Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2010 Buick LaCrosse (Page 1 of 2)

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,223 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Buick LaCrosse electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Feb 012016

LaCrosse

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall purchased used in May 2015 with approx. 45K miles. Since I have purchased the car, I took it to a dealership in kokomo in to have it looked at for the park assist. What happens is when I am driving down the highway, usually with the cruise control on, going 60+ down the highway, the park assist comes on, all the lights on the dashboard flash and all the sounds go off in the car immediately disabling the car. At that point, the car disables itself and you cannot push the accelerator, making it difficult to get off the highway. You have to immediately pull off the highway and turn the car off. After waiting a few minutes, you can start the car up and the engine light will be displayed. The engine light will stay on until the next time you start the car and then goes off. Over the last year, I have had this happen approximately 20 times. The dealership in kokomo couldn't find anything wrong with it and they stated they cannot try to find something wrong with the car if it isn't happening when I bring in the car. I moved to Tennessee the first of January 2016. It has happened to me since living here again so I took the car into parks auto service in columbia tn. After having my car for 2 1/2 weeks, they are unable to find out what is wrong with it. I have been very fortunate thus far to not get into a bad wreck losing my life or crashing into someone else and killing them. At some point, this will cause a major wreck and lives could possibly be lost or someone could possibly be disabled the rest of my life. At what point does this have to happen before Buick will find an answer for this? I need help on this as there are no mechanics that can resolve this issue.

- Spring Hill, TN, USA

problem #26

Sep 042015

LaCrosse

  • 122,352 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the vehicle's door locks operated independently. In addition, the engine revved and the vehicle experienced a loss of power without warning. After the failure occurred, the park assist and shift panel indicators failed to illuminate as various warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 122,352.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #25

Mar 182016

LaCrosse

  • 89,000 miles
Over the past several months, while driving, the service stabilitrak warning light comes on; the ABS & park assist lights flash on and off; my RPM, speedometer, & temperature gauges go haywire; and the engine loses power causing the car to jerk. I never know when this will happen. On 3/18/16, I was put in a dangerous situation when this happened while driving across the state of Florida on a 2 lane highway that had no safe place to pull off the road. The check engine light also came on and stayed on thru the rest of my drive. Two days later, the drive home was incident free & the check engine light was gone. On 3/22/16 I took the car to a GM dealer; showed the service tech a video of the events happening as I was driving and a letter I got from GM regarding a possible throttle sensor problem that causes reduced power and malfunction indicator lamps to appear. The GM dealer tech said my cars problems had nothing to do with GM's letter and he was 90% sure my fuel injector needed replacing. I took the car to my personal auto mechanic for 10+ yrs, who works for a very reputable company, for a second opinion. Since the codes had been cleared by the dealership service dept and the car checked out ok my mechanic said to drive it and bring it back if the problems occurred again. It recently started happening again & my check engine light came on so I took the car to my mechanic who found multiple codes for ECM & tcm lost communication PCM malfunction & other communication issues. He drove the car and experienced what I was explaining was happening. My mechanic couldn't pinpoint the problem but said there was no problem with the fuel injection system; that it's electrical. He suggested we take the car to another Buick dealer to have it checked out. This is a very dangerous situation & I don't feel safe driving the car since I never know when the problems will start happening.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #24

Apr 152014

LaCrosse

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the inner connectors had been prematurely burning and created a short with the lighting fixture. As a result, the driver side head lamp assembly failed to work. The dealer repaired the connector in August of 2014, but the failure recurred. The dealer stated that the contact would need to schedule a repair and that there was no manufacturer recall to cover the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no immediate solution. The failure mileage was not available.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #23

Mar 182016

LaCrosse

  • 89,000 miles
Three days ago, while on a trip from the West coast of Florida to the East coast of Florida; and while driving on the highway at 65 mph, the warning bells started dinging and the messages: Service stabilitrak, ABS, and park assist off kept flashing off and on; the car began jerking and losing engine power; the tachometer, speedometer, and temperature gauges were jumping around all over the place; and the check engine light came on. (a video of what occurred was taken to show as proof). I managed to pull off the side of the road, turned the car off and sat for several minutes, then started the car again. Less than a minute after I got back on the highway, the same events occurred again. After at least 30 minutes or more of the car continuing to malfunction while driving; it suddenly stopped giving me warning signals and engine power seemed to stabilize; however, the check engine light remained on. Once I reached my destination, I didn't use the car for two days. My return trip home, which was approximately 140 miles, was uneventful; however, the very next morning on my way to work, while sitting in traffic on the expressway, the warning bells suddenly started ringing again, and the service stabilitrak and ABS lights came on. Fortunately I was able to make it to work and called the Buick dealer to bring my car in to have it checked. In the past few months, this problem has occurred 3 to 4 times, but each time only lasted moments and never to the extreme that it did. I received a letter from Buick about 3 months ago that pertained to such issues and loss of engine power; and the letter stated that the car should be taken to the Buick dealer and repaired at no cost. This is an extremely dangerous problem that needs to be addressed and resolved immediately.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #22

Oct 122015

LaCrosse

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 60 mph, the engine caught fire without warning. The fire department was notified, but the vehicle was no longer on fire when they arrived. The vehicle was towed to an independent facility. The contact stated that the wiring harness under the hood was melted from the fire. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 12/30/15

- Monroeville, PA, USA

problem #21

Nov 152014

LaCrosse

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Approximately two months after purchasing a Buick Lacrosse I started to experience the vehicle shutting down when the car was parked or idle. Shortly after the check engine light came on. I then took the vehicle to the dealer and they claim they could not find anything wrong with it. I decided to get a second opinion so I took the vehicle to another certied repair shop and they suggested that I get and upper engine flush. Supposedly because this type of vehicle is known for massive amounts of carbon build up. So, I got the upper engine flush on my vehicle but the very next day the check engine light came on again. The. Machanic advised me that it would take more than one engine flush to fix the problem. So after not two but three upper engine flushes the problem of having the check engine light intermittently display is not resolved. No one can seem to find a diagnosis for my vehicle problems not even the dealer. Most recently, the dash board display light periodically goes out, and an unfamiliar noise is coming from the driver's front tire. Once again, I have taken my vehicle to a certified machanic and the issue is not detectable.

- Madison, IL, USA

problem #20

Mar 252015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 93,450 miles
Took my car in for regular service, my wife drove it home, the car died after 8 miles. She slowed for stop light, car suddenly died. Electrical system went crazy, car lost power, died. I backtracked to help, . I tried starting the car but didn't have any compression. I called dealer, they sent toll truck. According to them, they checked it, drove it a few times, said couldn't find anything wrong, called GM for help. The dealer's service rep said GM told them heard of similar incidents in Lacrosse. GM recommended they apply lubricant cables connecting to ECM. Did so. Had 3 people test drive car, said operating fine. Received call from dealer stating problem corrected, car good to go. Picked up car in company mechanic friend. Rep explained what they did, checked all electrical circuits, breakers, connections, etc and everything appeared to be working fine. Told him that my wife didn't feel safe driving the car now because of incident and he said car should be fine for at least 5 years. I asked what if fix ididn't work? he said that it would probably require a new ECM. Well, car died again yesterday, April 4, about 1:30 pm while driving with my wife to our son's house. Was going about 40 miles/hr after exiting highway, car starting stalling, jerking and all of the console lights were going crazy. Check engine light went on, a service stability track warning and the key symbol appeared on center console, it died completely. Tried restarting it but it wouldn't. waited for traffic to pass, then I rolled car backwards toward the curb to get out of traffic lanes. I waited a few minutes and then started the cart again. I went a few hundred feet, then it died again. I did this 3 more times until getting to my son's house where I was able to park it. I called the dealership about 20 minutes later, the service department had already closed.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #19

Dec 012014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Buick lucerne rear fuse block malfunctioned and caught fire

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #18

Oct 292014

LaCrosse

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the defroster failed to defrost the front windshield. The contact also stated that the entire instrument panel continuously illuminated. In addition, the heater control knob failed. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #17

Sep 142011

LaCrosse

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This complaint is being marked for deletion because it is an inadvertent duplicate of ODI# 10621693 TL* the contact owns a 2010 Buick Lacrosse. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled and the electrical system failed without warning. The vehicle resumed normal operation when it was restarted. The failure occurred twice. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #16

Sep 142011

LaCrosse

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Buick Lacrosse. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled and the electrical system failed without warning. The vehicle resumed normal operation when it was restarted. The failure occurred twice. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #15

May 152014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I was traveling on the highway at 5:30am with minimal traffic. While traveling at 66mph, I put the car into cruise control. Then I pulled my foot off the gas pedal that placed it flat footed with me leg towards the seat. I am a short person. I have 3 house keys on a ring attached to the car key. I felt my knee touch the dangling keys. At that moment, the electrical system and car shut down. I had no power brakes or no power steering, etc. I was in the lane closest to the breakdown lane. I was able get the car into the breakdown lane and cost to a stop. (fortunately no traffic passed me until I finally stopped.) the ignition key and switch was in the on position when I stopped. I was able to restart the car by placing the car in park and restarting the car. I brought the car to the dealership. They looked at the car and found no error codes. They could not duplicate my problem. They told me I must have shut off the ignition switch with my knee. I attempted to do this an cannot turn the key off with my knee. I addition, my knee does not reach the switch without lifting it up at least a couple inches. I only brushed the bottom of the dangling house keys. 2010 should be included in the recall!!!

- Windham, NH, USA

problem #14

Apr 232013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Buick Lacrosse. Consumer writes in regards to "malfunction indicator lamp" came on while driving then engine cut off. The consumer stated she was able to coast into the right lane, and eventually made it into a parking lot. The consumer was able to re-start the vehicle, and was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer. The vehicle was at the dealer for five days, where it was diagnosed as an internal mode switch short. The dealer replaced the mode switch. The consumer stated she experienced the same problem a year prior.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #13

Feb 152014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
I moved my car out of the driveway so my neighbor could plow. He said he smelled something while I was in my car across from our driveway. I put the vehicle in park, pushed shut off/turn off button, vehicle instantaneously filled with dark rolls of smoke coming from the passenger side from the front of the vehicle under the hood. I grabbed the door handle jumped out. My neighbor came running telling me to disengage the hood, I complied. Flames shot up and out from under the hood as it was being released. He threw a lot of snow on the fire extinguishing it. We inhaled the most obnoxious fumes from any automobile I have had the displeasure of having in my company. Car will not start. After this, my husband came out to see what all the yelling was about. My neighbor explained it to him and he unhooked the battery. The car is still parked at the scene of the fire. Today is 2/22/2014 and no insurance adjuster has been here yet. Our town fire department was called and the fire chief assistant came the very day incident occurred and filled out a form, I contacted Buick and I have a claim number and am awaiting further contact from them. Our town highway department placed cones around my vehicle.

- Oswegatchie, NY, USA

problem #12

Feb 152014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
I moved my car out of the driveway so my neighbor could plow our driveway. He said he smelled something. I parked the car across from our driveway put it in park, pushed the button to shut the car off, as my vehicle filled with smoke, I grabbed the door handle and jumped out. My neighbor ran to my vehicle telling me to disengage the hood, I complied. Flames jumped up and out from the passenger side of the car under the hood. He threw a lot of snow on the fire to extinguish the flame. We inhaled fumes. Car will not start. After this, my husband came out and my neighbor explained and my husband unhooked battery.

- Oswegatchie, NY, USA

problem #11

Jul 062011

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
This vehicle has been in the shop at mckinney Buick GMC, and gateway Buick GMC. The battery was the first thing to go, it was replaced under warranty. The second item to go was the alternator, it was replaced under warranty. The windshield washer tank cracked, was a recall, it was replaced. The steering column went out totally, because of the tilt lever, it was replaced under warranty. The rear wheel hubs went out, they were replaced under warranty. The A/C compressor went out this last summer 2013, it was replace under extended warranty, I purchased. Now the heater control switch, or something just went out with the system, because the fan has quit working. So now I'll have to spend another $300 dollars are so to get the vehicle fixed. This car has been a lemon, I bought it certified used, from lone star Buick GMC, when they were in transition to mckinney Buick GMC, I have had nothing but problems with this model. Owned two Buick century's prior to this vehicle, very reliable, replaced a blower motor in my 1999 Buick C, and a battery in my 2004 Buick C. unlike this piece of crap 2010 Buick lemon nightmare. Could you possibly help me out with this problem. This vehicle showed via car fax report to have been in the shop six times prior my purchase. It only had about 16500 miles on it, when I purchased it in may of 2011.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #10

Jul 172012

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
The battery is dead. So I can get into the car at all..not even to jump it or take it to the dealer.. now I have to get it towed..and getout of work to do it.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #9

Aug 102011

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a Buick Lacrosse in May 2010. I began having issues with the vehicle June 27, 2011. I've had multiple mechanical issues with the car. The electric heater in the seats have gone out 3 times and been repaired and is now not working again. The last repair on the heater in the driver seat was January 2012. On August 1, 2011 the car was towed to the dealership due to the battery leaking acid all over the wires and several other parts. The was kept for almost 10 days. The visor for the moon roof started malfunctioning and had to be repaired. The engine had a knocking sound and I was told that's how he care sounds. The door handle had to be replaced, the car has had ongoing electrical issues and GM has not worked openly and honestly with me. GM has repeatedly told me the care is not eligible to be bout back but will not give a explanation why. I repeatedly requested to speak with a supervisor and was denied opportunity by a GM rep name [xxx] for several weeks. I have repeatedly asked for something in writing and GM refuses to put anything in writing. "when I explained that I wanted them to buy the care back due to the ongoing electrical issues and not to just extend the warranty I was told by the GM rep that I was trying to play a all or nothing game and may end up walking away with nothing." After that comment I felt bullied into excepting a offer of two car payments and a extension of the warranty to 45,000 additional miles. I later withdrew my acceptance of the offer due to the seats malfunctioning again and feeling as though I was forced to take the offer with the GM rep denying me the ability to speak with a supervisor for weeks and making the statement that he made during a conference on 2/24/12. This is the second GM vehicle that I bought in the past 4 yrs that had electrical issues. My 07 Saturn aura had electrical issues lost $9000. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Romulu, MI, USA

problem #8

Dec 232010

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,800 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Buick Lacrosse. The contact was driving 45 mph when the exterior and interior lights illuminated on and off intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 2,800 and the current mileage is 8,250. Updated 12/16/11 updated 12/22/11

- Evansville, IN, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?