Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2009 Buick LaCrosse (Page 2 of 3)

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,724 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Buick LaCrosse lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Nov 252014

LaCrosse

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Palm Desert, CA, USA

problem #23

May 132015

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting) exceeded an unreasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lakewood Ranch, FL, USA

problem #22

Dec 122014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Buick Lacrosse. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle headlights malfunction and ignition recall issues. The consumer stated while driving home one night, the headlights went out. The consumer went to the dealer, where they claimed they fixed the problem. In January 2015, the consumer received a recall for the very problem she experienced. The letter went on to say, if the problem was fixed, it was still not solved, as there was no current fix for the issue. Updated 09/11/15

- Manahawkin, NJ, USA

problem #21

Jun 012010

LaCrosse

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 60 mph, the low beam head lamps failed to function. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Huntington , TX, USA

problem #20

Sep 122014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Driving home at 11pm in the dark and lost headlights completely first time in Sept 2014 then again in October 2014 and most recently 3 times in May 2015 all 3 times I was driving 55 mph in the dark and last one was in pouring rain.. luckily there were street lights each time..I pulled over quickly, blindly as the dash lights went out, too, so I couldn't see where the 4 way flashers were to turn them on..I got out and looked got back in shut car off started it back up and the headlights came back on..the most recent time and the first time I had no high beams either..literally no lights for 30 seconds to 3 minutes.. had there been traffic I may have been in an accident or if not for streetlight in pouring rain I would have ended up in a ditch or worse.. there is a recall on lowbeams but dealer wouldn't fix it because GM is dragging their feet about the problem..so I took it on my own to order a relay replacement part online headlight module today to see if that fixes the problem until GM decides to issue the recall guidelines to the dealers.....I don't understand what they are waiting for.. this is a very scary situation I don't drive after dark and we cant afford to buy another vehicle as my husband is retired and disabled.

- Weedsport , NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

May 162015

LaCrosse

  • 74,587 miles
While driving on the interstate at 9:33pm I noticed my automatic headlights had switched off, after noticing other drivers flashing their headlights to warn me, I had to use my high beams to drive.

- Jeffersonville, IN, USA

problem #18

Aug 012014

LaCrosse

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the headlights intermittently failed without warning. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000. MA 08/17/2015

- East Haven, CT, USA

problem #17

Jan 102014

LaCrosse

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 60 mph, the headlights failed to illuminate. The failure occurred on several occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 51,000.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 052014

LaCrosse

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the low beam headlights failed to work without warning. The contact had to apply the high beams each time the failure occurred. The authorized dealer was notified of the failure more than three months before the recall notification was received. The contact was informed that there was currently no permanent remedy to repair the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting) and stated that the remedy was still under development. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date for when the remedy would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and was not able to provide a permanent remedy for the recall repair. The contact continued to experience the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000. Updated 5/20/15

- Berrien Springs , MI, USA

problem #15

Apr 012015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the low beam headlights became inoperable without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 118,000. Updated 5/19/15 updated 7/1/2015

- Hortense, GA, USA

problem #14

Nov 042014

LaCrosse

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have had the vehicle since 10/16/2012 and recently noticed the reflection in a store front glass the left headlight will go out. This is the only way we noticed the lights going out.. we had the vehicle serviced last week and mentioned it to the serviceman. He said he found nothing wrong. I heard approx 2 weeks ago on T>V. that the ? - 2009 Buick Lacrosse head lights would go out. Would this include 2010. Something is definitely wrong.I reported this the 1st time 11/04/14.

- Port St Joe, FL, USA

problem #13

Mar 212015

LaCrosse

  • 87,054 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contacts vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the failure recurred two hours after the recall repair. The front head lamps would no longer illuminate. The vehicle was not taken back to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 87,054.

- Harpersville, NY, USA

problem #12

Jan 012015

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available for repair. The manufacturer stated that a solution for the failure had not yet been developed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Vacaville , CA, USA

problem #11

Feb 122015

LaCrosse

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the contact stated that the recall remedy was not effective. When the contact opened up the panel where the module was replaced, he discovered that the fuse panel was burning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuse panel needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 94,000. Updated 04/13/15

- Okeechobde, FL, USA

problem #10

Oct 212013

LaCrosse

  • 40,000 miles
We have experienced multiple electrical problems with our 2009 Buick Lacrosse. It first appeared as a bad battery which was replaced. Using the in-car digital readout, we began to see strange voltage readings in the car. The voltage would some times read as low as 12.6 volts and then would start a steady climb up to 14.4 volts. It might stay that way for hours or might slowly drop to the low level. At the low level, we have noticed that multiple items like the speed control and the air conditioning would not work until the voltage was at the high level. We have had an episode where the low beam would not operate until I switched the high beam on and them switched to low beam. We have received the recall noticed on that item. Other strange things are happening like the radio changing stations on its own. The passenger seat indicator reads false at times when traveling. The air bag indicator light reads off and the seat belt indicator read unlatched. As we continue traveling, the indicators go back to their normal indications.

- Hutchinson, KS, USA

problem #9

Feb 112014

LaCrosse

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, the low beam headlights failed to illuminate. The failure recurred multiple times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 24,000.

- Fredrick , MD, USA

problem #8

Aug 062014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 37,500 miles
The headlamps went out at night no reason back on Aug 6 with my wife driving after she turned off the high beams. I assumed she unintentionally turned them off. Last night when I was driving they went off again for no reason. I had to turn on the high beams in order to see. This has never happened in all my years of driving. I was wondering if this is a pervasive problem with the vehicle.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #7

Feb 032014

LaCrosse

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph the low beam head lights suddenly failed. After turning the high beams light on the tail light would not operate. The contact indicated that the failure had occurred multiple times. The vehicle was examined by an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the reset button for the headlight fuse was faulty and needed to be replaced. The fuse was replaced and the failure was remedied. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Rothsay, MN, USA

problem #6

Aug 122014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Both low beam headlights failed while driving in the dark.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #5

Jun 192014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 173,000 miles
The owner had been smelling a bad odor when she arrived at her destination in a mall parking lot. The odor did not fade when the vehicle engine was turned off and subsequently opened the hood. Black smoke was seen coming from the fuse block. Upon removing the cover to the fuse block, the owner observed a small fire which caused damage to the wiring harness. The vehicle was later examined by an independent engineering consultant who identified the origin of the fire. The origin was placed at the # 35 position in the fuse block which was occupied by the hdm module. It was later learned from the owner that an unexplained headlight outage had occurred sometime prior to the fire and that turning off the engine and restarting the vehicle caused the headlights to come on again. The event never occurred again. It was further determined that there have been several instances of highlight failure that have been reported to NHTSA and are available in the "complaints" section of a search for recalls of this vehicle.

- Smyrna, TN, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?