Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,458 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Buick LaCrosse seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jun 152016

LaCrosse

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Lacrosse will intermittently display the air bag indicator. I noticed this while driving the car around town and there is no passenger in the front seat. It will either stay on for a couple of days and then disappear or will just be on for short periods of time. When I took it to the dealer they stated it was a sensor module and would be approximately $1300 to replace. As of this date, I have not had it repaired. The vehicle only has approximately 24,000 miles. I checked to see if there might be any recalls for this issue and there were none. But in checking online, this appears to be an issue with many Buick especially the 2008. To me this appears to be a safety issue that should be addressed.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #20

Jan 152014

LaCrosse

  • 45,000 miles
Seatbelt light came on dash on; no airbag light also on for passenger side. First time it happened someone exited passenger seat while car was in park. Intermittent chime whether seat belt was in use or not; whether someone was in passenger seat or not. That has since ceased to happen. Dealer states dash light on also means no airbag for driver side. Fix is over $1500. Have read many other similar complaints all over America with other Buick vehicles and years. How is this not a recall/safety issue?

- Osceola, WI, USA

problem #19

Jun 202016

LaCrosse

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 30 mph, the passenger side air bag warning light remained off even when the seat was occupied. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The details of the repairs were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 6,000. The VIN was not available...updated 11/21/16

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #18

Mar 022016

LaCrosse

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 30 mph, the passenger side air bag light remained illuminated. The failure recurred frequently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #17

Mar 012016

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 38,975 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 55 mph, the passenger side air bag light illuminated without warning. The vehicle was diagnosed, but not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 38,975.....updated 07/05/16 it was determined, the passenger air module had an intermittent internal failure. Updated 07/14/16.

- Eastover, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Apr 012016

LaCrosse

  • miles
The passenger air bag will display an off indication many times when the seat is occupied. I would guess about 50 percent of the time. This condition happens off and on, doesn't matter if the car is moving or stopped or type of road. Below ask when this condition happened. It happens anytime we drive the car, not a specific date.

- Edna, TX, USA

problem #15

Oct 162015

LaCrosse

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. While driving at approximately 55 mph and activating the seat heater, the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000. Updated 1/21/16

- Welch, OK, USA

problem #14

Jul 152015

LaCrosse

  • 51,200 miles
Air bag indicator light on passenger side is off 50% of time when carrying a passenger electric automatic door locks fail to operate on driver's side and on occasions when they work you have to manually unlock the doors

- Pinetown, NC, USA

problem #13

Aug 212015

LaCrosse

  • 60,000 miles
The air bag light comes on intermittently. I took it in for service, and was told it would be $1300 to replace the passenger presence module. I've seen other complaints online regarding this same item. I've also had issues with the automatic locks. It initially started with the passenger front door, and has now progressed to all the doors. The price I was given to repair this was $1600. Again, I've seen numerous online complaints concerning this item. This is my 3rd Buick, and I do not intend to buy another one. It seems once the warranty expires, several costly repairs are incurred.

- Bellaire, TX, USA

problem #12

Aug 102015

LaCrosse

  • miles
I am a used car dealer and sell a lot of Buick Lacrosses and have seen at least 7 bad pass. Seat switches in the seat very expensive to fix and should be recalled by GM, this will turn the air bag light

- Holyioke, MA, USA

problem #11

Mar 012010

LaCrosse

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I wish to formally complaint that Buick has been remiss in its service to its customers. After a simple google search I found that the problem of malfunctioning passenger side airbag module (passenger presence is not detected when the passenger is in the seat and shows malfunction on the dashboard) is pretty common with this vehicle. I am very surprised Buick is not aware of this serious flaw and did nothing to rectify it. Instead the customer is beset with high repair costs each time this module fails due to design flaw than due to normal wear and tear.

- Lima, OH, USA

problem #10

Feb 012009

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
Consumer front seat passenger airbag indicator does not display when passenger is sitting the in seat. The air bag sensor was replaced. However, the problem continued. The consumer was informed by a local garage mechanic, the passenger presence system would need to be replaced, at a cost of $500.

- Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #9

Dec 032014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 67,252 miles
Car was towed to auto repair shop where the airbag light and check engine lights were illuminated. Have had four diagnostics performed and problem not found. Advised a complete tear down of passenger seat would need to be done to locate issue which is costing me an exuberant amount of money for something that should be fixed on a recall.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #8

Jun 182012

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 48,072 miles
Right front passenger seat airbag turns itself off intermittently with passenger seated and buckled. Dealer removed and reinstalled seat and replaced faulty pps module and cushion assembly 06/18/2012, 48,072 miles. Problem recurred, dealer rezeroed system and rechecked ok, 02/20/13, 62,481 miles. Problem recurred, dealer replaced pps sensor 03/13/2013, 63,441 miles. Problem is now recurring 10/07/2014, mileage 96,956, and has been for about 2 months, with a passenger always seated and buckled, wt. 135 lbs. Or more.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #7

May 082014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Left home for local restaurant about 7:am on May 8. traveling down hwy 2 lane, must have dropped wheel off pavement and the car went crazy. I do not remember what happened. The accident report says vehicle crossed the road, hit a bank head first and flipped the vehicle. One car accident. Airbags did not deploy. I was taken by ambulance to a hospital, then transported to another state to a trauma center. Multiple injuries. I was in hospital for 12 days and then a nursing rehab for 2 weeks. I did not know there was a recall on my vehicle until this month August 2014. No other cars were involved.

- Dawson Springs, KY, USA

problem #6

May 152014

LaCrosse

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, the air bag warning light intermittently illuminated. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate mileage was 67,000.

- East Hampton , CT, USA

problem #5

May 072014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact was made aware of recall NHTSA campaign number 14V355000 (electrical system). However, the VIN was not included on the recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 09/11/14 the consumer stated the manufacturer has recalled the ignition switch but has no solution. Updated 1/13/2015

- Ranson, WV, USA

problem #4

Nov 032009

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
Multiple times since purchase air bag indicator has either blinked, has been constantly on or hasn't been on at all. Instrument panel display, ie: Mileage indicator, temperature display, trip indicator hasn't worked on occasion, radio and/or interior temperature display doesn't come on until you drive for five to forty five minutes. Door locks have actuated either up or down while driving. Remote door locks either don't work at all or one or more does, one or more doesn't work, when manually using a key security system has activated thus sounding the horn. Many of these items have been discussed with my dealer and we were told by them that GM is aware of the problem but there isn't a fix at this time.

- Marion, OH, USA

problem #3

Oct 052012

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 23,129 miles
My 2009 Buick Lacrosse cx at 23,129 miles had a problem with the passenger side air bag light blinking from off to on, it also had the passenger side air bag icon on the drivers side dash. It was under warranty so the pps module was replaced, then it happened again in April 2014 with under 34,000 miles. Again the pps module was replaced. Counting the pps module that came in the car when it was new that burned out, the one that replaced that burned out, it now has it's 3 rd. Pps module. I believe it is caused by the after market leather seat covers that were put on at the time of purchase, especially since there were recalls in the past for that very problem. I have ask GM to buy back the seat covers but, they seem to be ignoring me. It seems no one else in the country is having this problem.

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #2

Jan 022012

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Buick Lacrosse. Consumer writes in regards to a defective airbag the consumer stated when a person was seated in the passenger seat, the warning light would come on a times and sometimes it wouldn't. the consumer stated over the years, several lights would illuminate on the instrument panel, such as the ABS, seat belt, tire pressure, and radio, etc. The dealer had the vehicle for eight days. Everything seemed satisfactory, but after three days, the air bag warning light and other instrument panel lights illuminated again. Updated 02/07/12.

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?