Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,915 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 525 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 525:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 525 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #59

Nov 092016

525

  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 BMW 525I and receiving pass. Restaint system malfunction affecting the airbag. This is a problem BMW should service as they are famous for these malfunctions. It is dangerous and its ruins the integrity of the vehicle.

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #58

Jan 012016

525

  • 134,000 miles
The front passenger air bag warning light flashed and suddenly remained illuminated. It is related to the campaign #13V564000. I contacted BMW and was told that my vehicle is not included in the recall for this campaign. I believe it should be as my symtoms are the same as listed in the campaign.

- Skillman, NJ, USA

problem #57

Jun 252016

525

  • 170,000 miles
Vehicle was in motion during these events. Electric warning malfunction, alert passenger restraint system malfunction. A message right low beam headlight was malfunctioning. Electronic control sudden malfunction of the windshield wipers.

- Yazoocity, MS, USA

problem #56

Mar 212016

525 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 BMW 525xi. The contact stated that the front passenger air bag warning light flashed and suddenly remained illuminated. The dealer and the manufacturer had been notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The failure mileage was not available. Updated 06/14/16

- Waukee, IA, USA

problem #55

Sep 012015

525

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 525xi. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The dealer diagnosed that the frontal air bag sensor module experienced a failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was notified that the warranty period was expired. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Sevn Hills, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #54

Jan 122016

525

  • 80,000 miles
My passenger air bag warning light came on about a month ago for apparent reason and stay on ever since. I contacted the local BMW dealer and was told my VIN was not on the recall list. I was very disappointed and dont understand why some cars were on the recall and some were not. Apparently this is a common problem with all bmws and a very serious safety issue. This safety issue should be taken care of by the manufacture.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #53

Sep 152015

525

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 525I. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, the passenger side air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure and the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Fort Washington, PA, USA

problem #52

Nov 202015

525

  • 162,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 525I. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag light remained illuminated on the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 162,000.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #51

Nov 022015

525

  • 121,000 miles
Air bag restraint system failure.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #50

May 182015

525

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 525xi. While driving 25 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the failure occurred more than once. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 125,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #49

May 202015

525

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger airbag faults has shown up on my 2006 BMW 525I. This is the 2nd time it shows up. The front passenger airbag is deactivated with this fault and will not protect passenger in case of an accident. First time, I had to fix it myself because my VIN was not included in the voluntary recall notice sent by BMW. Now it is happening for the 2nd time. I had it check at a service station and it is because of another issue in the same system. Each repair costs approx. $1000. BMW North America has to take responsibility for this.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #48

Apr 272015

525

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 525I. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag and seat belt light continuously illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where the technician diagnosed that the battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #47

Jan 122015

525

  • 86,000 miles
Passenger restraint system fault light has started showing on my BMW, there has been a recall reported on the same component "statement on voluntary recall involving front passenger seat sensor mat on U.S.a. model bmws - August 13, 2008". I have the same problem but my VIN is not showing up in the recall. I took the car to dealer and dealer says its exactly the same part but I am not covered under recall warranty.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #46

Nov 182014

525 6-cyl

  • miles
My car is not on the airbag recall list but I have had this error for awhile now & it appears to be related to the airbag issue (not sure if my car has a tekata.) the message comes up on the screen- pass. Restraint system- fault in passenger-restraint system affecting airbag, belt tensioner or belt force limiter. Continue to wear the safety belt. I also have a picture of the error.

- Miami Springs, FL, USA

problem #45

Feb 032014

525 6-cyl

  • 95,500 miles
Front passenger airbag is deactivated due to the front seat sensor mat malfunction. Alarm lights up on instrument cluster as well as the idrive service section. Vehicle is out of warranty. Dealers are asking for $400 to diagnose the issue. They claim the issue is common but my specific vehicle is not affected by the recall. BMW usa cannot help as they want an official diagnosis and stands by their position that my car is not affected by the recall or what ever term they like to use.

- Boca, FL, USA

problem #44

Aug 252014

525

  • 122,000 miles
The passenger restraint system alarm came on for the first time while sitting in a parking lot. BMW says that my vehicle, a 2006 BMW 525xi is not captured under the current recall 13V564000, which fixes this problem.

- Manayunk , PA, USA

problem #43

Jun 172014

525 6-cyl

  • 79,200 miles
Had heard from friends about NHTSA recall 13V564000 regarding the passenger side air bag system on 2006 BMW 5 series sedans and others. I never received any notifications from BMW in the mail regarding this recall. In June 2014, the passenger side air bag sensor in my car failed as described in the NHTSA recall notice. I went to the BMW dealer to inquiry about the recall and to find out why I did not receive a notice in the mail. I was told by the service representative that my particular vehicle VIN was not associated with the recall. I asked the service representative exactly why it was not covered at which he replied "I'm not sure, it's just not on the list". I then proceeded to contact BMW of North America to inquire about the recall. The representative for BMW on the phone basically had the same response as the service representative at the dealership, she was uncertain why my vehicle was not covered and why certain vehicles of the same make, model, and year were covered by the recall. The representative at BMW North America suggested that I contact NHTSA regarding the issue. Please help shed some light on why my particular BMW is not covered even though it has the failure as outlined in the recall notice. In addition, what criteria was used to determine which vehicles and parts were recalled.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #42

Jun 022014

525

  • 168,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 525xi. After starting the vehicle, the passenger side air bag indicator illuminated as the air bag alarm sounded throughout the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 168,000.

- Phildelphia, PA, USA

problem #41

Jan 162014

525

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 525xi. The contact stated that he was concerned for his safety because the parts were not available in to order repair the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the parts delay. There were no failures at this time. The current mileage was 70,800.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #40

Jan 072014

525 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 525I. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign number 13V56400 (air bag); however, the part was unavailable. The air bag warning and rear light malfunction indicator were illuminated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000. Updated 8/19/14 the consumer stated the manufacturer repaired the intial recall. Updated 8/28/2014

- Lawerece Ville, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?