Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 13
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,116 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Buick Regal engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Buick Regal:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Buick Regal Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jul 012016

Regal 6-cyl

  • miles


2001 Buick Regal. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to repair defective recall notice 15757. The consumer stated the vehicle caught fire. Also, the vehicle had an overheating problem.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #22

Nov 162012

Regal 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Buick Regal. Consumer writes in regards to information sent to customer service about vehicle fire and engine oil deposit on exhaust manifold recall notice. The consumer stated by the time he received the recall notice, the vehicle had already caught on fire.

- Cynthiana, KY, USA

problem #21

Nov 152012

Regal 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Buick Regal. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle engine fire and recall notice that states drops of engine oil deposit on exhaust manifold could cause engine compartment fire. Consumer seeks reimbursement for fair market value of vehicle.

- Hartford, WI, USA

problem #20

Jan 182016

Regal 6-cyl

  • miles


2001 Buick Regal. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to repair exhaust manifold engine compartment fire recall notice. The consumer stated on January 18, 2016 the vehicle caught on fire.

- East Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #19

Dec 142015

Regal 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Buick Regal. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 03/16/16 updated 03/30/16.

- Machesney Park, IL, USA

problem #18

Apr 242013


  • 10 miles
Driving down the road and it stalls- replaced the fuel pump- fuel filter- spark plugs and it still stalls- seems to be a number of complaints on this and no codes come up when hooked to a computer.

- Kingfield, ME, USA

problem #17

Apr 022012


  • miles


I went on lunch, on my first day of work none the less, but I parked my car in the parking garage after going to the local mcdonalds and went in and ate. And from what I'm told the fire was noticed first at around 1240pm and I had gotten back at 1235 so it litterally happened with in minutes of me getting back. By the time the firefighters got it out the whole engine and front end was basically melted.

- Lorain, OH, USA

problem #16

Dec 192011


  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2001 Buick Regal. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA recall campaign id number: 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling) to prevent the rocker cover gasket from leaking oil. The contact stated that shortly after receiving the recall repairs, the vehicle caught on fire from the engine. The contact believed that the recall repair was the cause of the fire. The contact had not encountered a failure prior to the recall repairs. The failure and the current mileages were unknown. Kmj

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 212011

Regal 6-cyl

  • miles
I filed a complaint with the attorney general who in turn referred me to you (NHTSA). However, I filed a complaint with NHTSA two weeks before I filed with the attorney general. Here is a copy of the complaint: My 2001 Buick Regal caught on fire in August 2011 after a short drive to the gas station. In April 2009, Buick issued a safety recall on my car stating there have been engine compartment fires. I was told I was entitled to a "free" and "effective" remedy for my car. I took my car to [xxx]to have the "fix" completed on January 14, 2010. The repair was obviously not "effective" as my car still caught on fire just as described in the recall. I called Buick and filed a claim which was denied without anyone coming to look at my car or anything. The claims department stated that they were denying my claim because the California breach of warranty statute was up and they only had to fix the car if it was within the first four years from the date the car was originally purchased. This makes no sense as the safety recall was issued eight years after the car was originally purchased. Furthermore, federal law states that if a safety issue is discovered within ten years of the car being purchased the owner is entitled to a free and effective remedy. Again, the remedy for my car was obviously "not effective!" I then asked Buick what if I had been in the car with my kids when it caught on fire or what if it had been parked in my garage and my house caught on fire" their response was, "well, that didn't happen so I'm not going to discuss it." So basically, I'm left to assume that I would had to have been burned in that car before Buick would accept responsibility for their ill manufactured car" that hardly seemsright. I still owe $400 on a car I can't drive. This is wrong on so many levels. Please, please help me. Thank you so much for your time. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 212011

Regal 6-cyl

  • miles
I went to the gas station and then went to my parents house where I parked my car. This was all of about 6 miles. I went into my parents house and was watching tv when my dad came in and said come here quick... your car's on fire. I couldn't believe it. It was working fine when I went to the store and then it caught on fire out of the blue. There was a recall in April 2009 on my car due to engine compartment fires. I took it to john L. sullivan in January 2010 to have the recall work done at no charge. Yet, my car caught on fire anyway. I filed a complain with GM motors who denied my claim stating the breach of warranty statute of limitations had expired per California state law. However, federal law states I am entitled to a free and "effective" remedy for this situation. Obviously, the remedy was not effective. I want GM to fix my car immediately!!!!!! federal law should override any state law. I am very lucky I was not in the car when the flames erupted. I am also very lucky it was not parked in my garage or something where my house could have caught fire. There were absolutely no indications that anything was wrong with my car.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #13

Jul 182010


  • 115,027 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Buick Regal. The contact stated while driving 70 mph the vehicle lost power and the engine caught fire. The contact did not mention if there were any injuries or if a fire report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test that located the failure in the engine wiring harness. NHTSA campaign id number 09V116000, engine and engine cooling was received after the failure occurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current miles was 115,027.

- Durant, MS, USA

problem #12

Nov 122009


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Buick Regal. Consumer states vehicle was deemed a total loss due to an engine fire resulting from an engine leak onto the exhaust manifold the consumer stated he officially gave the vehicle to his son on December 15, 2007. A recall was issued on April 14, 2009, but, neither him or his son received a recall letter. November 12, 2009, the vehicle caught on fire and was destroyed. The consumer then received a notice in November 2010 stating the recall had not been performed and to contact the dealer as soon as possible.

- Lakeland, TN, USA

problem #11

Nov 012010


  • 58,500 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Buick Regal. The contact noticed oil was leaking form under the vehicle while it was parked. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told the front rocker gasket was leaking. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was told the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V118000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 58,500 and the current mileage was 64,000.

- Logandale, NV, USA

problem #10

Jan 122010


  • 99,584 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Buick Regal. The contact started the engine on a cold start and a shaking motion occurred. Additionally, whenever the vehicle was in operation the engine power failed to allow the vehicle to exceed over 25 mph. Also, the transmission was leaking transmission fluid. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer for inspection. The failure was contributed to the power train, transmission and engine. The vehicle has not been repaired for the malfunctions. The failure mileage was 99,500. The current mileage was 99,584. Updated 05/13/10.

- Oakland Park, FL, USA

problem #9

Mar 112010


  • 111,000 miles
My 2011 Regal had to have the lower and upper intake gasket replaced as well as the valve cover gaskets.. a week after that the service engine soon light came on and the mechanic said it was the throttle body gasket. I then got it replaced and then a week after that the service engine soon light came on again. It was pulling up a code for a vacuum leak. Wtf! my boyfriend turned the light off and it hasn't come on since, so I don't know if it was a glitch.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #8

Jan 072009


  • 100,000 miles
In Dec.2008, I had my oil changed and I noticed several week later that oil was leaking on my garage floor. I then took my car to have it checked for the oil leak. My mechanic informed me that it was a problem with the "intake manifold" which had a bad design and it was also causing coolant to leak into the oil. I immediately checked to see if there were any recalls on my vehicle, and there were. However, when I called the "Buick" home office I was told that there were no recalls on my vehicle. The information which I collected stated that letters were mailed out for 1997-2000 models on April 28,2008. It also stated that GM will advise when letters for the 2001-2003 models will be mailed. The problem is getting worse and I am afraid that this problem may cause my car to catch fire.

- Monroe, GA, USA

problem #7

Apr 162008

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,870 miles
Driving the car to the shopping mall there was nothing out of the ordinary, no smell, no noise. About 15 minutes later I remembered I forgot something in the car and went out to retrieve it when I saw fire trucks. There were flames shooting out 10 feet high of a car, thinking poor fool, then realizing that fool was me! it was my 2001 Regal. The car was torched to the inside dash board. Witnesses stated sparks were coming from under the front left, when it burst into flames. Needless to say the car is toast. Never, ever any warning, no dash lights indicating a problem, and it only had 65K miles on it. My son has a 92 Toyota with over 200K, bet that won't ever catch fire!

- Wildwood, IL, USA

problem #6

Mar 042008

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,357 miles
My wife went out to start the vehicle after it had been sitting for 2-3 days in 0-20 degree temperatures. Upon turning the ignition switch she heard a loud explosion sound, saw the hood bulge, and saw smoke billow out from the sides. She immediately removed key, exited the vehicle, and asked me to come out to the vehicle. Upon opening the hood we found pieces of the heat shield, and plastic intake manifold scattered through the engine compartment, along with the oil fill cap, which had been blown off.

- Eielson Afb, AK, USA

problem #5

Apr 162007

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Buick Regal. The contact stated that the engine failed when activating the turn signals and slowing down to make a turn. The vehicle will restart after a few minutes have passed. The failure began in April 2007, and was now occurring more frequently. The current and failure mileages were unknown.

- Browncity, MI, USA

problem #4

Jan 262007

Regal 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
At about 80,000 miles grinding noise in right front wheel developed, replaced brakes and rotors found the right front wheel bearing was bad and had to have it replaced. At about 84,000 miles the lifters were making a ticking noise that sounded like a helicopter, replaced the lifters at a cost of $1600 this was just one month after the final payment of the 5 year loan one month after the lifters were replaced the engine seized up needed to be towed and I'm told that the main bearing has gone bad and the engine needs to be replaced or rebuilt.

- Croton On Hudson, NY, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?