Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.6

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,990 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Buick LaCrosse electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments

problem #7

Mar 312016

LaCrosse

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased car a little over two years ago and in that time it has been in the shop for repairs numerous times. The problems that continues to occur is the check engine light comes on and the car cannot stay running. It loses power at stop lights, been pushed at gas stations and has even stopped running pulling onto the interstate. Taken it to the Buick dealership and each time they claim to have "fixed" it. This car was in the shop two weeks ago exactly and the check engine light is back on and the car continues to stop running (full tank of gas) for no reason. I do not have an additional car to drive, so when it is in the shop I have to rent one or borrow one, along with the costs to get this car "fixed" I am looking at about four thousand dollars since November 2015. The Buick dealership in twin falls, Idaho needs to figure out what is wrong with this car and get it fixed for good. This is not ok. Who spends this much money on a 2013 car, only to have repair bills and a car that is still not fixed! on a side note, weren't a large majority of 2013 Buick Lacrosse's recalled? if so, I have never been notified. Shame on you Buick for selling such a poor running and unsafe care and shame on rob green Buick in twin falls, Idaho for not fixing a problem after our car has been in your shop at least four times since November 2015 for the same problems that have been reported time and time again.

- Twin Falls, ID, USA

problem #6

Aug 272015

LaCrosse

  • 21,327 miles
Three lane interstate highway with traffic moving at 65 mph and engine stalls out with no power. Make it to shoulder of road and after about a half hour, car starts with engine check light on and I continue to destination. I have service repair specialist check source of problem and it is failure of "cam shaft sensor". upon returning home 285 miles away, again had problem diagnosed with same results..."cam shaft sensor" as engine check light was on again and car had no power. On 9/1/2015 call ellis automotive Inc. And told them about problem, part needed and asked for a service date for repair. The service date was set for 9/11/2015 at 9:00 a.M. traveled to dealer (51 miles one way) and they diagnosed the problem as "cam shaft sensor", but didn't have part available. When I asked why inexpensive part was not available after my prior communications I was told they only respond to their own diagnoses. On 9/14/2015 at 3:50 pm, I get the message that part was in but that they close at 4:pm. I call at 9:00 am on 9/15/2015 and was told that they have service date for 9/30/2015 and will meet me halfway with "loaner car" and take my car for repair. The reason for this communications is pretty basic. This defective part causes the engine to fail and GM knows that the problem exist and is well documented. The dealers have been notified by GM that problem is know but vehicle can be run so there is no priority to fix problem when reported by customer. Will it take more people killed by their vehicle stalling in traffic with no power braking or steering before GM is forced to take corrective action on a part they know is prone to failure.? I was told that the government uses warranty information to determine when a problem exist but we all know how this game was played with the ignition switch disaster.

- Rouses Point, NY, USA

problem #5

Dec 182013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 7,248 miles
Car was parked on driveway, driver door was open, driver leaned into car and shut off car engine with push button ignition switch, vehicle immediately rolled back, open door knocked driver down, and was run over and died at hospital. Bystander tried to assist and was knocked down by open door and drug a short distance by the door.

- Candler, NC, USA

problem #4

Aug 162013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis but the failure could not be replicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 9,000...update 04-10-14

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 152012

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. Additionally, the contact stated that the back up camera was extremely dim and it was difficult for him to see. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.

- Zephyrhills, FL, USA

problem #2

Apr 062013

LaCrosse 4-cyl

  • 6,357 miles
4/6/2013 my 2013 Buick Lacrosse 4 cylinder model was parked in driveway. At 9pm my husband went outside to get something from the car and saw the car on fire with flames coming from the back end rear bumper. By the time he could get a hose to put out the fire, the back bumper, the rear side on the passenger side and the rear tail lights had all melted from the heat. The car has been in the body shop since 4/8/2013 and no work can be done because the shop can not get a critical part from GM. The part is the wiring harness for the eassist and GM does not have this part in their parts inventory. On 5/6/2012, I contacted GM customer service and was told that the dealer can order the part only no one can give a date when the part will be available. I was told it could be two weeks or 6 months. The wiring harness is wired by hand and GM only has the stock on hand for their assembly line. Until I saw the 5/6/2013 article on the fire risk associated with this model car, I had thought that this was arson. I now believe that I am dealing with a defective car and no one from GM told me of a recall. I found the article as a result of a web search. I have been without my car for one month and my insurance company has tried to work with the dealer to get definitive information on when part can be available. The dealer has to install the wiring harness prior to the body shop doing any work. Now based on its recall, I suspect that this is the source of the fire. Too coincidental!..updated 05/08/13 updated 05/15/13 the consumer stated the fire was caused by arson. Updated 05/29/2013

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #1

Feb 252013

LaCrosse 4-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
Vehicle engine light (malfunction indicator lamp) came on; 5 minutes later charging system light came on with warning that "charging system not working". shortly thereafter, power steering went out and then ABS light came on and then car shut down completely. After reading complaints about 2012 Buick Lacrosse looked in engine compartment and found that the serpentine belt was shredded. Vehicle being towed to dealer in morning.

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?