Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.7

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,950 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 BMW 550 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 BMW 550:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 BMW 550 Owner Comments

problem #2

Dec 042010

550

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2011 BMW 535I on November 30, 2010. On December 4, 2010, I experienced car trouble. The engine malfunction, and reduce power warning lights came on. The car shutdown completely, but not before shaking very sharply. This all occurred in about 15 seconds, while I was driving. BMW response was "safe mode". on December 9, 2010 the vehicle was being repaired again for the same issues, they replaced a fuel sensor. On December 30, 2010, the car was being serviced again, they replaced the high and low fuel pumps. After being driven home by the service manger of BMW just to insure that the car was fixed, it broke down again on him on December 31, 2010. They replaced the low pressure fuel pump again, the second time in two days. They returned the vehicle to me on January 13, 2011. On March 17, 2010 the vehicle was being serviced again for long crank time, and for not start sometimes at all. I am also a previous owner of recalled 335, which I traded for this vehicle. Out of the five times that this vehicle has been service, two of those times it broke down while in traffic coming to a complete stop, once while on a freeway. This vehicle is dangerous. I would ask that the NHTSA take this matter seriously. There are many more complaints like this on bimmerfest.com, and also the internet. BMW will not resolve this issue. They are playing with my family's life, other BMW owners, and other motorist that occupy the roads with BMW customers. This vehicle is a hazard. This problem has been occurring for almost five years now. My opinion as a multiple BMW owner is that BMW is operating with malice at this point. Please you all are our only hope!

- Maumelle, AR, USA

problem #1

Jul 262010

550

  • 1,900 miles
I bought a 2011 BMW 535I 3 weeks ago. Upon driving on local streets, the car stopped abruptly from 30mph to 0mph. My car has under 2000 miles on it. Stuck in the middle of an intersection, with "fuel pump malfunction", and "engine malfunction" on the onboard dash. I hit my head on the steering wheel when this occurred. I was also carrying a 5 gallon square container of water that was capped and sealed in the trunk. During the abrupt stop of the car, about 1/2 a gallon of water spilled into the trunk. After being towed to shelly BMW and talking to them the next day, they said it was my fault and that the water shorted out the components in the trunk. #1. the water spilled into the trunk after the car abruptly stopped. #2. I was almost rear-ended by the cars behind me when the car went from 30mph to 0mph. The car did not stall and slowly come to a stop....it basically locked up and stopped....causing me to hit my head on the steering wheel. Shelly BMW is now telling me that I have to pay $2600 to repair/replace the modules that are damaged. #3. this incident occurred on July 26, 2010. #4. irvine police department was dispatched to the site to make sure that I was not hit from other cars as I sat in the middle of an intersection for 1.5 hours waiting for a tow truck. I am considering seeking legal advice. This issue is also filed with BMW North America in which I am still waiting for them to contact me.

- Fountain Valley, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?