Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Buying the first model year of any vehicle is rarely a good idea. You become a guinea pig for the automaker and they are really not nice to guinea pigs.

The 2008 Enclave has a wide enough range of problems to issue a warning. There's transmission failure under 90k miles, new power steering units costing over $1,300, and enough engine complaints to NHTSA to scare anyone away.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,567 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Buick Enclave steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Buick Enclave:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Buick Enclave Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Jun 242014

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 80,001 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Buick Enclave. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the transmission failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed the wave plate needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 80,001. The consumer stated the power steering went out. The vehicle was almost impossible to turn. The vehicle was towed the dealer. An inspection revealed the power steering rack was leaking from both sides, and the pump seized. Also, the dealer replaced the water pump, because it was leaking. Updated 08/06/14 updated 08/11/14

- Dana Point , CA, USA

problem #54

May 252011

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 38,360 miles
The steering has been an ongoing event since the second year of having the model. I would lose control of the vehicle when turning left. It would have a mind of its own and not turn. I have run off the road and went into several ditches not being able to turn (tech service date 6/20/12 rack and pinion binding causing stiffness in steering--replaced steering gear and flushed system). We almost had a head on collision when I turned it in again with the same issue demanding something be done. (5/10/13 correction-replace leaking steering gear and failed P/S pump, fill system, bleed sys and verify operation). Difficulty steering and loud popping noise while turning left (service date 4/18/14- found internal leak form power steering rack -replaced rack and bleed system and aligned vehicle. Drove out of the the dealership and noticed A/C not working and same noise coming from the front while turning left. Took it back in (5/5/14-found left front axle shaft to be popping needs to replace at owners expense. The dealership had the vehicle for 20+ days and did not fix. Airbag warning light illuminated so I took the vehicle into the dealer (6/29/10--poor connection at sir harness--diagnosed and repaired. Received a recall notice in the mail-took vehicle into the dealer (4/18/14--correction completed). Airbag warning light illuminated again. Took vehicle to the dealership (5/5/14-intermittent short in passenger presence module, checked an rechecked -- corrections needs from passenger presence module at customers expense I was called to picked vehicle up as is after 20+ days. Dealership would not fix.

- Lewisburg, TN, USA

problem #53

Jun 122013

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 119,600 miles
Steering starts to fail when I drive at low speeds. It locks up causing me to make sudden reactions. I have a very hard time making a turn or pulling in or out of a parking space. It is a danger to my family and to other drivers.

- Spring Hill, TN, USA

problem #52

Jun 042014


  • 89,800 miles


Power steering went out at 10-35 mph at 5:00 6/4/2014. Took the Enclave to the dealer 6/5/2014 no word yet on what has gone wrong. Hopeful for more info today 6/6/2014. Car drove fine for the past 1-1/2 years, then out of no where very difficult to steer a 6,000 lb. Vehicle without power steering. Lucky that I was not on the highway with my family in this vehicle. But, still scary even on city streets as turning had to be accomplished very widely.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #51

May 052014


  • 70,000 miles
Air conditioning is leaking due to power steering hose collar rubbing and vibrating. Several problems with this car since purchase including rebuilt transmission, etc. Design flaw and lemon.

- Somerset, PA, USA

problem #50

May 242014


  • 62,000 miles
Rack and pinion gone bad only 62,000 miles on my SUV estimated cost $1200. How can this be happening on a $55,000 plus vehicle. Also had to replace the water pump a year ago got stranded on highway. Was out of quite a bit of money with towing back to Illinois from Ohio plus the cost of repairs. I'm at a point where I'm afraid to drive this vehicle out of state in fear of a major breakdown.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #49

Apr 062013


  • 102,000 miles


My wife and I, with our 2 kids were driving on the highway and the transmission just stopped working. We were stranded on the highway for hours and wound up having to replace the transmission. My wife was driving. Good thing there wasnt a lot of traffic on the highway. That was last year. Now this whinning noise thats been going on for a while has gotten louder and louder. I looked up online and there are hundreds if not thousands of complaints on this issue with the rack and pinnion. This should be a recall.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #48

Apr 172013


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Enclave. The contact stated that while turning the steering wheel, a loud sound was heard from the steering column. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the rack and pinion was deteriorating. No repairs were performed on the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Paris, TX, USA

problem #47

Dec 302013

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
The power steering failed during a low speed turn, fortunately, there was no other traffic and I was able to complete the turn, the condition is repeating itself and I consider it a safety issue. I have called the dealer service dept twice and they are not returning my call.

- Swartz Creek, MI, USA

problem #46

Sep 222013

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 132,356 miles
Power steering failed out of no-where while turning at an intersection. Barely missed side-swiping a police car. Only had assist under high RPM's.(I am an adult and have had previous experience driving vehicles with no power steering, my teenage children would have not known what to do or how it feels to lose power steering, so I am thankful that this happened while I was driving the car and not them!) this was an extremely hazardous situation, and no recall? car was completely unsafe to drive. Prior to this incident the vehicle made loud whirling noises when the steering wheel was being turned. Dealership found steering rack-leaking from end seals, they flushed power steering system and power steering gear, pump, fluids replaced. $1987.49 to make the car safe to drive again.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #45

Apr 032014


  • 71,000 miles


My power steering went out and had to have the rack and pinion replaced completely. The mechanic stated that they are doing 100 of these a month to Enclaves, acadias, and traverses. There is currently no recall, but obviously there is a problem that GM is not acknowledging.

- Copley, OH, USA

problem #44

Apr 022014

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 77,800 miles
Vehicle losses power steering assist at low speeds - frequency is increasing. Power assist returns after engine speed increases. No other symptoms prior to loss of power assist.

- Fairlawn Va, VA, USA

problem #43

Jan 242013

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Transmission failed 3 weeks out of powertrain warranty and required a rebuild then failed again about a year later. Steering pump and cooling motor failed during warranty period and were replaced and then both failed 18 months later (out of warranty) stabilitrac and check engine lights keep turning on after the dealer has repaired it 3 times (turns on about 30 minutes away from dealer each time). NHTSA really needs to take action against Buick and GM regarding the 2008 Enclave, it is a lemon and people are being ripped off over it and put at serious risk because of its' short comings.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #42

Jan 292014


  • 64,838 miles
Car lost all forward motion with no warning. Diagnosis: Transmission gone. I was on a narrow 2 lane roadway and was stuck on a curve. A sitting duck. I was able to pull over to side a bit but still in harms way. No indication of any kind that there was a problem prior to incident. 12 hours prior at 11 pm at night, I was traveling in the tunnel under boston. Thank god it didn't go then. The car was 9 months out of dealer 5 year / $100,000 warranty. Also had to repair steer gear bushings for $350 (which I see on this site has been a problem for many others). These seem to be defective parts, that put me in danger.

- Seekonk, MA, USA

problem #41

Feb 032014

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
The power steering lines as well as the transmission cooler lines have defective crimps where the rubber portion of the hose mates with the metal portion. This causes leaking power steering and transmission fluid that could potentially leak onto hot exhaust and start a fire. Or these lines could burst and cause rapid loss of fluid causing vehicle control issues.

- Boscobel, WI, USA

problem #40

Aug 142013

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Power steering making noise, front left side suspension making rattling sound.

- Vestavia, AL, USA

problem #39

Jan 282014


  • 65,360 miles
I just had my transmission repaired, cost me my savings, and a known issue with many owners. Now the power steering is caput. Have to waist my precious time and money on taking the car to the shop again. There is already a class action law suite for this exact issue. Shame on GMC for producing such poor quality car.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #38

Dec 232013


  • 76,662 miles
As we were driving around a dark curve on a well traveled country road, the car quit pulling, the battery died, and the car would not shift. We were unable to move the car and were in the dark. There were two adults and two children in the car at the time. We had to call a wrecker to pick up the car and a deputy sheriff to direct traffic and keep from being hit by oncoming traffic. Apparently, the shifter broke and the transmission died. Both had to be replaced. I found out later that the transmission is the #1 complaint on this particular car. Why has a recall not been done" do lives have to be lost before something is done??"

- Tifton, GA, USA

problem #37

Jan 172013

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 65,089 miles
Loss power steering while turning off highway. Had to drive in manual steering mode. Power steering came back but has remained intermittent. Steering fluid is fine. Dealer stated issue related to previous seen issue with Enclave steering requiring gear replacement at 1500 cost.

- Jamison, PA, USA

problem #36

Nov 182013

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
My wife, with 2 children in the car and one on the way, got stuck in a parking lot, unable to turn the steering wheel. She was pinned in and called me in tears to help. I drove down to the store to help her expecting something simple but found that I could barely turn the wheel. Steering fluid was fine and I was able to muscle it into a space. The next day we went back to try and move the car and it seemed fine. I drove it home but when I tried to turn into my road I overshot the turn and found myself sideways across the rd. Halfway passed the intersection! this is a dangerous vehicle! I have since been online and found many, many similar stories. The dealer that fixed this said that this effects other Buick models as well and informed me that there is a class action suit filed over this problem. This is a $2200 repair and I've read that it just comes back for some people in another 20,000 miles! please look into this... its just a matter of time before someone gets hurt or killed.

- South Sutton, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?