Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,812 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 530 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 530:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 530 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #54

Jan 032014

530 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


I received a safety recall stating the sensor mat for the front passenger airbag is defective in January 2014 and the airbags do not work. The expected date for repairs would be March 2014. Called in March and was told they did not have a solution and it would be May 2014. Called on may23rd and was insured they had a solution and recall for repairs were being sent out by May 31st, 2014. Called again on June 13, 2014 and am now told they still have no solution and are hoping for July or August of 2014. My airbag light has been on since January for a known defect with BMW and still no resolution. This is not a reasonable period of time and a safety issue that is not being corrected.

- Buffalo Grove, IN, USA

problem #53

Jun 072014

530 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I was sent a letter from BMW in January 2014 concerning recall 13V564: Front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat. The letter states that BMW does not have sufficient parts to conduct the recall and I would be notified when they are available. It is now 6 months later (June 2014) and I have not been notified; and I have called my dealer (BMW seattle) a few times only to be told they still do not have the parts. This is extremely concerning as the air bag warning lamp came on right after I received the letter concerning the recall. I appreciate the company notifying me of the recall but it is pointless if they cannot correct it and it makes them look like they've done their due diligence of notifying me but other then that they have no sense of urgency. I would think for a recall on safety equipment they would expedite securing the parts to correct the issue.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #52

Jul 172013

530 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
My vehicle meets the criteria for BMW recall 13V564 but because the vehicle production date is 2 months outside the VIN range BMW will not correct the defect. All other criteria apply - make, model, year, etc. The passenger side front seat occupancy detection mat may fail, resulting in resulting in a deactivation of the passenger side air bag system. A warning display and issue was verified by an authorized BMW repair center. The repair has not been made.

- Pass Christian, MS, USA

problem #51

Jan 062014


  • 93,661 miles


The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530xi. The contact stated that the main air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the air bag sensor control unit was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 93,661.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #50

Nov 162013

530 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
I bought the car it had an oil leak, radiator leak, developed an air bag malfunction, the engine stopped running, tar is accumulating on top of the sunroof every time I open it, the heater fan makes noise, the transmission makes noise after four attempts it is still leaking oil. All of my friends who own BMW's have also had air bag malfunctions. None were part of the recall, all paid $1,300 to have it fixed. BMW should have recalled all of them. The purpose of recalling some is to avoid a total recall. They are building their cars with inferior parts so that they do not last for more than 60,0000 before major problems occur. One of my friends has spent over $10,000 on repairs to his 2004 X3.

- Huntington Station, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #49

Apr 022010

530 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
There is a short in the passenger side restraint system and the air bag light goes off and on now mostly stays on and BMW sent letter in January that it would be repaired. Its now April and nothing has happened and local dealers refuse to fix without more info though they say they have the parts.

- Hopkinton, MA, USA

problem #48

Mar 102014

530 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,600 miles


The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530xi. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning light illuminated with no passenger in the seat. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V564000(air bags). The vehicle was not included in the recall and was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 86,600...updated 05/15/14

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #47

Mar 252014

530 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
A message stating a passenger restraint malfunction keeps coming on. Did some research and it said there is a recall for my vehicle. After calling the dealing and giving him my VIN# he told me it was not covered. This seems to be a serious oversight by BMW and needs to be addressed.

- Wauwatosa, WI, USA

problem #46

Nov 052013


  • 68,000 miles
I bought a used BMW from long island auto find. Before picking it up I told nick certain things needed to be done there was a drafty sound coming from the moon roof the center rims were corroded, bolts were missing from the valve cover. I was called three days in a row by nick who claimed everything was done and the car was ready to be picked up. When I got the re not only was the battery dead, nothing on my list was done! I have since had the car 5 month and I has been in the shop 5 weeks so far. Passenger side air bag malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. There was an oil leak that caused my eyes to water and leaves a funny taste in my mouth. This took three different attempts to fix. The car moves from side to side at 65 mph. The car just died while taking my wife to work. I brought it to the shop it did it on the mechanic but he could not determine the cause. He said it was safe to take to Florida which is the reason I bought it. It stalled in Florida while entering an intersection then again in Delaware at 3:30 in the morning and 13 degrees! and again on the bqe as three lanes of traffic merged into one.I have 2 friends with the same car they were charged $1300 to fix the "air bag malfunction"everyone should be reimbursed. I am told the gaskets become brittle and leak. All of these issue's should be part of a recall.

- Huntington, NY, USA

problem #45

Feb 282014

530 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530xi. The contact stated that upon starting the vehicle, the air bag sensor would not shut off. The air bag light sensor remained illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the mat sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure several times but did not provide a remedy for the failure. The contact was told by the dealer that the repair was covered under a recall and later stated that the production date of the vehicle was not included. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V564000 (air bags) but experienced the same failure. The failure was recurring. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10000. Updated 04-23-14

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #44

Nov 262012

530 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles


One day while driving, my car had an alert come on the I drive saying the passenger restraint system was malfunctioning. It stayed on a few months and then went away for a few months. Now the problem is occurring again.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #43

Jul 252013

530 6-cyl

  • 83,343 miles
Warning sensor for passenger seat belt not active would start showing on my dash and upper console last year. Received letter in Jan 2014 about possible recall in the future campaign 13V-564. Today is March 08,2014 after being diverted several times during phone calls, I demanded if they can review my warnings in my dash board but to scan the car for any problems it would be a charged of $140. Fields BMW at winter park fl, said that in order for the service to be free of charge, I would have to wait until I get the letter that states a formal recall needs to be performed. I have a family of four and even thought the warning does not come on often, I still have worries that if in case of an accident the airbags or the seat belt won't work. I don't have the luxury to use multiple cars where ever I go with my kids. I purchased a sound car and I would like the peace of mind that the airbags and seat belts will protect anyone in the passenger and rear seats at time of need. I am afraid that we are waiting for a tragedy to happen before an actual recall is performed.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #42

Dec 062013


  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530I. The contact stated while driving various speeds the brake pedal extended all the way down to the floor and there was a delay when the brake pedal was engaged. The contact also stated that when he turned the heat on he smelled a burning odor in the seats. The air bag light sensor illuminated whenever the vehicle was turned on. The vehicle had been taken to the dealer and stated that there was no recall for his vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #41

Nov 292013

530 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I own BMW 530xi, I have problem with the passenger air bag, light still on all time. I checked in the web side BMW have recall for this issue, but I contact BMW ask me for the VIN #,I giving all number, but later they said to me my car not qualify for this issue I don't know why my car not qualify for this issue, I do not paid $ 1000, for this.... let's BMW do this... thanks...

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #40

Dec 142011

530 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Ref NHTSA campaign number: 08V384000 while my vehicle is the same model year, model and specification listed in the recall, my vehicle's VIN is not "included" in the list of recalled vehicles. I have and am currently experiencing this exact seat sensor mat problem. BMW is unwilling to cover any warranty work as the specific VIN is apparently not affected despite the fact that clearly it is. I am concerned about the safety of the occupants of my vehicle based on the unreliability of this component and feel the recall should be expanded to include all vehicles that experience the same problem.

- Ogdensburg, NY, USA

problem #39

Jan 182013


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW M5. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag warning light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V384000. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #38

Aug 012013

530 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530I. The contact stated that the air bag and seat belt warning lights remained illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000 and the current mileage was 142,000. Updated 12/30/13

- Lufkin, TX, USA

problem #37

Oct 142013

530 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The car was going at 20mph on a rainy day, all of a sudden it started to spin, after a couple of 360 degree turn it hit a pole and came to a halt. Airbags and side curtain bags deployed with driver side airbag popped into pieces. Driver has a minor injury to right hand.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #36

Sep 092013


  • 142,000 miles
My BMW 525I just received a passenger restraint failure error. I saw online where there is an active recall for this matter. Yet, when I contacted the dealer and BMW usa, I was told the vehicle wasn't covered based on the VIN number.this is not acceptable! my family is at stake here! the lives of myself and anyone I carry as a passenger risk harm. I ask that this be reviewed for it is a known flaw with this vehicle. Please contact me at [xxx] or phone at [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #35

May 012013


  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530I. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the air bag and safety restraint lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated the passenger restraint sensor needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- La Habra, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?