Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,071 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 BMW 528 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 BMW 528:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 BMW 528 Owner Comments

problem #18

Dec 252011


  • 59,500 miles


TL- the contact owns a 2008 BMW 535. The contact was driving 60 mph when the vehicle overheated and stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing where the dealer advised the contact that the electrical water pump and thermostat malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. There were no recalls for the failure of the vehicle. The failure mileage was 59,500. Kmj

- Galloway, OH, USA

problem #17

May 252011


  • 28,700 miles
Three wks ago my 08 528I was making a rattling sound in the engine, tin-can sounding. Took the car for service & they replaced my lifters and related parts. They said that the lifters are "known" for going bad on the 5 series and it's typically due to seasonal changes. When my husband brought the car home to me I was very upset because the noise was still there, not as loud as before. I called BMW and made another appointment, citing that this problem had not been resolved and it needed to be looked at again. The appointment with a loaner could not be scheduled for another 10 days, so we waited. During those 10 days the vehicle started to take longer to turnover at start up. I would also feel the engine lightly shuttering as I drove at speeds averaging 35-50 miles per hour. Monday 05/23/11 was my requested appointment; however because my 15 mo. Old baby was ill we had to cancel. Thank goodness we did because my car would not have made it the 20 miles of freeway to the dealership. Today, 05/25/11, I made a left out of my neighborhood and as I accelerated approx. 50 yards, my engine bucked (felt like the bottom fell out), I lost speed dramatically. Suddenly, steering became nearly impossible and I was forced to "turn" into a small shopping center. However, I lost ability to steer upon entering the parking lot. My car would respond to nothing but the brakes (thank god those atleast worked). I looked down at my gear shift to attempt to reverse away from the curb and maneuver into a parking space, though my car was thrown into neutral & would not respond to anything but "park". I attempted to startup again but engine wouldn't turn over. It was dead. Within moments my ABS, check eng, and battery lights illuminated & corresponding msgs came onto my communication screen. Car was towed. Awaiting dealership response in the am. After seeing prior complaints, I see someone needs to be fired. The us government needs to step in before people die! thank god my baby wasn't with me!

- Sewell, NJ, USA

problem #16

Sep 072010

528 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 BMW 535xi. While driving approximately 65 mph, the accelerator pedal was engaged and the engine began to sputter with an extensive reduction in power. The contact continued with caution and the vehicle was taken to a dealer where they replaced the fuel pressure sensor, spark plugs and performed an oil change. The failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times in which there were no resolutions. The high pressure pump was replaced on a different occasion. In addition, when encountering a bump in the road and down-shifting from third to second gear, an abnormal clicking noise would occur. Recently, the engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was in the process of being diagnosed. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000. Updated 01/28/11 updated 02/07/11

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #15

Oct 282010


  • 22,750 miles


I purchased a certified, pre-owned 2008 BMW 535xi with approx. 22,000 miles on 10/23/10. Subsequent to my purchase, I discovered the high-pressure fuel pump in the vehicle had earlier failed and been replaced. On 10/28/10, just 5 days after purchasing - I was driving on a surface street when the car began violently shaking and rocking, the engine lost substantial power and nearly stalled, and the engine malfunction indicator lit. I took the vehicle in for service on 10/28/10 and the vehicle was returned 10/30/10. 3 of 4 fuel injectors were replaced along with all sparkplugs. At high speeds, this type of engine malfunction would pose an extreme safety risk in my opinion. I have contacted BMW usa and the dealership where I purchased the vehicle and I have not been satisfied with the response to-date.

- New Berlin, WI, USA

problem #14

Oct 292010


  • 24,000 miles
2008 BMW 535I-engine power failure, engine shuts down and loss of power steering and maneuvering ability.

- Newport Coast, CA, USA

problem #13

Oct 262010


  • 60,800 miles
2008 BMW 535I. Engine start-up takes longer than normal. The engine idles rough and hesitant to accelerate and check engine light comes on. BMW claims to have fixed the problem under a recall, but the problem came back again 3 days later.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #12

Sep 022010


  • 35,000 miles


2008 BMW 535I - car has had 3 fuel pumps, 3 separate visits for plugs / injectors, last visit for replaced fuel pump created large fuel leak in car which resulted in tow to dealer. Engine malfunction light problem. Hpfp, repeated engine program.

- East Hampton, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 012010

(reported on)

528 6-cyl

  • 15,145 miles
2008 BMW 528I. Consumer states unexplained engine shut down the navigation screen flashed overheating; reduce speed; and pull over, then the engine shut down when the third message was received. The shut down was traced to a faulty electronic water pump.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #10

Jul 012010


  • 53,020 miles
Reduced power from engine. Pressed accelerator and engine did not respond with regular power. Reduced power in traffic at 40mph. Pulled over shut off engine and restarted with full return of power. One repeat of problem 3 months later with similar results. Dealer replaced fuel injection auxiliary parts. Too soon to know if problem will recur.

- Cambridge, MA, USA

problem #9

May 222010


  • 55,000 miles
Car loses power 2008 BMW.535I had just gotten it out of the shop (new plugs and new brakes, changed the oil air filter full service) and the next day we had gone out for supper when the car would barrly run it was like it had 2 cyclinders. Had the BMW place pick up and they said it was low fuel pump and they had to order. When they got that in it did not fix it so the put another set of plugs and new coils and high pressure fuel pump in also. They ended up covering the whole bill. But it seems not to run like it use to. Not as much power. I would like to find more info on problem and how they extended warranty.*

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #8

May 012010


  • 22,000 miles


My check engine light, reduced power came on, brought car into shop. They "repaired" car for 10 minutes.. car would not go over 30 mph when it ran. It shook violently. Car stopped and had to be flat bedded. Danger! BMW bought me out of my lease..these cars should not be sold!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Haworth, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jul 102010


  • miles
Engine malfunction light comes on and there is loss of power. This is the second episode. After the first episode I had taken it to BMW dealer, they had it inspected it and said it was a software glitch and fixed it. I happened today again and had taken my car to BMW dealer and they say it is fuel pump problem and gave a Thursday appointment to look into the problem and told me it was safe to drive. Currently I am facing atleast a 40% power reduction.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #6

Nov 012008


  • miles
1. vehicle loses power 2. engine malfunction light comes one. 11/2008, 2/2009 & 4/2010 3. gas fuel pump replaced 3 times in 18 months.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #5

Mar 302010


  • 42,000 miles
My 2008 535 BMW fuel pump went out for the second time. This time my wife was driving. She was making a left hand turn. The car did not have power. Thank god the on coming traffic stoped. BMW is not taking this seriously. This is very dangerous situation

- Anaheim Hills, CA, USA

problem #4

Nov 142009


  • 20,102 miles
Engine malfunction light comes on and is combined with a slight loss of power. Have had BMW dealer troubleshoot but no resolution after 7 attempts.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #3

Nov 062009


  • 28,000 miles
Engine failed without warning at highway speed.

- Amherst, NH, USA

problem #2

May 302008


  • miles
2008 BMW 535I has an engine malfunction and a problem with the fuel valves. The consumer stated the engine had very little power. Two months later, the consumer had to take the vehicle back to the dealer due to the same problem previously. The dealer informed the consumer again it was the fuel valves. The consumer experienced the problem for a third time, in he lost virtually all power in the engine. So far, the dealer has been unable to determine the cause of the failure.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #1

Dec 282008


  • 12,263 miles
Engine malfunction warning.

- Omaha, NE, USA

Not what you are looking for?