Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,169 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Buick Lucerne fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Buick Lucerne:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Buick Lucerne Owner Comments

problem #6

Jun 212014

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 24,863 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lucerne. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician stated that the ignition coil and module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 24,863. Updated 12/2/14 updated 05/7/2015

- Manville , NJ, USA

problem #5

Aug 242014

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,602 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lucerne. While driving at an unknown speed, the engine stalled. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the fuse block was defective and caused the fuel pump module to fail. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 77,602. Updated 09/24/14..updated 09/25/14 the consumer states the vehicle would not start. However while driving on 9/13 at various speeds the engine died. It died once again for the mechanic.the diagnostic showed the vehicle was not receiving fuel. Updated 2/24/2015

- Hardin , MO, USA

problem #4

Nov 232013


  • 52,600 miles
Car would not start, and the fuel relay fuse had blown, damaging the fuse box. Fuse was replaced and on Dec 4, 2013 the car would not start again. New fuse block had to be installed. Mechanic's diagnoses said the fuel pump was not receiving good voltage at time, further inspection and testing showed under the rear seal left side fuse block is receiving good voltage but sending a low voltage signal to the fuel pump. Further investigation shows a burnt and melted high resistance connection at the fuel pump relay. Normally, I understand the fuse next to the relay should have blown. Problem seems to stem with the fuse box and there was only one available in the United States on 12/4/2013 which I got. My mechanic was told they are on national backorder and it could take up to 6 months to receive one. So there is an obvious problem with these fuse boxes.

- Erie, CO, USA

problem #3

Aug 182013

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles


My car drove perfectly fine in the morning. Early afternoon I went to drive the car and although it cranked, it did not and would not start. I took it the dealer who informed me that the fuel pump pulled too much amperage, causing the relay and the fuse box to burn. He stated I was lucky the car did not catch on fire. He further advised me that I had to change all three parts at a cost of over $1600!! I did further research and discovered that this is a known and common problem with the 2008 Buick Lucerne. I am amazed that I was not advised of this potential life threatening problem and that even with the knowledge, GM did not issue a recall. I have asked GM to pay for the fixing of this problem, but thus far there has not been any decision as to what they will do. I need GM to first pay to fix the problem, and second to issue a recall before someone gets killed.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 132008

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 19,950 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated when refueling the vehicle, gasoline would spew back out from the filler tube and onto the contact. The dealer advised that the vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. In addition, the front driver window was abnormally slow in opening and would squeak. The driver seat has no padding and when exiting the vehicle, she would have to tilt the steering wheel upward in order to exit. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 19,950. Updated 12/7/10 the consumer also stated the traction light illuminated and the door locks had to repaired. Updated evoq 03/01/11

- Lake Delton , WI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Sep 302008


  • 1,000 miles
I purchased an 08 Buick Lucerne in Sept. Of 08. My concern deals with the accelerator. This model I am told has an all electronically controlled accelerator. I find it almost impossible to hold an even speed on the highway as it is constantly either speeding up or slowing down, and I have no perception of ever moving the pedal. At stop signs/lights it will sometimes leap out with a "jack rabbit" start which was totally unplanned for. This I feel is a major safety issue plus I also think it has a lot to do with the poor mileage I am experiencing. I am only getting 15-23 mpg which is far from the 23-29 I got on my 05 lasabre with the same engine. I have had it to two dealerships and they basically tell me this is all electronic and there is nothing they can do. I find this answer unacceptable and hope that you can possibly help. Thank you

- N. Ft. Myers, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?