2013 from private owner and noticed the problem till 6/12/2013 and still experiencing these problems daily.

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #76

Dec 142012

335 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I have owned this 2007 335I for 2 1/2 years. I am a 59 year old female that drives very conservatively. In the 2 1/2 years that I have owned this vehicle, the fuel pump has been replaced twice. Four months ago the injectors had to be replaced and this past Friday the electronic water pump and electronic thermostat had to be replaced. Not typical of any BMW I have owned in the past 12-15 years. I contacted our local BMW dealership and they knew of no problems with this particular model. I contacted BMW today regarding this model and they took the information for review which to me means file 13. BMW knows there is a problem with the water pumps and the thermostats on this particular model and they choose to do nothing about it. They also know there is a problem with the injectors and they choose to do nothing. I was told that the NHTSA makes the determination on all recalls not the individual car makers.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #75

Dec 142011

335 6-cyl

  • 23,500 miles
Car started to rattle especially upon pressing gas pedal while running at around 50mph in a freeway. Significant reduced power was noticed. Soon "service engine soon" lit on the tachometer. When stopped a raw gas to rotten egg smell was around the car. By turning on/off ignition several times, it stopped rattling and regained full power. Same issue happened again on a local road at around 50mph about a month later. Power regain was achieved through same way. "service engine soon" light went off 24hrs later. Brought the car in to a local BMW center. Upon diagnosis, cylinder #2 misfire and both pre-cat or post-cat oxygen sensor low response. A service agent decided not to do anything at the moment because he couldn't replicate the issue I described although he did find the malfunction codes. He instead told me to bring the car when the same symptom occurs. He also said that the technician who looked at the car believed that a faulty fuel injector might have caused the misfire and both oxygen sensors malfunction consequently.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #74

Sep 262011

335 6-cyl

  • 22,816 miles
The car stalled and lost power on highway. Engine light came on. Rough idling. First incident occurred September 2011. The second incident happened Oct 26, 2011. Both times the car stalled and lost power on the highway. I believe that this created a very dangerous and life threatening situation for me and others on the highway.

- Rockville Centre, NY, USA

problem #73

Oct 152011

335

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 BMW 335I. The contact stated that when starting the vehicle, the check engine warning light would illuminate on the instrument panel and the vehicle would attempt to shut off. The dealer diagnosed that the high pressure fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer advised that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The failure and current mileage was 56,000.

- Harvey, LA, USA

problem #72

Dec 012010

335

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 335I. While driving approximately 65 mph and accelerating the contact felt a vibration in the front end of the vehicle. The failure occurred intermittently. The contact stated that there was a voluntary recall for the high pressure fuel pump and a software update. The vehicle was taken into the dealer for the recall repairs and to diagnose the failure of the vibration. The technicians stated that the low pressure fuel pump and spark plugs needed to be replaced. The repairs were not made by the dealer. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where a low pressure fuel pump and spark plugs were replaced. After the repairs were made the contact continued to experience the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the fuel injector needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that she had an after market warranty and they would have the vehicle inspected by one of their inspectors. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #71

Mar 082011

335 6-cyl

  • 39,600 miles
High pressure fuel pump failing resulting in my vehicle to shut off and not start. I'm very afraid this could happen while passing a vehicle on the highway or while on a vacation trip with family.

- Aventura, FL, USA

problem #70

Sep 212010

335

  • 51,450 miles
2007 BMW 335I sedan purchased used from dealer with 51,000 miles. About one month later, fuel system failed on interstate causing vehicle to loose power in rush hour traffic with high risk of accident and injury. Car towed to dealer for analysis and replacement of fuel pump, kept for more than a week. One month later, the same problem occurred again. Dealer would not cover cost of repair but said the car was drivable. Drove car very minimal over last two months, now car will not accelerate to more than 50 mph and shudders dramatically. Researched recalls and complaints revealed a long history of consumer complaints describing my exact circumstances. Proceeding with very costly repair but apprehensive about result, safety and dependability of vehicle. Manufacturer should recall and replace fuel system in order avoid potentially fatal circumstances.

- Floyds Knobs, IN, USA

problem #69

Nov 172010

335

  • 42,950 miles
Reduced power indicator illuminated on dash. Shut off and restarted engine. Check engine light then illuminated. At time of event, owner was 160 miles from residence. Vehicle continued to operate normally albeit with significantly limited power. Vehicle was taken to dealer the next morning and problem diagnosed as defective high pressure fuel pump. Part was replaced under warranty. Dealer said when fuel pump failed previously (on March 11, 2010) the replacement part was the predecessor part number.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #68

Mar 102010

335 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Engine began running rough. Within 1 mile the reduced power indicator was illuminated on the dash. Shutoff and restarted engine - check engine light then illuminated. Vehicle was taken to local dealership and problem diagnosed as a defective high pressure fuel pump. Dealer replaced pump under warranty.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #67

Aug 052010

335

  • 29,000 miles
The car started normally but within a mile it began to shudder above ~2.5K RPM. I got to my destination without further incidence. Later that day soon after leaving the parking lot the car died at a stop sign. Ses and other lights came on. I started it up and it immediately died again. This happened repeatedly until I found that if I gave it the right amount of gas and kept it under a certain RPM I could operate with very limited power. That combined with the fact it was largely downhill and not very far to my house allowed me to get home safely. I drove it to the dealership the next day (keeping it well under 2.5K RPM to do so) and they replaced the high pressure fuel pump.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #66

Oct 022010

335

  • 46,002 miles
"engine failure" sign comes on my 2007 BMW 335xi and the engine power significantly cuts off. This has happened to me at least 3 times. The 1st and 2nd time it happened to me, I was driving on the freeway and suddenly, the sign comes on and I lost significant engine power, had to slow down and move over to the right lanes, as I had to drop my speed immediately from 70mph to 55 or lower. Then I pulled over, turned off the car and restarted the car. Sometimes that worked and my engine got full power, sometimes it doesn't and I have to drive with low engine power. The last time this happened to me, 3 days ago, I was in my subdivision and the same light came on, and I lost power. Luckily, it was only my sub, so I stopped the car and re-started the engine. For all the times this happened, I contacted BMW and I believe the did and drive update and replaced the high pressure fuel pump.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #65

Sep 262010

335

  • 57,074 miles
Long cranking before my 07 BMW 335I starts. Engine loses power and goes into limp home mode! dealer reprogrammed my vehicle, but now it has no power! it also has a lot of turbo lag at the lower rev range!

- Granada Hills, CA, USA

problem #64

Sep 232010

335

  • 37,426 miles
High pressure fuel pump failure in 2007 BMW 335I convertible @ 36K miles. Car was purchased in April, 2010 with 32K miles.

- Sherman Oaks, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?