Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Buying the first model year of any vehicle is rarely a good idea. You become a guinea pig for the automaker and they are really not nice to guinea pigs.

The 2008 Enclave has a wide enough range of problems to issue a warning. There's transmission failure under 90k miles, new power steering units costing over $1,300, and enough engine complaints to NHTSA to scare anyone away.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,750 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Buick Enclave seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Buick Enclave:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Buick Enclave Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Jan 012014

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my vehicle January 2014. Since then I have had major issues with it leaking when it rains, . water enters the sunroof and drips throughout the vehicles overhead as well as soaks the passenger side carpet. Water drips from the visor, the overhead lights (which could result in an electrical fire) in the front middle and back of the vehicle it seeps through the seat belt height adjusters and the area where the side airbags deploy (which could cause deploy issues). The problem has gotten so bad my vehicle is starting to smell like mold and I am afraid that after a year of this problem mold has grown under the carpet as well as in the overhead foam. My biggest concern is if my child is exposed to this for an extended period of time it will flair up his asthma. A child with asthma is very sensitive to mold and mildew and he is very sensitive as well as has allergies to mold. Additionally, when it rains my exhaust smokes and car putts as if water has gotten into the engine/exhaust, the check engine light has come on several times while traveling and no one can seem to find the issue, the check airbag light came on a couple of months after the purchase, and my steering wheel tightens up when I turn and I have already had that taken care of once. As I was driving home today the emergency brake light came on and dinged all the way home. I believe there are now electrical issues with the vehicle due to the leaks and may cause a malfunction or fire.

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #37

Feb 102015

Enclave

  • 86,000 miles
In 2012, my 2008 Buick Enclave was recalled due to a malfunction of the airbag. The recall number was #10085. The vehicle was repaired by coleman Buick in lawrenceville, NJ in 2012 and the cost of the repairs was covered under the recall. On Feb 10, 2015, I took the vehicle to coleman Buick because the passenger side airbag was not performing properly again. The dealer indicated the "passenger presence module" was not functioning correctly and that it would need to be replaced at the cost of over $875. I do not feel this is fair or proper since the vehicle has previously been recalled for air bag issues and because GM is currently recalling thousands of vehicles for known airbag defects.

- Mercerville, NJ, USA

problem #36

Dec 022013

Enclave

  • 50,000 miles
The front passenger service airbag warning light comes on intermittently. The problem was traced to a faulty passenger presence system assembly. The cost of repair is estimated at about $650. I would deeply appreciate your investigating this matter. Thank you so much.

- Glendale, WI, USA

problem #35

Nov 112014

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 71,084 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In 2012, my 2008 Buick Enclave was recalled due to a malfunction of the airbag. The recall number was #10085. The vehicle was repaired by ferman Buick on 11/21/12 and the cost of the repairs was covered under the recall. On Nov 11, 2014, I took the vehicle to ferman Buick in lutz Florida because the passenger side airbag was not performing properly again. The dealer indicated the "present sensor pad" was not functioning correctly and that it would need to be replaced at the cost of over $900. I do not feel this is fair or proper since the vehicle has previously been recalled for air bag issues and because GM is currently recalling thousands of vehicles for known airbag defects.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #34

Oct 222014

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 46,233 miles
On passenger side, air bag sensor does not detect a passenger sitting in the seat so indicator light always says "off" and will turn on sometimes, but most times not turn on at all. We were concerned that in a crash, the passenger air bag would not deploy as it thinks no one is seated there. We took the car to berglund Chevrolet for repair. They had to replace the sensor and passenger side seat cushion to resolve the problem and it cost in excess of $700. This should have been a recall as I have read on this website that others had similar problems with their airbag. This is a follow up to our earlier complaint @10583156.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Aug 102013

Enclave

  • 99,000 miles
The passenger airbag light doesn't come on when a passenger is seated in the passenger seat. After I first noticed the light not being on....sometimes it comes and sometimes it does not come on.

- Valdosts, GA, USA

problem #32

Jun 142014

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Buick Enclave. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator did not illuminate when the passenger seat was occupied. The dealer stated that the pps sensor modular on the front passenger side needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 10/22/14 updated 4/1/2015

- Hillsboro, MO, USA

problem #31

Jun 072014

Enclave

  • 90,000 miles
Since I bought my truck I heard a weird noise from the steering wheel I thought well maybe because im not used to it because before I was driving an Nissan X-terra 2002. So im a women don't know anything about cars so I said it looks good it was from only one owner before so I think we are good. Plus I thought it's not like I'm paying $5,000 for a truck and it's a Buick it's consider luxury so I didn't think I was making a bad choice. Well the noise it's getting worse I barely made it to my house yesterday because the steering wheel didn't want to work anymore it was raining so hard im 9 months pregnant I made that investment doing a huge sacrifice so me and my child could be protected, feel confident that at the end of the day we are in good hands in that truck. Also when I bought this truck a month later the air bag service light was on I did a research it said that this truck had a recall for that so I took it to the Buick and they fix it. And now the engine light turns on every now and then. I mean I'm doing everything I should for this vehicle I change oil regularly and I pay for the synthetic oil because they said it was better for this type of brand cars that are luxury for our middle class people. And it's not like I travel in that vehicle I only use it to go to work, groceries, family and friends house honestly I don't use it to travel where I live is a small town so it's not like I have this truck all over the place if you see it's like new it's the cxl it has 2 sunroof, leather seats, dvd player I mean im in love with this truck but C'mon that's not safe for me and my baby.

- Brownsville , TX, USA

problem #30

Jul 292014

Enclave

  • 89,900 miles
Three weeks ago I took my 2008 Enclave to O'neal Buick GMC to have the air bag recall completed as I had the airbag warning light illuminated in my dash along with the service airbag warning sign. I also noticed when I dropped my vehicle off that the passenger side airbag wasn't working regardless if anyone was sitting there our not even my husband who's 210 pouinds the light stayed off. After looking at the vehicle the technician came to me and advised that the passenger side airbag issue had nothing to do with the recall and that I would need to bring it back and leave it but that they were fixing the recall which had to do with them touching wires under my driver side seat. Upon leaving the dealership I expected the passenger seat to be the same as they told me I would need to bring it back. However the airbag warning light and service airbag sign should have gone away and they both were still present. I questioned it and the tech said again it has nothing to do with the recall. Upon driving home I noticed that I now had another issue a clicking noise coming from under my driver side seat which was nsot present before they did the work. I dropped my vehicle off to them again on 7/28/14 for the follow-up visit and advised the dealer that based on my paper work from GM the warnign lights I have are a result of the recall. I also alerted them to the clicking noise and they said we will look into it. To my surprise when I picked my vehicle up on 7/29/14 all lights were off and even the passenger side seat was working and of course no charge to me. However, as of today 7/30/14 I still have the clicking noise and it's worst. I hear it all over my front end and now even when I turn my steering wheel to the right. I think something went wrong electrically when they initially tried to do the recall. But it may not be them since someone else is having the same issue.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #29

Apr 042011

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 53,203 miles
The "service air bag" light consistently comes on and the dealer states there is nothing to worry about as far as the functioning of the airbags when we were under the bumper to bumper warranty. But, now that I have 108K and still dealing with this issue, along with the recall notices for "some" 2008-2009 and all of 2010-2013 Enclaves I requested the dealer take another look at the sensor issue. Now, the dealer states that yes there is an issue with the air bag sensor and my air bags will not deploy properly in an accident but that the issue is not what is covered under the current warranty out for the Enclaves based on my VIN number. Either the warranty should cover the cost of repair or the dealer should replace the part that should have been replaced under the bumper to bumper warranty.

- Fallston, MD, USA

problem #28

May 072008

Enclave

  • 40 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Buick Enclave. The contact stated that while stopped at a traffic light, another vehicle crash into the rear end of the vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained minor injuries to arms and hands. The passenger sustained lacerations to the head and was taken to the hospital for medical assistance since she was pregnant at the time. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to determine why the air bags failed to deployed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 20 and the current mileage was 48,300.

- South Ozone Park, NY, USA

problem #27

May 092014

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 103,900 miles
We were driving our vehicle on the highway (route 1 near stafford, va) when it felt like it was suddenly not shifting gears correctly and quickly thereafter lost power beyond 30 miles per hour. We drove into a parking lot. We called the nearest Buick dealership/repair shop (route 1 Buick in woodbridge, va) and told them of issue. They said it sounds like transmission and the wave plate is a "known Enclave problem." They said to have it towed to them and they may be able to assist us with cost as it's close to within powertrain warranty. We had it towed there to route 1 Buick. They diagnosed and found all transmission codes a wave plate code. They said it was a "known problem" and so they called Buick GM service manager. Route 1 Buick called us back to say GM would not assist us as we were outside warranty and had no previous issues with transmission (I have found several other transmission and power loss complaints I and the previous owners have made on this exact vehicle in my research into this...I have kept all records!). route 1 said that our cost would start at $3,800 with no guarantee they wouldn't find other issues needing to be addressed. The also said lucky for us, our vehicle had an open recall on side air bag issue they could fix. As we realized we must pay out-of-pocket and could not afford $3,800, we paid them the $120 for diagnosis and towed it (at our expense) to dun-rite transmission in fredericksburg, va. Dun-rite found it had a broken wave plate. They rebuilt transmission for $2,800. Unfortunately, the stabilitrak, traction control, and air bag sensors are all also going off and car has had 2 other instances of losing power when going up hills. We purchased the certified GM car Nov 2012. My car payment is $462. Per mo. Since that time we have spent an additional $6,095 on repairs and maintenance. Our average month expenses are therefore $801! help!

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #26

May 092014

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 1,039,000 miles
We were driving our Enclave on the highway (route 1 near stafford, va) when it felt like it was suddenly not shifting gears correctly and quickly thereafter lost power beyond 30 miles per hour. We drove into a parking lot. We called the nearest Buick dealership/repair shop (route 1 Buick in woodbridge, va) and told them of issue. They said it sounds like transmission and the wave plate is a "known Enclave problem." They said to have it towed to them and they may be able to assist us with cost as it's close to within powertrain warranty. We had it towed to route 1 Buick. They diagnosed and found all transmission and wave plate codes. They said it was a "known problem" and so they called Buick GM service manager. Route 1 Buick called us back to say GM would not assist us as we were outside warranty by 3,000 miles and had no previous issues with transmission (I have found several other transmission and power loss complaints I and the previous owners made on this exact vehicle in my research into this...I have kept all records!). route 1 said that our cost would start at $3,800 with no guarantee they wouldn't find other issues needing to be addressed. The said lucky for us, our vehicle had an open recall on a side air bag issue they could fix. As we realized we must pay out-of-pocket and couldn't afford $3,800, we paid them the $120 for diagnosis and towed it (at our expense) to dun-rite transmission in fredericksburg, va. Dun-rite found it had a broken wave plate. They rebuilt transmission for $2,800. Unfortunately, the stabilitrak, traction control, and air bag sensors are all also going off and car has had 2 other instances of losing power when driving since. We purchased the certified GM car Nov 2012. My car payment is $462. Per mo. Since that time we have spent an additional $6,095 on repairs and maintenance. Our average monthly expenses are therefore $801. Help us!

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #25

Jul 102008

Enclave 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased this car on January 20, 2008. I went to get my first oil change, and when I picked up the car and started to drive off every light in the car including the button for the door locks came on. I returned to the to the dealer where I got the oil change and they kept the car for 4 weeks.mind you this was a brand new car, a Buick Enclave, that I purchased out of the stock room on display. I was given a rental car for that period, picked up the car after four weeks, returned back with the same problems and a leak in the roof that I also had to repair. Since that time it has been back and forth to the dealers. I changed dealers and took it to another dealer. They did a good job but time after time I was still having problems. I should not have had the problems after paying $47,000 for this car brand new. I feel I was given a bad deal, and they should have taken this car back because I am having problems to this day. I am smelling smoke like something is burning and I'm afraid to drive this car in fear for my and my daughter's life!! I've had valves changed, cylinder heads changed, seals, gaskets, , bolts, , ignition, coil replacement, ,lift-gate replacement, master cylinder replacement, , replaced steering gear. This car has been nothing but a problem to me. In spite of all this it's a very nice comfortable car, but I got a bad engine, and Buick should have handled this differently instead of fixing it they should have given me a different car. When I park this car in the parking lot and I come back this car front window has no visibility and windows are frosted like something is still running in the car. Since I purchased this car I have been in a rental more than this car. This is a second request was sent old ODI number is 10605243 corrections done.

- West Park, FL, USA

problem #24

May 252011

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 38,360 miles
The steering has been an ongoing event since the second year of having the model. I would lose control of the vehicle when turning left. It would have a mind of its own and not turn. I have run off the road and went into several ditches not being able to turn (tech service date 6/20/12 rack and pinion binding causing stiffness in steering--replaced steering gear and flushed system). We almost had a head on collision when I turned it in again with the same issue demanding something be done. (5/10/13 correction-replace leaking steering gear and failed P/S pump, fill system, bleed sys and verify operation). Difficulty steering and loud popping noise while turning left (service date 4/18/14- found internal leak form power steering rack -replaced rack and bleed system and aligned vehicle. Drove out of the the dealership and noticed A/C not working and same noise coming from the front while turning left. Took it back in (5/5/14-found left front axle shaft to be popping needs to replace at owners expense. The dealership had the vehicle for 20+ days and did not fix. Airbag warning light illuminated so I took the vehicle into the dealer (6/29/10--poor connection at sir harness--diagnosed and repaired. Received a recall notice in the mail-took vehicle into the dealer (4/18/14--correction completed). Airbag warning light illuminated again. Took vehicle to the dealership (5/5/14-intermittent short in passenger presence module, checked an rechecked -- corrections needs from passenger presence module at customers expense I was called to picked vehicle up as is after 20+ days. Dealership would not fix.

- Lewisburg, TN, USA

problem #23

Jul 102008

Enclave 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased this car in January 20. 2008, went to get my first oil change, pick up the car start to drive off every light, can on the car including the button for the door locks, return to the to the dealers where I got the oil change and purchase the car. They keep this car for 4 weeks, took the whole engine down on a brand new car this was a brand new buck Enclave, that I purchase out of the stock room on display, was given a rental car for that period, pick up the car after four weeks, return back with the same problems and a leak in the roof also got that repair, back and forth to the dealers. Change dealers and took it to another dealers they did a good job but time after time I was still having problems at paying 47,000 for this car I was giving a bad deal, and they should have taken this car back because I am having problems to this day. I am smelling smoke like something is burning and a little afraid to drive this car in fair for my kid life.I had valve change, cylinder head change, seal, gasket, bolt, ignition coil replacement, liftgate strut replacement, master cylinder replacement, replace steering gear. This car has been nothing but problem to me, and its a very nice comfortable car, but I got a bad engine, and buck should have handle this different instead of fixing and fixing given me a different car. When I park this car in the parking lot and I come back this car front window has not visibility and windows be frosted like something is still running in the car. Since I purchase this car I have been in a rental more than this car. 3. personal information [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- West Park, FL, USA

problem #22

May 262014

Enclave

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Enclave. The contact stated that the air bag, engine, traction control, and stability control lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle could not be repaired since the parts were no longer manufactured for this vehicle. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 14V118000 (air bags). However, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 74,000.

- Henderson, KY, USA

problem #21

May 302014

Enclave

  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Enclave. The contact stated that the air bag light continuously illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 14V118000 (air bag). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 137,000.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #20

Dec 022011

Enclave

  • 51,061 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Enclave. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The instrument panel also failed. Additionally, the vehicle began to lose power and stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle which was taken to an independent mechanic, who advised that the wires under the driver and passenger's seat short circuited and were exposed. The vehicle was repaired but the repairs did not prevent the vehicle from stalling again. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle after the failure. The vehicle was towed to a local dealer, who replaced the wires under the seats. The contact stated that after the second repair, there were still exposed wires protruding from under the driver and passenger's seat and the air bag warning light would illuminate sporadically. The manufacturer was notified of the recurring failure. The approximate failure mileage was 51,061.

- Briar Cliff , NY, USA

problem #19

Mar 292014

Enclave

  • 65,668 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Enclave. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the air bag off indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the front passenger's occupancy seat cushion would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 65,668.

- Downers Grove , IL, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?