Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,361 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 BMW 335 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 BMW 335:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 BMW 335 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Mar 152016

335

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #40

Mar 012016

335

  • 24,000 miles
Many months ago a recall was issued for 2007 BMW 3281I cars. Nothing happened. This spring (2016) I contacted the dealer, who said it had heard nothing from BMW. Is NHTSA monitoring BMW" if not, why not" it's not beyond the realm for both parties to hope that the issue will be forgotten about and it will go away. My dealer is BMW of fairfax, Virginia. Both dealer and distributor need to be told to move forward with the recall.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #39

Oct 082016

335

  • 108,000 miles
I was told by BMW cincinnati North my air bag was replaced over 30 days ago. Your database shows it was not. Another BMW dealer recently told me that my air bag was not replaced. BMW North America has not responded to requests for clarification. They simply stated, NHTSA records may not be updated yet.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #38

Oct 112016

335

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: A safety recall notice from BMW was issued in March of 2016. As of October 11th, 2016, BMW North America llc. Still can not provide an estimated time of repair or replacement. They have not remedied the situation at all and will not offer alternative methods to help customers with the potentially death causing airbag explosions. BMW North America llc is acting in bad faith, allowing and instructing their customers to continue driving their vehicles while being aware that they could cause death to the driver. (source - phone call with recall campaign escalation manager for BMW North America)

- Westlake Village, CA, USA

problem #37

Sep 202016

335

  • miles
Recall notice was received in March 2016. Six months later and the part is not available to fix the driver's front air bag.

- Richmond, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #36

Mar 012016

335

  • miles
Takata recall we received notification of need for installation of new airbags in March 2016. We went into dealer 2X but no parts are available. It is six months later, and still we have received no notification that replacement for faulty airbag is available. This could result in fatal consequences, the official notice from BMW stated. The delay is dangerous and unconscionable.

- South Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #35

Aug 222016

335

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

BMW said they replaced and fixed the air bag issue and battery cable (positive) recall. It's been over 2 weeks and I just searched on safercar.gov and they both still show as open issues. Did BMW lie?

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #34

Mar 032016

335 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall - to whom it may concern, in March 2016, BMW sent me a letter informing that under recall campaign #16V-071, my vehicle (# [xxx]) has a defective driver"S front air bag. As this is a critical safety device that could be the difference between life and death ".. I would like this repaired immediately. In this regard, please have the woodlands, tx BMW contact me in the near term to set up this much need and critical repair. Thank you in advance for your assistance in this matter. Regards, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #33

Jun 252016

335

  • miles
I have phoned towson BMW on at least 2 occasions and requested the recall repair, but they state that I will have to wait for them to call me about it. This is a dangerous condition and should be fixed asap!

- Lutherville, MD, USA

problem #32

Apr 262016

335

  • miles
(talaria recall) I just bought a 335I 2007 BMW I've had it four couple of months. I notice that evertime someone sits. On the passenger sit the air bag a light turns on in my dash board and it peeps every time someone sit on the passenger seat. When I'm driving

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #31

Apr 222016

335

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW 335I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Santa Ynez, CA, USA

problem #30

Jun 042016

335

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 335I. The contact stated that the air bag and seat belt warning lights illuminated. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the seat mat sensor malfunctioned. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 94,000.

- Mckenna, WA, USA

problem #29

Apr 162016

335

  • miles
When driving with a passenger, the vehicle will recognize that there is an error in the passenger restraint system. The passenger airbag and seatbelt light will illuminate. This causes a potential threat to safety. This issue is recognize in another complaint, but not extended to newer models. The vehicle with this issue is a 2007 BMW 335I with sport and premium packages, build date in March 2007.

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #28

Apr 042016

335

  • miles
Takata recall the minnetonka, Minnesota BMW dealership informed me on April 4 2016 that due to the recall on takata's psdi-5 driver side airbag inflators impacting my vehicle, there was a 'sales hold┐ on my vehicle. This means that the BMW dealership will not or cannot sell the vehicle to another consumer until the defect is remedied. The dealership also informed me that the approximate expected time for parts to be available to remedy the defect would be 12 months. When I contacted BMW corporate on April 6 2016, they confirmed that the parts would not be available for around 12 months. Furthermore, BMW corporate is not offering impacted vehicle owners compensation for the drastic reduction in vehicle value related to the sales hold and the extended time to remedy the defect. The excessive remedy time for this defect is unacceptable in the absence of compensation for the severe deterioration in vehicle value as I intend to sell my vehicle in the next 12 months.

- St Louis Park, MN, USA

problem #27

Jan 052015

335

  • 62,347 miles
Passenger seat detection mat not working. Seat has been relatively empty fpr years faulty product.. dangerous for a passenger when I have one. Air bag may not go off in an accident due to the faulty mat detection I feel BMW should be held accountable for this. They say my car is not covered due to they only cover certain VIN's for that year..

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #26

Feb 092016

335

  • 84,504 miles
Passenger seat mat sensor has gone bad. This is the same type of recall as the takata recall but BMW says that this car isn't covered for that recall. Recall cost over $1000 to repair for a airbag safety issue. Seems to extremely common in BMW's. took car to BMW dealership and they confirmed the issue with the car. Spoke to bmwusa directly and they won't cover repair.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #25

Nov 152012

335

  • 75,000 miles
Front passenger seat occupant detection mat. My 2007 BMW 328xi airbag light came on so I took it to the dealer and they told me there was a recall on my model car from 2006 up, but that my VIN# is not part of that recall even though all symptom and issue was the same. I think this should be included as the sensor mat is the same issue as noted in this recall us NHTSA campaign id:13V564000

- Perry, NY, USA

problem #24

Nov 292015

335

  • 90,000 miles
Passenger air bag warning light and seat beat warning light randomly turns on but it happens most frequently when someone is sitting in the passenger seat.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #23

Nov 252014

335

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 335I. While driving 40 mph, the air bag and the passenger side seat belt warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the mat sensor and the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #22

Mar 212015

335

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW 335I. While driving at approximately 5 mph, the fault in the passenger restraint warning message displayed causing the air bag seat belt tension system to activate. The failure occurred multiple occasions. The vehicle was driven to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the senor under the mat of the front passenger side needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Macon, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?