Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,908 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Buick Enclave steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Buick Enclave:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Buick Enclave Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #94

Oct 132016

Enclave

  • 85,717 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Mileage 85,717: Driving on interstate at 70 mph vehicle lost power, was luckily able to pull off and restart to make it home. Next morning vehicle would start, but immediately shut off. Towed vehicle to local mechanic who stated it was stretched timing chain, common occurrence in Enclave, arcadia, and transverse. Reported issue to GM who referred me to certified GM dealer, vehicle was towed to that location at my expense, sat there for a week before I received any info which was stretched timing chain, already known information. I called GM back who stated they my case had already been closed out for power lift gates and there was no documentation for the stretched timing chain, after 1 hour and 25 minutes on the phone I was told that there was no assistance for the timing chain that I would be responsible for the $2000 repair bill along with $105 for the diagnostic test. At this point beyond frustrated with vehicle and GM, the arcadia and transverse have had their powertrain warranty extended why has this not happened for the Enclave?

- Deatsville, AL, USA

problem #93

Jul 262013

Enclave

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Buick Enclave. While driving 15 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The failure occurred at slower speeds or while making a turn. The contact stated that extra effort was needed to steer the vehicle when the failure occurred. The dealer diagnosed that the rack and pinion, steering bushings, and steering shaft needed to be replaced. The contact was also informed that there was a power steering fluid leak that needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #92

Jun 012016

Enclave

  • miles
Power steering locks up at slow speed. Steering wheel is almost impossible to turn. I am concerned that it will get worse. Have an appointment with Buick dealer to check problem. Mileage is 68,000 miles.

- Paris, TN, USA

problem #91

Jul 182016

Enclave

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering goes in and out. Will work when the car is first started but once it warms up, power steering fails. Has been happening for a few weeks, local mechanic says there is a special coverage adjustment but I the only way I know about it is they found the information.

- North Potomac, MD, USA

problem #90

Jul 112016

Enclave

  • 80,000 miles
When I turn the wheel at slow speeds it randomly locks up. Almost got hit making a U turn in Washington DC. I was going less that 10 mph. This is happening regularly while parking and turning after stoping. It has already almost caused an accident.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #89

Jul 012016

Enclave 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Buick Enclave. While driving approximately 20 mph and attempting to turn, the steering lost power without warning. The failure began right after a front end alignment service was performed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed a steering issue, but did not repair the vehicle. The contact was informed that there may be a recall. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,000. Updated 08/17/16 the consumer stated the steering pump was replaced and by GM. However, the consumer had to pay for the steering gears. The steering pump, caused the gears to go out. Updated 08/22/16.

- La Marque, TX, USA

problem #88

Jul 032016

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Buick Enclave. While turning the vehicle at a low speed, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 76,000.....updated 08/08/16

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #87

Jul 042016

Enclave

  • 67,000 miles
The power steering stops working intermittently. Without warning, the ability to steer the car becomes very difficult. This happens mostly in turns in intersections. Turning the vehicle back straight out of a sweeping 90 degree turn is almost impossible until a 5 to 8 second pause elapses. This is extremely dangerous, usually causing the driver to brake heavily in an intersection for what looks like no apparent reason. This is dangerous not only because of the lack of driver control, but you never know when it's going to happen. This is becoming more frequent and it can be purposefully reproduced if the steering wheel is turned rapidly while at a low speed. Also noticeable is a strange noise coming from the steering column just below the steering wheel at times, heard mostly at low speed in a quiet environment. It is a tiny somewhat vibrational sound similar to running your finger across the teeth of a very fine toothed hair comb. While this noise is noticeable and it can be felt in the steering wheel, it is not an indication that the steering is preparing to fail at that time. The noise comes and goes... it feels almost electrical in nature. The power steering pump reservoir has been checked and is full. The serpentine belt driving the pump is in good condition and has been determined to not be slipping. The rack and pinion is mounted securely and is not leaking externally.

- Rockville, VA, USA

problem #86

Jun 172015

Enclave

  • 66,918 miles
Power steering pump wear condition received a recall notice from Buick September 2014 in regards to a power steering pump wear condition, but the letter advised not to take to the dealer for repair until it was an issue. The letter did not state specifics as to how an individual would know that there was an issue but while taking the vehicle to holzhauer motors in Cherokee, ia (authorized dealer) on June 17, 2015 for service (lube & filter change) I mentioned to the service advisor that when I turned my steering wheel there was a whining sound. I was later contacted by the service advisor stating that the power steering pump needed to be replaced and the cost of replacing the actual pump and labor was covered under said warranty. The service advisor also informed me that the rack and pinion also needed to be replaced. The service advisor clearly stated that the reason the rack and pinion needed replacing was because the power steering pump had gone out, but the parts and labor to replace the rack and pinion was not covered under the power steering pump warranty, even though that it what caused the rack and pinion to fail.

- Sutherland, IA, USA

problem #85

Jun 112016

Enclave

  • 68,000 miles
Loss of, power steering when turning at low speed, especially to the left. Intermittent issue, but usually at least once every time I drive it. Have had to come to complete stop in busy intersection to make sure I get the wheel, turned enough to complete the turn.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #84

Jan 052016

Enclave

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At less than 60,000 miles the rack and pinion steering needed to be replaced due to a clunking noise and leaking seals.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #83

Jan 202016

Enclave

  • 125,000 miles
I was driving at 75 mph and my engine shut off; car began to slow, fuel dropped, power steering went out, brakes didn't work. I was able to, thankfully, get to the side of the road safely and use the rumble strips to slow me down. I turned the car off and 5 min. Later turned it on and was able to drive to a safe location. This is a common issue and all of these conditions are related to the "limited warranty protection" that GM issued Nov. 2015 (14582). This is a safety hazard. My car experienced all the other condition, malfunction indicator light came on multiple times ( may, Sept), was issued a letter in Nov. 2015 and then this occurred in Jan. 2016. Stipulation for this to be covered, under 120K miles of 10 years whichever first. My car experienced initial troubles at 110K in may and this potential fatal incident at 125. Arguing with GM over this. Should be a recall, not a limited warranty. Seems to be an unethical company. Does it take death to make this right? this has occurred countlesss times- check the internet, 100S of customers have reported this. Does this have to be another Toyota incident for GM to recognize this is a recall not a limited warranty! I have all paperwork showing the issues except dealer states since they can't replicate, they need the check engine light on and the car to be under 120K to determine if they should pay. GM is unethical!!!

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #82

Jan 062016

Enclave

  • 52,491 miles
The vehicle's power steering will, with increasing frequency, stop working for up to 10 seconds or so, leaving the driver with a car that is extremely hard to turn, and having to brake to a excessively slow speed in order to complete the turn in the space available. This seems to occur at slower speeds, such as when turning across an intersection or maneuvering in a parking lot. It occurs on both left and right turns. There is also a grinding sound that occurs at these times of power steering failure. Clearly, this is a huge safety issue. One of our top reasons for purchasing from Buick was their emphasis on safety for the family (we have 3 children). To discover that Buick have known about these steering issues for multiple years without addressing them is deeply disturbing to me as a customer, and demonstrates a corporate ethical imbalance that clearly will not be self-rectifying. Here are the steps we have taken to resolve the issue: Our mechanic flushed out the power steering fluid several times, but this only moderately relieved the problem. Our next step options include replacing the complete steering gear and power steering pump, but those are hugely expensive tasks without any guarantee of permanently resolving the power steering issues. Research online shows multiple reports/ tech service bulletins regarding this issue occurring in vehicles with the same power steering system, to such an extent that there is a class action suit against GM. This appears to be an endemic issue with vehicles such as our Buick Enclave 2010, and GM need to be compelled to issue a recall notice and resolve this issue, as well as reimbursing those who have had to repair this issue themselves.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #81

Dec 032015

Enclave

  • 90,000 miles
Check engine light went on. Car was seemingly working alright, however, after fueling up, it was difficult to restart the car. In fact, at the last fill up I was unable to start the car for over 20 minutes while at the gas pump. This caused a great deal of anger, frustration, and rage in the other drivers who were waiting to fuel their cars at very busy gas station near lax. The dealership stated the fuel sensors needed to be replaced at a total cost of $1700. Two months prior the air conditioner/heater required repair as a hose needed to be replaced due to a leak, a $425 repair, furthermore, the steering problem we seemingly had corrected 3 years ago is occurring again and is need of another repair. And lastly, 50% of the time when I turn off the engine and pull the key out of the car, the engine continues to run. The occurred around 80-85,000 miles.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #80

Aug 172015

Enclave 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Buick Enclave. While making a right turn at approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred several times after attempting to make a right turn. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 84,000. MA 10/22/2015

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #79

May 062014

Enclave

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Buick regal. While driving between 5 to 50 mph, the vehicle veered left and the steering wheel seized without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who stated that the pump and rack and pinion needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. After the repair was performed, the contact received a letter from Buick about the power steering pump condition. The contact notified the manufacturer and mailed a reimbursement form. The contact received a partial special coverage reimbursement. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #78

Jul 012014

Enclave 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Buick Enclave. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle power steering problems. The consumer stated as his was driving, the steering locked up while maneuvering in a shopping parking lot. The dealer gave the consumer an estimate of $1200 to replace the power steering pump and rack and pinion. The consumer went to a repair shop and had the repairs done for $861.55. Soon afterwards, the consumer received a recall notice, which stated he would be reimbursed since the repairs had been done. GM only reimbursed the consumer $258.43 of the $861.55 repair.

- Linneus, MO, USA

problem #77

Feb 282015

Enclave

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Buick Enclave. The contact stated that when the ignition was turned to the on position, the service engine warning light illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the timing chains failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. One week later the contact observed a leak from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the water pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Two days later while driving at various speeds, there was an abnormal noise coming from the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 59,000.

- Warinster, PA, USA

problem #76

May 212015

Enclave

  • 85,250 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Buick Enclave. While the vehicle was undergoing routine maintenance at the dealer, the mechanic located a leak in the boot of the power steering case. The failure caused a steering speed failure. The dealer indicated that the manufacturer authorized them to repair a certain area in the steering at no cost. The contact wanted to know why the manufacturer was not made responsible for the total cost. The failure mileage was 85,250.

- Fort Meyers, FL, USA

problem #75

Mar 162015

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 32,883 miles
At low speeds, my Buick Enclave makes noise when turning and has failed on two occasions. There are many complaints but no recall. People will get hurt or killed due to steering failure. My car is outside of the warranty and I can't afford to fix it.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?