Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility: Power Window Devices And Controls Problems

2001 Buick LeSabre (Page 2 of 4)

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,280 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Buick LeSabre windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Buick LeSabre:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Buick LeSabre Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #54

Aug 082008

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Buick Lesabre. On four separate occasions, the window fell down into the door. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic and it was discovered that the window regulator failed. The windows have been replaced three separate times and now the fourth will have to be replaced. The current mileage was 108,000 and failure mileage was 42,000.update 09/10/08 the ABS module failed. Updated 09/19/08.

- Huntsville, ME, USA

problem #53

Aug 042008

LeSabre

  • 57,345 miles
2001 Buick Lesabre limited. Left rear power window regulator failed to return window to a closed position. Temperature outside the vehicle was 99 degrees F. could not secure vehicle. This problem seems to be prevalent among this family of GM vehicles. Repair costs are exorbitant when the fault appears to be a small plastic bracket inside the window regulator. A simple repair kit is needed, rather than replacing the entire regulator. Vehicle has less than 60,000 miles on, and windows are not rolled down that often. Based on complaints I've seen on other web sites, I can expect to replace the other three regulators, with the cost approaching $2000 for all 4 regulator replacements.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #52

Jul 172008

LeSabre

  • 28,000 miles
Power windows on 2001 Buick Lesabre keep failing. I go to roll a window down, I hear a "crunching" noise, and the window will not either go back up, or it goes halfway up and stops. I have replaced 3 windows to date on a car that only has 28,000 miles on it. It costs 400-600 to replace each window. I searched the internet and there have been a lot of complaints about the windows in the Lesabre. GM needs to have a recall on this issue.

- Barberton, OH, USA

problem #51

Jan 302003

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power windows will not roll up and when pushed up continue to roll back down. This has been repaired several times. There is enough complaint about this defect that there should be a recall and the source of this problem should be solved instead of saying that it cannot be repaired to last. I think this is a disgrace and will not buy another GMC auto again. This should be reported to the government. Here is what they say: Buick power windows drop / broken power windows most Buick cars, and in fact most other GM cars, have this defect. The power window mechanism breaks - usually cheap plastic parts break in the power window pulley assembly. GM dealers will only replace the entire assembly, to the tune of $450 per window. Many, many Buick owners have written to say they have had to replace most or all four power windows assemblies, and some even had to replace the same power window assembly multiple times. GM has not changed the design of the replacement parts, so once fixed by the dealer, the problem still exists. The best way to deal with the power window failures is to get the power window assembly from a salvage yard. A lot of people get sick & tired of replacing these again & again, & tape up the window permanently. Currently there is no recall for the power windows, because it is not a safety issue (according to the NHTSA). So far, a class action lawsuit has not been filed. This could be a dangerous situation as my window has gone down when I am in the store etc. Someone could easily get in the car or steal something out of it. I think this is indeed a safety hazard. Also when going down the freeway and the window drops suddenly, it can be startling and could cause a wreck.

- Shenandoah, TX, USA

problem #50

Nov 282007

LeSabre

  • 58,000 miles
The passenger side rear window regulator malfunctioned. My daughter was in her child seat and it was pouring rain. I had to pull over, manually pull the window up and from there I had to get a new window regulator online and install it myself. I've read about numerous complaints with the Buick Lesabre (mine is 2001) window regulators and apparently there's never been a recall. I have the records from the previous owner and sure enough she had at least one fixed also.

- Hicksville, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #49

May 202008

LeSabre

  • 66,892 miles
I have a 2001 Buick lasabre that I have had to replace the window regulator in two windows and now the third window is broken. In July 2006 the passenger side front window quit working, and in April 2007 the right rear passenger window quit working. Each of these windows cost over $500 to repair. Now the rear driver side window is broken and I am assuming the driver side front window will break if I do not get rid of the car soon. I am going to get a new car, but you can bet it will not be a GM.

- Loveland, CO, USA

problem #48

May 022008

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 62,945 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The right front window just failed to roll up. When I checked the internet I saw that the regulator on the windows of the Buick 2001 were defective so that there were many, many reports that the window regulators had to be replaced at approx. $400 per window. Buick refused to do anything about it.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #47

Apr 012008

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
Driver side window will not go down. I am assuming the motor is defective.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #46

Mar 282008

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,990 miles
Like dozens of others reporting on carsurvey.org my 2001 (2000-2005) Buick le sabre power windows are defective. A plastic part breaks requiring replacement of the entire window regulator assembly including motor. Dealers charge $500 plus labor for each unit. I had a dealer replace the right rear window unit after the first time I used it. A loud crack upon activation and the window fell to the bottom of the door. Six months later I had to replace the left rear window unit. It took hours to remove and replace it with detailed instructions I found online (so many others had this problem one person documented what you need to know including diagrams). After market parts are available online also. So far they are holding up (2 years). Now my drivers door window has snapped but it did so while raising it the few inches it was open so it is closed and staying up for now. That makes three of the four windows. I'm sure the front passenger side will fail as well. GM should have recalled 2999-2005 Buick for these defective windows. You can easily find dozens of similar reported cases online. Otherwise this is a fine, economical, reliable car. Too bad the windows ruin the experience.

- Fernandina Beach, FL, USA

problem #45

Apr 212007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Both rear windows failed to go up. One window broke last spring and the other broke shortly thereafter. We inquired from a local dealer the cost to have the regulators repaired and were told the price would be approx. $400 per window therefore we have not had them repaired. The front passenger window has recently begun to hesitate when operating it so we chose not to use the window fearing it would also become stuck in the down position. As of March 27 I began performing searches on the internet for similar complaints and learned this is a known and common problem with the 2001 Buick Lesabre. Therefore I feel a recall should be issued and GM should replace the regulators free of charge.

- Walled Lake, MI, USA

problem #44

Dec 312007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3rd incident of electronic window failure -- both back seat windows motors have had to be replaced, the front seat passenger window broke 12/31/07. The car has 36,304 miles on it. This is in addition to the cruise control breaking at less than 18,000 miles.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #43

Nov 012007

LeSabre

  • miles
My left rear window in my 2001 Buick Lesabre made a loud noise and then slid down and will no longer raise up. Because I cannot keep the window up, this has become distracting and has led to water getting in the car in bad weather, which could lead to mold and health problems.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #42

Nov 112007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Buick Lesabre. On three different occasions, beginning on December 6, 2006, the window suddenly dropped when it was being rolled up. On each occasion, the dealer stated that the contact was responsible for replacing the rear passenger side window regulator. The first repair totaled $318 and the subsequent repairs were $270 each. It has currently been eleven months and this will be the third time that the window regulator has been replaced. The VIN and purchase date were unknown. The current mileage was 67,000 and failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 12/11/07

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #41

Aug 012006

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,271 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Buick Lesabre. The contact stated that the passenger side rear power windows failed to close after they were opened. The mechanic stated that the window regulator caused the failure and he made the repair. Approximately one year later, the same failure occurred on the driver side rear power window. The mechanic stated once more that the window regulator caused the failure and he made the repair. The powertrain was unknown. The failure mileage was 39,271 and current mileage was 46,771. Updated 12/12/2007 updated 12/12/07

- Claremont, CA, USA

problem #40

Nov 012007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles
Noticed driver side rear window was down on Thursday 11/1/07. Tried to close it, but control didn't work and window kept sliding down into the door. Was able to pull up and tape shut until repair. On Sunday 11/4/07 the rear passenger window was down and wouldn't go up. The rear windows are never lowered. Local mechanic was able to repair at a cost of $443 for both windows. Dealer was going to charge around $500 a window. After seeing hundreds of complaints of these plastic regulators failing, GM should be forced to recall or reimburse owners for this repeated failure that seems to have existed for several years.

- Crown Point, IN, USA

problem #39

Sep 212007

LeSabre

  • miles
This complaint relates to the window problems associated with Buick Lesabre -- the fact the window mechanism fails, in our case both rear windows, and must be replaced at costs greater than $400. We had 34,00 miles on the car at time of 1st failure. Also, our cruise control failed at 17,000 miles.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #38

Dec 062006

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,500 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Buick Lesabre. The driver side rear and front passenger power windows failed to close after they were opened. The dealer diagnosed the failure and replaced the regulators. The failure mileage was 20,500 and current mileage was 21,000.

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #37

Jun 012006

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Buick Lesabre. The contact stated that three power windows failed and were repaired at his expense. The repair costs for each window ranged from $450 to $500. On June 1, 2006, the contact opened the front driver side window and it would not close. On July 1, 2006, the front passenger side window experienced the same failure. On August 23, 2007, the rear passenger side window followed suit. The motors and linkages were replaced on each window the same day they failed. The front passenger and driver side windows are currently making a noise when they are opened. The dealer stated that they would give the contact $500 towards the purchase of a new vehicle. Case number 71-550213555 was filed with Buick and he is awaiting a response from a representative regarding reimbursement. The failure mileage was 94,000 and current mileage was 96,000. *updated 12/12/07.

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #36

Jun 112005

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Both rear windows have slid down for no reason, and will not go back up on my 2001 Buick Lesabre, I have checked with the Buick garage, and they want over $1500. To repair them. This happened when there was only 42,000 miles on the car. Updated 01-16-08. The consumer has not had the window repaired. Updated

- Tavares, FL, USA

problem #35

Sep 042007

(reported on)

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Buick Lesabre rear window fell when rolled down. Customer states that the rear window fell when he tried to roll it down. Mechanic told the consumer that the power windows were broken.

- Lindale, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?