Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,302 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Buick Terraza electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Buick Terraza:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Buick Terraza Owner Comments

problem #20

Jun 142015


  • 74,953 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Buick Terraza. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced stalling while driving in inclement weather. The ESC warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, the vehicle could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The vehicle was returned to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that there was a failure with the electrical system; however, they could not diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 74,953. Updated 06/29/16

- Jamul, CA, USA

problem #19

Aug 212015


  • 155,000 miles
Well it happened on date specified slide doors will not open nor will they open manually !! this is life or death ordeal since I can't seem get them open !!!

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #18

Jun 282014

Terraza 6-cyl

  • 62,075 miles
During cruise on highway (I-95 in Florida) while on vacation the left rear power sliding door became unlatched and warning chimes sounded repeatedly and interior lights illuminated, this occurred several times again on this trip there was an investigation by the NHTSA in 2008 report #EA07019 which determined no defect was present which would require a recall. I beg to differ with that assessment there most certainly is a problem here, GM issued tsb #07-08-007 and #07-08-007 A-D which tells dealerships how to repair this problem. Please look into this matter again it is very unsettling to have my kids riding in the rear and having a door unlatch at highway speeds thank you for your time and consideration.

- Holland, PA, USA

problem #17

Jun 092014


  • 144,499 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Buick Terraza. The contact stated that the key was bumped as the contact drove over a speed bump and the vehicle stalled. In addition, when attempting to restart there was an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 144,499.

- Newton, KS, USA

problem #16

Dec 192013

Terraza 6-cyl

  • miles
We were pulling into walmart parking lot and hit street bump that turn onto walmart's property and the sudden jerk made the keys pop out of the ignition while the van was in motion. The keys were on the floor but the vehicle was steel in motion. As we parked the vehicle I put the key back into the ignition like nothing ever happened. I turn the van of, then waited a few minute and started the vehicle and behold the key would surely come out. I contacted the dealer Sierra Chevrolet in bartlet, tn and they checked the vehicle out and said it was a bad cut in the key. That means a bump key would start the vehicle. The ignition switch is faulty, and seeing GM recall list, the Buick Terraza 05 should be on that list. I'm writing Buick/GM with this statement and request.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #15

Feb 052014


  • 95,000 miles
2005 Buick Terraza while doors are locked and you are driving down the road. The sliding doors decide to open all on their own. You have to stop the van and shut the doors. With the door buttons are turned off they still open just not as often.

- Oak Hill, OH, USA

problem #14

Oct 202013

Terraza 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles


Buick Terraza just shuts down while driving (at various speeds) or stopped without warning. Everything shuts down with display stating, "starting disabled, reduced engine power." I must try to get to the side quickly. After about 30 seconds, the van restarts and continues for a while until it does the exact same thing again.

- Manor, TX, USA

problem #13

Feb 082010

Terraza 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
There are several defects that I am experiencing with this van. These issues escalated this weekend, the traction control and system stability indicators came on again and caused the brakes to lock I changed the brakes because I thought that was the cause it was not. Also the rear sliding doors will open while driving on their own. This van has been in the shop at lou fusz saint louis, mo several times and it is still not operating. This is a safety issue I am lucky that I was not on the highway when the brakes locked up, unfortunately that is not the case with the doors. I cancelled a trip to the zoo with my kids because the doors opened on their own while on the interstate, they are now afraid to ride in the back seats.

- University City, MO, USA

problem #12

Oct 312011


  • 55,000 miles
While driving down the road the rear door alarm started sounding and the rear power sliding door began to open. Pulled the car over shut the door and locked it.

- Adena, OH, USA

problem #11

May 312008

Terraza 6-cyl

  • 47,308 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Buick Terraza. The contact stated that the passenger side automatic sliding door would not unlock with the keyless sensor or the button. The contact was driving when the sliding door opened independently and was extremely difficult to close. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,308 the dealer traced the problem to a circuit. Updated 11/28/11

- Vestel, NY, USA

problem #10

Feb 102006


  • 1,056 miles


My name is [xxx] owner of 2005 Buick Terraza.we have always had a problem with the starter getting stuck/frozen, we have also talked to other owners of this vehicle, an they also have had the same problem. I feel there has to be a recall on this problem but I am sure Buick does not make this a recall because they have no fix ( B.S.) to this problem. We feel like getting a lawyer T see if maybe then theycould fix this. The dealer says our warranty no longer covers. We have had this problem since day one. With 10 miles on the new vehicle. Please help us. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Porterville, CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 012010


  • miles
Buick Terraza drivers side rear door faulty. Doot sensor keeps chiming sensing the door is open when it's not, you can't manually shut it since the sensor unlocks it and the door opens. You have to force it shut and deal with the chiming- J=hopefully I can get the sensor disconnected.

- Doylestown, PA, USA

problem #8

Mar 182010


  • miles
The rear door on the driver's side starting trying to open on its own the week of March 15. The soonest we could get an appointment at the mechanics was March 19. We Transport grandchildren daily to and from school and other activiites and they are always in child safety restraints. It is a good thing because March 18 as we were driving to dinner with the children, the door completely opened as we were turning a corner at a busy intersection. We have not been able to get it repaired because the parts had to be ordered. We are not driving the van with the children as we wait for repairs. The extended warranty and GM dealers do not seem to be too concerned about the safety aspect. We are!!

- Neosho, MO, USA

problem #7

Nov 172009


  • 71,000 miles
I was involved in an accident and had front end damage. The air bag sensor and light are on indicating that the air bag deployed; however, it did not. We have also experienced electrical problems as well with the van. The sliding door chime comes on randomly when I we are driving. Work had to be done previously on the wiring. Occasionally I hear rattling noises from the front end of the vehicle when I drive. The van also shakes excessively when approaching speeds over 45-50 miles per hour when I put on the brakes.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #6

Jun 062007


  • 20,000 miles
Both sets of keyless entry failed on the unlock operation. One set was used and failed in 2 years, the other set was then used and failed in two years. Must have something wrong in the makeup of these keyless transmitter. Everything works except the unlock. Replacement quoted at $345.

- Dunnellon, FL, USA

problem #5

Apr 102006

Terraza 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
Since October 2006 I have taken the '05 Buick Terraza to mossy Pontiac Buick GMC of new orleans for the following issues: Dvd static noise, unusually loud, exhaust noise on take-off, brakes, ABS lights come on, onstar, and ignition/starter continues to turnover after releasing the starter key. After 10-15 visits to the dealership for the same issues they say that they replaced the muffler and the catalytic converter, and that any noise I hear is inherent to the vehicle. I was also informed that the dvd noise I heard was inherent to the vehicle up until my last visit on April 10, 2007 at which time I was informed of a bulletin that described the problem I had been having since October 2006. Either way, that issue was still not fixed after leaving my vehicle at the dealership for approximately 10 hours. Also, according to the dealership the ABS light issue and the ignition/starter issue could not be duplicated. Therefore, they are likely inherent to the vehicle. I placed a complaint with Buick customer care on April 10 after not having any resolution to my problems, and they informed me that there is nothing they can do other than offer me a $1000 rebate for buyer loyalty towards a new GM vehicle. My car current has 38,600 miles, but I purchased it with 23K (certified which supposely exended the warranty to 39K) and have been taking it to the dealship for issues since the day of purchase. Any help that you all can give me to help resolve this matter would be greatly appreciated.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #4

Nov 272006

Terraza 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,875 miles
- the contact complained about a variety of vehicle problems. Failures. The heating and cooling system did not consistently provide heat or air conditioning. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer 7 times for the heating and cooling system failure. However, she stated that she has had problems with system working on at least 15 occasions. The last time that the contact took the vehicle to the dealer for heating and cooling failure was December 27, 2006. The contact stated that each time she has taken the vehicle for repair it was reprogrammed. The repair worked for a while and then began failing again. The contact stated that the crank seal was leaking and replaced 01/02/07. The contact stated that the sway bars for the stabilizers were replaced 07/2006. All 4 brake rotors were warped and they were repaired, but not replaced 07/2006. The contact stated that all four tires had to be replaced at 20,000 miles because they were all cupped, and she had to replace all four of them 10/16/2006. The contact also stated that the backup assist didn't work for 3 or 4 weeks. The contact also stated that there is a constant dinging noise such as when you have left a car door open, however, a car door is not open. The contact stated that if she turns the car off and lets it sit for a few minutes the dinging stops, but if she doesn't turn the vehicle off and waits it keeps dinging. The contact stated this has happened four times to date. The contact believed there was something wrong with the electrical system.

- Oneleske, AK, USA

problem #3

Mar 172005


  • miles
Where to start! the horn is very hard to work, the power sliding passenger door opens randomly and has been worked on countless times, there are vibrations in the floor, the brakes have been worked on countless times: Front rotors turned twice and replaced once, rear brakes turned twice. Interior and exterior lights randomly and constantly dim and brighten. Tie rods replaced and all this with only 20000 on it! I have had this vehicle in the dealership for all problems and I guess this is as good as it gets with Buick!

- Leominster, MA, USA

problem #2

Feb 012006


  • miles
Vibration at 50+ mph. Pulsating, vibrating when braking. Uneven wear on tires (feathering) noticed at 3,000 miles. Horn takes a lot of pressure to make it work. 2 metro Buick dealers say all above is normal and can not find anything wrong. One dealer printed 2 service bulletins to show me GM says it is normal. Headlights and interior lights dim and brighten on their own. Have had numerous oncoming cars blink their high beams at me thinking my high beams are on. I was denied in my request for a Buick official to get involved. Van is now 9 months old and only 8,000 miles because it is unbearable to drive with all that shaking.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #1

Jan 042005

Terraza 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 280 miles
All Buick Terrazas (also Pontiac SV6) violate 49cfr571.101 in that the needles for the instrument gauges are not illuminated when the ignition is on. They are illuminated only if the ignition is off. I called this in on 1/19/2005, however, I'm using this form to mail in my complaint more expeditiously. Later a defective light sensor was found. Refer to ODI# 10108684. Cancel this complaint per consumer.

- Scotia, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?