NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2006 Buick LaCrosse (Page 3 of 6)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,400 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Buick LaCrosse lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #73

Dec 102015

LaCrosse

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the front passenger and drivers side low head beams failed without warning. The contact engaged the high beams to illuminate the road. The failure recurred each time the vehicle was driven at night. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and was diagnosed that the headlamp driver module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V519000 (exterior lighting). The approximate failure mileage was 99,000....updated 02/04/16

- Blanding, UT, USA

problem #72

Aug 032011

LaCrosse

  • 111,229 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While driving at various speeds at night, the front low beam headlights illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the headlamps needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V519000 (exterior lighting). The failure mileage was 111,229.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #71

Oct 062015

LaCrosse

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that they experienced the same failures listed in NHTSA campaign number: 15V519000 (exterior lighting), but the VIN was not included in the recall. The contact stated that the high beam lights failed completely. In addition, the interior lights also failed to illuminate. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and stated that the vehicle would not be included in the recall. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 54,000.

- Hastings-On-Hudson, NY, USA

problem #70

Jun 152015

LaCrosse

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The headlamps on the vehicle began to dim occasionally when I would come to a complete stop then when my vehicle hit 140000 miles the front headlights stopped working even after I changed the bulbs. Now only my high beams work, this is not safe.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #69

Nov 012013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the low beam headlights failed. The contact was able to use the high beams in order to view the road. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the headlamp modules needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (lighting, electrical system), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to do the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 63,000. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 02/05/16 updated 02/10/16.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #68

Nov 172015

LaCrosse

  • 31,000 miles
Received a recall notice January 2015. GM safety recall #14291. Campaign id number 14V-755. As of November 2015, parts still not available to fix affected headlamp driver module. Have talked to Buick. They have no timeframe for parts being available. I have talked to ntsa, they have no record of the recall. Buick told me they have a temporary fix, but also told me the high-beam lights will work, so I can drive with those on. I don't think that is an acceptable solution. My two primary concerns are: (1) Buick issued a recal and 10 months later cannot fix the defective parts and has no estimate for when they can (2) ntsa has no record of this recall notice or that this vehicle needs repairs.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #67

Nov 162015

LaCrosse

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The regular lights wiil go out while driving, day or night. Sometimes the headlights will not come at all or only one side (driver or passenger side) will come on. I have to often drive around at night using my high-beams. The problem is getting worst, as the lights will not come on for day. Buick service center wants to charge $600 to replace headlights and relays, even though it is a known issue for cars of the same make, model and year.

- District Heights, MD, USA

problem #66

Dec 222014

LaCrosse

  • miles
2006 Buick Lacrosse. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle headlights malfunction recall issues. The consumer was involved in accident. She stated she lost total vision and rear ended another vehicle. No one could give her answers as to why she suddenly lost. It wasn't until the consumer received a recall notice regarding an issue with the headlights, that she realized the problem was not with her eyes, but with the headlights going out. The consumer referenced recall # 14V755000.

- Port Deposit, MD, USA

problem #65

Oct 302015

LaCrosse

  • 71,892 miles
While driving at night the low beams turn off without warning. This has occured 4 times, 1 on the interstate, 3 on surface streets. Very dangeruos could cause a head on collision, or driver to leave the roadway.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #64

Nov 072015

LaCrosse

  • 71,945 miles
While driving at night the low beams turn off without warning. This has happened on the interstate and surface streets

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #63

Sep 212015

LaCrosse

  • 157,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The headlamp driver module may be overheating or cutting out and fail, causing the headlamps and daytime running lights to not illuminate at random times when car is driving or parked.

- Bothell, WA, USA

problem #62

Oct 212015

LaCrosse

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the low beam headlights failed without warning. As a result, the contact had to activate the high beams in order to drive at night. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #61

Jun 192015

LaCrosse

  • 45,000 miles
I noticed one day when I was driving my lights would not come on just the high beam works but not the low beam so I have to be home before dark because I can not use my lights I know it should be recalled and I should not have to pay for it.

- Charenton, LA, USA

problem #60

Sep 202015

LaCrosse

  • 120,000 miles
Twice now, my headlights will not illuminate. The first time it rectified itself. This time it has not rectified. The problem occurred when I manually turned off the headlights. I put the car in drive and manually turned them back on and nothing happened. Running lights and high beams do function (14V755000) but I am irritating a lot of drivers with the high beams on. What can I do until this recalled part is available? I have tried to get it serviced at my GM dealer but they have no recall information. So my guess the going to charge me hourly to diagnose a problem that they probably already know about.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #59

Jul 272015

LaCrosse

  • 68,085 miles
I had recall parts # 68050 replaced on 07/27/2015 for a faulty headlamp relay, for a total of $112.54. I was under the impression I was to be reimbursed for this service due to a safety recall. Invoice # 265170 at freehold Buick

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #58

Oct 022014

LaCrosse

  • 100,200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While driving approximately 60 mph, the front head lamps failed without warning. The contact engaged the high beams and drove the vehicle to the residence. The failure recurred the next day and the contact stated that the high beams would only remain illuminated if the lever were being held in the locked position. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and was diagnosed that the low beam head lamp driver module was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The approximate failure mileage was 100,200......updated 02/10/16

- Sadler, TX, USA

problem #57

Oct 012014

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that parts were not available because the manufacturer had not determined a solution to deter the failure. The contact spoke with the manufacturer directly. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Odem, TX, USA

problem #56

Jan 012015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While driving at approximately 40 mph, the low beam headlamp failed to illuminate. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000. Updated 11/25/15 the consumer stated the low beams randomly shut off over the last two years. Within the last month, they shut off completely and they no longer work. Updated 01/29/16.

- Ashtabula, OH, USA

problem #55

Jan 162015

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #54

Sep 012015

LaCrosse

  • 60,000 miles
After starting car, while it was still dark, I put the car in reverse and the front lights stopped working. They were initially on. I immediately changed to another car for transportation. I later tested the headlights to find that the high beam headlights work, but the normal beam does not.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?