Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility: Power Window Devices And Controls Problems

2001 Buick LeSabre (Page 3 of 4)

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,280 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Buick LeSabre windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Buick LeSabre:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Buick LeSabre Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Apr 022004

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,104 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Buick Lesabre. The contact stated that the window regulators that allow the windows to roll up and down have failed. The first three regulators were replaced on April 2, 2004 and the last one was replaced on October 8, 2004. The dealer is aware of the failure, but refuses to reimburse the contact. The current mileage was 84,500 and failure mileage was 45,104. Updated 09/18/07

- Thousand Palms, CA, USA

problem #33

Aug 012007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,500 miles
The back windows in a 2001 Buick Lesabre wont go up and slip down and I have researched hundreds of complaints and I know there must be thousands. The wires get tangled and the plastic parts break and cannot hold the pressure.this is a serious flaw on the power windows and must become a nation wide recall to replace motors, pulleys, and any other parts involved in the window operations.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #32

Aug 122007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,000 miles
2001 Buick Lesabre. I too have had 3 regulator failures. 2 were covered under an extended warranty plan. The 3rd just occurred. Why hasn't' there been a recall??

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #31

Jul 172007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Window regulators on 2000-2001 Buick are faulty. I have had two go out and the cost is $450 per window. Many many people I talk to have the same thing happen with their Buick's. even the repair shop laughs about it and says they are junk. There needs to be a recall issued. The windows go down and stay there until fixed.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #30

Oct 142006

LeSabre

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
I own two 2001 Buick - a century and a le sabre. Over the past ten months, three power windows on the century have failed, and two in the Lesabre. Most simply opened by themselves, while car was being driven and no longer responded to the controls. Several were stuck halfway down and did not go up or down with manual manipulation. In the Florida heat and sudden severe thunderstorms, this represents a dangerous situation as well as a costly one.

- Miami Beach, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #29

Oct 082005

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Buick Lesabre. When the contact clicks the window switch, the windows roll down but fail to roll up. The failure has occurred three times. The powertrain was unknown. The current mileage is 73,000 and failure mileage was 36,000.

- Northbrook, IL, USA

problem #28

May 212007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,604 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power window does not go up at 88,000 miles. This is the 3rd window to break, with each repair costing approximately $400. Both rear windows broke, which are hardly used.

- Allison Park , PA, USA

problem #27

Mar 152004

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
I own a 2001 Buick le-sabre. I have had two power window regulaters fail and it would have cost about $500 each had I not had extended warranty. The car had about 25,000 miles on it. I was told that this was not a common problem. While standing there, another service rep. Was talking to a customer about the same failure. This seems to be systemmic problem and the public needs to be protected.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #26

Apr 012004

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2001 Buick le-sabre with a current odometer reading of 38000 miles. The contact explained that the vehicle had been to the dealer on three separate occasions to replace window regulators of three of the windows. The first repair was of the front passenger side window. The regulator was replaced in April of 2004 at steven smith Buick of rogers Arkansas. This repair was covered under warranty. The second repair was on the driver's side rear window regulator which was replaced on March 6 2006. This repair was not covered under warranty, and cost the contact $407.77. The third repair was of the driver's side front window regulator on February 15, 2007 at coury Buick of mesa Arizona 85206. This repair was not covered under warranty and cost the contact an additional $500. The air condition was blowing hot air. The compressor was replaced. The tie rods were replaced due to excessive play. Updated 03/30/07.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #25

Feb 012007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
This is the 25th report of window regulator failure on 2001 Buick Lesabre sedans. This well documented factory defect costs $400-$500 per window to replace with the same defective part. This is my second rear window failure on this vehicle (both rear). Two more windows to go totaling $1,600 (X millions of cars) in dealer repairs that should have been the subject of a factory recall and certainly needs at least a redesigned replacement part. Govt. Do your job and make GM fix obvious defects!

- Fernandina Beach, FL, USA

problem #24

Feb 132007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. lowered electric rear window for visibility, window was snow covered 2.window would not go back up, putting rear passenger at risk from exterior debris. 3. ordered new regulator. Old regulator will be available.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #23

Nov 082006

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,300 miles
I own a 2001 Buick Lesabre that has 72000 miles on it. In the last 3 months both rear windows have fallen down while driving the car. We have no small children and the windows are used extremely infrequently. Have researched this equipment failure on the internet and it is an ongoing problem that Buick is aware of but fails to address. I did some research on edmunds. Com and found that a bulletin (bulletin #3483 on Jan 2001, item #85 on list) was sent out from General Motors to??, I'm guessing dealerships, so they knew this was a problem even then... it states (as typed by them) "visibility: Power window devices and controls vehicle:2000 Buick Lesabre summary: Power window inoperative, noisy or glass drops. (NHTSA item number- 100117398) " adding insult to injury the cost to have this repaired is outrageous. $400 to $600 per window. The design of using a steel cable that is spooled around a thin plastic spool to raise and lower the window only guarantees 1 thing...certain failure of the part and a nice juicy profit on the repair. I do not know and have not heard of an accident being caused by this problem but the potential is high. I know I would definitely be distracted if my window suddenly fell while driving in the middle of a rain storm or any inclement weather. I would like to see Buick/GM held accountable and see some financial recompense for knowingly releasing a subpar and defective part.

- Russellville, AL, USA

problem #22

Nov 102005

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 132,526 miles
The windows keep falling down. They have been repaired seven times and the same piece keeps breaking. Now I only have one window that works.

- Nederland, TX, USA

problem #21

Oct 042006

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
All four of my window regulators failed over a period of 3 years. Most of the windows were rarely used. These window regulator failures seem to be common in certain years and models of Buick. The parts and labor to repair the regulators are very ridiculous. This should have been a recall item or at the very least parts should have been sold for much less. I repaired one of my regulators myself, but the part cost over $300. I learned from this site I can order the regulators on line for 20% of the part cost from Buick. They are not hard to replace, but it is an aggravation that shouldn't be.

- Thomasville, NC, USA

problem #20

Oct 062006

LeSabre

  • miles
This is the second posting that I have made in as little as 4 weeks regarding rear passenger side window regulator. I replaced the rear driver side window regulator approximately 4 weeks ago and now the rear passenger side rear regulator has fallen victim to the exact same problem. The part is without question defective in its design and use of plastic componentry. The dealership wants $450 to correct. I decided to fix myself, but would have spent close to $1,000 to correct to date. Now I'm waiting on the fronts to break if not the replacements, because as far as I know the replacements are built the same way. Of all the problems I have referred to the internet this is a problem that is very common among Buick owners. Something should be done to protect consumer in regards to this very poorly designed part.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #19

Oct 012006

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Rear left hand side window regulator has failed on our 2001 Buick Lesabre--we have researched and found that many other Lesabre owners have had to repeatedly replace same window regulator (on all 4 and often more than once) and the cost is very high to do so. It is the opinion of all these owners and myself that a recall should be made by Buick and that they are unfairly charging the consumer upwards of $400-$500 for the repair of something that is understood to be a defective (at the least poorly made) part!!

- Avon Lake, OH, USA

problem #18

Sep 272006

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My back right power window on my 2001 Buick Lesabre custom does not roll up. I have already replaced the back left window at a cost of $600-what a rip off by Buick-this should be a recall-I have read 100's of comments regarding this same problem and Buick takes no responsibility--this should be a recall on the cheap plastic parts used in these expensive priced cars! I never use the back windows-this is probably only the 8th time since 2001 that I have even rolled the window down. How can the dealer charge such an outrageous amount to repair when the part only costs $99? GM should be ashamed. I won't buy another Buick.

- Pleasant Grove, UT, USA

problem #17

Sep 162006

LeSabre

  • miles
Back seat window regulator broke while taking child to pediatrician during hailstorm. Window would not roll up and I couldn't pull it up.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #16

Sep 102006

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
2001 Buick Lesabre (42K miles) the rear driver side window regulator and motor failed with the window in the down position. The dealership wanted to charge $330 for the part. I decided to fix on my own by ordering the part online for $100. I inspected the original and noted the use of plastic to drive the cable in the motor housing. This is obviously a serious design flaw - there is no way this will hold up to time and use. Unless this is reviewed and addressed by this commission I will have to keep replacing with the same problematic parts. Given the large number of complaints I believe this warrants a review. Thanks.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #15

Jun 142005

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
2001 Buick Lesabre, window regulator on front passenger and rear drivers side broke, causing window glass to drop rapidly. On inspection same piece broke on both, the top plastic guide for the regulator motor cable. Installed an aftermarket part after finding out Buick replaces regulator with identical faulty components. Aftermarket has beefed up guide on regulator. Both failures were caused by normal use. Window glass cannot be secured after regulator failure without replacement. Parts were exchanged during purchase of replacement.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?