Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,769 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 BMW 525 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 BMW 525:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 BMW 525 Owner Comments

problem #13

Oct 272016

525

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. More than a year ago, I received information in the form of a warning that my car had airbags that should be replaced. I contacted the BMW center on S.dixie highway near 160 street in miami and was told that they will get back to me. After a long enough wait, I called again and was told the same thing. After another period of time, I took my car to them. They told me that the airbag had been ordered and that I will be notified as soon as it comes in. After another long wait, I called and later went back with my car but still got the same run-around. It has been almost 2 years since I contacted BMW. I am lucky that nothing bad has happened to me while driving my car. What else am I supposed to do in order to get the service that I need? thank you for your help.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #12

Aug 252016

525

  • miles
I'm getting the run around about replacing the driver's airbag in my car. I received the initial notice over 6 months ago and was told the air bags were released over a month ago but I still haven't gotten a second notice. The BMW dealership says there isn't an issue with the BMW it's just precautionary but they still don't have the airbags in.

- Alabaster, AL, USA

problem #11

May 272015

525

  • miles
Takata recall - I recently found out that my vehicle, which has been mine since it was new in 2003, is part of the takata recall and has been since almost a year ago. I never received a single notification in the mail. I have lived at the same address since 2003, so there seems to be absolutely no excuse for this. When I called my BMW dealership to find out what to do about the recall, I was told there is no current remedy but that someone would call me back about my options. It has been almost two weeks and no one has called me. I then sent an E-mail to BMW, which resulted in a form return message. What are the options for someone with this recall and no remedy? I can't say that I feel at all safe driving my car, especially not with my children in it, but I apparently have no alternative as I'm not in a position to purchase a new vehicle or to rent a vehicle.

- Springfield, OR, USA

problem #10

Jul 202015

525

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 525I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 05/11/16

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 092015

525

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 525I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Duarte, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Aug 312015

525

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 525I. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #7

May 292015

525

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 BMW 525I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- South Holland, IL, USA

problem #6

Jul 012015

525

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 525I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #5

Jul 292015

525

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 525I. While driving 40 mph, the driver veered and crashed into a curb. The driver side air bags failed to deploy, the passenger side door air bag deployed, but the passenger side head liner air bag did not fully deploy. The air bag warning light illuminated. There were no injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the air bags needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the vehicle was inspected by an engineer from the manufacturer who stated that the air bags worked as intended. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000. Updated 12/03/15

- Arlington , TX, USA

problem #4

Jan 102015

525

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 525I. The contact stated that while starting the ignition the air bag warning light illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 042010

525 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 BMW 525I. While driving approximately 60 mph, the front and rear air bags on the driver side suddenly deployed. The contact noticed that the hazard lights blinked and the check engine light illuminated on the instrument panel after the failure. The contact pulled over and shut the vehicle off. The driver sustained injuries. A police report was made. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer but the failure could not be diagnosed. The failure mileage was approximately 58,000 and the current mileage is approximately 59,000. Updated evoq 01/04/11 updated 01/14/11 the police report refused the consumers request for an accident report as the officer stated there was no damage to the consumers vehicle. Updated 04/19/11

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #2

Feb 012009

525

  • 65,000 miles
Passenger seat air bag sensor failure, sensor in seat needs to be replaced or air bag will not function.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #1

Nov 022008

525

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 540. While the contact's daughter was driving approximately 30 mph, she heard a loud noise. The front driver's side door air bag and rear door air bags deployed, injuring her left arm and leg. The vehicle was driven to a BMW dealer. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 68,000.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

Not what you are looking for?