Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,801 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 BMW X3 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 BMW X3:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 BMW X3 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Apr 012016

X3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags). The part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Playa Vista, CA, USA

problem #29

Oct 292016

X3

  • miles
Recall campaign #16V-071 initiated in March 2016 still not addressed and it is now November 2016.

- Onalaska, WI, USA

problem #28

Mar 012016

X3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #27

Mar 012016

X3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Safety recall 16V-071 still not repaired. BMW told me they repaired all other models so far but dont know when they are going to get the parts for the X3 models. I have been waiting since March 2016. It is now October 2016, plus I am in Florida which makes this repair a priority according to BMW because the damage happens faster in warmer climates.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #26

Mar 012016

X3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution disconnect.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Sep 212016

X3 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 11/17/16 updated 11/17/16.

- Alexandra, VA, USA

problem #24

Sep 202016

X3

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. I was informed by BMW usa that the interim repair is the same parts that are currently being used in the vehicle and that due to the new (same) parts not having been exposed to atmospheric elements thereby "reduces the risk." The complaint I have is that the risk should be eliminated by correctly repairing the issue, not to just "reduce the risk." The solution I am seeking is to have the vehicle repaired to eliminate the risk, not just reduce it.

- Martinsville, NJ, USA

problem #23

Sep 202016

X3

  • miles
Recall was issued Feb 2016 and notice sent by BMW March 2016; never received another notification from them that parts were available and only found out "interim" parts were available by proactively searching; September 2016 and still only "interim" parts available and not a complete fix?? this is the air bag - major safety concern that it has not been a priority to fix on the part of BMW.

- Landenberg, PA, USA

problem #22

Feb 052016

X3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #21

Mar 072016

X3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Los Gatos, CA, USA

problem #20

Feb 052016

X3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #19

Aug 072016

X3

  • miles
BMW says they have on ship date on airbags and nothing is being rushed or done now┐ this was recalled in Feb and I am not getting any info from them on status. The dealerships say BMW is in no rush to fix the issue┐. I have called many dealers and the main company complaint number┐ please help.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #18

Feb 102016

X3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Auburndale, FL, USA

problem #17

Jul 272016

X3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Forest Hill, MD, USA

problem #16

Mar 012016

X3

  • miles
I have been having issues with my X3 every since I've had it I am convinced that my vehicle is a lemon. Now my airbags have had a recall on them for almost 7 months and no one has contacted me on fixing them when I call I get the run around. I got into an accident and the airbags didn't even deploy, I could have been killed. I am seeking legal help. I want a replacement vehicle or I am going to court and they can have this piece of crap back. Now I haven't been driving my car for the pass couple of months because they claim that my airbags can deploy at anytime with metal fragments that can kill me, and possibly kill my daughter if she is in the car with me. This was our only means of transportation, and it is hard trying to find rides to and from work. I dont see why they cant replace my vehicle. I pay them every month for a vehicle I'm not even driving.

- Valdosta, GA, USA

problem #15

Jul 132016

X3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Mount Bethel, PA, USA

problem #14

Mar 212016

X3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Como, NC, USA

problem #13

May 182016

X3

  • miles
Takata recall for over a month (since May 18th) I have had multiple conversations with BMW North America customer service and West german BMW in fort Washington, pa about this recall. I do not feel safe having my wife and 20 month old daughter in this (my wife's) vehicle. Everyone is telling me the vehicle "should be safe" but nobody will put that in writing, so I have requested a loaner or rental car. I keep getting bounced around to different people and nobody is taking this seriously and getting me a safe vehicle for my wife. I would like her X3 fixed per the recall, or if the part remains unavailable to be put into a safe loaner or rental immediately.

- Maple Glen, PA, USA

problem #12

May 312016

X3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #11

Mar 032016

X3

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 BMW X3 sav. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags)was received in March of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Valdosta, GA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?