Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,913 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 BMW 335 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 BMW 335:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 BMW 335 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Nov 232011

335

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle oil temp was just under 250. Vehicle shakes when accelerating on the highway or on an incline. Engine light comes on and you can feel the vehicle misfiring in the gas peddle. Vehicle continues to shake in park. Dealer advised to turn the vehicle off and let it sit for 30 min before driving again. Seems to be a temporary fix until the engine temp increases to just under 250 or driving on a incline on the hwy. Previously had no issues with this vehicle until dealer replaced a hfp (recall notice) during an oil change. This will be the third complaint about this issue since 11/23/11 that the dealer has not been able to fix. Previously been told injectors were malfunctioning due to programming and also bad gas. I have always used premium 91+ Oct gas. Recently the dealer put in a fuel additive and advised me to use shell or chevron premium gas in the future. I drove out the fuel additive tank, no issues and refueled at shell using premium 91 power V. forty five minutes later, my vehicle began to shake on the hwy once again and my check engine light came on. I was forced to suddenly slow down on the highway to a speed / gear where I wouldn't shake. Previous driving history in eu with no issues on the autobahn and the vehicle is a us spec. Once the vehicle was shipped to ca, I drove it to AZ (800 miles) with no issues and continued to drive the car until Sept when I had my oil changed and my hfp replaced. My first long hwy drive since the oil change / hfp was replaced, we encountered this issue.

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

problem #29

Aug 182011

335

  • 38,000 miles
On Thursday, August 18, 2011, my 2009 328I shut down without notice in the middle lane of I-90 at mile marker 80.002 about a mile from ohare airport in Chicago. It was unable to restart and I was left to call 911 and spend 10 minutes waiting for dot to tow me off the middle of the highway and to a residential neighborhood to wait another hour for aaa to tow my car to perillo BMW in Chicago to assess the issue. June 15th 2011: About 3 hours after bringing my car into the zimbrick BMW service facility to have a set of after-market led lights installed at cost, the service engine soon light appeared illuminated on my dashboard. As I had never seen this light appear on my less than 2 year old car before, I immediately called the person who was head of your service department to discuss how this light could appear for the first time after having my car in hours earlier on a service appointment that should not have touched the engine. A loaner car was promptly driven to my office, to check into the issue and take my car back to the dealership for further inspection, if necessary. The following is the conversation that transpired between the service rep and I, upon his review of my vehicle, using a computer connection to pull data from my cars onboard computer system: Sa: when was the last time you filled the car with gas? me: (checking the odometer, as I reset it with each full tank of gas) about 97 miles ago. Sa: well, the computer is reporting the issue has something to do with your fuel pump, however, I think it might just be that your gas cap may have been unscrewed. Me: I can't say that makes much sense, as I filled it up 97 miles ago and haven't seen an issue until now. Sa; well, let me just turn the indicator light off and let me know if you run into this issue again.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #28

Nov 152010

335 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
2009 BMW 328I with 17K miles malfunctioned caught fire and exploded. I was injured by the fire getting out. It was a total loss vehicle fire causing personal injury. In addition to the cost of the car there was additional 20K personal property damage. It was not caused by collision or operator error. On 15 Nov 2010 approx 7: 30pm after about 8 mins of driving my car started to lose power and the ses light came on. It acted as if it was running out of gas I pulled over off of the shoulder in the grass. The car died and would not start back up I took my flash light and looked under the hood.I did not see anything or notice anything unusual. After a little time the car started back up, the ses light did not come back on. It was dark outside, I was out of state and BMW was closed so I turned back. I drove approx 1 block to a driveway where I stopped and called my husband to say I would not come home until my car could be seen. I began to drive back towards longview, tx. I entered the highway on the other side of the road at about 50 mph my car began losing power. The engine made a load noise and the RPM gauge went up to 7000 rpms I was in traffic and needed to pull over. I put the car in neutral and coasted at approx 40 mph I put the car in 4th gear and it redlined again. I put it back into neutral the clutch went to the floor. Still coasting in traffic I got off the road as soon as I could. It died on top of a bridge with a narrow shoulder. I turned off the car and called roadside assistance, while talking to them I seen flames coming from the drivers front wheel area. Without a second thought I got out of the car I undid my seat belt opened the drivers door and jumped out only my cell in hand. There was a wall of flames taller than me I got burned getting away from the car I ran through the flames into on coming traffic and was almost hit by an 18 wheeler. I was in the middle of the bridge when I heard the 1st explosion and the 2nd as I ran off of the bridge.

- Ok, OK, USA

problem #27

Feb 122011

335

  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 BMW 335I with 11000 miles started to sputter while driving on the freeway and the yellow service engine and low power lights came on. Vehicle was drivable but with low power. Managed to limp into town and had car towed to BMW dealership. Problem diagnosed as high pressure fuel pump failure. Dealer replaced high pressure fuel pump and performed software update under warranty.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #26

Jan 282011

335 6-cyl

  • 15,200 miles
Car suddenly lost power while accelerating and attempting to merge into traffic on interstate 5 N in irvine. Had to exit interstate and drive surface streets. Car continued to operate at greatly reduced power. Dealer replaced high pressure fuel pump under warranty.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Jan 232011

335 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
It's an ongoing issue which BMW has failed to fix. I believe I have issues with my high pressure fuel pump. I have had the low pressure sensor replaced, and a software upgrade. Last night, the car had a rough idle, and the warning engine malfunction, reduced power was displayed. I drove home slowly. The car roughed idled. In addition, I called BMW assist to file the complaint. There was a voluntary recall, but I have not received any type of notification for my vehicle.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #24

Jan 092011

335 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on the highway at 65 mph resulted in sudden loss of power and need to pull off to the side of the road in a very dangerous setting. Fuel pump required replacement in a vehicle that was one year old. Approximately one year later the same problem occurred while driving. "engine malfunction light" and complete loss of power while driving. Again high pressure fuel pump had to be repaired (car mileage ~ 28,000 miles)

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #23

Oct 082010

335

  • 10,300 miles
10/8/2010 - while traveling on alligator alley in southern Florida, 2009 BMW 335I experienced a severe loss of power with engine lamp turning on. Loss of power worsened for the next seventy five miles until the car could not go over forty miles per hour and had insufficient torque to go up any inclined highway off ramps. Took car back to BMW dealership and was informed loss of power was due to failure of high pressure fuel pump, and was informed that the pump would be replaced and engine software updated. Car had approximately 10,000 miles at the time of incident.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #22

Sep 202010

335 6-cyl

  • 18,500 miles
Driving along highway on right lane, coming along to a highspeed merge. Vehicle lost significant power, error message on dash displayed limp mode engine malfunction. I was not able to accelerate and caused a sever back up in highway to get on shoulder. BMW stated a software upgrade was needed to correct error. I received the car back within a week. Again I was driving when the same exact error stated above happened. This time at least I was in a somewhat low traveled area and had no problem pulling over. Tech at BMW said the fuel pump was at fault and many cars of my make and model have this problem, but no real solution to the fuel pump failures had been found by BMW.

- Colonia, NJ, USA

problem #21

Sep 102010

335

  • 19,600 miles
I own a 2009 BMW 335I which has the type N54 engine. I have owned this car since May 2009. I have had 2 high pressure fuel pumps replaced. The last malfunction just occurred as I was at highway speed 65mph + and the engine went into the limp home mode. Because of this mode the car had a drastic reduction of power, without any warning. I was lucky I was able to get to the right lane and limp to dealership with a top speed of 50mph. This was a dangerous situation to me and other drivers on highway. The N54 engine is a major issue for BMW, their own service advisors state that almost 60% of these engines have had fuel pump malfunctions, resulting in replacement.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #20

Sep 152009

335

  • 2,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Long cranks, stuttering upon pushing on the accelerator with lurching sensation and front engine block shaking. It used to occur every day before they replaced my first high pressure fuel pump at 2500 miles. Second time I had long cranks a few times a week with lurching/stuttering sensation upon pushing on the accelerator while hi-way driving every day. I have a 2009 BMW 335I. VIN [xxx]. I've had my hpfp replaced once. The second time around they just reprogrammed the hpfp but I still get long cranks 2 a week with lurching/stuttering on hi-way acceleration attempts. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #19

Aug 192010

335

  • 15,500 miles
The car's high pressure fuel pump failed on freeway on-ramp acceleration leading to a near rear-end collision by a following car. This failure was preceded by long-crank starting and engine racing on starting. The hpfp was replaced at 6,000 miles (10/09). At 12,000 miles the software was reprogrammed. (6/10) the dealer says it is replacing the hpfp again. This appears to be an ongoing problem with the BMW 335I engine starting with the 2007 models as reported on this website. According to a survey of 300+ owners nearly 50% have experienced this problem.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #18

Oct 042009

335

  • 4,800 miles
Vehicle had aprox, 3,400 miles and began to experience long cranks during start up. For about 1 month I experienced intermittent long cranks but the vehicle performed normally. With 4,800 miles on the vehicle I was driving on a highway attempting to pass a vehicle in right lane and the vehicle sputtered and a reduced power indicator showed on dash. I was able to limp the vehicle to dealership, stalled once during trip to dealer. Dealership diagnosed bad high pressure fuel pump and replaced same day.

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #17

Jul 102010

335

  • 14,000 miles
The car is a 2009 BMW 335I. About 23 weeks ago, the car lost power. Fortunately, there was not a accident. When the car went into the dealer, I was told that it was a fuel pump problem and the changed the pump.

- Lincolnwood, IL, USA

problem #16

May 152010

335

  • 9,000 miles
Failure of high pressure fuel pump with resulting loss of power and drivable. Failure has occurred once so far at 10 months of ownership and approximately 9000 miles. Initial repair was a software update. This repair was of no benefit and shortly thereafter the car was returned to the dealer and the hpfp was replaced with a remanufactured hpfp.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #15

Dec 112009

335

  • 24,000 miles
The fuel pump on my 2009 BMW 335I has failed and I believe it's starting to fail again but everytime I take it in they say it's fine and they cant do anything until it actually fails. Problem with that is if it fails on the highway doing 70mph then I'm going to be in a world of hurt. The pump has already failed once.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 222009

335

  • 4,500 miles
I own a 2009 BMW 335. It was purchased in early 2009. Prior to the failure of the part, there was no sign of trouble. While I was driving on the freeway in southern California, my car started to lose power. Concurrent with that power loss, the "service engine soon" light appeared on my instrument cluster. Additionally, an icon (it looked like a transmission) lit up as well. When the power loss first occurred, I was in the fast lane on the freeway. I had to work extremely quick to get to the other side of the freeway, for fear that someone would hit me from behind (as my car slowed down). I eventually made it to the other side of the freeway without incident. I pulled off to the side of the road and turned the car off. I eventually called a tow truck and had my car towed to the nearest BMW dealership. Turns out that my high-pressure fuel pump failed. I did not have any warning prior to the failure. The dealership replaced the high-pressure fuel pump. Since then, I have put 5500 miles on the car. My fuel pump is still working properly.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #13

Jan 292010

335

  • 18,364 miles
1 ) high pressure fuel pump (hpfp) failed with no prior indication. 2 ) the failure occurred several times between inception and correction by the dealer, resulting in starting and engine running issues for the car. 3 ) the part was replaced under warranty.

- Mansfield, MA, USA

problem #12

Jul 062010

335

  • 18,500 miles
This is an update to ODI 10290275. My car (2009 335xi) is yet again experiencing long starting times and I have had another abrupt loss of power. Although there is no "check engine light" on yet I believe it is only a matter of time before the high pressure fuel pump is again replaced. This is a chronic problem that is recognized by BMW (as they have extended the warranty on the high pressure fuel pumps) but does not address the underlying safety concern of a sudden loss of power that will ultimately result in an accident.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #11

Jul 142010

335

  • 10,825 miles
I was driving uphill last night and an engine light came on and the navigation screen said reduced power. I had to shift down into third gear and put my foot to the floor and the car hardly kept going up the hill. I turned it off and then on again and all seemed fine. On the way home the same lights came on but then the service engine soon light came on and began flashing and the car began shaking and idling very rough. The car was very hard to drive and had almost no power whatsoever. Problem occurred again this morning and the car was taken to the dealership on a flat bed. This would be extremely dangerous if it happened at highway speeds or on an open stretch of highway with little access to services and/or repair facilities. The dealership says it is the high pressure fuel pump.

- Palos Verdes Estates, CA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?