Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System: Instrument Panel Problems

5.4

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,318 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Buick LaCrosse accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments

problem #4

Nov 182006

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,622 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that he is unable to read the instrumental panel gauges at dusk or dawn. In order to read the gauges, the headlights must be turned off. The dealer stated that the failure is due to a faulty design and there was no repair available. The manufacturer is aware of the failure and engineers are conducting an evaluation. The current mileage was 24,367 and failure mileage was 19,622. Updated 05/05/08 updated 05/05/08

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #3

Mar 052007

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Buick Lacrosse. The instrument panel and the driver information center are difficult to read during the day or early mornings because the sensors are dim. The dealer replaced the light cluster switches and stated that the instrument panel and information center were designed with dim lighting; therefore, replacements would not correct the failure. The current mileage was 15,500 and failure mileage was 14,000. Updated 02-25-08 the intermediate shaft was replaced due to a noise being heard in the steering while driving. The starter motor was replaced. Updated

- Mckees Rocks, PA, USA

problem #2

Jul 012007

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
After owning the car for est 2 yrs, I noticed the info cntr began to not work properly. The illumination in the info cntr & radio area will intermittently not light up. There are occasions where this w/B lit & then go out as I drive, or vice versa. W/ the car being under warranty, I brought it to the dealership last summer, they were unable to recreate the prob. I filed a complaint with GM (case #71-567506079) on 10/23/07. They indicated they were unaware of any potential probs with the info cntr. 7/07, I began keeping track when the prob occurred. W/ my warranty abt to expire, I brought the car back to the dealership 1/4/08, along with documentation of when the prob occurred. Again, they could not recreate prob & gave me a statement from GM that provided a possible diagnosis. "condition" customer comment of I/P difficult to see at dusk or dawn. Recommendation: Cause: "the ambient light sensor may sense that it is sufficiently dark under these conditions that the BCM will activate the automatic headlamps. When this happens, normal I/P dimming occurs, causing the customer concern." Correction: "this is normal operation of the vehicle and there is no correction for this concern. Engineering is evaluating this feature but it is unclear at this time if any change will be possible." To this I ask: 1) why did this "concern" only recently develop? I did not have this "concern" in the 1st yr I owned the car. 2) per my doc the "concern" (22 instances from 7/27/07 to 12/24/07) occurred under these conditions: 41% cloudy/overcast, 14% dusk/dawn and 45% sunny, thereby reputing the "normal operation at dusk/dawn". 3) why is it the illumination may not be on when I start the car, but 4 miles down the road it comes on, or vice versa? 4) how is it when I spoke to the rep back in Oct they were unaware of any "concerns", yet, in Dec their "engineers are evaluating the feature"? to this date, the "concern" has yet to be resolved and 3 more occurrences have come about.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #1

Nov 012006

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,650 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle stalled while stopped at an intersection. The vehicle was taken to the service dealer who changed the fuel pump. After the repair, the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle has been to the service dealer three times to correct this issue. On the last visit to the service dealer, they determined the vehicle needed a new sensor. The consumer was told the vehicle had an oil leak, the front rotors were machined. The gas cap assembly was replaced, the blower motor resistor was replaced, because when the windshield wipers were turned on, the heat would cut off. Updated 12/12/06

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?