Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,949 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Buick Rendezvous engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Buick Rendezvous:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Buick Rendezvous Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Aug 012010


  • 97,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Buick Rendezvous. The contact stated that the engine overheated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop where it was diagnosed that the head and head gaskets needed to be replaced, as a result of water leaking into the engine. The remedy failed to repair the problem. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer who diagnosed that the oil sending unit needed to be replaced because it was leaking oil onto the engine. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 97,000 and the current mileage was 109,071.

- Monroe , NY, USA

problem #22

Jan 202010


  • 94 miles
I purchased 2002 Rendezvous in 2002. It began in the second year I could not believe that I would be replacing the radiator and condenser assembly. Each year following I was shelling out major bucks in repairs. Each year there was something wrong with either the heat or the air conditioner. From replacing sensors, thermostat to water pumps. Each year I have had to replace the brakes and rotors and had the hub bearing replaced once. In 2009 I began to have problems with the engine and electrical. I had the head gaskets replaced and once again problems with heat and replaced the blower motor resistor. In December of 2009 the driver side window no longer works. Then in January 2010 despite my efforts in taking very good care of my car with regular scheduled maintenance, the engine took a finial dump. The cam shaft broke inside the engine that pumps the oil without any warning. I was left stranded and carless. I received a recall notice regarding the hub bearings but did not qualify because of the mileage. I was never notified on the recall for the dex coolant and when I found out it was too late. In my recent research I found that there was a recall for the head gaskets that closed in April of 2009, I was never notified. I did receive a recall for the fuel fill tube which is good for 10 years or 150,000 miles and I do qualify, however, I don¿T have an engine! I called Buick consumer relations 1-800-521-7300, and they said the only recall they have is for the lift gate latch. I feel that GM should reopen the recalls for the dex coolant, hub bearings and the head gaskets. I am looking for some recourse because in no way should the cam shaft broken.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #21

May 012005


  • 6,800 miles
Purchased 2002 Buick Rendezvous in April 2005 within a month started to experience locks turning on and off, A/C also would turn on and off while driving. Car began running hot this spring had to replace manifold gaskets, still overheating. Now car is no longer running needs major repair owe more than its worth.

- Summerfield, FL, USA

problem #20

Jan 072007


  • 52,000 miles


2002 Buick Rendezvous head gasket and intake manifold gasket failures.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #19

Nov 222008


  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick rendevous. The contact experienced failure in the engine and was advised that the intake manifold gasket in the engine needed to be replaced. The dealer stated that there were no recalls related to her VIN and she would be responsible for the repair. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Ansonia, CT, USA

problem #18

Dec 142008


  • 90,730 miles
My husband had driven the vehicle about 2 miles when all of a sudden it began overheating and a warning light came on. He returned home and the following day we took it to a shop. The mechanic checked everything. Could not find the source. We finally had to have it towed to a GM dealer. They say that the head gasket is blown. However, they say that we should buy a new engine at a cost of $5131, because according to them with the hollow cam it will only be a matter a time before the head blows again. I researched and found this is a common problem with this vehicle. I was not notified of the dexcool lawsuit and have received no definite help from Buick customer assistant. Additionally, 3 of 4 window motors have gone out. Through my research I find this too is a common problem. When the 2 second motor went out, I had a local window repair man lock the window so that it would no longer drop down, because I could not afford the repair. I have had repeated brake/rotor/tire work, so called "spark plug misfires" and expensive electrical repairs. I consistently service and perform routine maintenance on the vehicle. As of today, the vehicle has less than 91,000 miles on it, but is completely inoperable.

- Indianola, MS, USA

problem #17

Dec 282008


  • miles


I own a 2002 Rendezvous that has intake manifold / head gasket issue. I have condensation under the oil cap and have been told that this problem was part of a class action lawsuit as the result of dexcool antifreeze deteriorating the intake manifold and thus damaging the head gasket. It is now way past the class action filing deadline and am left to pay for the repairs myself. GM service departments have acknowledged that this is a problem with the 3.4L engines yet is not owning up to their responsibility by remedying the defect. Build a faulty product and get off scott free. The only time it seems the auto companies take responsibility is when someone is seriously injured or dies. Sad to say the least.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #16

Jul 312008


  • 81,000 miles
We have had to replace manifold gasket twice, now waterpump and cracked head gaskets resulting in need for new engine at 81,000 miles on 2002 Buick Rendezvous. From reading seems like common fault and yet no recall.

- Ketchikan, AK, USA

problem #15

Mar 272007

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Rendezvous. The contact stated that in July of 2006 the head gasket failed on the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, crowley Buick, and repaired. The head gasket failed again on March 27, 2007. The failure mileage was 42,000.

- Plantville, CT, USA

problem #14

Feb 092007

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,755 miles
Own a 2002 Buick Rendezvous. After numerous problems including speed sensor replacement, hub replacement multiple times, lift gate replacement, washer motor replacement, brake failure, odometer that zeroed out, now I am told the intake manifold has failed. Have been advised by independent garage that incidence of intake manifold failure in this vehicle is well above average. Also advised that since initial model rollout, GM has modified, redesigned the intake manifold to address manifold failure. GM is unwilling to correct problem with vehicle which at the time of initial intake manifold problem had less than 60,000 miles on it. Repair will cost in excess of $850 as long as the head gasket has not been damaged. Unfortunately while saving up the $850. For repairs, the head gasket could very well have been damaged. Will not know until I take it in for repair in a few days. Shouldn't have to pay to repair a defective design but GM is unwilling to stand behind their product.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #13

Jun 282006

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,034 miles


Had to replace head gaskets on 2002 Buick Rendezvous, 3400 cc engine, with 71,034 miles, this is a common problem with this engine, I want to be included in class action lawsuit against Buick, seeking reimbursement for this expense.

- Perham, MN, USA

problem #12

Jun 132006

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
The contact stated that both the vehicleâ¿'s head and intake gasket leaked which caused coolant to spill on the driveway while the vehicle was parked. The contact noticed a large puddle underneath the vehicle on 06/13/06, then drove the vehicle to the dealership on 06/15/06. The dealership determined that the vehicle had a leaking head gasket and intake gasket, but could not repair it immediately because there were other vehicles waiting to be repaired. On 06/18/06, the vehicle was driven to another dealership for a scheduled repair on 06/19/06. The contact paid for the repair. The dealership determined that the defect has been an ongoing problem for the same model.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #11

Oct 042005

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,886 miles
While driving at 60 mph, with no warning car stalled, towed to the dealer who replaced faulty theft deterrent unit and said it was fixed. Car then stalled again while driving, towed to dealer, who said their was a internal fault in the fuel pump harness and car is fixed. Car stalled again at 55 mph.

- Liberty, NY, USA

problem #10

Aug 022005


  • 51,000 miles
After driving in hot weather for about 30 - 40 miles, I stopped to fill up the vehicle with gas. Afterwards, the Rendezvous will not start. After letting the car sit for 30 - 60 minutes, the car starts normally. This has happened several times.

- Oakdale, PA, USA

problem #9

Mar 242005

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,827 miles
Noticed fluid on garage floor behind right front tire, took to dealership and was told the intake and head gaskets needed to be replaced.

- Chanhassen, MN, USA

problem #8

Dec 262004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,700 miles
37,700 mile vehicle didn't blow heat. Next day vehicle overheated in town. After coolant flush and air bleed vehicle overheated on highway. Dealer diagnosed bad head gasket and replaced at owners' expense minus parts.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #7

Jun 152004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
When driving 55 mph rear right tire blewout. This caused the consumer to pull of the road and change the tire. Consumer stated that the tire looked like it just melted, and there were no objects and the road. This was a Firestone tire. The consumer noticed that the passenger side front floor mat was wet. The technician determined that the A/C evaporator drain was clogged due to leaves coming from the windshield cowling. The dealer cleaned the drain and removed the leaves. The left front hub and bearing had excessive play and were noisy. The check engine light illuminated. The trouble codes indicated that the gas cap may have been loose. The vehicle body control module (BCM) failed and had to be replaced. It caused the security lights to remain on, the A/C not to work and at night the horn would sound when the vehicle was off. After the consumer locked the door the vehicle radio would come on. This caused the battery to drain and as a result the vehicle had to be jump started.

- Newport, RI, USA

problem #6

Aug 082003

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
2002 Buick Rendezvous sudden electrical failures while vehicle in operation. The most recent event occurred on Friday, August 8 while traveling in Idaho springs, co while driving on straight level road and not accelerating nor decelerating -- I was maintaining a constant 40 mph and had the vehicle simply cut off and was unable to control. Fortunately, we came to stop before crashing. This is the fourth incident of the type since we have had the vehicle. Dealership and General Motors are unable to determine the cause of the failures and has returned the car to me with the caution that "condition did not reoccur. Due to infrequency of condition, customer needs to drive to see if condition is repaired." I am concerned for the safety of my family and others because of the sudden, unpredictable failures. Are there other 2002 Buick Rendezvous vehicles with similar reported problems?

- Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

problem #5

Jul 022003

(reported on)


  • miles
Consumer states at any speed without any indication vehicle would stall out. Dealer has been contacted.

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #4

Jun 182003


  • miles
Automobile cuts off and does not want to restart. Then, steering locks, and she cannot get it to unlock until she beats on it for 5-10 minutes. Then, it releases. She has had it to 3 different dealerships, and they all told her that they could fix the problem because they could not get the vehicle to duplicate the problem.

- Sullivan, MO, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?