Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility Problems

2002 Buick LeSabre (Page 1 of 2)

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,435 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Buick LeSabre windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Buick LeSabre:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Buick LeSabre Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Aug 102015

LeSabre

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. While driving approximately 40 mph with the heating system activated, cold air emitted from the vents of the vehicle. In addition, there was an unknown substance leaking from the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #20

Mar 172014

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. While checking the window motor, it was discovered that the wiring inside the door was poorly assembled. Every time it rained, the window regulators had to be replaced. The failure occurred twice. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 24,000. Updated 7/21/15 updated 9/23/15

- Grayson, KS, USA

problem #19

Sep 092013

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
1. dashboard separating from windshield and causing 3" gap causing partial obstruction. Now is separating more at drivers' side near steering wheel, and about 75% pulled away at this time. Critical safety problem because air bags may deploy and injury or death could occur. Cannot fix easily and consider it critical defect and inferior workmanship. Not able to safely drive the car or able to sell it! 2. electric windows in back passenger and driver side had to be replaced. $$ 3. light switch control malfunctions and recently stuck in the "on" position. Had to disconnect battery to turn off. This just happened last night and was inconvenienced greatly !! 4. headliner falling down and was repaired twice. Now is falling down where it was not repaired!

- Glenn Dale, MD, USA

problem #18

Dec 032011

LeSabre

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on the highway a few days before December 3, 2011, and I heard a loud "pop" sound from the back seat of my car. On the 3rd, I was driving along and started hearing the sound of an open window in the back seat. I tried to close the back-right window with the power window control on the driver's door, but it didn't move the window (I heard the motor running, though). I then parked the car and got out to try to pull/push the window shut, but it would not stay all the way up. It had started with just an inch or so being open, but eventually it slid down so it was only about halfway up. From what I've read online ( www.carcomplaints.com/Buick/Lesabre/2002/windows_windshield/window_regulator_broke.shtml ), this is a fairly common problem with this model of car, but Buick is saying that there's not enough reports of this issue to declare a recall notice for the window regulator. I disagree. From what I've read, repairing a single window with this problem can cost up to $300 plus labor, and usually when one window goes bad, the others are soon to follow. I don't really feel like paying $1200 for windows in a car I only paid $5000 for used...

- Dakota City, IA, USA

problem #17

Feb 212010

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. The contact started the ignition and the front passenger window abruptly released in a downward position without assistance. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the window regulator was replaced. Recently, the rear driver window exhibited the similar failure as the front passenger window. The contact notified the dealer and scheduled an appointment for repair. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000. Updated 02/23/11 updated 02/28/11

- Richmond , IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Apr 042007

LeSabre

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. The contact stated that the drivers side and the rear passenger windows have fallen into the door and she was unable to close them. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who informed her that she needed to replace the window regulators. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure occurred intermittently and had continued to occur after the last repair. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- North Olmsted, OH, USA

problem #15

Mar 012006

LeSabre

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. The contact stated that the window motors were defective and causing the windows to remain stuck. The dealer made four attempts to diagnose and repair the failure. The manufacture was notified who offered no assistance. The vehicle was repaired by an authorized dealer. The current mileage was approximately 90,000. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #14

Mar 152010

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Power windows dropped with a bang while traveling at freeway speeds. Three of the four windows have failed this way at different times. The bang caused an unsafe distraction.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #13

Nov 162009

LeSabre

  • 21,000 miles
I have removed my dashboard cover or so called dash board pad and have re-glued it 3 times and now it is curling up at the forward end again. The front of the headliner is now rotting at the foam area between the fabric and the molded shape, the same as has been ocurring since the early 1980's. the foam is deteriorating from the heat and the sun, (Florida owners are effected more than some), turning to powder so there is nothing that can be done other than replace it with the same garbage from GM or have an upholstery shop like mine. www.markthree.com replace the fabric on the existing ceiling shaping board, after spending hours removing the ceiling headliner from the car and then removing all of the rotted foam and fabric brought to a clean and usable surface. Why are we still dealing with the same sun vs. Glue problems that we have since they stopped doing stretch ceilings in the 70's" as an upholsterer at www.eastcoastautotoys.com I do make a good living off of this abomination but as a 2002 Buick Lesabre owner, I do not appreciate that I have had to remove my dashboard cover also called pad and have reglued and remolded it 3 times. Now it is curling up at the forward ends again as well as by the air bag. The front of the headliner is now falling loose and down at the front windshield area due to rotting foam, {just like like those of the 1980's}. the foam is deteriorating and turning to powder so there is nothing that can be done other than replace it with the same garbage or have an upholstery shop like mine replace the fabric on the existing board. After spending 45 minutes removing the ceiling from the car and then another hour removing all of the rotted foam.....why are we still dealing with the same sun vs. Glue problems that we have since they stopped doing stretch ceilings in the early 70's" as an upholsterer I do make a good living off of this abomination but as a 2002 Buick Lesabre owner, I do not appreciate wasting my time...

- Bohemia, NY, USA

problem #12

Jun 092004

LeSabre

  • miles
Regarding my 2002 Buick la sabre, limited edition I am in ottawa Canada - the window regulators on this car are all faulty and I have heard this same complaint from countless other owners of this model. I bought this car August 2002 in good faith and did not expect this kind of trouble. When I first bought this car the front and back windows started having issues in putting the windows back up after being opened. After many investigations in oleans, Canada the dealer came to the conclusion that it was the window regulators and it would cost me $400 to replace just one window regulator alone this complaint has been going on ever since I bought this car and it is well know in the car industry that this particular 2002 Buick la sabre, ltd edition has had a lot of problems mainly in this area (regulators) but GM is avoiding any recalls on this and to me this is totally irresponsible on GM's part not to do a recall on these regulators, it is actually a complete avoidance of there responsible, they have just been totally derelict in their duty as a manufacturer and just letting the customer take the full financial brunt of gms ineptness to supply quality parts in their window mechanisms, ,,,,,,,,,, namely the cheap regulators! will anyone do anything about this irresponsible and troublesome safety issue"?????????????????"

- Ottawa, Ontario Canada, 00, USA

problem #11

Oct 082009

LeSabre

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this car in Feb 2008. In November 2008, the driver side front window started having issues going back up after being opened. It would go about 1/2 way up and get stuck. I would then have to pull over and force the window closed. This happened multiple times throughout the entire winter. Then more recently(10/8/09), as weather started getting cold again, the same thing started happening. Except this time, the window doesn't go back up at all. This is very frustrating and can be distracting when you're trying to pay attention to the road. My main concern is going through toll booths in mid winter, 20 degree weather and not being able to close my window. This happened last winter and I nearly got into an accident because of it. I was quoted that the window regulator would cost $600 to replace. I don't have that kind of money and therefore can't afford to replace this component.

- Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #10

Aug 122009

LeSabre

  • 75,000 miles
Driver's side car window will not go up and down.

- Brundidge, AL, USA

problem #9

Jun 022009

LeSabre

  • 44,000 miles
Rear passenger window dropped down by itself for no reason while driving. It had not been used since the driver side window also dropped down and was repaired 2 years ago. We had not used the rear windows on purpose because it is a known window regulator defect which no one has recalled. However, the window fell by itself anyway. The 3 or 4 inch gap of open space is now taped over, but it is unsecured and could easily break. I am not going to pay the $500 it takes to get it fixed. NHTSA should force a recall for this common recurring defect which is unsafe and expensive to repair.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #8

Sep 262008

LeSabre

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. The contact stated that the front passenger side window has failed twice. Both rear windows also failed. The front passenger side window regulator was replaced in September of 2008. A report was filed with the manufacturer and they stated that they would not assist with the repair because the vehicle was out of warranty. The failure mileage was 22,000 and current mileage was 26,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #7

Dec 282008

LeSabre

  • 100,000 miles
Drivers side back window, fell down. To get repaired would be $458. So window was blocked up with 4 pieces of wood by the dealership. This is a couple in their late 70's & 80. In the wintertime. Alot of complaints on line of this same problem.

- Dubois, IL, USA

problem #6

Nov 282008

LeSabre

  • 86,000 miles
I also have experienced window regulator failure, passenger front side went down and that?S where it stayed. A search on the internet has proven out that this is a major problem on Buick of this era as well as other models using the regulator mechanisms from the supplier to GM. My bill ended up over 500 dollars for repair at a GM dealership. This is a major problem, verified by one of their mechanics. I called GM customer satisfaction department and spoke with a gentleman who also verified it is a major problem, but GM will not stand behind them after expiration of the warranty. I love this car but am seriously considering trading as I am fearful of what the future holds with the other windows after researching the problem.

- Richmond, IN, USA

problem #5

Jun 152008

LeSabre

  • 22,000 miles
Electric window mechanism has failed on both rear windows. Failure occured while lowering the window with the up/down switch located on the door. Both windows failed when they were aproxiately 3/4 of the way down. The windows were each operated only a couple of times before failure. The right rear was the first to fail. Was repaired at official Buick dealership by replacing entire mechanism at a cost of $666. Left rear failed next, and has not yet been repaired.

- Milton, PA, USA

problem #4

Jul 042007

LeSabre

  • 79,000 miles
I bought a 2002 Buick Lesabre limited early in 2007, by summertime the passenger window, and both rear windows fell without being used, I bought a replacement window motor and now they are working ok, the front driver side window has difficulty going up and down, I replaced the window motor and it is still having difficulty, though this time it is due to the window track being dry. This window problem should be recalled, many other Lesabre owners experience the same problem. All 4 window motors have been replaced in 2008 and for over a year I was driving a car with no working windows, this may not appear like a problem that would lead to death or injury, but what would happen if somehow there is a fire in the car and you need to pull down your windows, or during the winter your window gets foggy and you need to pull it down to be able to see, while I understand that you can warm up the car before driving, a window can get foggy very quickly when the temperature is below 40 degrees and pulling down a window to be able to see to make a turn safely could be a life saving event.

- Salem, NH, USA

problem #3

Oct 052008

LeSabre

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. The contact stated that the motor in the window was failing. As a result, the windows do not roll up or down occasionally. The failure has been occurring for a year and a half. The vehicle has never been taken in for service. The contact stated that this was a safety issue because it could lead to theft or her children could crawl out of the window. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Ceres, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 202006

LeSabre

  • 20,135 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. The contact took her vehicle to a car wash and was informed that it could not be washed because the two rear windows had dropped down into the door and would not roll back up. The dealer stated that the regulator cable guides were cracked and twisted. The cables were replaced at the cost of $250 and the dealer was reimbursed by GM. On August 6, 2008, the failure recurred with the front driver's side window. The diagnosis was a failed regulator and it was repaired at the cost of $674.04. The current mileage was 27,283 and failure mileage was 20,135.

- Lawndale, CA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?