Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,705 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Buick Rendezvous engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Buick Rendezvous:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Buick Rendezvous Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Mar 112009

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Buick Rendezvous. While driving approximately 35 mph on normal road conditions, the temperature gauge displayed a significant increase. Immediately, the check engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel and remained lit until the engine was turned off. Roadside assistance was called to the scene and the vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for inspection. The technician observed a coolant leak and stated that the head gasket failed. The vehicle is in the process of being repaired. The failure and current mileages were 68,000. 4/01/09 updated 04/09/09.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #29

Jan 232009


  • miles
My 2002 Buick Rendezvous began to lose cabin heating and showed low coolant levels. Repair facility found coolant in engine oil and determined intake manifold gasket repair was needed. Repair facility commented that this is a common problem that was easily confirm by some research. I am strongly of the opinion that this matter should be a recall by the manufacturer.

- Machesney Park, IL, USA

problem #28

Nov 032008


  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Rendezvous. The first failure occurred in the summer of 2006. The vehicle overheated without warning. The contact took the vehicle to an auto repair shop and they stated that the gasket failed. The gasket was replaced. The second failure occurred on November 3, 2008. The contact noticed that the heater was not working and she added some coolant. After a few minutes, the vehicle began to overheat. She pulled into a parking lot and the vehicle shut off. Fluid was leaking from the rear of the vehicle and it was towed to a repair shop. The diagnosis indicated that the gasket failed and the intake manifold was deteriorating. The repair shop will replace the gasket and the intake manifold at the cost of $600. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 105,000 and current mileage was 143,000.

- Ridgeville, SC, USA

problem #27

Oct 182008


  • miles


The rear hatch door unlocks by itself from the body computer problem when you first start the car also other things that are controlled by this unit work or don't work including air bags sys outside temp air cond. Cooling fans among others. If you shut the car off and turn it on it goes away until you shut the car off.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #26

Oct 022008


  • 79,300 miles
My 2002 Buick Rendezvous with 79,300 miles on it blew a head gasket. There was no warning on vehicle overheating. All of a sudden temp gauge was in the red zone and a warning light and sound came. I immediately pulled over and turned off the engine to check the manual. The manual said the vehicle needed to be serviced immediately. I was one mile from the dealership and drove straight there. They said the vehicle had a blown head gasket. Repairs normally approx $1,800. Dealer did it for $950 because my son-in-law works there. I was told this is a common problem with the Rendezvous and my investigation reveals the same. A well maintained vehicle should not have a blown head gasket at 79,300 with no warning of the vehicle overheating. Contacted Buick customer service and was told there was nothing they would do as vehicle was outside of warranty.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #25

Aug 022008


  • 85,000 miles
My air conditioner in my 02 Rendezvous quit working recently. (my vehicle has only 85,000 on it.) it was determined that the A/C condenser has a major leak. In the process they also found a small leak in my radiator. $860 later it will be fixed by the end of the day.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #24

Dec 172007

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Buick Rendezvous. The contact stated that the vehicle overheated when he used the air conditioner. He took vehicle to dealer but because of the costs, he decided to have a friend repair it. However, the issue still occurred. The other issue with the vehicle was that it did not get the fuel mileage that it was supposed. He also noticed that the rear end of the vehicle was making noise, a grumbling noise to be exact. He changed rear end fluid but could still hear noise. The noise would be heard when he turned right or left. He received recall notices for his vehicle (02V222000, 07V349000, 07E021000) but when he consulted the dealer and manufacturer, he was told very conflicting stories about whether the recalls on his vehicle existed and if they had been previously performed. At this time, the contact did not know if the recalls could affect his vehicle and how to get the issues remedied. The current mileage was 112,000 and failure mileage was 107,000. Updated 09/10/08. Updated 09/11/08

- Newark, OH, USA

problem #23

Jan 162006


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Rendezvous. On at least 50 occasions, the vehicle just completely shut down and lost power without warning. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle would "buck" and stall as if it were out of gas. Within the last six months, the vehicle would not start for approximately thirty minutes, even after refueling. When the vehicle would completely shut off, the contact would have to wait between thirty minutes and two hours before it would restart. He also noticed that the amount of time it would take the vehicle to restart would coincide with how hot it was outside. Many times when the vehicle shut off, the air conditioning was activated. Both the dealer and a local garage were unable to duplicate the failure. The current mileage was approximately 150,000 and failure mileage was approximately 90,000.

- Hampstead, NH, USA

problem #22

Feb 252008

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,054 miles
General Motors 3.4 liter engine failure at 83,000 miles. Front hub assembly failure driver and passenger side.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #21

Feb 012008

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We have an 2002 Buick Rendezvous AWD. Just recently our car starting to act up while driving. It was making a whining noise and acting as if it was in neutral while stopping. We found out that the transmission, intake manifold, wheel bearing, radiator, A/C condenser, rims are bad making our tires lose air, and head gasket all need replaced. We also were told that the power steering had a leak and was causing a noise. We are looking at having to pay over 5 thousand dollars to fix everything. After looking on the internet, we have seen millions of complaints for all these things breaking in the 2002 model. Something needs done about this. I will do whatever it takes to get help from GM to fix these damaged cars. These should all be recalled.

- Cumberland, MD, USA

problem #20

Aug 262004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles


Air conditioner went out at 41,000 miles---can't afford to replace front wheel-bearing went out at 80,000---can't afford to replace intake gasket blown at 89,000---can't afford to replace.

- Osawatomie, KS, USA

problem #19

Feb 152008

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,193 miles
I have experienced a series of mechanical failures on my vehicle since the year I purchased it. The latest incident was 02/15/08 wherein the lights on the vehicle console began to flash...engine coolant light, change oil, battery-the vehicle then began to slow down approaching 42mph (the car had regular maintenance on 02/08/08). This occurred on highway 680 southbound during rush hour traffic. The vehicle has been serviced repeatedly for the same issue with no remedy more than five times. I now feel at risk and feel the vehicle is a safety hazard. The car completely shut down on me 08/30/07 in triple digit heat on highway 680 northbound. I had the vehicle towed to the dealership for service. I was told the problem was a faulty fuel filter. The filter was replaced and the problem recurred about 3 or 4 weeks later. The dealership and GM tell me that since they cannot duplicate the problem, there is nothing they can do. The previous time I had my vehicle serviced for mechanical failure, my husband picked the vehicle up for repair and he experienced the same problem immediately after pulling off the delearship property. All of my services have been performed by the same dealership. All of my maintenance is current. There must be some reasonable explanation for this recurring problem, but no one seems to have an answer. I have had the computer/parts replaced twice within 6 months, fuel filters replaced, sensors replaced and a host of other items. I want to get rid of the vehicle at this point because I have to travel almost 30 miles one way to my place of employment. Since GM says there is nothing wrong with the vehicle, I should at least be able to trade the current vehicle in at the highest trade-in value and purchase a vehicle of similar design and value.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 082008

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
2002 Buick Rendezvous, - sold by GM S "GM certified".. only must have been a joke. From the onset, solenoid difficulties created dangerous situation on highway, called them and spoke rather bluntly... that was after many, many calls. Wipers didn't work in the rain... would stick.. very dangerous while driving. Intake manifold gasket - cost one thousand dollars.. fuel gauge does not work. Car does not run.. get stuck for the past two months, at least three times per week. Paid four hundred dollars to replace "things".. still gets stuck.. now car won't start. Sometimes, windows don't work, car won't lock or unlock, car won't start. At this point, car is dead. BCM? who knows. Disaster car. It's a gift from god that we're not dead.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #17

Jan 022008

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,358 miles
Vehicle overheats; intake manifold repaired twice (once in warranty and once out of warranty period); independent garage and Buick dealership say that head gaskets are leaking. Buick has been contact to assist but has said mileage is too high for any coverage; appears to be an issue with increased claims of head gasket repair after about a year and a half in service; the May 2002 build month has very high occurrence of this replacement (my vehicle was build in this period).

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #16

Sep 212005

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • 46,141 miles
2002 Buick Rendezvous with intake manifold gasket defect. Consumer stated the leaking intake manifold gasket was replaced for a second time in two years.

- Northport, NY, USA

problem #15

Apr 042007

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
2002 Buick Rendezvous cxl has coolant leak from the intake manifold. Several times the coolant was almost gone. After the fourth refill of fluids the service engine soon light came on and is still on. I just keep filling the coolant and driving the vehicle because I was told by the dealership that this is not covered by warranty & no recall. I can't afford $1,500 for the repair so I am driving with the possibility that the engine may blow up. The problem has not been corrected. Updated 12/12/07

- Waterloo, IL, USA

problem #14

Apr 012007

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,000 miles
Buick Rendezvous 2002 failure with blown transfer case & transmission, main exhaust pipe loose from head, rear end noise, passenger door sticks.

- Merrickville, 00, USA

problem #13

Aug 152007

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,425 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Rendezvous. The contact stated that the all wheel drive light illuminated and displayed disabled on the instrument panel. He was informed that there was water intrusions flowing from under the carpet to the drain and fuel pump harness. He stated that the ABS harness was affected by the condensation from the air conditioner, which is causing the failure. The repair would cost $1,500. The contact also stated that the fuel gauge does not show the proper amount of fuel. The speed was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 58,425. Updated 08/30/07.

- District Heights, MD, USA

problem #12

Mar 012007

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
2002 Buick Rendezvous - intake manifold gasket... intake manifold gasket needs to be replaced - 2 mechanic opinions... one from dealer, one from private garage. After researching found out it is a common problem that Buick is aware of yet no recall. Needs "new" type of bolts, and replacement of gasket. Problems arise with low mileage. Cost to fix range from $500 - $1000.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #11

Jun 292006

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
I purchased my 2002 Buick Rendezvous cxl in early 2003. By 2004 I had to have the A/C condenser replaced, the shocks & struts replaced and numerous problems with the A/C. then in summer of 2006 the car engine started misfiring and the car stalled out with smoke coming out of the hood, etc. Had it towed to Buick, they said the engine had a leak somewhere and water leaked into the oil...huh" anyway, of course even though I had the extended warranty, I was just out of warranty and they refused to fix it. The option was to replace the engine for $6,000. This vehicle was already paid off and worth about $14K prior to the engine blowing up. I ended up selling it for $3K. Is this normal" I think not. I submitted my case to several "lawyer" claiming to specialize in this type of rip off activity by car manufacturers but they said it wasn't worth it to them to pursue it. Maybe if someone had died it would be worth more. I would like to see Buick at least admit poor manufacturing and refund me some of my money. I took a loss of $11K on this vehicle.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?