Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,844 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Buick Regal steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Buick Regal:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Buick Regal Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Dec 012008

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Buick Regal. While driving approximately 15 mph on normal road conditions, the power steering failed when proceeding to make a turn. The contact exerted more effort to turn the steering wheel. The failure occurred intermittently. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The authorized dealer was notified. Through research, the technician discovered NHTSA campaign id number 03V527000 (steering;rack and pinion). The contact experienced failures identical to the ones mentioned in the recall. The failure and current mileages were 62,000. The ABS motor failed which prevented the rear brakes from working and also the ignition switch was faulty which caused the vehicle to stall when using the left turn signal. Updated 03/04/09.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #35

Nov 142004

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 1998 Buick Regal. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 03V527000 (steering:rack and pinion). She immediately took the vehicle to the dealer for repair. Several weeks later, she noticed that the vehicle would spontaneously drift to the left. In addition, the vehicle would sporadically stall while driving various speeds. The dealer stated that she needed to purchase a new vehicle. The current mileage was 180,000 and the failure mileage was unknown. Updated 01/14/09. Updated 01/15/09.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #34

Jan 092008

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Buick Regal. While driving 1-5 mph, the vehicle would constantly stall. In addition, the vehicle stalled while driving in reverse. The contact stated that the vehicle would shut off when the check engine light illuminated. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after it stalled. The failure mileage was 92,900 and current mileage was 92,988. Updated 02/15/08. The consumer has experienced other problems with the vehicle such as steering gear failure, which the rack and pinion was replaced. Air condition failure, transmission torque converter, which the entire transmission was overhauled. The ignition switch shorted out. The right front window regulator was replaced. Updated

- Horizon City, TX, USA

problem #33

Aug 132007

Regal 6-cyl

  • miles


I was leaving a parking lot when the power steering failed to assist when turning right, turning left was O K. I managed to get the car home, it was a short distance. This occurred on or about 8/2/07. On 8/13/07 I looked under the car with a mirror and was able to find a open cavity on the bottom of the steering unit. There was a shaft and nut in the cavity but could not discern a bearing. I looked on the internet for relevant information and found that a recall had been issued for this problem. I went to the local dealer and found out that the dealer had accomplished the recall on the vehicle. I came home and found the invoice for the recall, it indicates a date of July 27, 2004, a mileage of 58,373 and that the power steering gear lower bearing was replaced. The car now has 96,644 miles on it. I have an appointment with the dealer on 8/17/07 to ascertain what needs to be done to remedy the situation. No parts are available. Just thought you might like to know.

- East Aurora, NY, USA

problem #32

Jun 012007

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Buick Regal. In 2004, the contact received recall notice number 03V527000 (steering:rack and pinion). The vehicle had 48,721 miles at the time. She went to the dealer and had the recall repair performed. The power steering has failed again and she believes that it should not have failed so quickly. The current mileage was 72,000 and failure mileage was 71,000.

- Shelburne, VT, USA

problem #31

Mar 102007

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The steering rack and pinion of the Buick Regal has been noted to fail in various models, years 1996-1998; however many vehicles (identified by VIN) are not subject to recall status. I believe that further investigation needs to be conducted, simply because some of the vehicles not listed are experiencing the same problem. The steering suddenly fails to the left, causing hazardous driving conditions for the driver.

- Ashtabula, OH, USA

problem #30

Dec 182006

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles


1998 Regal power steering rack wont turn left. This is irresponsible of GM (Buick) to not step up and fix this problem. I was given this car this year with only 26000 miles on it. Within 2 months the steering gave out on the highway 600 miles from home. Buick had the same old story, your VIN doesn't fall within the recalls block of VIN's. this problem has nothing to do with VIN's or production dates. The casting on the housing of the steering gear is where the true manufacturing defect can be identified. The state dept of rehab was going to put hand controls in this car for me, but now I have a 1200$ repair bill I can't afford. This isn't right.

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #29

Nov 302006

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving low speeds on a street, there was a loss of all power steering without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop, who determined the serpentine belt fractured and needed to be replaced. After the replacement, the mechanic performed a test drive, and while attempting to make a sharp left hand turn at low speeds, the steering rack and pinion fractured. The vehicle was towed to the independent repair shop where the steering rack and pinion as well as the bushings was replaced. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Wildwood, IL, USA

problem #28

Aug 292006

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
: the contact stated while making left turns, the steering became hard. The vehicle was not inspected. There was a NHTSA recall, # 03V527000, regarding the rack and pinion. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #27

Aug 222006

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 15 mph, the steering wheel would not turn left. The dealership determined the rack and pinion needed to be replaced. There was a NHTSA recall, #03V527000, concerning the rack and pinion. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Chesterton, IN, USA

problem #26

Apr 112006

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Vehicle has difficulty turning to the left - as if the power steering has failed. When you press on the gas after making a left turn the car will jerk back to the right - this could result in a serious accident. There is a recall matching this information, however the inconsiderate person (william bloechel) said that this car is not covered by the recall and would not let me speak to anyone else at the company.

- Alton, IL, USA

problem #25

Feb 112006

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
Steering requiring more effort than normal and jerky when making left turns. Replaced power steering pump and flushed system, all new fluid. Problem still exists. Took it to a dealer because there is a recall for this exact problem. Buick recall campaign number: 03V527000 date: 2003-Dec-11 component: Steering: Rack and pinion the dealer said my VIN wasn't covered in the recall but they would be glad to check it & fix the problem if I paid for it. What gives" what good is a recall if the dealers don't honor it" I found numerous complaints on of the same problem with the dealers saying their VIN isn't covered under the recall.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #24

Dec 012005

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle looses all power steering while turning the vehicle to the left. There is a NHTSA recall, # 03V527000 regarding the steering: Rack and pinion. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Taylorville, IL, USA

problem #23

Dec 151998

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There is currently a recall for this problem but dealers and Buick says it did not include my VIN no. NHTSA no. Is 03V527000 mfg. No. recall no. Is 03062. The complain and problem is within the steering of the car the rack and pinion when making a left hand turn of any sort the rack and pinion tries to pull the steering back to the right with a re-pronounced jerking, it feels like the car will not turn left, I have call several Buick dealers they said there was no recall. I have called Buick they said there was with the same exact symptoms I have, but the recall did not include my VIN. No. they said to take it to a Buick dlr. Have them check it, and if, and only if, it is the same as the recall states the will only assist in the repair. And I have to pay for the dealer checking it. This is a serious problem and has to be repaired, I don't feel I have to pay for it when there is a lightening recall on the books for the problem. I need help, before some one gets hurt or killed.

- Crescent City , FL, USA

problem #22

Sep 072005


  • miles
I took car my car into a shop to have checked out, one of my complaints was that my steering appeared to be loose and not turning right when I turn left especially. Although this doesn't happen continuously it has become a big concern of mine. It sometimes feels like I don't have control over the steering wheel. The mechanic looked up and founded that a recalled had been placed on this make of auto. I contacted General Motors immediately, only to be told that my car was not included in recalled. This problem is serious and I will like to know if there is anyway you can assist me.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #21

Jun 012005

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
I was driving on ac expressway when my steering failed. I could turn right but was blocked from turning left. After some time I could force the car to go left, but it forced the gear bearing to slip and now the steering wheel is 180 degrees upside down at straight ahead position. I have not had the car repaired yet. It is still inoperable. This Regal was made in Canada in April of 1998, more than six months after the Buick Regal recall for this same problem. I am asking for an investigation from ODI so that if all 1998 and 1999 Regals have this potential problem, that their owners be notified that steering may fail while driving. Only the 1998 Regal owners who had cars built from 1/1/97 to 10/15/97 have been notified so far. And with my vehicle being manufactured six months after the recall, it wasn't just built with an errant 'old' part, as G.M. claims, but which can be refuted by all the other complaints since then. Owners must be informed, as the Regals were originally sold with the pitch that the cars could go 200,000 miles before wearing out due to the 'w' wheel base. And owners like myself may try to drive that far- not knowing that the steering fails at around 100,000 miles.

- Gladwyne, PA, USA

problem #20

Dec 272004

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The vehicle turns properly to the right, but when turning to the left, it feels as though there is no power steering. The vehicle is currently at dealership being repaired, and consumer was told it was a problem with rack and pinion. Vehicle is not part of the current recall.

- Lake Oswego, OR, USA

problem #19

Aug 222004

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving consumer tried to turn left but was unable to do so. The steering wheel locked. And consumer was unable to turn left. However, consumer was able to turn right. Consumer was able to maintain control of the vehicle, and drove it to the dealer for inspection. Mechanic determined that the rack and pinion needed to be replaced.

- Winfield, AL, USA

problem #18

Jun 282004

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 116,772 miles
Recall 03V527000 concerning steering gear bearing failure. Consumer experienced problems with exerting more effort when making turns. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the rack and pinion and the power steering pump. The consumer had to replace two front tires due to excessive wear and had to get a front end wheel alignment which was a result of a defective rack. The consumer requested reimbursement. The consumer was told his vehicle was not included in the recall.

- Forest City, PA, USA

problem #17

Nov 152003

Regal 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The rack and pinion steering went out in November of 2003 and was replaced by day motors. A couple of weeks after the repair we say on tv and in the news paper there was a recall on this vehicle for this repair. Day motors said they did not know anything about this recall. After several months, they responded and said that our vehicle VIN # was not on the recall list. I fail to see how this could be, as the defect stated on the kelly blue book information describes this same problem I had with the rack and pinion steering. Had I not caught this problem in time, this could have caused a serious accident.

- Mccomb, MS, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?