If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2.6

hardy worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,038 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Buick LeSabre accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Buick LeSabre:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Buick LeSabre Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Aug 152013

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my recently purchased 2004 Buick Lesabre limited at 60 mph, my speedometer suddenly went to 95 mph and tachometer went to 1500 and will not move.. even when vehicle is turned off the speedometer and tachometer stays at 95 mph and 1500 RPM respectively. Did a little research and discovered a major problem with clusters and stepper motors. My car has less than 80K miles, but I have read where this problem has occured at as little as 20K miles. Completely unfair that GM makes you rely on heads up display for a speed.. very unsafe I feel because this draws your eyes from road constantly.

- Mount Olivet, KY, USA

problem #23

Aug 252013

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • miles
My speedometer or RPM or fuel gauges do not work this is not safe for me and my family what can we do to fix this?

- Nicholasville, KY, USA

problem #22

Jan 172013

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 86,800 miles
Speedometer reading intermittently at least 20 mph lower than actual vehicle speed on highway.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #21

Mar 232012

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,994 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Buick Lesabre. While driving approximately 30 mph, the contact noticed that the speedometer was functioning erratically. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostics where the mechanic advised the contact that the instrument cluster would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000. Updated 06/05/12 the consumer stated the problem happened again on May 11, 2012. According to the invoice, the transmission cooler lines were leaking. Updated 06/06/12.

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #20

Jan 162012

LeSabre

  • miles
I first noticed the problem with the speedometer a couple of years ago, in 2009. The weather was cold, and I attributed it's disfunction to the cold. Then the other gauges started to show malfunction. When it got to the point that none of the gauges were correct, I went to two GM dealers and received no concern from either of them. They did not even acknowledge that they knew of a problem. I had to pay $400 to replace the dash cluster. About this time I received a letter from Chevrolet regarding the relay resistor or wiring connector on my Silverado, saying they could overheat and the HVAC blower might not function. I was given 10 years from date of purchase or 150,000 miles, whichever occurred first, to have this corrected if necessary. I called GM and asked why they would extend the warranty on the truck but would not even acknowledge the problem with the Buick. Again, no concern was shown. The person I spoke to was in the philippines! why would she care? we're askedto buy american, but we have to talk to someone in the philippines when there's a problem! also, I've had nothing but problems with the lights, all of them, inside and out. Couldn't tell you how many I've had to change! at the present time, we have no radio and heater lights. Goodbye GM, hello Honda!

- Granite City, IL, USA

problem #19

Mar 162011

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
The speedometer and the rest of the instrument cluster on the dash has begun to malfunction apparently this is a big problem since there are lots of questions about these online where people have complaints.. not knowing how fast you are going big issue.. not knowing how much gas you have, big issue. And not knowing he running temperature of the vehicle is a even bigger issue.. Buick has known about this problem for some time and should have already taken action. Instead they stopped building the replacement parts and now it costs even more for them to fix the problem.

- Eldon, MO, USA

problem #18

Oct 192004

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While traveling on vacation at different elevations above sea level. The speedometer was either showing a speed faster or slower than the actual speed (checked w/ a gps device). It first appeared when driving downhill on a curvy road. The speedometer was showing 20-25, but we were actually going about 65. We were able to control the speed and slow down. Another day, the speedometer was showing 120 mph and we were driving 70.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #17

Jul 042010

LeSabre

  • 60,000 miles
2004 Buick Lesabre purchased with 1K miles. At about 60K mi the gas gauge malfunctioned. At 110K the engine temp gauge malfunctioned and the dash lights faded on and off. Also, air bag warning light goes on and off randomly. Now with 120K, the tach and odometer have quit. Only remaining functioning dash instrument is the speedometer. Car also at times exhibits unpredictable electrical behavior, such as not starting after a brief interval with car off and radio on. Mechanics advised early on that issue was a defective gas gauge, which now appears to be incorrect. Faulty digital instrument panel appears confirmed. There is also a very strange and irritating noise that originates directly in the center of the dash, like small animals under the dash.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #16

Mar 192010

(reported on)

LeSabre 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ltr fwd (ia) re possible defect with the dash light in his 2004 Buick Lesabre. Shortly after purchasing the vehicle, the consumer began having problems with the dash lights. The dealer didn't find a problem until the warranty expired. The consumer went to another dealer and they found a bad relay in the trunk area, which cost of$300. Two years later, the problem returned. When the lights were turned on, the dash lights did not come on. The consumer was unable to read the speedometer and other instruments on the panel.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #15

Mar 072010

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I own a 2004 Buick Lesabre. The speedometer and gas gauge doesn't work and is dangerous driving since I don't know how fast I am going. Are there any recalls with Buick to get this fixed since it is a safety hazard to me and others. I have had this problem for a while.

- Stony Point, NY, USA

problem #14

Feb 082010

LeSabre

  • 79,566 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Speedometer suddenly failed.

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #13

Aug 152009

LeSabre

  • 78,000 miles
I noticed my car seemed to be traveling slower than most traffic when traveling at posted speed limits. Eventually while driving at a reasonable speed noticed speedometer read 95mph, needle started jumping ahead to higher speeds while maintaining normal speed. Once I stopped the car the needle didn't return to the zero position, but stayed a 80mph. Starting the car would reset the needle backward 10mph but it wouldn't return to zero. I researched the problem and discovered the same problem was occurring in similar model year GM pick-ups resulting in a class action suit. Shortly after speedometer failure the fuel gauge failed jumping forward and backward. I brought the vehicle to the dealership because the car was approaching 80,000 miles which was the limit for coverage in the full size truck class action suit. The dealer replaced the instrument cluster at a cost of around $400, it took about a week for the dealer to obtain the part. I sent GM the form for instrument cluster failure class action suit and was called by GM and sent a letter telling me that the Buick Lesabre is not covered under this program. I have also discovered my mothers 2004 Buick Lesabre with similar mileage has the exact same problem.

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #12

Jun 102008

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Buick Lesabre. The contact stated that the instrument panel lighting and tail lights fail constantly. As a result, visibility is significantly reduced. The dealer stated that he would have to replace the instrument cluster at the cost of $369. As of March 20, 2009, the vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer did not assist. The failure mileage was 44,000 and current mileage was 51,000. Updated 12/8/09 updated 12/09/09

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #11

Jan 012009

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Buick Lesabre. While driving 50 mph, the contact noticed that the fuel gauge and tachometer dial stopped working. The entire instrument panel failed. The dealer stated that the vehicle could still be driven. The contact stated that it was a safety hazard not knowing how much fuel is in the vehicle while driving. The failure and current mileages were 42,000. Updated 02/05/09 updated 02/09/09.

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 212008

LeSabre

  • 51,000 miles
My 2004 Buick Lesabre limited had about 49,000 miles when all of a sudden the gas gauge stopped working. It is most often pegged in the 6 O'clock position, which also is affecting the heat gauge. I called Buick, after conferring with my mechanic who assured me it was the instrument cluster and not the fuel sensor in the tank. Buick made it sound as if they were going to fix the problem if I jumped through their hoops and take it to a dealer and pay $85 to put it on the computer. The computer confirmed that it was a malfunctioning instrument cluster, after waiting a week, Buick called me back and said they were not going to fix the problem and that it was up to me to pay the over $600 to replace the cluster. I have not done so as of yet. Now the speedometer is totally useless. The car now has 52,000 miles and on a recent road trip, the gauge quit working all together. I consider it luck that I have not gotten a ticket yet. I can live without a fuel gauge since the dash computer tells me how far I can travel before running out of gas. I cannot, however, live without a speedometer. It has now become a safety issue. I know from searching the web, including this web site, that Buick is aware of the problem. I just don't know why they are so totally against fixing it. I only have one more gauge to go before the dash is totally inoperable and that is the tachometer. I have been noticing a pulse in that recently as well so I'm sure its just a matter of time before that goes out as well.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #9

Oct 222008

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Buick Lesabre. While the contact was placing fuel into the vehicle, the fuel gauge dial on the instrument panel moved from full to empty. The dial remained on empty and would not move. While driving 70 mph, the entire instrument panel failed without warning. The dealer stated that the entire instrument panel needed to be replaced. There was no recall pertaining to this failure. The failure mileage was 92,000. Updated 12/22/08. The power windows stopped working. Updated 12/23/08.

- Boonville, NC, USA

problem #8

Mar 152008

LeSabre

  • 45,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Buick Lesabre. The contact noticed that the speedometer failed. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic for an oil change and the contact informed him of the speedometer failure. The mechanic stated that the vehicle may be included in a recall. The contact called the dealer and they advised him to bring them the vehicle. No repairs have been made. The failure mileage was 45,500 and current mileage was 47,833.

- Webester, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 102008

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,824 miles
Speedometer failed, dash indicator not working. Dealer, desert Buick in las vegas, refused to cover cost of replacement (est. $600-$800) yet 3 western states have sued GM over this failure, certainly a safety issue. GM has a "campaign" to fix vehicles with less than 70,000 miles but desert Buick will not fix my vehicle.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #6

Mar 122008

LeSabre

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
I have several complaints. My car has never been in an accident. I have had to replace the gas tank filler neck as it cracked. My car had 45,000 some miles on it at the time. ($473) Buick said it was the result of freezing/ thawing temperatures in winter. Then my ashtray door broke - it won't stay closed on it's own. Buick wanted $300 - 400 to fix that. I'm using velcro. Then my odometer needle stopped working and just hangs. I have had to replace every light bulb in the car and the lights on the dash heating/air panel area have gone out. I have less than 55,000 miles on the car now and all this happened before it hit 50,000 miles. This is a $35,000 car retail -come on Buick - lets do better.

- Lenxa, KS, USA

problem #5

Jan 052008

LeSabre

  • miles
Driving my car around 45 miles per hour when the speedometer needle began to climb without any more acceleration to the gas. The needle went past the 140 mph mark and then bottomed out hanging completely still. After turning off the car it remained hanging until a couple weeks later then it would begin to climb but never reached the correct speed. (I have the mph image on my windshield that reveals my speed-which still works). The needle on my speedometer continues to fluctuate or remain frozen each time I drive my car-it never matches the mph image on my windshield. Thankfully I have this image, or it could of caused serious braking or panic the first time this happened and the speedometer was telling me I was going over 140 when I actually I was not.

- Canton, SD, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?