Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,491 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Buick LaCrosse seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Apr 012011

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while the passenger was seated in the front passenger seat, the passenger side air bag indicator light would illuminate intermittently. The contact mentioned that the passenger side air bag indicator light would mainly fail to illuminate when the passenger was seat. The contact was concerned that the passenger side air bag may not deploy while in a crash. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and independent mechanic who were both unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,000. Updated 8/28/14 updated 9/10/2014 the consumer stated the dealer suggested replacing the passenger seat but, it was not a guaranteed fix. Updated 9/10/2014

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #19

Nov 132013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 41,796 miles
While driving through columbus, Ohio on November 13, 2013, the car slowed down when I was driving at about 30 mph to stop. The motor stopped and was able to pull into a muffler repair and the told me about a dealership a short distance away and was able to limp to the dealership. The dealership is located in worthington, Ohio. After a multi-point inspection, I was told that a faulty accelerator pedal position sensor was replaced at a cost of $102..61 plus labor of $384 and shop charges of $15 and tax of $35.11 for a total of $536.72. There is another problem of the airbag light going on and off while no one is in the passenger seat and when a person is seated and buckled up according to the law....

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #18

Apr 142013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
My father and mother had just left church to have Sunday lunch with the church members and the vehicle left the road hitting an oak tree on the truck and turning it sideways into my father's side. The airbag between the top of the window and roof failed to deploy resulting in his death. Mom survived but suffered a broken back, pelvis, and collar bone. The law firm hired by my mother is continuing their investigation as to why it did not deploy.

- Milton, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 012013

LaCrosse

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated while driving 10 mph, the driver engaged the brakes and the pedal emitted a loud metal noise. The contact mentioned that the brake warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to and independent mechanic where the brake pads, brake drums and rotors were replaced. The remedy failed to repair the failure. In addition, the contact stated that the air bag warning illuminated intermittently. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 52,000.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #16

Apr 082013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
I've had a Lacrosse 2008 since February of 2013 and my airbag light for the passengers goes off and on periodically as if there is no passenger sitting there. Also my airbag light comes on periodically as well as my seatbelt light comes on and I always have my seatbelt on. I went to a mechanic and we looked up my car to see if it was recalled and it wasn't. im scared that if I ever got into an accident my airbags won't deploy.

- Marietta, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Apr 052014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Our 2008 Lacrosse has had a problem with the passenger side air bag for a long time. The light would always stay off. About a year age we had it checked out by a dealer. They said it had a short in the system and would cost $1000 to fix. After they troubleshoot the system, the light started to work properly. However, recently it has become erratic, some times showing it off for a period of time then going to on. As this is apparently the most common problem with this model, is there an investigation ongoing. We believe that there should be a recall on this model.

- Milledgeville, GA, USA

problem #14

Feb 272014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 26,608 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger air bag off indicator light comes on at times when seat occupied.

- Bensenville, IL, USA

problem #13

Mar 112009

LaCrosse

  • miles
Airbag light consistently going off and on the passenger side. Have it at the dealer numerous times but the same problem still exists.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #12

Jun 152011

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
My passenger airbag has not been working since 2010.we took it to mceelveen Buick in summerville, SC in 2011.they said it was the wiring harness. Need to be replaced. We couldn't afford it. Why is there not a recall on this model, but on the enclave?

- Jamestown, SC, USA

problem #11

Apr 092012

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 22,050 miles
Air bag registered as off when a person was seated in the front passenger seat. Sensor was replaced and after 18 months the same problem is recurring. The air bag will be on then switch off and on all while a person is sitting in the seat and not doing anything other than sitting. Current mileage for 2nd recurrence is 46,150. Also the low beam headlights are going off for no apparent reason at night while driving down the road. High beams must be used when this occurs. The passenger door lock will not open or lock when the remote is used or the door lock button on the door. The hood will also not stay up as the hydraulic lifters do not hold.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #10

May 012013

LaCrosse

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The passenger side airbag sensor fails repeatedly (airbag warning light comes on and passenger airbag indicator switches to off) when an adult is sitting in the passenger seat and seat belt is secured. It began happening on rare occasions, but has progressed to every time I have a passenger in the vehicle. It usually persists for about 20 miles or so, and then reverts back to normal. The dealer investigated and said the replacement part was well over $1,000 and that did not include the labor. It seems this is a fairly common issue with this make of vehicle, and with the exorbitant cost of a replacement part, GM need to make some accommodations for the owners of affected vehicles to have the repairs done at a reasonable cost.

- Punta Gorda, FL, USA

problem #9

Jul 222013

LaCrosse

  • 46,708 miles
I have had two issues involving the need to replace what I understand to be the passenger presence airbag sensor. This item consists of a complete assembly, the actual seat passenger sensor/scale assemble and the associated computer. At about 18,500 while driving, the passenger air bag light would come on and then go off. There was a passenger setting on the seat in excess of 125 pounds wearing a seat belt. After several complaints and tests, at 24,008 miles the Buick dealer replaced an item listed on the work order as the "inflatable restraint passenger seat suppression module 19124100 module kit". at about 42,600 miles a similar problem developed in that the airbag readiness icon light, on the instrument panel came on, indicating a complete airbag system malfunction. I soon discovered that pounding on the seat would make the light go out until another malfunction occurred, usually when the passenger got out of the car. Again after repeated complaints and tests at 46,713 miles the Buick dealer installed an item listed on the work order as the a "pps module 19258127 remanufactured module kit". by whatever name this the second time a complete passenger presence airbag sensor assembly had to be replaced in the passenger seat. I consider this to be a safety issue. In the first instance when the malfunction occurred there was no air bad protection for the passenger. In the latter case there was a complete airbag system failure. The first replacement was covered under warrantee but the second replacement I had to pay for myself. Internet searches have disclosed that there are other 2008 Buick Lacrosse owners with similar complaints about the airbag module failure and cost of replacement. If Buick uses parts subject to repeated failure their replacement should be paid for by Buick.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #8

Jul 222013

LaCrosse

  • 46,708 miles
I have had two issues involving the need to replace what I understand to be the passenger presence airbag sensor. This item consists of a complete assembly, the actual seat passenger sensor/scale assemble and the associated computer. At about 18,500 while driving, the passenger air bag light would come on and then go off. There was a passenger setting on the seat in excess of 125 pounds wearing a seat belt. After several complaints and tests, at 24,008 miles the Buick dealer replaced an item listed on the work order as the "inflatable restraint passenger seat suppression module 19124100 module kit". at about 42,600 miles a similar problem developed in that the airbag readiness icon light, on the instrument panel came on, indicating a complete airbag system malfunction. I soon discovered that pounding on the seat would make the light go out until another malfunction occurred, usually when the passenger got out of the car. Again after repeated complaints and tests at 46,713 miles the Buick dealer installed an item listed on the work order as the a "pps module 19258127 remanufactured module kit". by whatever name this the second time a complete passenger presence airbag sensor assembly had to be replaced in the passenger seat. I consider this to be a safety issue. In the first instance when the malfunction occurred there was no air bad protection for the passenger. In the latter case there was a complete airbag system failure. The first replacement was covered under warrantee but the second replacement I had to pay for myself. Internet searches have disclosed that there are other 2008 Buick Lacrosse owners with similar complaints about the airbag module failure and cost of replacement. If Buick uses parts subject to repeated failure their replacement should be paid for by Buick.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #7

Nov 202012

LaCrosse

  • 48,000 miles
Air bag light will illuminate periodically when the passenger seat is occupied by an adult 125 lbs and more who is wearing a seat belt. It resets with the restart of the car or sometimes will just reset itself during the travel.

- Waterford, OH, USA

problem #6

Jul 082013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 48,600 miles
Airbag readiness light on instrument panel came on which indicates the airbag's electrical system is malfunctioning. Took auto to GM dealer (Chevrolet) and was told that the passenger system module needs to be replaced and cost would be $1,000. Lacrosse is 2008 model year with only 48,600 miles. Over the last year, the airbag readiness light would come on periodically but would go off after auto was restarted. Noted on the internet that some other 2008 Lacrosse owners have had similar complaints about the airbag module and cost of replacement. Believe this is a defective part that should be replaced by GM without charge. I have had cars with airbags for over 20 years without any type of issue such as this.

- Muskego, WI, USA

problem #5

May 012012

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns 2008 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while the brakes were depressed the vehicle made a loud friction sound and the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnose that the front brake hub speed sensor, the wiring harness and the passenger air bag wiring connector terminal were defective and needed to be replaced. In addition, the contact mentioned that the driver side sun visor was defective and caused a blinding spot. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 20,500. Updated 11/9/2012

- Cuberland , RI, USA

problem #4

Aug 152012

LaCrosse

  • 48,800 miles
The airbag readiness light has been turned on for the last couple of days so I took to the dealership and found out that it was a faulty right front seat mat assembly. They replaced it at a cost of $710. I do not think this should have failed. Approximately 6 months ago the passenger airbag status indicator light indicated that it was not working even with a person sitting there and seatbelt on. They cleaned corroded connections. It certainly appears a defect in the construction of these airbag indicators. This should be covered under warranty.

- Johnson City, NY, USA

problem #3

Jan 092008

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lacrosse. While driving approximately 20 mph, the front passenger air bag off indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer six times for the similar failure. In 2009, the front passenger seat was replaced and the failure continued to occur. In addition, the air bag sensor was replaced and the technician stated the air bag functioned properly, even though the defect continued to occur. The manufacturer was notified of the constant problem and provided no further assistance. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000. Updated 09/30/11.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #2

Sep 122010

LaCrosse

  • 78,000 miles
Air bag passenger seat light shows off even with a passenger seated. Passenger is well above 80lbs. Indicator light on dic shows seat belt not being worn even when a passenger has one on.

- Austinburg, OH, USA

problem #1

May 022008

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lacrosse. The contact was experiencing extreme difficulty with the front passenger seat air bag system sensor. He has a health condition that has affected his height and uses a seat cushion in the vehicle. While in the driver seat, the cushion is fine but when he rides in the passenger seat, he is unable to use the cushion because it sets off the sensor and deactivates the air bag. This is a safety concern because he is unable to ride in the passenger side of his vehicle with a working air bag. The manufacturer was unable to provide assistance. As of May 16, 2008, the sensor has not been deactivated. The failure and current mileages were 200. Updated 06/16/08

- Palos Hills, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?